BBB Accredited Business since

Careful Moving and Storage

Phone: (707) 528-0328 View Additional Phone Numbers 812 Donahue St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401 http://www.movingsantarosa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers intrastate and interstate moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Careful Moving and Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Careful Moving and Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Careful Moving and Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 11/01/1976 Business started locally: 11/01/1976 Business incorporated 01/24/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St Ste 1540, Sacramento CA 95814
http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660
The number is USDOT 1803378.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Erik Lund, Partner Mr. Kevin Miskelly, Director of Marketing and Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erik Lund, Partner
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company


Additional Locations

  • 812 Donahue St

    Santa Rosa, CA 95401 (707) 996-1169 (707) 762-8365

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/30/15, 3 movers (****,*****&*****)from the company arrived at the house to move the furniture to the company storage and to deliver on 6/4/15 to the new residence. The movers inspected the furniture and cleared them of any damages before moving. The furniture was delivered on 6/4/15, with 3 movers (*****,****&****?) to the new residence. On the day of the delivery 6/4/15,extensive damages to the furniture were discovered and was brought to the attention of 1 of the movers named ***** who acknowledged the damages. Damages were as follow: Tear on sofa's left arm rest measuring 2x2 inches, Round side table with multiple scratches, 1 Box spring had 3 tears each tears measuring approximately 2 inches, 1 box spring soiled with dirt, Chest of drawer with multiple scratches, Night stand with multiple scratches. On 6/4/15,company's mover ***** acknowledging the damages stated "**** is new to the company, he should have been more careful.I will arrange for the upholstery guy to look at the sofa and the box spring and I will take care of the scratches. I'll call you tomorrow to arrange a time." I did not hear from him.On Thursday 6/4/15 at 4:15 pm, company's owner ***** was notified of the damages by phone.He stated "I'll see if I have anyone to come and estimate the damages on Monday." I have not heard from him, he did not follow-up. I feel violated,and as a senior citizen feel that I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement If the company is not able to repair the furniture to it's original state, it would have to replace the items being damaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/07/16) */ We are looking into this matter and will have a response next week. Thanks, ******* ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Awaiting company's response. Addendum to the complaint: On my initial contacts with *****, I asked on two occasions that I wanted an onsite estimate, he repeatedly refused stating "It was not necessary, we don't do this for local moves"" On the day of the pick up the mutually agreed time was 3 pm, on 5/30/15. The movers arrived at 5:30 pm. Business did not reach out to me that they to notify me that they'll be late. I attempted several time to reach the business,left massages no return call. At 5:30 ***** called back. I expressed concern regarding being late two and half hour, At this time ***** started yelling and cursing on the phone telling me that "You can call somebody else or you can move yourself" On the day of the initial move 5/30/15 one of the movers (****) was on a private phone call throughout the move When I objected he stated "There is 3 of us we should be ok, not to worry". Too much time was wasted standing outside by the truck Chatting and taking smoke breaks. This was on "My time" since they were being paid an hourly rate. The next day ***** was notified of the situation and was asked not to send **** and ***** back for the 2nd move, his response was "They are my best movers" On 6/4/15 the day of the second move to the new residence again, one of the movers named (****)was on private call during the move. I told him "Is this customary with your company to be on a private phone call during a move" No response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2015/08/04) */ In regards to Ms. ******'s complaint, we had offered an estimate and was told she didn't have much stuff. She thought it would only take 2 hours. We ended up loading a full 26ft. truck for her as well as storing it for 3 days until she was ready for delivery. She acknowledged pieces that were already damaged before our loading them. We also let her know she would be charged for the time it took the men, she believed she should only pay for 2 hours. There were multiple conversations with Ms. ****** regarding the extra time it was taking since she had way more stuff than she claimed over the phone. As for damage she is saying our movers caused, ***** did go to meet Ms. ******, on his own time even to fix the damage she claimed occurred, and she had him fixing things that were previously damaged items, none of it was our damage. We also did not charge Ms. ****** for the full cost of the move as she became quite verbally aggressive with us, and we did almost recommend she find another moving company, however we like challenges and satisfied customers so we did our best to accommodate her even though our movers were not treated nicely. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2015/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I strongly disagree with the company's response . Their response is far from the truth. I am requesting any proof or a signed statement that the company would have obtained indicating that I had acknowledged the damages prior to the move. The move would have taken much less time if so much time was not wasted by the moving crew. One member of the crew was on the phone throughout the move, and the crew taking several smoke breaks. I requested to have an onsite estimate and was told by ***** "We don't give onsite estimate for local move" No one from the company returned my calls regarding the damages or came in person to take care of the damages caused during the move. I was also charged for the full amount, for an additional mover which was not in our agreement and was sent. According to the movers, The 3rd mover was sent because they were late by 2.5 hours. I am requesting replacement of the damaged items mentioned previously or repair of the items to their original state. .

3/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased insurance and was never given a contract. They would not unload my belongings until I paid the insurance. I hired Carful Moving & Storage to move me and purchased their insurance for full loss. It was to cover $50,000.00 with a $250.00 deductible at a cost of $225.00. The mover in charge (****) left without providing me with a receipt or any insurance documents/contract. This was on 11/28/2014. I called the owner ***** ******** and requested that someone bring me the insurance contract and moving receipt. No one did. They delivered my belongings on 12/1/2014. They would not unload until I paid for the move and the insurance. No insurance contract was given to me and I was put in a position to pay for something they legally did not provide. If there had been a total loss, I had no way to show I purchased the insurance. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Department of Consumer Affairs

Desired Settlement: The amount I paid for the insurance; $225.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/06) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) January 7th, 2015 To Careful Moving & Storage, From: ****** ******** Re: your response to my complaint To Whom It May Concern: First off, the statements in your letter to me are false. I was not given the opportunity to do a "thorough" walk through. They hurried out. The couple of things that I did point out were brushed off with a statement that my deductible was too high and that nothing would be covered under insurance. You also stated that the items in boxes were not your responsibility. You moved then, therefore they were your responsibility. If they were not, then you should not have requested me to purchase additional insurance. I was also lied to about boxing my television, mirrors, and mattresses. I requested them to be boxed and was told multiple times that they would be. They were not. I suppose this is another way to waive responsibility. There was a great deal of damage. More then I have ever had with any previous movers and I have moved quit a few times. I could list the damage and how much it has already cost me, but I know it would be fruitless as your company is unprofessional and dishonest. But you miss the whole point of my complaint and so therefore, I would like to also remind you Careful Moving, that yes indeed insurance fraud is illegal. My complaint is that the driver took off with my belongings and left me no paperwork or insurance contract for the insurance that I purchased. It is illegal to sell insurance without providing a written contract. I called multiple times to request someone bring me my paperwork. I got through to ***** only once and was told they would. No one of course ever did. After that call no one answered and the phone message center was always "full". ***** did not respond to my emails either. I heard back from the driver late Saturday, when I was already half way to Surprise Arizona. He said he was still in Santa Rosa and getting ready to take off on the trip. Which begs the question, how the heck did he get 800 miles in that amount of time. The only way that could have occurred is if he drove exceedingly fast. This may explain all the damage to my belongings. He said he had the paperwork and would give it to me when upon arrival at the destination. How convenient for the company. Upon arrival they would not unload my belonging until I paid in full and this included paying for insurance AFTER the fact. My complaint is that you legally cannot charge me for insurance because you did not provide me with a written contract before hand and then hold my belongings hostage until paid for. There for I am not asking for reimbursement of the damage of my things; which is far beyond the deductible amount, but requesting you reimburse me for the insurance; which the company had no intention of honoring. Sincerely, ****** ********, D.C. Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/12) */ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2015/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes this is a copy of the paperwork that I was given when they unloaded my belongings in Surprise Arizona. I was not given copies of this in Santa Rosa, Ca. The driver told me to sign with the 11-28-2014 because that was the date they loaded the truck. My sister can testify that he asked me to put that date. Again, this was before he would unload my belongins. I can now see that this also is a deceptive pratice. ****** ********

10/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After accepting estimate from Careful Moving and Storage for $2,875 to move household goods the amount was changed without warning to $4000 after move My wife and I are senior citizens and in addition my wife age 82 is recovering from a stroke with multiple doctors and caregiver agencies. We are on a fixed income with mounting medical bills and feel we were victims of a bait and switch scheme. In addition, several items were broken, lost, misplaced, etc. Notifications of the losses sent to the moving company by registered mail, return receipt rec'd have been ignored. This entire process has lasted approximately 1 year without any correspondence or communication whatsoever from moving co. Damages are in the $5,000 range.

Desired Settlement: Approximately $5,000 in fraudulent billing, loss of household items, extra insurance premiums paid, repair bills caused by movers, etc

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/08/25) */ In response to Mr. *******'s complaint: We would like to point out again that originally Mr. ******** move was estimated at nearly $3,000. However due to Mr. ******* changing the moving circumstances many more man hours and materials were added on. We charge by the hour and for the cost of materials. As we pointed out before, his job exceeded $6,500. Knowing the *******'s had only budgeted money for the move, we deducted $2,500 off the total. In addition, the reduction in price we gave him was with a verbal agreement between him and Careful Moving that he would be using us for his next move. Sincerely, ******* and ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/29) */ On 3/25/13 Don *******, representing Careful Moving & Storage gave me a bid of $2,874.48 to move our goods from ****** to ***** ****, Ca. The bid clearly shows 26 cartons included with a statement written by Mr ******* "No surcharges,, gas or carton fees". At any rate I should have received a "change notice" when packers realized they were over the 26 cartons allotted in the estimate. (A change notice is required to change pricing). No change order was ever received. Mr. ********'s statement that I received notice of extra costs at all times is pure fabrication and falsehood. I only received notice of an increase of close to $1200 after goods were delivered to the move destination and before unloading. Mr. ********'s statement that he was aware of one damaged piece, a dining table was correct at the time. However, on 1/7/14 and after unpacking all of our possesions and a review of the inventory list a certified letter was sent to Careful Moving & Storage showing a complete list of several items missing and or damaged valued at close to $5,000. A return recipt acknowledging their awarness of these items was recived 1/13/14. We have not heard back regarding those items. Included in that list was a 9 X 12 antique handwoven persian carpet, a family heirloom handed down in our family for two generations. Prior to and during the move I purchased not one but two additional $20,000 insurance policies to protect against possible losses. I have never received a copy of coverage or claim forms from those policies after numerous requests to Mr. ********. To resolve this matter and avoid further actions with the PUC and or court action I will settle for a $2500 settlement from Careful Moving and Storage. The $2500 only represents a fraction of the damages, losses and grief we have experienced over the last year. I will supply records, copies of emails and other documentation as required to support this claim.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Careful Moving and Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)