BBB Accredited Business since

PSI Seminars

Additional Locations

Phone: (650) 553-4343 Fax: (650) 553-4999 View Additional Phone Numbers 11650 High Valley Rd, Clearlake Oaks, CA 95423 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.psiseminars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers seminars for strategies for life success including basic seminar, leadership seminars for men & women, teen experience, basic for kids & principia.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PSI Seminars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for PSI Seminars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PSI Seminars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 06/03/1997 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Fry, Corporate Office Manager Ms. Shirley Hunt, Executive Vice President Ms. Jane Willhite, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Fry, Corporate Office Manager
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Motivational & Self Improvement Training Educational Consultants Lecture & Seminar Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 11650 High Valley Rd

    Clearlake Oaks, CA 95423 (707) 998-2222 (650) 553-4343

  • 425 Divisadero Ste 309

    San Francisco, CA 94117

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Still waiting on my refund after more than 90 days. I had recently been invited by a friend ******** ******** to attend one of these intro seminars in Honolulu, Hawaii and after attending had decided to commit to attend one of the functions (July 10, 2015) paying a hefty fee of $520 using my Citi Mastercard to attend. However, due to career commitments I had to rescind my decision prior to attending and cancelled my attendance and spoke to their representative *************** to inquire about my refund process. She had initially informed me that she would fax in my request, later learning to find out her fax machine is "broken" and the initial request wasn't received and the request would take even longer. I have intermittently emailed and called both the California office and Margaret only to receive answers such as my request is being worked on or being completely ignored by both parties involved. It has now been over 90 days since I've requested a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would really just like to get the refund of $470.00 (since there was a $50 "processing fee") that I was told I'd be receiving within 4-6 weeks of my request but has now turned into several months of waiting. I'd just really like to have this settled, I feel like I've waited long enough on their "guarantee".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/10) */ We have received a refund request form from our Honolulu office business manager and a refund check has been issued for Mr. ***. That will be mailed to his address of record. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******** senthe me a check from PSI for the amount of $470.00, received a call from the Bank today to say that check was bounced/returned for lack of funds. I was charged another $10.00 because of this. I would like the amount to be adjusted to $480.00 to compensate for the service charge that was billed to me due to their negligence. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/24) */ A refund check was mailed out to ****** from our corporate office on 11/19/2015. This check was for the original refund of $470. An additional amount will be sent out to cover the bank fee.

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid to attend a seminar in 2011. I never received a contract with any rules about refunds. I asked for my money back and was denied. I paid to attend a basic PSI seminar in 2011. Shortly after I paid, I contacted ****** ***** telling him that I would not be able to afford a hotel to attend. He told me I could postpone it until I could. I then became pregnant and breastfed my baby for over one year. These circumstances during my life did not allow for me to attend. I contacted ****** in 2012 and he again told me that the amount I paid was good forever and to go whenever I could make it. He also told me that "PSI doesn't USUALLY give refunds" when I had asked for a refund. I hoped to attend one day but my life circumstances of being a single mom, working, and attending graduate school did not allow for me to attend financially. I reached out to ****** ***** again this year in 2015 and he told me the company would not issue a refund after about three or four years. I told him I still financially cannot afford a hotel and to find someone to watch my three children so I can attend. I have an email from July 2, 2015 where ****** said, "This is an extremely farfetched request. I hope you can see that. I'm not sure what I can do about it. I will check with the corporate office." I have not heard from ****** since July. I have made multiple phone calls to the corporate office and never received one single phone call in return. I am very dissatisfied with how ****** has handled the situation. He has been blatantly rude via emails and not willing to help me in any way or form. All I want is my money refunded. I have expressed that all I want is my money refunded.

Desired Settlement: I want the full amount I paid to attend the PSI Seminar refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/21) */ A refund request form has been submitted by the San Francisco office and been approved for processing. A refund check will be mailed to the address shown. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept a check for a full refund of what I paid to attend the PSI seminar. I have not received the check yet even though their other party claims they processed a check and mailed it out.

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They never contacted me as promised, took 9 weeks and shorted me the $50 deposit they promised as part of the refund. The reason why I am giving PSI a one star rating is because they were unaccountable to do what they said they would do and were very disrespectful given the circumstances to me on getting a refund. I was invited to attend this course by a friend. I ended up in March paying $420 to sign up for a summer course. They were suppose to contact me to give me the dates before the seminar. They never did. I did get in the mail a letter from them and tried contacting the people on the page, no one returned any of my phone calls. After many calls to the Honolulu Office I ended up calling this California office. They said they would refund me within 4-6 weeks (It was July 7th) as well as the $50 deposit because it was their fault. The refund was post marked Oct 14th (took over 9 weeks to send it! Not 4-6 weeks like they said) to get here and they took out the $50. They were not understanding on the phone. Bottom line I do not trust them cause many times they said one thing and do another.

Desired Settlement: $50 refund of the deposit, because this was due to their error.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/28) */ A refund check for the additional $50 was mailed to Mr. ******* on 10/28/2014 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept their response because that is fair given the situation. Thank you to them for the quick response here. If it had been easy on the phone I would have never filed through BBB. Thank you.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a seminar. Paid 420.00. I decided not to take it before the seminar even started. The refund policy states that a refund will be issued within 3-5 weeks minus 50.00. I waited 5 weeks to give them plenty of time to refund me. Then I have had to contact the Honolulu office at ************ several times in the last 3 weeks to get my refund. I still have not received it. I am owed a refund of 370.00. Product_Or_Service: Basic Seminar

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would appreciate my 370.00 paid ASAP. Since I've had to wait for so long due to internal PSI problems I would appreciate a refund of the full amount paid of 420.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/09) */ Tuition is refundable, less a $50 processing fee, only if a request is made in writing no later than 48 hours after the completion of the Basic Seminar for those attending all consecutive sessions. Our refund policy states "I understand that my tuition is non-refundable unless in accordance with the above listed conditions." Consumer has been fully refunded.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Denied refund paid for a seminar. I had been told I could get a refund with a hardship letter regardless of their Policy. I was discriminated against. I paid $3650 for a PSI7 seminar Nov 17, 2013. I requested a refund from them due to changes in my financial situation. I spoke to *** ********* * PSI explaining my situation Feb 15m, 2014. She then explained the policy and said “You need to send me an email stating your hardship and I will forward it to the person that makes that decision for a refund”. When I asked how long it would take to get my money back she told me” 6-8 weeks”. I went through their refund process as instructed and was denied refund, a generic letter stating their refund policy. Speaking to *** ********* explaining my situation again, her reply was simply “I cannot control what they decide to do, ******. I went and it was great for me, I think you should just go. ” Besides being unrealistic and disregarding my reasons, the word “decide” does not constitute a policy without exceptions. I was lead to believe I could get my money back by sending in a letter. Not just any letter, but a “hardship” letter explaining why I needed to cancel the seminar and get a refund. From there I wanted to speak to the people making this decision, upset at this “process”. I was told ******* ****, the President, or ****** ******* position unknown, would be the ones to speak to about this. I have emailed, called and left messages fore both numerous times. I have been ignored, with no reply or communication. The denial letter says reach out if need yet neither are ever available or will respond to me. I asked *** to forward messages for me also, since they are in the same office, which she declined. They are an organization that puts their company out there as supposedly helping people to be better and reach greater success. I walked away with from the 3day Nov XX XXXX seminar determination to build/ facilitate my new business platform. After that my finances changed and cut short on income expectations. Single and self employed, I realized I could not afford to fly/hotel/car out to the west coast for the seminar. I needed to make money to support myself. I need that money to create my new business plan. • I was lead to believe they were an upstanding organization practicing moral obligations. • Upon initiating refund request, I was lead to believe that I could get my money back. • I was lead to believe my hardship reason would be the deciding factor on getting a refund. • I believe I was discriminated against: My hardship email letter was not adequate enough for them to refund my hard-earned money. • I believe I was discriminated against: My help from the facilitator in the personal self-help session with the entire class present was only “Go to PSI 7”. Everyone else got insight and tools to walk away with. • I believe I was discriminated against: There are 2 previous participants that attest to being told when they signed up they could get a refund later. I was not. If there is such a hard-set black and white rule about no refunds, why was I told to send in an email explaining my hardship reason and if they agree to it, it would take 6-8 weeks for a refund check? I was lead to believe I could in fact get my money back.

Desired Settlement: Upset, disappointed, saddened and feeling foolishly “taken” by the way PSI treated and handled the situation and me, they have put me in an uncomfortable and awkward situation. These are the choices they have presented to me: • Literally give them my hard earned money to pocket as total profit without expenses. • Unrealistically find money to support this trip • Unrealistically put my business future on hold for them • Think so little of myself that it is OK to be ignored, treated this way, yet turn around and attend their 7-day seminar with an open mind, intense trust and vulnerability, looking to the leaders of their Organization to help and guide me . PSI states “You get out of it what you put into it”. So if I will not compromise my morals, values and self worth at this point wouldn’t that be a waste of my time and money to go? What have they put into this that they should get out of it my hard earned money for free profit with no expenses contributed by being at the seminar? With great frustration and disappointment, I am asking that you please help me in PSI refunding my $3650 to me immediately. I strongly feel it is not right that PSI is allowed to handle people and situations in this manner and then leave them with these choices. I am not willing to accept a “credit” toward the future, they have lost my trust and confidence. I do not want to have anything further to do with them or speak about them after resolving in my favor. Your time and assistance is greatly appreciated

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ PSI 7 Tuition Refund Policy (signed and agreed to) "I understand that payment for the PSI 7 Life Success Course is non-refundable/non-transferable." My signature below and my initials above indicate that I have answered all questions truthfully, also that I have read, understand and agree to all policies and clauses contained within. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I absolutely do not agree with this 'response' from PSI. I wanted to go but because of unexpected financial hardship I could not go. I signed up because the facilitator of the weekend event told me the only way I could improve my situation was to go to their PSI7 7day seminar. A 20 minute break followed that, and at the last minute the administrator, *** ********** flagged me down and beckoned me over telling me she would sign me up "real quick' before the seminar restarted. I was not advised of the non cancellation policy by ***, was told me to just give her my credit card so she could run it, and then would give me a receipt later. This same person is the one who advised me on the phone later that after listening to my reason for needing to cancel and get a refund that I needed to put my hardship reason in writing and email to her so she could forward to the person that would make the decision to refund me the money. I do not have a document that clearly and conspicuously states that I cannot get a refund of my money. This is a lot of money. Despite their lack of reply to any of the situations that have occurred, there clearly is an exception to their refund policy by telling me the only way to get a refund was to send her an email request. They decided my hardship reason was not good enough. They have told previous participants they could get a refund on their money should they choose to change their mind at a later date. People at their own selection should not be forced to subsidize their practice. What were the hardship reasons needed to receive a refund that I was told I could get? They do not need to tell you the policy yet later can say whatever they want without taking responsibility for what they say and represent as the company? My resolution stands with refunding me the $3650.00. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/06) */ Good morning *****, I have attached a copy of the registration card that was filled out, initialed, and signed by ****** indicating her acceptance of our refund policy. This form comes with a tear off section which supplies the course participant with a copy of the agreement which was given to her by *** ********** at the time of her registration. Respectfully, ****** *** PSI Seminars / PSI World Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *****, I do not see a resolution offer from PSI to reply to here. I did not receive a receipt upon signing up, as ****** *** has said. Was she at this event to see this and I was not made aware? As I stated previously, I was told that I could get a refund despite what this attached receipt states. I have proof from two PSI participants that are willing to step forward on my behalf that were told by their facilitator they could get their money refunded should they choose to change their mind at a later date. I was told by *** ********** that in order to get a refund of my money I needed to email my "hardship " reason. My reason was not good enough and was denied. I was not advised of the reasons for approval and denial, I was told it was just up to someone else to make the decision, not her. This is discrimination. I will pursue this further down the appropriate channels should PSI choose to not refund me my money. I have not seen any reply or resolution from them based on their actions that, especially as a noted member of the BBB , are supposed to be accountable for. Please advise going forward. ****** ********

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PSI doesn't give you all of the rules upfront when you agree to their no refund policy. I attended the event and accepted the policy, not having fact I enrolled in PSI's 7 event after attending their basic event. I understood the fee was non-refundable and had a good idea of what the event included. After I paid and agreed, upon entry into the ranch for the event I found that they confiscated my cell phone and did not give me access to a phone as they indicated they would, I found the sleep deprivation and lack of any type of agenda completely the opposite of what they projected the event would be. I stayed at the event for 2 1/2 days before I requested that I be allowed to leave the event. It was not at all what it projected itself to be, I did not have all of the major rules before agreeing to attend and accepting their non-return policy. In reading so many reviews now online about the company I see this is a very common complaint and it it very unfortunate. I do not have any issues with a company having a no refund policy; however, when a consumer does not have major information available at time of acceptance and that information is given ONLY after they are at the event, this is not an acceptable business practice. The way they are allowed to conduct themselves would not be allowed in any other business setting.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund from PSI bases on complete fraud.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ All of our Life Success Course participants receive a six page document outlining what can be expected at our seminar. We regret that this customer did not find our seminar as she anticipated. As of June 10, 2014 we had not received notice of her wish for a full refund. A full refund will be forthcoming via USPS. PSI Seminars Corporate Office

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for the basic seminar $499, I have email correct dance saying I'd receive a $450 refund within 6 weeks, which has now passed. My emails and phone calls are not being responded to. I simply want the refund the promised.

Desired Settlement: A check for $450 as promised, again I have email communication co firming this from them. Thank you!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/26) */ Our records indicate that on 11/21/2013 ***** paid $395 to attend our Basic Seminar. Our refund policy indicates that "tuition is refundable , less a $50 processing fee" in the event that no value is received from the seminar. A refund check (ck#XXXXX) for $345 is being mailed out to ***** today. Thank you for your patience while we processed your request. PSI Seminars

12/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my seminar with PSI before the seminar for a reimbursement of my charge. They are ignoring paying me back. On 8/24 I had followed up on a phone conversation with a ******** ******, who works with PSI, through email about canceling my registration with their seminar. She responded to me saying that it would take from 4-6 weeks for a check from their main office to get back to me. After 6 weeks I had called ********s cell phone multiple times and never had a response of any sort. Frustrated, I called their main office to attempt to settle my issue and they called ******** to contact me to resolve it. Ten minutes after talking with the main office ******** finally gets back to me to apologize saying that she had sent the main office a fax of my cancellation and they she did not know that the did not even receive it. She then said she would send it later on that day. That night I call her back and have to remind her to send it in and I tell her to verify that they had received it. She then tells me that they will be expediting my process and it would be back to me on 10/25. On 10/25 I called her again and she then told me it would be in to me by 10/29. I am very upset with this whole experience. The signup with the seminar had a "guarantee" of reimbursement of you change your mind prior to the event. I cancelled on 8/19. It is now 11/1. They have had my money for 73 days now. If I don't get outside help like the BBC, I know I will NEVER get my money back. Please address this issue and get back to me. This experience would make anyone feel absolutely disgusted. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would love to get a full refund plus more. They take someones money, have an agreement of refunding them, then avoid you, then bounce you around with empty promises. They are pretty much hoping that the process of getting your money back will be tedious enough for you to just give up. During this time I had fallen behind on my credit card payments, car insurance, and my checking account. I was expecting my money to be back to me within a specific time frame that they themselves made for me and refused to follow through with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/22) */ A record of the original paperwork for this refund request was not found. Once notification was received from the BBB we contacted the involved office and had the paperwork resubmitted. A check refunding this customer in full was sent to him on November 14th. Signed contract on file with Customer's signature (indicating acceptance of our refund policy) states:"Tuition is non-refundable unless in accordance with the following listed conditions: I understand that my tuition is refundable, less a $50 administrative fee, only if a request is made in writing no later than 48 hours after completion of the Basic Seminar for those attending all consecutive sessions."


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on PSI Seminars
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)