BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Meltwater New US, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (415) 829-5927Fax: (415) 848-9190

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Meltwater representative misled me into missing a deadline to terminate a contract. Subsequently, company reps failed to deliver promised compromise
A Meltwater representative misled me into missing a deadline to terminate a contract. In December 2013, she told me that my contract would not terminate until March 30, 2014, and we could discuss termination or contract change any time before that. In addition, she sent me an email one day before a crucial deadline -- not referencing the deadline but suggesting we talk later in February. Once the deadline passed, this representative disappeared and another took over. He immediately told me I had missed a deadline and so there was no way to avoid paying for an additional entire year of service @ $5000.

Subsequently, other company reps offered to find an acceptable compromise, but then quit communicating with me and failed to deliver any compromise.

Desired Settlement
I want to terminate the original contract as of the original date of termination and not be forced to pay for another year of service.

Business Response
Due to a change in staffing verbal contract agreements reached between the ******** Medical Association and their original sales representative were lost in the shuffle. We have reached out to this customer and honored their request to cancel their ongoing contract. We believe this matter has been settled to the satisfaction of both parties.

05/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $19.95 for an address change without it being listed in the terms and conditions. I thought I was on the USPS site. Scam!
I went online today to submit a change of address with the USPS. I know now I ended up on a site of scammers. At one point it required I check a box about movinghelpassistant which I had previously ignored because I get too much junk mail. There was no mention of a $19.95 charge. I have since found out about these scamspeople like me end up on the wrong website. I have used the official USPS site previously and been charged $1.00 which I consider a security feature. I have contacted my credit card company and will dispute the charge. Can you please shut down these people.

Desired Settlement
The $19.95 they charged me as well as any other charges they might add on!

Business Response
Meltwater believes that this complaint is misdirected. We are not associated with the USPS, we do not offer any sort of address change within our services, nor do we accept payment for any services online. Meltwater is a Software as a Service (SaaS) company serving the PR and Social Media industry.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My complaint was with MovingHelpAssistants.com. I do not know of the Meltwater New US Inc. company noted above. FYI, I emailed the BBB (I expect that email should be somewhere in your system) upon receiving a $19.95 credit on 4/25/14 from Moving Help Assistants. I immediately verified it online on my credit card statement. I had emailed Moving Help Assistants on 4/24/14 with my complaint following the initial charge of $19.95. I was pleasantly surprised that I received a credit after having read the online complaints about the company. My account can be closed. Thank you for your service.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their services did not live up to what was promised. We requested to have a full refund of money paid and they stated it was not a breach of contract.
From the second day of the contract, we began having problems. As such, we expressed our dissatisfaction from the beginning of the contract and said it was a breach of contract because they could not provide the services as promised. They refused to refund our first payment of $2500 for a service that was inadequate. We dealt with numerous representatives of the company, were given one contact after another to have the issues resolved. We gave every good faith effort on our end and experienced resistant assistance and stonewalling.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of $2500.

Business Response
Meltwater provides highly respected Software as a Service to over 20,000 customers. We openly dispute the claim that the product did not match expectations as promised. Further, the ongoing contract with this customer has been cancelled as requested. Meltwater did not refund the first payment of $2500, as it covered initial account set up, training and service received. It is clear that our position on this matter differs from that of ********, and we sincerely regret that this matter was not settled to her satisfaction.


Business Response
Meltwater provides highly respected Software as a Service to over 20,000 customers. We openly dispute the claim that the product did not match expectations as promised. Further, the ongoing contract with this customer has been cancelled as requested. Meltwater did not refund the first payment of $2500, as it covered initial account set up, training and service received. It is clear that our position on this matter differs from that of ********, and we sincerely regret that this matter was not settled to her satisfaction.

08/12/2013Delivery Issues
12/21/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misled by SalesRep. It was Like Pulling Teeth for Customer Service to Look for a Solution. The Sales Rep was Arrogant.
In August of 2013, we began service with Meltwater. I had spoken to one of their sales reps who no longer appears to be with the company, who advised me that the newsletter had a particular functionality that I later realized it did not. I wasn't certain if he had made a mistake or intentionally misled me. However, if he is the SalesRep, I would imagine he would know the product inside out. I was told that I would have a 3 person team consisting of the Salerep that sold me the service, a growth rep, and a success rep. I was told that I would always have access to someone. This was not true. I only worked with the Success rep. When I called the Sales Rep, I got voicemail. He would not respond. The Success rep would, after a while, call me back. When I would call the success rep I usually got VM, but again she would always call me back within a few hours at most. This was not what I was expecting based on what I was told when the Sales rep was trying to sell the service. It seemed as if I would always get prompt access to my ''team.'' This was annoying. When I spoke with the success rep, and asked her how I could go about accessing the functionality that the Sales Rep said I had, I was told that the newsletter could not do what I was requesting. I let the success rep know that I had purchased the service based on that functionality. She simply said, sounding a bit arrogant and condescending, that the functionality was not possible but that she would show me how to use the functionality that the service did offer. I explained to her that I bought the service based on that feature. She did not seem concerned. There was no effort, at first, to find a work-around. I felt as if her attitude was simply, ''Deal with it.'' I was upset. Though I told her that the format of the newsletter would not work for my audience, her suggestion was that I send it to my audience anyway to see what they think. I found this response unacceptable. Doing business with Meltwater has been exhausting. After weeks of going back and forth, I inquired as to what it would take for us to get a refund, it was at that point that she made an effort to live up to what the sales person had promised. The service we received was D+ at best. Earlier this month, I told our Success rep that we do not wish to continue our service with Meltwater. She advised me that I had missed the deadline to cancel our service and that we should have canceled it 60 days in advance per the fine print of the contract. Specifically, she said, ''I've attached the contract for the Meltwater service to this email. Please have your legal team refer to clause 8.1 under invoicing and payment which specifies that the cancellation needs to be received in writing 60 days in advance of the expiration date.
I'd be happy to jump on the phone and further clarify this clause with your legal team.'' Arrogant.
Why would Meltwater want to hold a company to a service when it is clear that the company finds the entire experience with Meltwater to be unsatisfactory to say the least.--we never actually used the Newsletter as what they were offering would not work for us. Even worse, the Customer Service rep does not appear to even appreciate us as customers. It seems as if the company just wants the money. There are other issues, as well, for instance, I was told during our onboarding that we would have a conference call with the Success Rep and the Growth rep to discuss how the service is working for us. This never happened, through we did hear from the Success rep. Of course, as you can imagine, she never seemed to be concerned with anything we had to say. She would simply tell us to use the service we had and make the best of it. My only regret was giving Meltwater the benefit of the doubt. I refuse to speak with the success rep. Customer service is supposed to help not cause additional problems for the customer. I don't understand why our Customer Service Rep is in a customer service role.

Desired Settlement
We would like to cancel our service that is set to begin next month. We are not using the newsletter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Online Social Media/Networking

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.