BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/14/2011

ML Movers, Inc.

Phone: (650) 780-9695Fax: (650) 780-9611817 Douglas Ave, Redwood CityCA 94063-2732

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We are a family owned and operated business that provides quality moving services with personal attention to details.

Our people are prompt dedicated professionals who are ready and willing to assist you.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/14/2011

BBB has determined that ML Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ML Movers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ML Movers, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Lying about service and then blaming it on customer
I had scheduled a one bedroom move and was informed that I would have three people come and move the stuff. Only two people showed up, which was ok in itself. They took 4 hours to finish the move but charged me 576 dollars instead of the 460 they had initially quoted me. I called to inquire why it was the case and i got told very rudely that I should learn to read english and that I should spend time reading the contract properly before signing (first time they hung up on me. I believe this is ****** the owner) and that it was because of "double drive time" i.e. any move over 10 miles gets counted as twice the time. Either way, not a big deal as its 100 dollars but being told that it was completely my fault even though i wasn't told about this double drive time when i spoke to the person and finalized the booking (who knew the start/end address) shows bad customer service at the least. But speaking to a customer like that after the service is done is just unacceptable.

The work they do is good and movers are polite but they are slow. They are trying to make the most money out of you after signing up. They want you to verbally agree and book an appointment and then take the most money out of you by going into a hidden clause that they don't discuss at all (they should considering they know the distance between palo alto and san jose isn't 10 miles).

I am extremely disappointed about how bad the customer service is and how they are trying to con me into paying more. I would have gladly paid that much if i had signed up for that but being told something else and then at the last second when my stuff is with them and having to pay for it is just wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive 100 dollars back that wasn't stated in the original conversation verbally when we talked.

I don't think i would ever get an apology from a rude person for telling me to go learn english.

Business Response
To who may this concerned,

Please find the attachment with the document that`s read and sign by this customer.

Thank you
****** ******
ML Movers Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As mentioned in my complaint, I never said that I didn't sign a document. I specifically called out how the owner deceived me in thinking that the final would be 460 and then went on to charge the additional amount. He had all the information to give me a correct verbal quote but chose to hide the other facts and then ask to quickly sign the contract so I could book an available time slot. (reading a 15 page contract would take more than a quick 2 min glance which is what was needed to make the reservation). This is also not just me. If you look at one of their three listings another yelp reviewer found the exact same practice. I wish I had done that search earlier.

I am not asking for a full refund of the service. I did receive the service and want to pay for that part. But I also don't want to pay for things that we didn't discuss. My final bill should be $460 and not $596 (which is even higher than the 575 they quoted my fiance when they finished the job). So I am asking for 136 dollars to be credited back to me.

Final Business Response
Please read the contract that you sign again.

Thank you
****** ******
ML Movers Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner seems to not be understanding what I am saying. I am never refusing to have signed the contract. I do specifically argue what I was told over the phone and then what I was charged. It's just bad practice to try to deceive someone.

Hope that makes sense. This is becoming hard to even work with. I feel like we are just repeating ourselves and not reaching any agreement. If they were such a good company, I would expect them to be very clear during the phone call and not try to hide the fact that it would extra and say it would only be like 400 dollars. That's the part I am refuting.

03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

1. took 9 hours, including 30 min drive, to move 22 feet truck packed items
2. Mentioned my name and call me liar in yelp though every my world solid.
1. took 9 hours, including 30 mins, to move my packed stuff by one 22-feet truck on only one trip. I have most of my stuff packed in the box. Very limited packing over some furniture and TV. Moved back couple years ago, another moving company could move similar stuff in 5 hours, including 2.5 hour drive. Asked ML mover if packing include, whether it would take one whole day to move, no response.
2. Informed them three times by phone, email, face to face that 22 feet truck would be big enough for my staff. 26 feet truck would work. Always tell me it would be enough and turned out not.
3. Ignore the warning of width of entry door and damaged the entry door.
4. Delayed no purpose. Most time the mover carried one box each time. Seldom use dolly.
5. Did not spend any time to go through the contract and only asked me to sign each page.
6. While posted review on reply, the owner clearly stated my name and called me liar. He claimed I had too much stuff to move. A 26-feet truck would carry everything. His company only moved on one trip with 22-feet truck. Even if I have a whole warehouse stuff, what he moved is only the stuff fit in 22-feet truck.

Desired Settlement
I wanted the refund. Based on my previous moving experience, the total moving should be at the most of 5 hours. Also I wanted the repair cost of entry door, $60.

Also removed all attacks and my name on yelp and posted official apology.

Business Response
We moved Mr. *** ** back in March 29, 2013.

When Mr. *** ** called our office we offered him an hourly rate which was for 3 movers and a 24ft truck (we don't have 22ft trucks) he agreed on a contract to a 24ft truck.

The complain he is doing here on BBB its totally different than the one he has on yelp please review that review.

It's impossible to report a damage almost a year later.

Please find attachment that is the contract that Mr. *** ** agreed to.

Thank You
****** G

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I really cannot understand "total different" ****** means. My report is consistent with review. Any difference, please point out. Maybe I did not mention he called me liar in the review which make it different?

I reported the damage on 04/01/13. Of course I did not get positive response. I would say

It's possible to re-report a damage almost a year later.

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Damaged new floors during move. When I contacted company and requested to speak to supervisor I was told. I then was told they would not be fixing
On 12/7/13 Damaged new floors during move. Movers accused me of damage at time if move which is not true. When I contacted company and requested to speak to supervisor I was told no. I then was told they would not be fixing the damage. I paid $380 for the move. Person I spoke to indicated company prefers to take the chance that people won't pursue damage when they are told no. It is very unethical. My floors were installed on 12/4/13. They had no damage prior to movers.

Desired Settlement
I'd like to have the floor repaired.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
This is what happened in ********'s move.
The movers lifted her refrigerator put it near the place where it was going to be, the movers went to get the 3rd movers to help out to prevent this type of scratch, when the movers came back to where the fridge was the customers had already pushed it and the scratch was done by the customer, and knowing that there is an insurance in between now their trying to take advantage of that.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated before they directed me to report damage in wrong place. As them for all pages. I also asked for it to be corrected and clearly they didn't because the unethical business is using it against me.

This is an extremely unethical company. I only am asking fir $250 to try and fix damage. I

Final Business Response
To whom may this concern,

Everything is written with big letters in our contract everything is CLEAR,

We have paperwork signed that states that there was NO damage during the move.


01/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Supplies, Movers - Office, House & Building Movers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/03/2009Business started: 01/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave 2nd Fl
San Francisco, CA 94102-3214
(415) 703-2059

BBB records show a license number of 190627 for this company.

Type: Public Utilities Comm.

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Miguel Lainez (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Jessica Moscoso Reys (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Movers, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Supplies, Movers - Office, House & Building Movers

Products & Services

Our local Moving Services Include:
Labor Services
Loading Services
Unloading Services
Residential Moving Services
Commercial / Office Moving Services
Packing Services
Delivery Services

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 04:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Refund and Exchange Policy

ML Movers requests a Credit card on file as a security deposit; please all moving changes or cancellations must be 2 Business Day before the move date. If you decide to cancel your reservation before your 2 Business Day $5.00 will be charge to your credit card do to processing fees. If the customer must cancel the reservation after the 2 Business Day requirement ML Movers will charge the 4 Hours Minimum due to late cancellation fees.

Service Area

palo alto, san mateo, san francisco, san jose

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

11 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ML Movers, Inc.

817 Douglas Ave

Redwood City, CA 94063-2732

To | From


1 Locations

  • 817 Douglas Ave 

    Redwood City, CA 94063-2732(650) 780-9695
    Fax: (650) 780-9611

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ML Movers, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Movers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.