BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1965

Shaklee Corporation (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (925) 924-2000Fax: (925) 924-28624747 Willow Rd, PleasantonCA 94588-2763

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1965

BBB has determined that Shaklee Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shaklee Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues6
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Shaklee Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company offers a lifetime guarantee on all products. They agreed to honor the policy if I returned unused product or empty boxes.
I mailed the boxes as requested by pricilla and the company only reimbursed $100 of the $599 plus tax that they promised abs I am owed. They stated my gold kit was incomplete. However I specifically asked what I shold do if I don't have all of the empty containers. ********* stated that would be fine, just mail whatever I still have. I only requested a refund for my initial investment for the gold pack. I did not ask to be refunder for the other products that I purchased, which is another $1000, and also covered under the guarantee. I only want what is fair. I emailed and called, but I have not received a response. The company guarantees that if you are ever, in your lifetime, dissatisfied you can get a full refund. They then promised to refund the $599 plus tax over the phone, so I spent $25 to mail them back empty containers. I only want what was promised.

Desired Settlement
I want the full $599 plus tax as was offered by *********, the service rep.

Business Response
Shaklee received the returned product at its Ohio facility on October 14, 2014 and issued a credit on October 16, 2014 in the amount of $568.95 plus tax of $52.91 for a total of $621.86, the full amount paid by complainant. She had previously received a credit of $108.81 on a different order. Please have complainant confirm receipt of the credit. Thank you.

05/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to pay for marketing products / services.
Shaklee representative ordered business cards, after approving proof; and has been unwilling to pay for the cards.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: BNI

Desired Settlement
Payment for goods and services

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Paralegal
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********@shaklee.com
One of Shaklee's independent distributors placed an order for business cards with Mr. ****** After approving the final proof, the distributor failed to pick up and pay for the cards. After investigation of the facts, we determined it was best to settle the matter. We sent Mr. ***** a check by Federal Express on Friday, May 2, 2014.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The independent distributor actually received the cards, but failed to pay for them. We are completely satisfied with response from Shaklee Corporation. Though a relatively minor matter, from a corporate perspective, they responded with understanding and speed. It is appreciated! We forwarded a receipt for the payment. Thank you.

****** J *****

11/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
falsely eluding to the fact that she is a RN
Sandy ********** advertises that she is a RN,LMT and a shaklee distributor...
the problem I have is .. her RN license lapsed in 2005 https://license.ohio.gov/Lookup/SearchDetail.asp?ContactIdnt=*******&DivisionIdnt=86&Type=L

so she falsely represents herself as a RN to potential customers ...
if people see a RN on a business card they think wow she is a RN which has a sense of credibility ..that she lost in 2005 .. actually she was fired from her last job as a RN

Desired Settlement
I would like to see her reprimanded and required to not use the RN on any advertising again ever .. until (if ever) she reinstates her RN

Business Response
This response is submitted with reference to the complaint regarding Sandy ********** advertising that she is a registered nurse when her license has expired.

We contacted the Ohio Board of Nursing and confirmed that a person may only use the credentials ''RN'' as long as their license is current and valid. We then notified Ms. ******** of same on November 4, 2013 and she agreed to remove it from all her advertising.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
she has gone un checked for years. I am glad she has finally been required to change ....but we have years of her telling people that she was a rn... when in fact she was not .. but now she has been put on notice ...

08/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No timely process of credits given upon receipt of items being returned.
Ordered product from the company, wasn't impressed with the results. I then declined auto-ship. As I was doing my daily account check I noticed a charge from Shaklee for $270.00. I contacted both my bank and Shaklee. I couldn't do anything until the charges officially posted to my account at my finanical institution. At this time I again contact Shaklee to discuss them NOT completing the shipment and returning my funds. THey were unable to do so (after 3 hours) because it was already being shipped! I waited, got the package and sent it back immediately. They received the package so I called requesting a notice of when I should expect my refund. They stated that it isn't their policy to apply any credits the last 5 days and the first 5 days of every month. It took them 3 hours to charge and prep a shipment but they are stating that it's going to take a total of 10+ days (not sure how many they have so it could take a while to process them all) for me to get my money back to my account. I am a single parent and get no financial support outside of my job, I would never spend so much money on something but my doctor recommended it. I am disappointed in both my physician and Shaklee.

Desired Settlement
I want my money credited back to my account in a timely fashion. I feel they were able to stop it but chose not to.

Business' Initial Response
******placed a product order with Shaklee on July 19, 2013. She called that same day to cancel the order. Unfortunately, the product had already shipped. Therefore,*****called on July 22 to process return of the product. The credit for the product was issued pending receipt of the product by Shaklee. Shaklee received the returned product on July 25.

The end of the month is Shaklee's busiest time as is it when nearly all Shaklee Distributors place their orders for the month. *****called on July 30, and Shaklee informed her that her credit would be processed on or about August 5. Since *****was dissatisfied with that response, issuance of her credit was made a priority, and the credit was issued on July 31.

We contacted ******on August 2 to insure that she had received the credit. She said that she had received the credit and thanked us for our help and follow-up on the matter.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Shaklee about 2 months ago. told them about defective spray bottles. Mailed back bottle. NEVER GOT THE REIMBUSEMENT MONEY. $17.00-$18.00
See above explanation

Desired Settlement
A check for between $17.00 and !8.00 for 6 spray botttles

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: ****
Contact Email: *****
In response to the referenced complaint, Shaklee Corporation states that *****did return spray bottles to Shaklee. However, *****neglected to include her contact information. Therefore, Shaklee was unable to issue a credit. When the referenced complaint was received, it contained a telephone number for *****. Therefore, Shaklee contacted her yesterday, issued a credit in the amount of $17.17, and sent her a free bottle of Shaklee OmegaGuard, our fish oil dietary supplement, for her inconvenience.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Consumer's Final Response
My dispute with Shaklee is settled. I got a credit and a bottle of Fish oil.

*****

Page 1 of 3
10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shaklee sent out Mass add new products and charge distributors. Distributor called in to cancel, the products were still sent out to their old address
Shaklee sent out Mass add new products and charge distributors without their permission. Distributors called in to cancel, the products were still sent out to their old shipping addresses. Shaklee still charge the distributors.

When the distributor called in and said that they rejected the products, shaklee representative said the distributors have to pay shipping to ship the products back to shaklee.

1. The products were not ordered by the distributors.
2. The products were sent to the old addresses, many of them don't have access to their old addresses.
3. Shaklee refused to issue refunds for the products that were sent to the wrong address(They sent out package without calling the distributors to confirm).


Desired Settlement
I would like to request the credit be refunded back to each of their
shaklee account. Please see the list below
******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Shaklee's response to this complaint was sent to the BBB today via Federal Express. The response plus attachments were too lengthy to include here.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Would like to see what's in the response plus attachments

Final Business Response
Please provide a copy of the company's response and the attachments to Ms. ***** for her review. Thank you. ******** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reviewing all the information provided by Shaklee Corporation. I have several concerns:

1. Shaklee provided information regarding cancellation of **** *****'s distributorship instead of actual proof of delivery of the letter to inform the distributors the products will be charged on their account. Please provide tracking numbers for the letters that was delivered to each distributor.

**** ***** has return the products to Shaklee and is not doing the business anymore. Shaklee is holding bonus check from her and at least 6 of her downline team members, the total backed bonus checks add to more than $50,000. Being a single mother with a new born at home, she has no other choice but to give up on the business and return to work in other fields.

As a result 90% of **** *****'s downlines quit and return the products to her. She has no way of getting rid of the products but to sell on Amazon to recover some of the losses.

2. The distributors listed do not read or speak English. Please provide a copy of the Chinese translation of the letter that was sent to each of the distributors to inform them the products will be charged on their accounts.

3. Many of these distributors are in their 50s or 60s and do not use computers. There's no way for them to read the email. Please provide proof that the representatives from Shaklee actually talked to any of them to let them know they will be charged $140.67.

Without talking to the distributors and without getting their authorization to charge each distributors account $140.67 is simply wrong. I believe it's considered fraud in many countries. Just sending an email to inform the distributors they will be charged is not enough, especially when they don't read English.

I have not heard of any other company will do such things like Shaklee.

Something to consider: I have worked so hard for the past year for the trip that was promised by Shaklee(worth $10,000) and the Key Cordinator dinner(worth $2000). They terminated me right before the trip and the dinner celebration to save money not to pay me. I don't believe this company is ethical to do such things to a single mother who needs the backed bonus checks she earned to pay for her family.

Best,
****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Nutrition, Internet Shopping, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Health Maintenance Organizations

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1965Business started: 01/01/1954
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1987, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Barnett (Chairman and CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Marjorie L. Fine (Executive Vice President and General Counsel)Ms. Cathy Keating (VP, Field Communication)
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

Nutrition, Internet Shopping, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Health Maintenance Organizations

Products & Services

This company offers nutritional alternatives, personal care products, household products and water treatment systems.

Service Area

This company services worldwide.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shaklee Corporation

4747 Willow Rd

Pleasanton, CA 94588-2763

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shaklee Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Nutrition

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.