BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

National Payment Network

Phone: (888) 744-2977Fax: (310) 943-23041900 S Norfolk St STE 300, San MateoCA 94403-1165

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers bi weekly payment processing for car payments and home loans.

BBB Accreditation

On 07/10/2015 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to recent government action involving the business's customer relations which indicates a significant failure of the business to meet standards of conduct expected of a BBB member.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered National Payment Network's rating include:

  • Government action(s) against business.

Factors that raised National Payment Network's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on National Payment Network

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

NPN took money from my account for my vehicle payment but did not make the payment.
NPN took 1 1/2 payments from my checking account to make my vehicle payment. The vehicle finance company called to inform me that they have received no payments. NPN has not credited my account and are still in possession of $680 that should have gone to the vehicle finance company. The vehicle finance company is also charging me a $20 late fee.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the payments taken from my checking account plus the $20 late fee I'm being charged.

Final Consumer Response
The company finally paid the vehicle payment but have not yet paid the late fee which they said they would pay

10/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

They withdrew money from my bank account but did not make the payments to the lender.
On 7/12/2013 they withdrew 265.97, on 7/29 they withdrew $134.48 and 8/9 $134.48 and 8/23 $134.48 and 9/6 $134.48 and should have paid the lender which is 5th 3rd bank. One payment was made by phone on 7/30 (the date the payment was due) I just spoke with the lender 5th 3rd and National Payment Network has not maybe any further payments. The Aug. 30th payment has not been sent even thought they have collected a total of $539.20 from my account. My credit rating now shows 2 late payments when the money has been taken out of my bank on time by Nation payment network.

Desired Settlement
Clear credit history of any late payment reports due to their error, a letter of apology to 5th 3rd bank including full explanation of their error and a full refund of $529.30 paid to me plus any additional late fees incured.

Final Consumer Response
Please close account as the Company has responded directly to me.

02/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company removed funds from my account bi-weekly to pay my Mortgage and in November they stopped paying my Mortgage but continued to remove funds
They removed funds but did not pay my Mortgage until I called to find out why. They corrected the situation in November but did it again in December then made the payment to my Mortgage company when I called but them put a stop payment on the payment and have not yet reimbursed me the monies for the December payment. They did reimburse the fund taken from my account for the January payment which my Mortgage company applied to December since they stopped that payment. They have not been very cooperative with the last $1500 still owed to me

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Mr. ***** ******** has been a client of NPN for years and NPN has always been making payments on-time. Our role is to pull funds from the client's account, keep it in a special purpose account and make payments on the due date. We make payments to the creditors either via bill-pay or check. If a creditor changes its address, its client's responsibility to inform NPN of the change (its in the brochure). In this case, some of the payments couldn't make it on time due to the change in address. I see 3 refunds made on 12/31, 1/1 and 1/14 as shown below for the total amount of $3,721.34




We don't understand the claim that client is making for not refunding amounts for December. Any amount that didn't get used to make payments gets refunded by the system when we cancel or complete the account.

NPN Support Team

04/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

have never debited my acct for any payments in 4 months
i started a loan in november & npn was supposed to debit the payments. it is now feb & no payments have been taken. call center is located in india and they are no help. wont transfer me to anyone in america to talk to.

Desired Settlement
i dont want them to be able to debit my account. i am making my payments directly with the loan company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Acct Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
National Payment Network does not have a customer profile for ********* *****. It appears that for some reason her enrollment in our biweekly program never made it to us for activation. Therefore, without the signed contract, routing/acct #'s, payment dates/amounts, etc. we would not be able to initiate debits from her account nor pay her lender. Please assure Ms. ***** that no drafts have been or will be initiated as we have no customer profile or enrollment for her in our system.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the dealer stated that they sent the information to NPN. i just want to make sure that if in the future NPN somehow gets my information that they DO NOT debit my account at all. i pay my car payment directly with the lender.

03/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company has taken 3 payments for my car out of my account and has not made any payments to my car financer. Has only given 1 payment back to me.
My first payment was due January 3rd of 2014. This NPN company took $479.78 out of my bank acct on Dec 13, 2013, $241.39 and this same amount on January XX XXXX. I happened to look at my Hyundai statement on January 24, 2014 and see that I have a late payment added to my bill. So I called Hyundai to find out that my first payment was not made. I called NPN to find out what was going on. First thing I did was to cancel my acct with them. Didn't want them taking anymore money. They did put $238.40 back into my acct today but still waiting for the balance of $721.18. I was told it would be taken care of but still this company should not be getting away with such BS. No phone calls from them, no explanations. Not a way to run a business. I finally had to tell the guy I was speaking to (both **************l) to let me speak to a Supervisor, someone I could understand, someone who could speak English. I did get a Supervisor, ****************, who said this would be taken care of. I told him his company was the biggest scam going and I would be letting the BBB what was going on. I told him I wanted this issue taken care of within 48 hours because I had to make 2 payments by January 30th.

Desired Settlement
I want all money taken from my acct put back plus the late fee and to NEVER touch my bank account ever again. Plus all the stress I have been in the past week due to this less the desirable action of this company has to be worth something.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
As discussed with client we have made payment and returned funds as needed. We have cancelled clients account to avoid any furthur issues. Please close this issue.

Thanks & Regards,

***** **********

National Payment Network - Customer Service/Payment Manager

05/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Payment Processing Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/19/2010Business started: 04/24/2002
Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2002, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mohit Sofat (Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Payment Processing Service

Service Area

This company services nationwide.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for National Payment Network

1900 S Norfolk St STE 300

San Mateo, CA 94403-1165

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1900 S Norfolk St STE 300 

    San Mateo, CA 94403-1165(888) 744-2977

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*National Payment Network is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Payment Processing Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


There is a government action involving this business.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.