BBB Accredited Business since


Find a Location

Phone: (415) 236-3144 Fax: (415) 848-9190 View Additional Phone Numbers 225 Bush St. STE 1000, San Francisco, CA 94104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers software service, including media monitoring, social media monitoring, collaboration software, PR campaign management, recruitment software, and search engine marketing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meltwater meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Meltwater
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2009 Business started: 02/22/2000 in CA Business incorporated 05/10/2005 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Johnny Vance, Director of Strategic Programs Mr. Chris Correa, Manager, Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Johnny Vance, Director of Strategic Programs
Number of Employees


Business Category

Online Social Media/Networking Search Engine Marketing Marketing Consultants Marketing Programs & Services Public Relations Counselors

Service Area
Alternate Business Names
Meltwater News US1, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Meltwater has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 225 Bush St. STE 1000

    San Francisco, CA 94104 (415) 963-3252


    530 B St #1510

    San Diego, CA 92101


    800 W El Camino Real #260

    Mountain View, CA 94040


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2016 Delivery Issues
2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased Meltwater****'s search services, but they were not what was promised and we canceled within two weeks. We purchased Meltwater****'s search services, but they were not what was promised. We were told that their search services covered all the media covered by Google News search plus much more. Instead it turned out that Meltwater's package that had been sold us didn't cover major media outlets such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. We also told Meltwater that we were obtaining their service so as to produce our annual end of year media report, and that if we were going to use it, it needed to be available to us right away. Meltwater eventually informed us that they would do the searches for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and other media that involved paywalls for us, but by that point we had already produced our end of the year media report and we did not see how Meltwater could properly do the types of search we wanted done for****parable organizations. We informed Meltwater via email with the two week trial period that we were canceling their service. We were never able to use their service. Meltwater has continued sending us bills requiring that we pay for their service.

Desired Settlement: That Meltwater recognize that we gave them notice of cancelation within the two week notice period. That they didn't provide us the product that they had promised (it didn't cover major news outlets as they had claimed) and that we weren't able to use it for our project within the time frame we had told them that we needed to use it. We didn't use Meltwater's services for any purpose. Given that we received a notice on Christmas day that our bill is now 30 days overdue, we want Meltwater to correct this incorrect billing.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2016/02/01) */ Consumer called to say issue is resolved

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been contacted by this company previously several times. Despite telling them we're not interested, they continue to call. This company wants me to buy their media tracking program. Their sales representative, ***** *******, has called several times and sent email. I've told him we're not interested, and on August 10, 2015, requested to unsubscribe from their email. Despite those requests, Mr. ******* just called again (December 11, 2015) and even acknowledged that I had told them we weren't interested. Additionally, he sent me emails on November 11th, December 8th and December 10th. This has gone beyond reasonable and customary marketing. To completely ignore my repeated lack of interest AND a request to unsubscribe from unwanted emails exceeds any rational standard. This form of overly aggressive marketing is unwarranted and unwanted.

Desired Settlement: Simply: I never, ever want to receive ANY type of contact from this company again. I want our company information removed from their contact list. I want any of my personal information removed from their contact list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/28) */ We take these comments very seriously and have shared this complaint message with the appropriate people. To ensure this contact does not receive further communication from Meltwater, we have removed his email address and phone number from our database. Furthermore, we've added his email to a suppression list which will prevent him from receiving any communications. We have put appropriate notations on his account clearly instructing no one from Meltwater to contact his company again. We are confidant this will stop all future correspondence and apologize for the inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept their response at this time. But I will reserve the right to file additional complaints with the BBB or state or federal agencies in the future, if necessary.

10/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Meltwater is not letting me terminate my service, stating that I missed a 50 day auto-renewal date. I just don't want service anymore. I signed a 1 year contract and Meltwater put a clause in the contract that stated that the contract would auto-renew 50 days prior to the end of of the contract. It is now 45 days prior to the end other contract, I have now notified them that I do not wish to renew and my rep. is not letting me opt-out of another 12 month contract, even though I am not interested in the service. The rep contacted me 60 days prior to the end of the contract to encourage me to use the service, so that I might renew, and never mentioned the fact that there was a 50 day auto-renewal deadline.

Desired Settlement: Terminate the current contract at the end of the 12 month term and don't renew or charge me for another 12 months.

8/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Software does not live up to what was promised. There is an excessive amount of missing / incorrect data, bugs w/ the software, poor customer service. We were billed on 3/19/15 Net 30 days even though our subscription did not start until 4/1/15. We were promised an account specialist that would help us get up to speed and address any issues. However we were not assigned a rep until 4/16/15, almost a full month after being issued our bill for $7K. We still had not been contacted by this person as of 4:30pm 4/16/15. Our sales rep said this was due to some issues with Meltwater being short staffed. On 4/10/15, we contacted our sales rep to let him know that we had serious concerns about the platform. During our first full week using Meltwater we came across an exorbitant amount of missing and incorrect outlet and contact information, as well as missing agents for monitoring. We kept a running tally / list and within the first week found 50 instances of missing or incorrect info for major publications in New York City including Conde Nast, SHAPE, Good Housekeeping). Note these are not obscure publications and as a media contact and outlet database, we signed up with Meltwater b/c we were told they had a robust team of researchers and their information was accurate and reliable. During the month of April we spent over 40 hours of staff time researching this information without any assistance from our client ''success'' rep and had to do our own research to find contact info using LinkedIN and Google search. Note these free services have more reliable information than Meltwater. This had a huge impact on our small staff and affected the productivity of our annual NYC press tour.I brought the following missing / incorrect information to the attention of both our sales rep and account success rep on 4/16. On 4/16 she replied: "As for the Media Contacts, (and we can discuss this in more detail on the call..) we have a large internal team that specifically focuses on updating our journalist and publication information. With that being said, I can reach out to the team with the details you've provided to get the most up to date information in our system. This typically takes 24-48 hours, depending on how many requests we are submitting. I'll get this rolling now!" I followed up with her on 4/22 when none of the contacts I sent had been updated and sent a new list with even more missing / incorrect info. She did not reply. I emailed her again on 4/23 with even more missing contacts, to which she replied: "I apologize for the delay in my response, as I was off-site yesterday afternoon. I did submit your previous request yesterday afternoon, and I will forward this request you've provided now. Keep in mind, this is a courtesy service that Meltwater provides, and we certainly are working to get this information updated in a timely manner." The information I sent on 4/16 was never addressed until 5/8/15, almost a full month after our initial contact to our sales rep to let him know about our concerns about the inaccuracies and after our NYC press tour was completed, which was the reason we needed the contacts in the first place. Meltwater's website AND our sales rep promised us: Meltwater Media Contacts - FAQ How often are media contacts in Meltwater Press updated? * We prioritize updates based on how much content a journalist produces, frequency & circulation of a publication. * Updates are being made almost 24 hrs a day, and the approximate renewal cycle is 90 days. * Globally, we update around 5,000 outlets/contacts per week * If for some reason you find a contact missing or out of date, send it to your Meltwater Account Manager & request we update it on demand. However their contract fine print states: "Meltwater makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy, timeliness, quality, completeness, suitability or reliability of any information or data accessed on or through the Site." It is clear that they do not stand behind their products whatsoever. We contacted our reps repeatedly to cancel due to their breach of contract without a response ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: American Express

Desired Settlement: We contacted Meltwater by phone and email on the following dates to address our concerns: - 4/10 - 4/13 - 4/14 - 4/16 - 4/20 - 4/21 - 4/22 - 4/23 - 5/12 - 5/14 - 5/28 Little to nothing was done to resolve the matter and we were told to "hang in there and that it things would improve" but nothing changed. Neither our sales rep or client success rep has responded to us since May 14th when we requested yet again to cancel the subscription. We have not logged in or used the software since and expect a full refund, which is extremely generous of us given all of the staff time we have spent dealing with this matter (now upwards of 60 hours). They refuse to cancel our subscription yet have ceased all communication with us. We generously offered to pay for the time we used the software even though most of the time was spent troubleshooting and keeping tabs on missing / incorrect info, which was about 1 month. We then had to purchase a second platform because we could not effectively do our jobs and serve our clients with the lack of service provided by Meltwater. Due to their lack of response and follow through, we purchased an additional PR software, CisionPoint in May. We expect a full refund and our contract to be terminated as of the original date (April 10, 2015) we contacted our sales rep to let him know that the service was not what was promised and we wanted to cancel. We were told there is no cooling off period and that we signed a contract but there has to be some safeguards in place to protect businesses from being scammed and taken advantage of like this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/08/21) */ The team resolved the issue with the client directly. I was told that the client is planning to call the BBB and ask for the complaint to be removed and letting you know it will all be resolved by the end of next month. Please let me know if you don't hear from the client, and I'll follow up with our team for more details. Thanks! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 19, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We did reach an agreement on Friday, August 21, 2015. I am awaiting confirmation on all points discussed and will then contact the BBB for final thoughts. Thanks.

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 2 companies, I've had the same issue-the sales team won't stop calling and emailing, even after I've declined their services multiple times. I've had the same issue with Meltwater at two companies. Despite telling them multiple times to stop calling and emailing me, I can't get them to stop. They claim not to have a "do not call" list, and despite being very explicit about not wanting their services and wanting them to stop reaching out to me, it never gets through. I assume this might be a deliberate approach that is taught to the sales team, but it feels like harassment. I don't know what I need to do to have Meltwater leave me alone.

Desired Settlement: I don't want Meltwater to contact me again. I'd love to see them create a "do not call" list to make sure that they can learn how to professionally deal with a contact that tries to decline their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/08/21) */ Re: the pending complaint from **** ***** at Energy Recovery, we have contact the Area Director for the region and he has agreed to make sure that no one reaches out to that individual or his company. Notes will be put into his account to reflect that. Please let us know if you need anything else to resolve that issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate the response.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Meltwater representative misled me into missing a deadline to terminate a contract. Subsequently, company reps failed to deliver promised compromise A Meltwater representative misled me into missing a deadline to terminate a contract. In December 2013, she told me that my contract would not terminate until March 30, 2014, and we could discuss termination or contract change any time before that. In addition, she sent me an email one day before a crucial deadline -- not referencing the deadline but suggesting we talk later in February. Once the deadline passed, this representative disappeared and another took over. He immediately told me I had missed a deadline and so there was no way to avoid paying for an additional entire year of service @ $5000. Subsequently, other company reps offered to find an acceptable compromise, but then quit communicating with me and failed to deliver any compromise.

Desired Settlement: I want to terminate the original contract as of the original date of termination and not be forced to pay for another year of service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/13) */ Due to a change in staffing verbal contract agreements reached between the ******** Medical Association and their original sales representative were lost in the shuffle. We have reached out to this customer and honored their request to cancel their ongoing contract. We believe this matter has been settled to the satisfaction of both parties.

5/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $19.95 for an address change without it being listed in the terms and conditions. I thought I was on the USPS site. Scam! I went online today to submit a change of address with the USPS. I know now I ended up on a site of scammers. At one point it required I check a box about movinghelpassistant which I had previously ignored because I get too much junk mail. There was no mention of a $19.95 charge. I have since found out about these scamspeople like me end up on the wrong website. I have used the official USPS site previously and been charged $1.00 which I consider a security feature. I have contacted my credit card company and will dispute the charge. Can you please shut down these people.

Desired Settlement: The $19.95 they charged me as well as any other charges they might add on!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/05/07) */ Meltwater believes that this complaint is misdirected. We are not associated with the USPS, we do not offer any sort of address change within our services, nor do we accept payment for any services online. Meltwater is a Software as a Service (SaaS) company serving the PR and Social Media industry. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My complaint was with I do not know of the Meltwater New US Inc. company noted above. FYI, I emailed the BBB (I expect that email should be somewhere in your system) upon receiving a $19.95 credit on 4/25/14 from Moving Help Assistants. I immediately verified it online on my credit card statement. I had emailed Moving Help Assistants on 4/24/14 with my complaint following the initial charge of $19.95. I was pleasantly surprised that I received a credit after having read the online complaints about the company. My account can be closed. Thank you for your service.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their services did not live up to what was promised. We requested to have a full refund of money paid and they stated it was not a breach of contract. From the second day of the contract, we began having problems. As such, we expressed our dissatisfaction from the beginning of the contract and said it was a breach of contract because they could not provide the services as promised. They refused to refund our first payment of $2500 for a service that was inadequate. We dealt with numerous representatives of the company, were given one contact after another to have the issues resolved. We gave every good faith effort on our end and experienced resistant assistance and stonewalling.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $2500.

Business Response: Business Response /* (-10, 14, 2014/03/12) */ Meltwater provides highly respected Software as a Service to over 20,000 customers. We openly dispute the claim that the product did not match expectations as promised. Further, the ongoing contract with this customer has been cancelled as requested. Meltwater did not refund the first payment of $2500, as it covered initial account set up, training and service received. It is clear that our position on this matter differs from that of ********, and we sincerely regret that this matter was not settled to her satisfaction. Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/03/14) */ Meltwater provides highly respected Software as a Service to over 20,000 customers. We openly dispute the claim that the product did not match expectations as promised. Further, the ongoing contract with this customer has been cancelled as requested. Meltwater did not refund the first payment of $2500, as it covered initial account set up, training and service received. It is clear that our position on this matter differs from that of ********, and we sincerely regret that this matter was not settled to her satisfaction.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Meltwater
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart