BBB Accredited Business since

Shaklee Corporation

Phone: (925) 924-2000 Fax: (925) 924-2862 4747 Willow Rd, Pleasanton, CA 94588 http://www.shaklee.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shaklee Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shaklee Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Shaklee Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/30/1987 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Barnett, Chairman and CEO Ms. Marjorie L. Fine, Executive Vice President and General Counsel Ms. Cathy Keating, VP, Field Communication
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Barnett, Chairman and CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Marjorie L. Fine, Executive Vice President and General Counsel
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

Nutrition Vitamins & Food Supplements Internet Shopping

Service Area
This company services worldwide.
Products & Services

This company offers Nutritional, weight management, personal care, homecare and water filtration products.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No membership materials and no product. 2 Months ago I ordered product AND joined the organization as a member which promised discounts if you joined. This cost me 20 dollars. NEVER RECIEVED ANY MEMBER INFORMATION ALTHOUGH I PAID THE 20 BUCKS. got ripped off!! Then I ordered 130.00 worth of product and it was never delivered to me. After contacting customer service they could not locate the package using the tracking number, but only stated it was in "pending" status????. I already knew this, that is why i called them. I requested a refund and was told the only way to get a refund was to ship the product back to them!!! Really???? I suppose the moron on the phone was to stupid to understand I DID NOT GET THE PRODUCT and NO ONE could determine its location.

Desired Settlement: REFUND of my purchase price including the 20.00 membership fee for which I have recieved NOTHING!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** L. **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@shaklee.com Shaklee Corporation accepts Mr. ******'s statement that he did not receive the products shipped to him. We have called him to apologize and have issued a full credit to him in the amount of $149.28. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business won't accept cancellation of order. I ordered basic h2 online thinking its a free shipping since the summary just says the price and you cant find anywhere in the site the shipping rate. After i clicked buy with all the credit catd info thats when its says the whole total . So I immediately contacted them that i want to cancel my order but the rep says they cant make any changes anymore. Told her my order number and that i just ordered it about a minute ago. The rep didnt even see the order right away since it didnt show up yet and then they refused to cancel once processed? I ordered basic h2 16 0z just today around 1:30 pm or so aof august 18,2015. Order number is XXXXXXXXXX. The credit card i used is a visa card.

Desired Settlement: A cancellation of my order

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** L. **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@*******.com Shaklee contacted Ms. ******, issued a credit for the product and shipping and handling, and, as a goodwill gesture, informed her she may keep the product when it is delivered. Delivery is scheduled for today. We believe this matter has now been resolved to Ms. ******'s satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Satisfied

8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shaklee did not refund the right amount of money and did not send any documents that should've been included with the incorrect check amount. I returned 782 Items of Shaklee products from 24 invoices that worth a total of $16128.12. These included three orders that I have been contacting Shaklee about since July 21, 2014 because the orders that we (Members and Distributor) received around mid July, had merchandise that were almost expired. All these merchandise were returned and delivered to Shaklee in mid January. After a few follow ups, we received refund checks that totaled only 65% of the total $10204.81 that we were supposed to receive (Merchandise = 9146.02, sales tax of 1036.54 and shipping charged) on March 13, 2014. There were no documents included with the refund. When we calculated the total amount of returned merchandise, with deduction of 10% restocking fee and 20% bonus, the amount that was supposed to be refunded is more than the amount that Shaklee actually returned to us. After more contacts and follow ups, I received another check of $1206.20 stated for the inventory return on April 27, 2015. Again, there was no support document with the check to state what, or who; the check was made out to. Both times did not have any document to justify the total amount of deduction Shaklee made before sending the check. We believe that Shaklee over deducted the amount from our returned merchandise. As a result, the amount that we received was much less than the amount that we were supposed to receive. For example, the amount of money that was for 7 members' merchandise were worth a total of $5923.31 (merchandises = $5416.16, Sales tax $391.12 plus shipping) and got reduced to $815.08 (The check $1206.20 - $391.12 sales tax) I have contacted and requested Shaklee, since May 1, 2015, for the deduction documents or pay us the right amount, but there has been no response from them.

Desired Settlement: As stated in the complaint, the total amount of merchandise that was returned to Shaklee was worth a total of $16128.12. They currently have only refunded a total amount of $7,790.33. After deducting 10% for restocking fee and 20% for the bonuses that we received, we are requesting that Shaklee refund the rest of the amount of money that they owe us which is $3,499.36.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** L. **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@shaklee.com Shaklee sent a response to this complaint via Federal Express on Monday, June 8, 2015. Federal Express tracking shows it was delivered to your office on Tuesday, June 9, 2015. Please review that response. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/17) */ Dear ***** ******: as I have mentioned to you on the telephone this morning, I did not receive any Federal Express package or responding letter from Shaklee on June 9 as stated. I also did not see any of Shaklee's response on the BBB website. Thank you for your help. **** ***** Final Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/06/26) */ Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/07/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After looking at the corrected additional values for our reimbursement, we understand that this was just a miscalculation from Shaklee Corporation. We are willing to accept the reimbursement amount and would like to terminate any further complaints to BBB against Shaklee Corporation. We thank you for finally resolving the long-overdue problem and we hope that there will no longer be any more problems in the future.

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company offers a lifetime guarantee on all products. They agreed to honor the policy if I returned unused product or empty boxes. I mailed the boxes as requested by pricilla and the company only reimbursed $100 of the $599 plus tax that they promised abs I am owed. They stated my gold kit was incomplete. However I specifically asked what I shold do if I don't have all of the empty containers. ********* stated that would be fine, just mail whatever I still have. I only requested a refund for my initial investment for the gold pack. I did not ask to be refunder for the other products that I purchased, which is another $1000, and also covered under the guarantee. I only want what is fair. I emailed and called, but I have not received a response. The company guarantees that if you are ever, in your lifetime, dissatisfied you can get a full refund. They then promised to refund the $599 plus tax over the phone, so I spent $25 to mail them back empty containers. I only want what was promised.

Desired Settlement: I want the full $599 plus tax as was offered by *********, the service rep.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ Shaklee received the returned product at its Ohio facility on October 14, 2014 and issued a credit on October 16, 2014 in the amount of $568.95 plus tax of $52.91 for a total of $621.86, the full amount paid by complainant. She had previously received a credit of $108.81 on a different order. Please have complainant confirm receipt of the credit. Thank you.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shaklee sent out Mass add new products and charge distributors. Distributor called in to cancel, the products were still sent out to their old address Shaklee sent out Mass add new products and charge distributors without their permission. Distributors called in to cancel, the products were still sent out to their old shipping addresses. Shaklee still charge the distributors. When the distributor called in and said that they rejected the products, shaklee representative said the distributors have to pay shipping to ship the products back to shaklee. 1. The products were not ordered by the distributors. 2. The products were sent to the old addresses, many of them don't have access to their old addresses. 3. Shaklee refused to issue refunds for the products that were sent to the wrong address(They sent out package without calling the distributors to confirm).

Desired Settlement: I would like to request the credit be refunded back to each of their shaklee account. Please see the list below ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ Shaklee's response to this complaint was sent to the BBB today via Federal Express. The response plus attachments were too lengthy to include here. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Would like to see what's in the response plus attachments Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/24) */ Please provide a copy of the company's response and the attachments to Ms. ***** for her review. Thank you. ******** **** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After reviewing all the information provided by Shaklee Corporation. I have several concerns: 1. Shaklee provided information regarding cancellation of **** *****'s distributorship instead of actual proof of delivery of the letter to inform the distributors the products will be charged on their account. Please provide tracking numbers for the letters that was delivered to each distributor. **** ***** has return the products to Shaklee and is not doing the business anymore. Shaklee is holding bonus check from her and at least 6 of her downline team members, the total backed bonus checks add to more than $50,000. Being a single mother with a new born at home, she has no other choice but to give up on the business and return to work in other fields. As a result 90% of **** *****'s downlines quit and return the products to her. She has no way of getting rid of the products but to sell on Amazon to recover some of the losses. 2. The distributors listed do not read or speak English. Please provide a copy of the Chinese translation of the letter that was sent to each of the distributors to inform them the products will be charged on their accounts. 3. Many of these distributors are in their 50s or 60s and do not use computers. There's no way for them to read the email. Please provide proof that the representatives from Shaklee actually talked to any of them to let them know they will be charged $140.67. Without talking to the distributors and without getting their authorization to charge each distributors account $140.67 is simply wrong. I believe it's considered fraud in many countries. Just sending an email to inform the distributors they will be charged is not enough, especially when they don't read English. I have not heard of any other company will do such things like Shaklee. Something to consider: I have worked so hard for the past year for the trip that was promised by Shaklee(worth $10,000) and the Key Cordinator dinner(worth $2000). They terminated me right before the trip and the dinner celebration to save money not to pay me. I don't believe this company is ethical to do such things to a single mother who needs the backed bonus checks she earned to pay for her family. Best, ****

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to pay for marketing products / services. Shaklee representative ordered business cards, after approving proof; and has been unwilling to pay for the cards. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: BNI

Desired Settlement: Payment for goods and services

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Paralegal Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********@shaklee.com One of Shaklee's independent distributors placed an order for business cards with Mr. ****** After approving the final proof, the distributor failed to pick up and pay for the cards. After investigation of the facts, we determined it was best to settle the matter. We sent Mr. ***** a check by Federal Express on Friday, May 2, 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The independent distributor actually received the cards, but failed to pay for them. We are completely satisfied with response from Shaklee Corporation. Though a relatively minor matter, from a corporate perspective, they responded with understanding and speed. It is appreciated! We forwarded a receipt for the payment. Thank you. ****** J *****

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: falsely eluding to the fact that she is a RN Sandy ********** advertises that she is a RN,LMT and a shaklee distributor... the problem I have is .. her RN license lapsed in 2005 https://license.ohio.gov/Lookup/SearchDetail.asp?ContactIdnt=*******&DivisionIdnt=86&Type=L so she falsely represents herself as a RN to potential customers ... if people see a RN on a business card they think wow she is a RN which has a sense of credibility ..that she lost in 2005 .. actually she was fired from her last job as a RN

Desired Settlement: I would like to see her reprimanded and required to not use the RN on any advertising again ever .. until (if ever) she reinstates her RN

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/12) */ This response is submitted with reference to the complaint regarding Sandy ********** advertising that she is a registered nurse when her license has expired. We contacted the Ohio Board of Nursing and confirmed that a person may only use the credentials ''RN'' as long as their license is current and valid. We then notified Ms. ******** of same on November 4, 2013 and she agreed to remove it from all her advertising. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) she has gone un checked for years. I am glad she has finally been required to change ....but we have years of her telling people that she was a rn... when in fact she was not .. but now she has been put on notice ...

8/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No timely process of credits given upon receipt of items being returned. Ordered product from the company, wasn't impressed with the results. I then declined auto-ship. As I was doing my daily account check I noticed a charge from Shaklee for $270.00. I contacted both my bank and Shaklee. I couldn't do anything until the charges officially posted to my account at my finanical institution. At this time I again contact Shaklee to discuss them NOT completing the shipment and returning my funds. THey were unable to do so (after 3 hours) because it was already being shipped! I waited, got the package and sent it back immediately. They received the package so I called requesting a notice of when I should expect my refund. They stated that it isn't their policy to apply any credits the last 5 days and the first 5 days of every month. It took them 3 hours to charge and prep a shipment but they are stating that it's going to take a total of 10+ days (not sure how many they have so it could take a while to process them all) for me to get my money back to my account. I am a single parent and get no financial support outside of my job, I would never spend so much money on something but my doctor recommended it. I am disappointed in both my physician and Shaklee.

Desired Settlement: I want my money credited back to my account in a timely fashion. I feel they were able to stop it but chose not to.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/08) */ ******placed a product order with Shaklee on July 19, 2013. She called that same day to cancel the order. Unfortunately, the product had already shipped. Therefore,*****called on July 22 to process return of the product. The credit for the product was issued pending receipt of the product by Shaklee. Shaklee received the returned product on July 25. The end of the month is Shaklee's busiest time as is it when nearly all Shaklee Distributors place their orders for the month. *****called on July 30, and Shaklee informed her that her credit would be processed on or about August 5. Since *****was dissatisfied with that response, issuance of her credit was made a priority, and the credit was issued on July 31. We contacted ******on August 2 to insure that she had received the credit. She said that she had received the credit and thanked us for our help and follow-up on the matter.

7/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Shaklee about 2 months ago. told them about defective spray bottles. Mailed back bottle. NEVER GOT THE REIMBUSEMENT MONEY. $17.00-$18.00 See above explanation

Desired Settlement: A check for between $17.00 and !8.00 for 6 spray botttles

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: **** Contact Email: ***** In response to the referenced complaint, Shaklee Corporation states that *****did return spray bottles to Shaklee. However, *****neglected to include her contact information. Therefore, Shaklee was unable to issue a credit. When the referenced complaint was received, it contained a telephone number for *****. Therefore, Shaklee contacted her yesterday, issued a credit in the amount of $17.17, and sent her a free bottle of Shaklee OmegaGuard, our fish oil dietary supplement, for her inconvenience. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/22) */ My dispute with Shaklee is settled. I got a credit and a bottle of Fish oil. *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Shaklee Corporation
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart