This business is not BBB accredited.

Skout Inc

Phone: (888) 531-7703 301 Howard St Ste 1500, San Francisco, CA 94105 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.skout.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a mobile social network for meeting new people.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Skout Inc include:

  • Advertising issues found by BBB
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Skout Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2010 Business started: 08/21/2007 Business started locally: 08/21/2007 Business incorporated 08/21/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christian Wiklund, CEO Ms. Jane Barrett, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christian Wiklund, CEO
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Online Social Media/Networking

Service Area
This business service area covers: International.
Alternate Business Names
Skout, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 Howard St Ste 1500

    San Francisco, CA 94105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a VIP subscription nearly 48 hours ago. This subscription promised certain account perks, but these perks have not been applied. I purchased a VIP subscription nearly 48 hours ago via Google Play. This subscription promised certain account perks, including visibility into visited my profile. These perks have not been applied. As a result, I have spent additional money to unlock this visibility, which should already have been provided. Additionally, I have been unable to access this information within the guaranteed timeframe. I submitted both a ticket and an e-mail regarding this issue, but have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I'm simply seeking indemnification for the services that I paid for. VIP should be applied immediately and should be date-adjusted to the day that the perks were actually applied. Presently, I have paid two days of VIP without any of the benefits. Additionally, I request a refund for the additional money that I had to spend on these perks, or a return of the 150 points spent in order to unlock visibility. In a nutshell, I merely want what I paid for. It's a shame that a ticket and an e-mail were insufficient to resolve this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/30) */ Thank you for your patience. We had experienced an issue with VIP Status and Android Users which has now been fixed. I understand from the community team that they responded to ****** and that is complaint has now been addressed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Although the software has been repaired, I have not yet been made whole. Note that: (1) it has been nine days since purchase and (2) I had to purchased approximately $10 in points after purchasing the subscription in order to see who viewed my profilea perk that was included in the subscription that I purchased. As a result, exactly two things need to happen for indemnification: (1) the next subscription billing cycle must be prorated for the days I paid for, but didn't receive; and (2) the monetary value of any points spent on features that are included in VIP must be refunded. I wouldn't have had to purchase those points had the software functioned properly. Skout, Inc. is at fault for failure to deliver the purchased products. To retain me as a subscriber, I don't need anything special, merely to be indemnified and made whole. I just want what I paid for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/05/21) */ In addition to reporting this issue to the BBB, ****** also reported this to our Customer Service Department. The issue has now been resolved, ****** has received the VIP and been reimbursed for all the additional services purchased. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not been reimbursed. At no point has Customer Service mentioned reimbursement to me. Their last contact was 30 March when they upgraded my account to VIP. I have not received any receipt of reimbursement. If Skout will provide or re-send a receipt that I can confirm, I am happy to consider the matter resolved, but presently I possess no evidence of this.

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for skout, an online social network, and they are refusing to delete my profile or provide help in letting me do so. I signed up for this social networking service and now want my profile deleted. There has been some difficulty accomplishing this as I signed in through facebook and the email address connected to my fb account is no longer active. Thus, skout support had some difficulty determining if I was the owner of that profile. They asked for some additional information, which I provided, but they have stopped responding to my emails. My profile is still up and they will not offer a way to have it deleted.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my profile deleted. I think it would also be a good thing if Skout and services such as this were required to have a way for the customer to delete his/her own profile without recourse to an unreliable support team.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/26) */ The gentleman who filed the complaint has now moved his Facebook account to the correct email enabling us to now delete the account. We have reached out direct and closed the matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/03/19) */ Ms. ******, Thanks very much for your intervention in the matter. Skout has indeed finally closed my account. I am stunned that it took your intervention to force them to respond to me. They had been non-responsive to several of my polite and detailed emails of a period of weeks. In those emails I had supplied them with the information they had requested to be able to delete my profile but then they had inexplicably broken off communication. I remain a bit mystified as to why they would behave in the fashion they did but I imagine it was more a matter of some dysfunction in their support structure than anything more sinister. Thanks again very much for your help in this matter. **** *******

3/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I been useing the application for a year they let a other useing the app be racist To me and i reported the user and i get kicked out of the app I want to get unblocked from the app

Desired Settlement: To get my phone unblocked from the app and get points

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/12) */ Received response via email: ****** ******** repeatedly sent unrequested pictures of an extreme sexual nature to various community members on Skout, who then filed complaints. This violates our Terms of Use and as a result Mr ******** was blocked. Our Terms of Use can be found here: http://www.skout.com/tos Please let me know if you require any further explanation. Kind regards ****

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They should not be allowed to block devices from using there service. I was using the skout app on my iphone and i kinda was sending nudes to other people but they deactivated my account and blocked my device from using their app. If I cant use their app, they should not even be in business. They should not be able to block my device from using their service and should not even deactivate my account. I have a right to do what ever I want on the internet and If they wont let me, They need to just quit violating peoples rights on freedom of speech.

Desired Settlement: Reactivation of my account and you to force them to change their terms of service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ The user send sexually explicit content to other users and was subsequently reported by a user (who did not request to receive pictures of the senders *****). Sending sexually explicit content is not allowed under Skouts Terms of Use http://www.skout.com/terms.jsp. By signing up, the user agreed to our TAU which are legally binding. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Skout Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)