BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/1996

Buy Sell Loan, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (650) 368-6855Fax: (650) 368-7844590 Veterans Blvd, Redwood CityCA 94063-1122

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pawn shop services including jewelry,
vintage watches, clocks, antiques & collectables, electronics
& cars; other services include jewelry repair, custom design
service & watch/clock repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/1996

BBB has determined that Buy Sell Loan, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Buy Sell Loan, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Buy Sell Loan, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i purchace 100 grams silver neck chain on or about jan 2014 from this pawn shop. i have just recently moved here to no cal to attend a PTSD program at the menlow park mental health V A. i have pawn this chain and a ring in feb., march, and april. i have the receipt what i thought was a real silver chain.rday i could not find the purchase receipt but i rememberred the guy at rwd city shop who sold it to me.ipt of my just getting it out for (and my lap top) on apr.XX XXXX. i am working with *** **** to get an apartment,and i keep running low on cash, so, i had thought i found a safe honest pawn shop. so i purchase the silver 100 grams plus chian necklace as a good invesyment. as i stated its has beeb in pawn every momth since i pawn as i also said, i got everything out on the 30th of april.it was my laptop ring and this chain. i went into the santa clara shop as i have did before and was told it was fake. i left there and went to the redwood city shop were i had purchased it.sufferring from PTSD i was talk to as if i had not bought it there or even had not been pawnning it at either the santa clara or redwood cityor the oakland shop- the latter is where it was pawn last and pick-up on the 30th 0f april the silver chain and the 10 carat mens ring were pawn for 125.00 dollars. and the computor laptop for 125.00 dollars the total to pick them up o n the 39th was 261.00 i paid 150.00 dollars for the silver(or atleast what i thought was silver. i called the redwood city police because i got upset and as i said before i suffere from PTSD from Viet Nam, and i was coverring myself. in front of the police, the owner admitted although i do not have the purchase receipt, because i just pawn the same schain out of his shopmin oakland, ca. and i had that receipt he believed me but is refusing to return my money or my calls. i ha ve been home less living in my truck for almost three years after my wife gameled up or home. the owner look me and the redwood city police in our eyes and said,'i beleive yo
Product_Or_Service: silver neck chain, 101 grams

Desired Settlement
i paid 150.00 for the chain and according to ther on stoere records i have pawn it every month(jan feb. march. n april. i would like all my interest bacvk and a full refund and knowledge that this will not be allowed to be done to any other person. as soon as the chain ,i finally notised it changing, they pulled it not real ****.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 6/10/14:

Buy Sell Loan, inc. refunded Mr. ****** the full amount he paid and he was happy with the resolution. We apologized for the error and have developed new procedures that will ensure this does not happen to anyone else.

Thank you,

***** ******
General Manager

01/09/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pawnbrokers, Jewelers - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/1996Business started: 06/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Sklyar (Owner)Mr. Dimitry Pertsovsky (Owner)Mr. Oleg Pomomarenko (Owner)
Number of Employees

51

Business Category

Pawnbrokers, Jewelers - Retail

Industry Tips
Selling Gold, Online Or In Person

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Buy Sell Loan, Inc.

590 Veterans Blvd

Redwood City, CA 94063-1122

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Buy Sell Loan, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pawnbrokers

Selling Gold, Online Or In Person
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.