BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Great Eagle Lending

Phone: (800) 598-6691

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company charged me a amount which was $60 more than agreed to. Payment to the company is four time the amount of the loan.
In May 2013, I needed assistance and sought out a short term loan with GEL. I intended to pay the loan back with a tax refund. The initial amount of the loan was $300. I spoke with a representative named ******* several times and was told that the payment amounts I would be making twice monthly would include a portion of the amount owed as well as interest, until the loan was paid in full. "Roz" also promised that I would be recieving a e-mailed copy of the Agreement I signed within 24 hours. I did not recieve a copy of the Agreement at all. I made my twice monthly payments as directed, and on 01/16/2014 I noticed a debit to my account in the amount of $150.79 which was about $60 more than my agreed to amount of $90.48. I called the company on 01/17/2014 and had to leave a message with a representative to have someone call me back regarding the discrepancy. I did not recieve a call back, so I contacted the company and spoke to an associate named "******". "******" indicated that the overage amount could be refunded to me or applied to the next bill, and that this was a processing error. I told "******" that i wanted the funds returned to me today as it was not the agreed to amount, etc. He indicated that was not possible, and that he would need to call me back on Monday to see what they could do to refund the money. I told him that I would need to file a dispute with my bank and of course wanted to avoid that since I want to make payments with GEL in good faith with the Agreement I signed. He said that he could not do anything to help me until Monday. I asked for a copy of the Agreement so that I could look it over with an attorney friend, and needed it immediatley. I was told he was sending it to the e-mail address I provided as we spoke. I still have not recieved a copy. By law, I am allowed to obtain a copy to review the terms of the payday loan upon request at any time. To date, I have not been able to obtain this documentation. As of today, I have made 14 payments of $90.48, and one payment of $150.79, totaling $1,417.51 on a loan of $300.00, and yet I STILL have not recieved a copy of the Agreement that has been requested multiple times.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the final payment amount totaling $150.79 immediatley, and closure of the loan as paid in full.

Business Response
As per the customer's desired resolution, the payment of $150.79 was returned by her bank so there is nothing to refund. This account is considered paid-in-full.

11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have made several attempts of contact. Requesting a PDF that was not provided to me. Blank when attempt to open. made 5 requests, refuse to supply.
Have made several attempts of contact. Requesting a PDF that was not provided to me. Blank when attempt to open. made 5 requests, refuse to supply.
account,date,amount,balance,category,description,memo,notes
**********-*******/6/2013,($20.00),GREAT EAGLE LENDING ***-******* CA,Date 08/05/13 *********** Card Withdrawal ATM/POS WD,
**********-*******/6/2013,($130.79),,GREAT EAGLE LENDING ***-******* CA,Date 08/05/13 ****** **** Card Withdrawal ATM/POS WD,
**********-*******/6/2013,($10.00),GREAT EAGLE LENDING ***-******* CA,Date 08/05/13 078716 **** Card Withdrawal ATM/POS WD,
EAGLE LEND,
**********-S0004,7/19/2013,($150.79),ACH Withdrawal GREAT EAGLE LEND,TYPE: DEBIT CO: GREAT EAGLE LEND,
**********-S0004,7/5/2013,($150.79),ACH Withdrawal GREAT EAGLE LEND,TYPE: DEBIT CO: GREAT EAGLE LEND,
**********-S0004,6/21/2013,($150.79),ACH Withdrawal GREAT EAGLE LEND,TYPE: DEBIT CO: GREAT EAGLE LEND,
**********-S0004,6/7/2013,($150.79),ACH Withdrawal GREAT EAGLE LEND,TYPE: DEBIT CO: GREAT EAGLE LEND,
with totals over 763.95 and you want me to put my call records for the times that I have spoke with two representatives requesting a pdf. As the one you sent to me is blank. Legally you are required to send me a copy of any supposed loan agreement. I spoke with two of your representavitves on two occasions and been promised a copy of the pdf.

Desired Settlement
I want this acct matter cleared and considered paid for the amount of withdrawals taking from my acct succeed the balance due. Have asked on 5 occasions for a readable pdf. non provided, asked for itemized bill and they have declined. past payment withdrawal was 35 days ago and indicating that they are placing in 3 party hands. Not past due 90 days as required by law. and they have broke the law in the amount of times allowed to renew a pday loan in that state. MY bank and visa also have attempted to contact. When you call back you are left on hold for crazy amounts of time.

Business Response
As per the customer's desired resolution we consider this account paid-in-full.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has threatened me with jail time for defaulting on a loan. Called my supervisor and threatened to have me arrested at work.
Company calls all day every day. Company then advised that I would be arrested and have to spend time in jail for not paying back a loan.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking back the money I paid to this company, which is approximately $500.00

Consumer's Final Response
I also need to remove Great Eagle Lending from this complaint, for it was PDL Recovery that the complaint is with.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Payday Loans

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.