BBB Accredited Business since

Pet Patrol

Phone: (415) 454-7387 213 Oak Springs Dr, San Anselmo, CA 94960 http://www.petpatrol.biz



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pet sitting and boarding services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pet Patrol meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pet Patrol include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pet Patrol
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2001 Business started: 03/01/1995 Business started locally: 03/01/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Kay Poole, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kay Poole, Owner
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Pet Sitting Services Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Exercising Service

Service Area
This business service area covers:

Fairfax, Greenbrae, Kentfield,Ross,
San Anselmo, San Rafael

Additional Locations

  • 213 Oak Springs Dr

    San Anselmo, CA 94960 (415) 454-7387

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dog walker had 4 large dogs off leash and out of control. One large dog jumped on my back and injured me. Business does not have necessary permits. On 9/24/15 at 7:45 I left my front door to get my newspaper. *** ***** has a dog walking, grooming and sitting business, called. Pet Patrol. On this date she had 4 large out of control dogs off leash and 2 small dogs on leash. The 4 dogs rushed up to me and one of the very heavy large dogs jumped on my back from behind me. I yelled and told her to get the dogs off of me. She was unable to control them and was busy trying to get another dog to return my newspaper that the dog ran off with. I told her that I was injured. There was no apology or expression of concern. I told her that if she didn't have the dogs under control they needed to be on a leash. She said that the dog had never done that before. I experienced a great deal of back pain for weeks and had to curtail my activities. My driveway which I share with another home is an entrance to open space. I have often seen Ms. ***** with the dogs off leash running up the street, crossing the street, and running up the driveway way ahead of her. Cars obviously go up and down the street and up and down my driveway. For years I have been concerned that a dog would get hit by her negligence. The dogs are usually a large distance ahead of her so she could not prevent an accident with one of them getting hit or of them hurting someone, as happened to me. I contacted the Marin Humane society and the person in charge of complaints , **** ******* investigated and found out that she does not have a permit to run her dog boarding and grooming business and her own animals do not even have licenses. He urged me to sue her. I do not want a legal battle. I just want to prevent other people or dogs being hurt by her egregious negligence. On her website it says that she has an A+ rating by the BBB. I believe this complaint needs to be dealt with seriously and quickly. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Marin humane society

Desired Settlement: I believe you should contact her and tell her that she may no longer use her endorsement by the BBB on her website or on her vehicle (she has a BBB decal on her vehicle that she uses and advertises her business).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/04) */ I am very shocked to receive this complaint from my neighbor. I am aware of the incident and did apologize profusely at the time it happened and asked is she was OK. I wish this person had contacted me personally if she received any injury. She knows how to contact me as I am her neighbor and she has used my pet care services in the past. It seemed so minor to me at the time - or I would have followed up with her. The dog in question was an energetic pup who wanted to play. I had just released the dogs from their leashes as we were about to enter the open space area when this neighbor, who lives right by the entrance, went to pick up her newspapers. I NEVER EVER have any dogs off-leash on the street - this is a total fabrication. I only release them when we are about to enter the open space area, and always put them back on leash on our return. Any of my neighbors can verify this as we routinely walk together on the street with our dogs on leash. If it were true that I let dogs run way ahead of me off-leash on the streets, by now there would have been some kind of awful accident. It makes me cringe to even think of it. I love them all as my own and it's unthinkable that I would ever put them in harm's way. I pride myself on being very conscientious and responsible about the care of the precious pets in my care. I have been in the pet care business for over 20 years, was one of the first in the area, and have never received a complaint before. I only have one dog of my own, who is licensed. I received a visit from the MHS, who verified this. I am not a grooming service - but occasionally board a few dogs in my home, but the main part of my business is visiting and caring for dogs and cats in their own homes. As far as permits - I have a business licence and am also permitted with the Marin County Open Space District for walking dogs on Open Space. In fact I am active in organizing the Trail Manners Classes held at the Marin Humane Society auditorium, which is a requirement to enable commercial dog walkers to obtain their open space permits. I am extremely upset that this person did not contact me and went to these lengths without trying to resolve the matter with me direct. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with *** on November 4, 2015. During that conversation she admitted that she allows the dogs off leash to run up my and my neighbor's driveway towards the open space. I had used her services when we first moved here many years ago, but my husband and I would never allow her to walk our dog after witnessing her negligence regarding the dogs running free from the street to the open space. I have also witnessed her dogs that she is walking getting into fights with other dogs in my driveway. She did not "apologize profusely" when the incident occurred. She admitted on the phone that she wasn't sure I was hurt(even though I had clearly expressed that to her and she did remember my saying my back was injured). She thought I was bending over to get the newspaper. I reminded her that I never got to my paper because the dog pounced on me. The dog was not a puppy. It was a large fully grown yellow lab about 80-90 pounds. It was not a playful move to come up from behind me and to jump very forcefully on to my back. Why would the inspector from the Marin Humane Society tell me that her business did not have a proper permit for boarding and that her animals (including her cats) did not have the proper licenses? I feel that it is important that this business not receive an endorsement by the BBB. Obviously, her standard of care for the dogs is not safe, nor appropriate. The Marin Humane Society investigator suggested that I sue her. I am not interested in that approach, but I do want to protect other dog owners and people from her negligence. This is the reason that I am bothering to contact the BBB. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/11/30) */ To reiterate, I have never denied that the incident happened and have accepted responsibility. What more can I do?? At the time Ms. **** said that she had a bad back, I apologized and called the dogs to me. She was not doubled over in pain. I couldn't go over to her at the time as the dogs would have had to come with me. If she had any sort of problem the neighborly thing to do would have been to contact me and I would have been only too happy to try and make things right. She is not interested in this approach and instead, over 1 month afterwards, chose to be hostile and try to discredit me with as many "authorities" as possible, which is her sole objective. When I spoke with her on the phone I once again apologized but she was not willing to accept any of my suggestions to resolve the matter. What was a minor incident that could easily have been amicably resolved, has been blown up out of all proportion. This is getting nowhere and I have no more to say other than what has already been said. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2015/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. *****'s final response continues to show her lack of professionalism and lack of empathy. What she describes as a "minor incident" was actually a large dog off leash that she was in charge of, coming behind me and pouncing on my back which resulted in a back injury. The injury resulted in 2 months of significant pain and a limitation of my normal activities. I do not call that a "minor incident". Ms. ***** said I wasn't doubled over in pain and yet she said she thought I was bending down to get my newspaper. She then acknowledged I wasn't near my paper. She was not helpful or apologetic during the incident. I did accept her suggestion to in the future have the dogs in her care on a leash in my driveway. I called the Marin Humane society to register a complaint with them the same day I was injured. They told me it could take a month for Pet Patrol to be investigated, so I waited one month before contacting the BBB because I wanted to have all the facts in order before I registered the complaint. Ms. *****'s clear discrepancies in her replies and her continual unwillingness to truly take responsibility for something that was not a "minor incident" due to her negligence should be duly noted before anyone hires her for her dog walking and boarding services.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pet Patrol
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)