BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Trux

Phone: (415) 821-4755 660 Toland Pl, San Francisco, CA 94124 http://www.jacktrux.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Jack Trux is a full service moving company. In addition to packing, moving and storage, we specialize in handling art, antiques and fine furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Trux meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jack Trux include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Trux
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated 01/11/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave 2nd Fl, San Francisco CA 94102
http://consumers.cpuc.ca.gov/default.aspx
Phone Number: (415) 703-2059

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Springer, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Springer, CEO
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Movers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Moving & Storage Company Delivery Service

Alternate Business Names
Jack Trux Moving Specialist Rezso, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • 660 Toland Pl

    San Francisco, CA 94124 (415) 821-4755

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jack Trux mishandled the delivery of a very expensive Holly Hunt sofa to my residence. Upon delivery they broke the back leg off the wood base. On 11/20/13 I purchased a Holly Hunt sofa from Kneedler Fauchere for the amount of $6,020 plus $526.75 of tax and $387 for crating. On 11/26/13 JackTrux picked up the sofa from *** ************* **** in *** ******** The sofa was already wrapped and crated. Their driver signed the form accepting the piece in good condition and AAA advised that the sofa went out in good condition. A few days after on 12/2, I received multiple phone calls advising that the sofa was secured in a crate and that an additional cost would be imposed to remove and dispose of the crate. On 12/3, at 12:13 pm, an hour before delivery I received a call from ****** at Jack Trux advising that the sofa was removed from the crate and that a few scuff marks on the legs and a tear was evident on the sofa base. This is where the gross negligence and mishandling of the delivery began. Why would Jack Trux uncrate the sofa right before delivering it. By uncrating it before delivery they assumed liability to any damage. The delivery men from Jack Trux arrive around 1:15 pm to my home. I saw the sofa on the truck floor wrapped in moving blankets with the crate in the back. I am not clear why the sofa was driven around uncrated wrapped in blankets when the aim was to have it delivered crated. Furthermore the sofa is a light beige color hence the reason why it was wrapped in special covering and crated. The two men who showed up were unprofessional and ill equipped to deliver the sofa in to my residence. One of the men was listening to his music device the entire time he carried out the delivery. The other guy (**** ******* decided to remove the blankets off the sofa and then drag the sofa across the floor of the truck to pull it out as his partner looked on. Due to the excessive force and rough handling the back leg cracked off the base. I refused receipt of the sofa and ****** at Jack Trux was immediately notified of the damage. That evening I sent **** Trux an email detailing the damage inflicted to the sofa. Further I instructed that the manufacturer ***** **** would be notified of the damage and they would advise how best to handle the repair or replacement. ****** confirmed to me that Jack Trux would do the needful to correct the matter and follow the advise of ***** ***** After emails between **** ****** at ******** ******** and the ***** **** workshop they advised on 12/16/13 that the base of the sofa would need to be replaced by their workshop in ******* at a rough cost estimate of $3,700 (not incl. freight to/from). The sofa base is one piece of wood with legs carved out of it. No local repair shop could "fix" it. As the cost of repair is more than 50% of the price paid and this is only an estimate and does not include freight I am requesting a refund from Jack Trux for the full amount paid. Jack Trux is saying that their insurance is only liable for $0.60 a pound ($272.40) and as such they will only cover the cost to have the sofa leg repaired locally. I would like to note that the first time I was notified of this limited insurance coverage was on the bill of lading the day of attempted delivery on 12/3/13. However ****** from Jack Trux was notified of the cost of the sofa on 11/22/13 via a telephone conversation. At this juncture my only option is to file a formal complaint against Jack Trux due to the nature of the damage and the gross negligence on Jack Trux's part as it is clear that Jack Trux, specifically its employees, did not follow the care and diligence necessary and expected from a carrier and as required under ********** law.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting from Jack Trux a lump sum payment of $6,833.75 because of significant structural damage to my sofa resulting from grossly negligent conduct during delivery.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Trux
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)