This business is not BBB accredited.

Eden Plains Nursery

Phone: (925) 240-6311 1555 Eden Plains Rd, Brentwood, CA 94513 http://www.edenplainsbrentwood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of plants and flowers also residential landscaping.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Eden Plains Nursery include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eden Plains Nursery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2008 Business started locally: 03/01/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Villafenor Fortino, Owner Ms. Addie Fortino, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Villafenor Fortino, Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Service Area
This business service area covers East Contra Costa.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1555 Eden Plains Rd

    Brentwood, CA 94513 (925) 240-6311

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two issues: a) in one location, the three plants died. b) second location - too many plants were put in for the available area. Issue "a": they installed 3 vines (of their choosing and in the location of their choosing). After the 1st died, I called them and 2 weeks later came by. The plant leaves looked almost burned so he said to water more (they were getting watered everyday) and he would come back and replace the dead one - but said the 2 remaining would be OK with more water. Two more weeks went by and the remaing two kept getting worse as I knew they would. At this point I felt lied to as it was evident water was not the problem but rather the vines were not meant to be exposed to the amount of sun they received in that location (their choice of vine for that location). I called them and said I did not want them to return (two weeks had passed and not the two days promised for re-planting the first vine). Issue "b": when the owner (****) came here to look at the dead vine, I then asked him to look at the plants they had installed in the front yard as they look too crowded and two of the smaller plants were almost completely hidden as the larger plants next to them were over growing them. "These will be ok" - just let them go - but looking at them later they were not ok. Then, besides too many plants for the space available they were not planted symetrically and the flower bed looked like a jungle. So, at this point I removed the two plants that were almost completely hidden by the plants next to them and then replanted two of the remaining plants to a proper location.

Desired Settlement: As I felt Eden Plains was inept in their planting and choices of plants -and that they were being less than truthful about the plant's conditions, I did not want them to replace or reposition. I called them (***** - owner's wife) asking only for a refund for the three vines that had died and she refused saying they would only replace them. I request a refund of $150.00 (I paid $430.00 for their services)to cover: a) three dead vines. b) removal of the wires installed for the vines. c) removal of three plants from the front. d) replanting of two of the remaining front plants. I offered to send ***** a picture of the front plants to show how badly they looked but she had no interest

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/22) */ See attached Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) after EP's visit to see the 1st dead vine, they did agree to replace it. The other two were looking very bad also but I was told they would be OK with more water - yet I had watered them every day and I was afraid I was Overwatering them. Two weeks went by and when EP called to say they were coming to replace the one plant the other two were also dead. How can I trust this company when it was obvious the other two plants were dying so I wanted nothing more to do with EP? 2) then in the front yard, too many plants were installed - and not in a symetrical manner- so they were growing every which way and looked terrible (I even took a picture). At this point, I removed three plants (threw them away) and replanted two of the remaining ones - and the planter bed now looks quite nice. Bottom line is: 1) why would I want them to replant vines when they would probably just die again. They picked the plant (vines) for that location (I paid them to visit here) but the problem was (I am almost positive) - is that there was simply too much sun. 2) to make the front look nice, I had to throw away 3 plants and in the side yard I had to remove the 3 vines and the wiring (support) for the vines. 3) I think thier refusal to ONLY replace rather than refund is pretty short sighted and unfair to me as a consumer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eden Plains Nursery
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)