BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers party supplies, inflatable jump houses for rent.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am seeking a refund of rental fees for a "jumpy" that was delivered after the contract time and was defective and unsanitary. I had reserved a jumpy from the company Comic Jumps who we had used in the past with success. This jumpy was reserved using a groupon discount code. It was to be delivered on the morning of Thursday June 18th 2015 at 9:30 but before 10:00 a.m. On the morning of the 18th the jumpy did not arrive at the promised time but was over an hour late. Both my husband and I called the company Comic jumps to inquire when it would arrive. We both left messages and did not hear back. When the driver did arrive he delivered a different jumpy than what was reserved and was a cheeper model. Once unpacked and inflated it was found to be full of moisture and mildew. It had an odor that my children could not stand and I had to clean the interior surfaces in order for them to begin to use it. Once my children began to play in it the jumpy was found to have large holes with failed patches that allowed too much air to escape so that the blower could not keep up with the air loss and the unit would begin to collapse with any play time. Following is text I sent to Groupon after realizing that the company did not apply our coupon as confirmed at time of order. My credit card was charged the full amount, no Groupon discount applied. As I stated in my earlier email, the jumpy was over one hour late, it was the wrong jumpy (a cheaper jumpy than I booked), it was moldy (the five 8-year-olds kids got out saying it was too gross to play in) so we cleaned it as best we could & let it air out, it also had holes & torn seams so it collapsed several times - I called six times throughout the day, left messages, and my husband called & left a message. We did not receive any call back. I called my credit card company at 1:15 pm to find out about disputing charges. A different gentleman arrived to pick up jumpy, we politely explained the situation, showed him the holes & ripped seams as well as showed him where mold was worst so he could show Comic Jumps upon return. I called the company a last time to say that the jumpy was being picked up, and at this point I didn't need a return call, but I did expect a full refund or my bank would be contacting him. After this message, I finally received a call from a man who claimed to be owner, and he accused us of lying!! Said he was in the office all day (then changed it to since noon), he claimed his phone log showed no calls from us, no messages. He stated he personally knew the jumpy was clean when it went out (but since I didn't get the jumpy I ordered, how could he know it was clean?? He never asked which jumpy we did receive!). He was unbelievably unpleasant to me, so I handed phone to my husband. My husband was very polite, told owner how happy we've been in past with Comic Jumps but clearly something had gone wrong this time on their end. The owner also accused my husband of lying about calls, jumpy & its condition. He would never discuss the Groupon, and said he would not refund our money. I have contacted my bank and they have begun the dispute process. I would like my Groupon credited back since Comic Jumps would not apply it. Groupon did refund the coupon purchase (less a processing charge), and we did contact our bank to try and dispute the overall rental fee as Comic Jumps would not refund our card. Wells Fargo has been unable to collect our rental fee from Comic Jumps and suggested that we contact the BBB. We are amazed that a company can remain in business while treating repeat customers in this way.

Desired Settlement: I would like Comic Jumps to acknowledge this gross misconduct and refund our rental fee of $250.00. The rental charge was supposed to be $150.00 with the applied groupon coupon but Comic Jumps would not even honor this agreement and charged our account $250.00. My husband communicated this desire while the unit was being packed up by their driver and further stated that in doing so our relationship with Comic Jumps would remain in good standing and we would continue to use them in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/09/02) */ Received business response via email 9/2/15: ( Customer requested delivery between 9 AM and 10 AM, Our driver arrived a few minutes past 10 AM. As far as the charges, customer ordered through our online system and agreed to pay the price of the bounce house listed online. The Groupon voucher instructs customer to call in orders so we can adjust pricing and apply voucher. Also customer kept all rental items for the duration of the rental and used all the items. Our driver return to the rental location and took care of all the issue the customer had with the bounce house ligament or not. Driver asked the customer before he left if they were satisfied with everything and the agreed that it was all taking care of. Customer also initiated a chargeback through the credit card company and we are going through that process now.) Thanks, ** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/09/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business' owner's response is NOT CORRECT. I did follow the Groupon instructions (Groupon asked for proof of this, and when I provided it, they refunded our purchase). The business never answered their phone but I did leave messages as well as put Groupon info on contract. We have booked a jumpy in the past in THIS EXACT WAY with a Groupon, and had no problems. The business owner states we accepted item & used it for allotted time. The delivery driver WOULD NOT ADDRESS any of the issues including would not accept my Groupon Voucher, and INSTRUCTED I HAD TO DEAL WITH OFFICE TO GET ISSUES RESOLVED. Since our past experiences with company were positive, I did not expect complete uncooperative behavior this time. We called repeatedly, left messages (and have phone logs to prove this) but did not receive a call until my final message asking for refund. At which time, business owner became irate & accused us of lying about all issues. This business owner also states "Our driver return to the rental location and took care of all the issue the customer had with the bounce house ligament or not. Driver asked the customer before he left if they were satisfied with everything and the agreed that it was all taking care of." THIS IS COMPLETELY FALSE. We politely discussed all problems with pickup driver (different gentleman than delivery driver), he said he understood our frustration AS HE HAD HEARD IT FROM OTHER CUSTOMERS AS WELL, he apologized but AT NO TIME DID WE SAY WE WERE SATISFIED about anything. We told driver we understood it was not his fault & we would not take out our frustration on him, but we would continue to try to deal with office, Groupon, and our credit card company. Interestingly, this is not the same response the business owner gave our credit card company. He stated he would have resolved any issues we had BUT WE NEVER CALLED HIS BUSINESS that day until jumpy had been picked up. WE were able TO DISPROVE his allegation with phone logs showing times & duration of calls made that day as well as day I booked jumpy. The business' response DOES NOT RESOLVE OUR COMPLAINT, just more lies from him. As far as BBB's request that I offer a "middle ground offer" ... I don't know what that would be other than he ABSOLUTELY needs to refund our $250. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/09/10) */ The customer stated that they received a refund from Groupon for the value of their voucher, and we are following the chargeback guide lines with the bank. We apologized for any wrong doing, even though at the time of our driver leaving the customers house everything was OK. Customer held on to the items form the time we dropped off to the time we picked up, and used the items. We will continue to work with the back on the chargeback. I can't offer any discounts or refunds at this time due to the chargeback. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business owner continues to tell lies. HE states he apologized which is COMPLETELY FALSE, he CALLED BOTH MY HUSBAND & I LIARS! He has given several different responses to the BBB, our credit card company, and as far as we have been told, never bothered to respond to Groupon. We have been able to DISPROVE ALL HIS ALLEGATIONS, PROVE WE HAVE BEEN TELLING THE TRUTH SINCE THE BEGINNING. We have received refunds from Groupon & our credit company BUT THE BUSINESS OWNER has not apologized or reached out to us in anyway. I do not think he should retain his BBB rating due to his unprofessional, dishonest behavior.

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bounce house arrived 90 minutes late, deflated 3 times with children inside, picked up 45 minutes early rented bounce house and contacted company for confirmation of arrival time in the morning. called several times (phone records of calling 4+ times different times during morning) with no response/no call back. friend called from different number, phone was answered for her. bounce house requested at 10am, guaranteed by 11am, arrived at 12:30. friend who spoke to company was promised refund for late arrival, company now denies saying that to friend. once arrived driver states he would pick up late since arrival was late, after 5pm (original pick up was after 4pm). driver arrived at 4:15 for pick up. during time with bounce house generator failed 3+ times and house deflated with kids inside.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the cost I spent on this bounce house and the time it has taken me to resolve this issue. I have sent emails, called, and have continuously been told they would "get back to me" with resolution. it has now been 4 weeks with no resolution. I would like my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/31) */ Driver arrived at pick up at 4:15 pm and was asked by customer to pick up bounce house because they were done using it, We also offered an $20 credit towards a future rental for any inconvenience we may have caused.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WAS CHARGED FOR RENTED HELIUM TANK, THEY CHARGED CREDIT CARD THAT SAME DAY. CALLED TO CANCEL DAY BEFORE DELIVERY, HAVEN'T RETURNED MONEY. THE DAY OF ORDER AND CHARGE WAS 06/03/14. THE HELIUM TANK WAS TO BE DELIVERED ON 06/05/14. THEY CALLED ON 06/04/14 TO CANCEL OUR RENTAL AND SAID THEY WOULD CREDIT BACK THE MONEY THAT DAY. AFTER NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS AND TALKS WITH *****, AS OF 06/18/14 THERE HAS BEEN NO CREDIT TO MY ACCOUNT. ***** HAS SAID NUMEROUS TIMES THAT SHE WOULD LOOK INTO IT AND CALL BACK AND NEVER DID. SHE SAID ON 06/18 THAT IT HAD BEEN PROCESSED BUT THEN SAID SHE WAS TOO BUSY TO CALL AND GIVE ANY TYPE OF UPDATE.

Desired Settlement: I NEED THEM TO REFUND THE MONEY THEY TOOK ON THE ORDER DATE OF 06/03 AFTER THEY CANCELLED OUR ORDER THE DAY BEFORE IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE DELIVERED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/24) */ Customer was refunded in full on 06/07/14 Advised customer to check with their bank to see how long it takes for a refund to post to their account. Never heard back from this customer regarding this issue. Customer order number QXXXXX.

6/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 17th 2014, I picked up a helium tank I rented from Cosmic Jumps for a company event. The helium tank was suppose to inflate 210 balloons. The person who assisted me showed me how to attach the valve and proceeded to show how to move the nozzle to release helium. The valve nozzle did release helium for 2 seconds. He then loaded it into my car and drove back to *** ***** I had help unloading the tank and attached the valve as instructed I moved the nozzle to make sure it was on and it did release helium. I then grabbed a balloon and attached it to the nozzle and moved the nozzle to inflate the balloon but nothing happened. I checked to make sure the valve was open and it was and I tried again but nothing happened, so I closed the valve and and reopened it and again nothing happened. I had my co-worker try it, he unscrewed the valve, checked it and reattached it, turned it on and tried the nozzle again and it released a little bit of helium and shut off. We kept trying but it would do the same, you would move the nozzle to release helium and it would give a small sput and would shut off, I was unable to blow up the 210 balloons. At 10am I called Cosmic Jumps, but no one answered I left a message saying that I needed help but no one ever called me back. I couldn't drive all the way back to *** Carlos and then back to *** **** I had to finish decorating. At 2pm I loaded the tank into my car and drove to *** ******* When I got there I told the person (who I think is **) that the tank did not work and that I tried calling. He said lets go in back and check. He attached the valve turned it on and moved the nozzle for 2 seconds and helium came out, he said see it works let me get a balloon. He came back attached the balloon and moved the nozzle but nothing came out. I told him that's exactly what it did to me. He kept trying but it never worked. I finally spoke with ** today Sunday and he said that the notes said that after I left they check the nozzle and something was stuck inside. Product_Or_Service: Helium Tank Order_Number: QXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I spoke with ** today and I tried to be patient but he doesn't want to work with me. I explained what happened. He said that they checked the tank before I left and I agreed with him but I explained that yes it would release a little bit of helium but then would just shut off. What I want is for ** to refund me the $135 dollars for a helium tank I rented that didn't work because I was given a broken valve that using **'s exact words "had something stuck inside" Please help me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ We understand the customers concerns, as the customer mentioned above the valve and the tank was tested in her presence before she took it from us. on her return with the tank the person checking it encountered the issue she described above but that was not an issue at the time of the pick up. We proceeded to repair the valve and discovered that there was dirt in the nozzle that was not there when she picked up the tank. We can't be responsible for what the customer does to the equipment after the pick up and all checks are done at pick up. We cleaned the valve and all works Fine now. We are sorry the this happened to the customer, we believe if the equipment was handled with a little more care this would not be an issue.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defect in product delivered Failure to respond to multiple requests for refund due to faulty product I ordered a Jumpy House for my children's birthday in September of 2013. Shortly after delivery, the bouncy house broke (while kids were playing inside!). They were unable to fix it. The company never offered a refund or even apologized for the fact that the Jumpy House broke. Children could have been hurt! (Luckily all were OK). I started calling the company the the Monday after the party. I left multiple messages; via email, voicemail and a few times with a real person (who almost always was rude). I finally spoke with the manager a few months later who told me he needed to confirm with his driver to make sure I was telling the truth (despite the fact that someone had already told me they would do that a few weeks earlier--and why would I lie about this?). He said he would call me by the end of the week. I never heard from him again. I have called again, many times, sent emails too, and never a callback. Of course I want my money back, but what really concerns me is that this company is still in business, and I have serious concerns about the safety of their products given that ours broke and they obviously don't seem too concerned about it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back given the product did not work. I would like the company to adopt a more professional attitude--return customer's calls, emails, etc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ We've talked to the customer several times and apologized. Our driver confirmed that the rental unit was delivered and was working when he left. We offered a credit to a future rental but we didn't get a call back from the customer to confirm if that was acceptable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not dispute that the jumpy house was delivered on time and working when he left. However, it broke 20-30 minutes after he left. He came back about 30 minutes after I called and was unable to fix it. He stayed for 30-45 minutes trying to fix it and when he couldn't he packed it up and left. I have a hard time believing the driver doesn't remember this especially given how many times I have called the company. I also dispute the fact that I was offered another rental. While I acknowledge it is conceivable they could have left me a message that was missed (although I doubt it), I have called so many times over the past 6 months they could have told me when I called again. My emails and voicemails have all gone unanswered. In the 6 months I have called there was ONE time they called me back--and at that time they told me they'd have to confirm my story and then get back to me, which they never did. Lastly, I do not want a future rental from them. I want my money back. after the bouncy house collapsed with my children inside, they were understandably upset and are now fearful of jumpy houses. Why would I want another jumpy house from a company I can't trust?

5/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The popcorn machine had exposed wire and burned the popcorn, bubble machine was broken, spin art was defective margarita machine didn't work. On July 27, 2013 I rented a large order from Comic Jumps. The Order was over $600.00. My order was delivered on-time with a nice gentleman who set up the many items I had ordered. Bubble Machine, Margarita Machine, Spin Art Machine, Popcorn Machine, Tables, and Balloons and a Jump House. The Bubble machine was broken and didn't blow bubbles, The Margarita Machine didn't freeze the mix, The Popcorn machine had exposed wire's on the outlet cord and burned the popcorn. The spin art machine was delivered with out an outlet cord. All else was good. I excused myself from the party to call the company, no return call, I left a message. None of the equipment came with instructions. The Monday after my event I called the company to state my complaint, the gal said the owner would call me back. He never did, I called two more times never got a call back. I sent emails via their website no return messages. I faxed the a letter, no response. I fill that I am entitled to a refund on all defective items. I'm not sure why this company has a A+ rating. If the BBB would "Yelp" this company they would see at least 100+ one star rating for the very same complaint. I strongly advise BBB to investigate this company and their business ethic's. Further more, to harm a child's party with defective equipment should not be tolerated. Please feel free to contact me I have pictures of the exposed wiring and many statements from the guest on the condition of the delivered rental equipment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund on all the defective equipment as describe above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/19) */ Received business response via email on 11/15/13: We addressed this customers issues a few month back before she filed a complaint with BBB. We offered her a credit toward her next order because we tested the machines and everything worked fine. Thanks, ** ***** Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/01/06) */ Hello and thank you for reopening this case. I read the response and it is completely untrue. They never not once responded to my phone calls or emails. Because they never answered my messages I was never offered a credit of any kind. I really question their business ethic. I would not feel at all comfortable using them again. I have pictures of the faulty wiring on their equipment and could provide you with guest testimonies. That's the best I can do. It is my wish that you ask comic jump to provide you with a date stamped letter or email showing that they responded to me. You can also reach me by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX Best wishes and happy new year, ******** ******* Best regards, ******** ******* Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/03/13) */ Hello and thank you for reopening this case. I read the response and it is completely untrue. They never not once responded to my phone calls or emails. Because they never answered my messages I was never offered a credit of any kind. I really question their business ethic. I would not feel at all comfortable using them again. I have pictures of the faulty wiring on their equipment and could provide you with guest testimonies. That's the best I can do. It is my wish that you ask comic jump to provide you with a date stamped letter or email showing that they responded to me. You can also reach me by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX Best wishes and happy new year, ******** *******

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They didn't give me service nor my money back. And said that I'm the who is trying to get free things. I have been insulted and robbed. I have purchased comic jumps certificate from groupon on jan 22, 2012 and made a reservation on march XX XXXX, for my daughters birthday. I made my reservation on february 13th.on the fine print it said Expires Jan 30, 2013 Limit 1 per person, may buy 2 additional as gifts. Valid only for option purchased. Reservation required; subject to availability and weather. Must sign waiver. Valid only for select cities. Extra $15 fee for travel to outside service areas. Valid Sunday-Friday only. Extra $15 fee for liability tax. Must use promotional value in 1 visit. See the rules that apply to all deals. feb 15 and asked them these questions and told them about the fine print. At the end of the call I asked the manger should I cancel my order because I didn't think it would cost me this expensive and I don't want this offer anymore he said that he can cancel but he can't give me my money back. And that I will have future rental credit only. I begged him to refund my money back and just see the fine print I'm talking about and consider what I have to go through, That the money I'm paying for didn't come easy that I had to save from the food we eat.109$ certificate for 49$ and Since I live in ******* and their fine print said that service areas are free delivery and in the service area list my city was included. So called them back and emailed them too. Of course I was very polite and tried to resolve the issue. But the owner guy says you read it wrong its all me and all my fault. Then I asked him if he could hear me first. He says I'm talking and you should listen. But I'm the customer and if does not listen to my problem first how can he understand and solve it? Never had the chance to explain everything until I was in my tears and being insulted of trying to get free things and that I was the fraud, thief and a lier. How could I after I have already paid everything? He deserves punishment for acting like a **** and insulting me after robbing me of my money. It may not be a lot of money but he said it's their policy not to refund anything back. So I told him that I will dispute the additional charges that are being charged from me if he can't give me any partial refund. He said do whatever you want. I still wanted and needed the jumpy house for my daughter's birthday, so since I paid in 100$ certificate money and some from my credit card I thought that legally he can't take my money without any service. I emailed him nicely and hoped things would be fine. When I tried to confirm he said that he will not give me service nor my money back, and said how could you just not give the service that was already paid, or give refund for the service not given? He simply said just because he can.I felt so sorry for myself and cried. It's not like I was trying to get anything for free or just imagining or creating something out of nowhere. But even if that was the case why not just refund my 46$ back, and my groupon voucher back.He had no intention to do anything whatsoever.I told him that his customer service was so bad that he won't keep a lot of customers like this. Just because it is my daughter's 3rd birthday and that I had promised her the jumpy house. and if all this mess is my fault,still I can't fix or do anything about it, I apologized thinking that he will take his words back and apologize to me too. But nope more insults... I have never in my life been put down and looked down and insulted like this ever. I hate that people could do this and just walk around as if nothing happened. He accused me that I requested groupon not to pay him and got my money back and that I also disputed the money back with my bank and that i was trying to get free service and that he will call the police to report me of fraud. I'm the victim and I should be the one going to the law office to to the police.He says that my bad Yelp probably cost him 7,8 costumer which means 700,800$ and the 50$ bank dispute service fee. Therefore I should pay him all that.

Desired Settlement: I paid 46$ from my credit card to comic jumps directly and later disputed only 25$ thinking that I will still get my service, because I had used the 109$ certificate I bought from Groupon. So They still owe me 21$, As for the 109$ certificate I had to deal with Groupon, And From groupon I already got my 49$ back as soon as I explained the problem. I should have disputed the whole amount at first and just not expect anything from them, But I hoped for the best because I did my best getting insulted and even apologizing for nothing. And paying my money for nothing. Please help me. I have my credit card statements and groupon emails everything. I really hope there is help for people like me. If this does not help or not work then I will try newspapers. And hope for justice. It's been a long time since it happened but I still feel like it happened yesterday. I'm the most honorable, trustworthy, people person in my community and I'm well known among them. I help everyone all the time, sometimes even before helping myself. Thus I have put myself and my problems aside. Even if I'm not eating 3 times a day I'd rather give my 21$ to homeless people or any donation. How can he insult me like that and put me down. If I was to just dispute all the charges and get my groupon refunded and not get any service then we would have been even. But if he gave me the service then I would not be able to dispute all the charges and groupon would not give refund either. Maybe he has no common sense or just plain stupid. Please help me resolve. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/12) */ Received business response via email on 12/11/13: ********* purchased a voucher from Groupon and placed an order using the voucher. A few days later less than 7 days before her delivery date she wanted to cancel the order. We offered her a credit for a future rental and instructed her to contact Groupon for the portion she paid them. ********* was given our cancellation policy when she placed the order and she agreed to it. We still made an exception and issued a credit for a future rental. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I wish it was true. I wish I could use the credit for future rental. When I called a week before my daughters birthday i wanted to make sure that I'll still get my jumpy house. But i was told that they will not give me service nor my money back. I even cried and begged.Their response is nonsense. If that was true I still want to rent jumpy house for my daughters birthday this march. After taking someone's money and not giving the product or service is called .... It has been almost a year. Maybe they forgot what they did to me. That time they didn't give me service because I told him I yelped. This time he will probably say that

2/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a bounce house and generator for my daughter's birthday. The generator failed and the bounce house collapsed on the children. I am outraged by the way Comic Jumps has treated me and ignored me after their equipment failed at my daughter's birthday party. On October 5th I held a birthday party for my daughter at my home. I rented a bounce house, a generator, and several tables and chairs. A staff member named ******** arrived on time around 9:00AM to set up the bounce house. After he set up the bounce house my daughters began jumping inside of it while ******** proceeded to set up the tables and chairs. At that point, the generator failed. This caused the blower on the bounce house to stop and the bounce house to deflate. The bounce house collapsed on the children inside. This traumatized my daughter. For the rest of the day she would periodically get terrified of the bounce house and would frequently yell out to the other kids, "Get out, it's going to fall down!" She also associated the loud sound of the blower with the bad experience she had, so sometimes just hearing the blower made her start to cry. ******** was unable to get the generator to work and he had no back-up generator with him. In order to operate the bounce house for the party guests I had to plug the bounce house into the outlet in the garage. However, this is the exact scenario I was trying to avoid by renting a generator because it is an old house with an old electrical system, and I did not want to run a blower off of it for the entire day. ******** informed me at about 10:00AM that he had to return to *** ****** to retrieve a back-up generator. He said that he could do that and return with it within an hour and a half. This would have meant he'd be back at 11:30AM. Instead, ******** called me at 12:30PM saying there was no back-up generator in *** ****** and his boss was telling him he needed to drive to *** ********* to get one! I told him at that point I wanted a refund because by the time he would be able to go to *** ********* and then drive to my house in the East Bay, the party would be over. I told him I wanted a refund of the $60 for the generator rental and an additional refund for not having the full use of the bounce house during my rental time and having to deal with my daughter being traumatized over the bounce house falling down on her. He told me okay and I assumed I would hear back from a supervisor at Comic Jumps about it. Boy was I wrong. I never heard anything back. The Monday after the party I called Comic Jumps and left a voicemail. I asked for a $110 refund - $60 for the faulty generator and $50 because we did not have the full use of the bounce house and the trauma it caused. I got no response. Then on Wednesday, October 9th I emailed them with my refund request again and the explanation. Even after this third time requesting them to contact me about what happened, I still got no response. Comic Jumps charged me the full amount for the equipment and intentionally ignored my complaint and request to speak with them. I am disputing this charge with my credit card company, American Express. I will NOT be using Comic Jumps again. Any company who cannot do their customers even the common courtesy of responding to their phone calls after their equipment fails doesn't deserve business, and certainly doesn't deserve trust with one's celebrations or your children's safety. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: American Express

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a $110 refund. This consists of the $60 fee for the generator rental, and $50 back for not having the full use of the bounce house during the party and for having to deal with my daughter being traumatized.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/12) */ Received business response via email on 12/11/13: At the time of setup we realized that a gas generator is not needed Mr. *** wanted the bounce house to be set up in his backyard. There was outlets we can plug in too. Generators tend to be noisy when they are setup in small areas like a backyard we let him know that and since the bounce house was working fine the generator was not needed. we refunded the cost of the generator rental to Mr. ***. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Comic Jumps' response is untrue and is a red herring. I specifically ordered a generator because my house has an old **** and tube electrical system and I was worried running the blower for the bounce house on it for the whole day would be too much for the system to handle. If the generator was not needed then I would never have ordered it in the first place! Also, Comic Jumps never told me about the generator being noisy and what does that even have to do with the fact that they charged me for a generator that never worked. In fact, I never complained about the noise nor was that an issue. I have a very spacious backyard and don't care about the noise of the generator. It was a birthday party with about 20 children. Who would expect it to not be noisy? Comic Jumps is making up a story because they don't want to be held liable for the faulty generator. They never reimbursed me for the cost of renting the generator. They have never responded to my complaints or my requests for a refund. In addition to this complaint through BBB, I started a dispute through my credit card company. Comic Jumps never responded to them, and my credit card company just issued me a credit for $110. So at this point I am only seeking to have this official complaint lodged against Comic Jumps because they are an accredited business through BBB. Their customer service is egregious, and now they are lying to try to cover up their shady business practices. I have a dozen friends and family who were witnesses to how they treated me the day of the party and can attest to the fact that the generator was requested, that it failed, that the staff member informed us he was bringing a replacement, and that he never did. I have proof by email after the party that they never responded to me until this deceitful response to my BBB complaint. Comic Jumps did not refund the cost of the generator rental. Only my credit card company provided a credit.

12/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company rented a defective bouncy house and the owner was unresponsive in resolving my complaint. He stated he would return a call and never did. We rented a jumpy house for my daughters baptism. Comic Jumps delivered the inflatable jumpy house and I signed the delivery agreement that the house was satisfactory (despite the visual appearance being rather dilapidated, the house inflated and seemed to be OK and it was too late to complain that we were delivered such a heavily used jumpy house). That was a BIG mistake. Once the kids got inside the jumpy house immediately deflated. When I went inside to investigate why I found that one of the many, many patches that had been made to the inflatable house had failed. The jumpy house was unable to hold air and we were unable to use the jumpy house. We called comic jumps and after 45 minutes the driver called us back to inform us that it would be 2 hours before he could make it to our house. At that point the party would be over so I told him not to worry about it. I called the company on the following Tuesday and left a message with the receptionist to have a manager call me back. When I had not received a call by the following Tuesday, I called again. This time I got a manager who told me he needed to investigate the matter and would call me back before Friday. He never did, so I called the company again the following Tuesday. I was informed that he was on vacation. So, I called again the following Tuesday (today 11/5/13) and talked to the same manager. He told me that it was unreasonable that I felt he should have already called me back. He also told me that he still needed to investigate further because he has already sent the bouncy house out again and did not receive any complaints (which I know cannot be true unless it was patched again). During this call, in which he was unwilling to accept any responsibility, he stated that because I signed his delivery agreement, I was accepting use of the defective bouncy house and was not entitled to any kind of refund. Simply put, this is a terrible company and I would never, never use them again. I am contesting the credit card charge since he is renting dangerous and defective equipment (for use with children of all things). I would never rent from this company again unless you are looking to get sued for harming the kids of your family and friends.

Desired Settlement: A full refund, I don't trust their equipment and a credit alone is not acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/12) */ Received business response via email on 12/12/13: We talked to ***** on the day of the rental several times regarding the bounce house. We instructed a driver to go back to the residence and address any issues with the unit. When the driver call Mr. ****** he said that the bounce house was working. Mr. ****** kept the bounce house for the duration of the rental. When the pickup driver arrived the bounce house was in use and was working. We talked to Mr. ****** after the party and offered a partial credit for a future rental to compensate for any inconvenience.

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not provide refund when product was unused. Company knew the space size I had,and said I cant get refund/cancellation fee if product doesn't fit. Below is the confirmation e-mail I received from the company. I booked the order July 3rd. I also have the contract that I did not sign. I can provide if needed. I spoke to a woman about the space I had for the jumper a day before delivery and she tells me it wouldn't fit so I asked to cancel it, she says no I can't do so. Basically telling me I gave them money for no reason. The driver came by and of course knowing the bouncer wouldn't fit so took it back. I called the company back spoke to a supervisor/manager who tells me the same thing. I asked if there was a fee I could pay he said no because the slot was booked, but I didn't use the bouncer. I then asked to speak with the owner who never returned my call. Today July 31, I called to speak about the situation trying to see if the owner would speak to me but the manager gets on the phone and says theres nothing that can be done. That I've lost my money. I again offered a cancellation fee understanding that it was an inconvenience and said its not possible. This is ridiculous, I've bought things from several companies and not once have been told I couldn't cancel. Let alone pay a fee for cancellation. Dear Ms. ****** *******, Thank you for your order. Please come back soon! Invoice: INVOICE Date: Jul 3, 2013 12:22 PM Order id: #***** Order status: Processed Payment method: Credit Card Delivery method: We Deliver *****************. ******************** Phone:************ Fax:************ Email:******************** First Name: ****** Last Name: ******* Phone: ********** E-Mail: ************************** Cell Phone: Billing Address Shipping Address Address: ********************* City: san francisco State: California Zip/Postal code: ***** Address: **************** City: oakland State: California Zip/Postal code: ***** Event Details Start Date: Jul 4, 2013 03:00 PM End Date: Jul 4, 2013 08:00 PM Products ordered SKU Product Item price Quantity Total GEN-2500 2500 Watt Gen $60.00 1 $60.00 BM-PJ Batman Jump Damage Waiver: Not Included $109.00 1 $109.00 Subtotal: $169.00 Fuel surcharge: $5.00 Total: $174.00 Customer notes I have space 25x 10. Height is not an issue. I was wondering if this space would be a problem for the length and width. Please contact me ASAP with a response. I'm also open to any other bouncers you may have available to fit this space.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a full refund of my money. Also customer service training. The staff does not know how to speak to customers or how to keep a customer satisfied. Horrible business principles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/09/16) */ Received business response via email on 9/16/13: The customer order placed the order through our website, the space needed to setup this bounce house is stated on site. We also have a cancellation policy that is stated on the site. When the customer called us less than 24 hours prior to the rental concerned about the space she had we offered her to cancel the delivery and get a credit for a future rental, she declined this offer and insisted to deliver the bounce house and hoping that it will work. The following day our driver arrive at the delivery location, after looking at the space provided he tells the customer the bounce house will not fit and tells her the same offer to cancel get a credit she can use for a different date and location where the bounce house will fit. The customer declined and insisted for the bounce house to be set up, the driver started to set up and the bounce house didn't fit. then the customer and her friend stud and the bounce house to prevent our driver from folding and rolling the bounce house back up, and threatens that the bounce house will not be there when he returns. Due to the late cancelation and that the customer failed to provide adequate space for the bounce house to be set up, we can't offer any refund or credit. Thanks, ** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The information above is incorrect about the driver, the driver wanted to leave the bounce house in the street unattended, so he was informed that it wouldn't be there because surely someone around would see it and take it. The person responding is also contradicting himself first he says "The following day our driver arrive at the delivery location, after looking at the space provided he tells the customer the bounce house will not fit and tells her the same offer to cancel get a credit" then says "Due to the late cancelation and that the customer failed to provide adequate space for the bounce house to be set up, we can't offer any refund or credit" Why say you cannot offer a credit there when it was just said you would? I did decline this offer because there's no reason or point to further business with a company that doesn't train their employees to speak to customers in a professional fashion. The person I first spoke to did not offer a credit, just basically said the order has been put through you can't cancel. For the response just proves me right, this company contradicts itself, and I'm vividly upset that a professional company doesn't know how to respond consistently. I guess a company such as this one really does need the money. Never in my life have I felt disrespected and cheated by a company such as they have. I would just like to let the Better Business Bureau know the kind of business these people are providing to their customers


Customer Review(s)