BBB Accredited Business since

Land Home Financial Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 672-9470 Fax: (925) 676-7038 View Additional Phone Numbers 1355 Willow Way Ste 250, Concord, CA 94520 http://www.lhfs.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Land Home Financial offers diversified funding options to homebuyers, mortgage brokers, builders, manufactured/modular home and real estate agents. Built on knowledge, commitment and trust since 1988.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Land Home Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Land Home Financial Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Land Home Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 1989 Business started: 03/18/1988 Business started locally: 03/18/1988 Business incorporated 03/18/1988 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1515 Clay St Ste 702, Oakland CA 94612
http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License_id=
Phone Number: (510) 622-2552

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angela Warren, VP of Business Development, Community Relations Ms. Joyce Ligon, VP of Retail Sales Mr. Ryan Smith, PR & Communications Director Mr. Brad Waite, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Smith, PR & Communications Director
Principal: Ms. Angela Warren, VP of Business Development, Community Relations
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Lender Financial Services Loans Real Estate Loans

Alternate Business Names
Land Home Fianancial Services
Products & Services

Wide Array of Product Offerings with Competitive Rates
* FHA/VA
* Reverse Mortgages
* Manufactured Home Loans
* High Balance
* HomePath®
* USDA
* Jumbo Non-Conforming
* Unlimited LTV HARP 2.0 direct lender
* Construction


Additional Locations

  • 1355 Willow Way Ste 250

    Concord, CA 94520 (925) 676-7038 (925) 338-8209 (800) 672-9470

  • 1855 Gateway Blvd STE 140

    Concord, CA 94520 (925) 771-2440

  • 190 Hartz Ave STE 200

    Danville, CA 94526 (925) 743-8017

  • 2 Theatre Sq STE 146

    Orinda, CA 94563 (925) 885-6760

  • 20253 Redwood Rd STE B

    Castro Valley, CA 94546 (510) 398-0300

  • 3181 Balfour Rd STE D

    Brentwood, CA 94513 (925) 265-4016

  • 419 Mason St STE 215

    Vacaville, CA 95688 (707) 999-5040

  • 5005 Lone Tree Way STE D

    Antioch, CA 94531 (925) 470-3834

  • 525 1st St E

    Sonoma, CA 95476 (707) 931-3080

  • 533 Main St

    Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 263-4100

  • 7901 Stoneridge Dr STE 117

    Pleasanton, CA 94588 (925) 676-0843

  • PO Box 5037

    Concord, CA 94524

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2042 Wooddale Dr STE 160

    Woodbury, MN 55125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10630 Town Center Dr STE 102

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10630 Town Center Dr STE 102

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3522 G St STE 2G

    Merced, CA 95340

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3522 G St STE 2G

    Merced, CA 95340

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    133 Ma'a St Ste 208

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    338 Kamokila Blvd. Ste. #202

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1635 Village Center Cir STE 280

    Las Vegas, NV 89134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Reno

    Reno, NV 89511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2356 Gold Meadow Way Suite 120

    Gold River, CA 95670

  • 7670 Opportunity Rd #165

    San Diego, CA 92111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21062 Bake Pkwy #100

    El Toro, CA 92630

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3330 Harbor Blvd #300,301,302

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7670 Opportunity Rd #165

    San Diego, CA 92111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7851 University Ave #207

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 S Arroyo Pkwy # 102

    Pasadena, CA 91105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1901 S Bascom Ave #220

    Campbell, CA 95008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2670 S White Rd #120

    San Jose, CA 95148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    724 S Central Ave Ste 107

    Medford, OR 97501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service. Left numerous voice mails, emails, with no response. When I get a customer service rep I'm promised a call back and don't rec My mortgage was paid in full in March 2015 but as of today Land Home Financial has not sent information to Placer County recorder with reconveyance to title. I'm not getting any responses to my inquiries via voicemail or email.

Desired Settlement: To file a reconveyance of title on my home that has been paid in full. Title on file with the county shows Home Land Financial as the lien holder but I have paid my loan in full 3/15. I need confirmation from Placer County that this reconveyance has been properly recorded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/02) */ Dear ******* *******, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to your complaint. First, we would like to apologize and empathize with the frustration regarding the customer service you received, and your concerns surrounding the lien release/reconveyance on the above property. With that said, we are pleased we were able to come to a resolution in this matter. Thank you for your patience and time. Sincerely, **** *****

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The loan officer said with confidence that she can do the loan for me and had me waste my money. It turns out, she can't and wouldn't refund my money. I was in the process of purchasing a so-called "non-warrantable" condo in ********, **. Because it was labeled non-warrantable, I had to find a special lender to get me home loan. After going through several trial & errors looking for the lender, my real estate agent referred a lender called Land Home Financial Services and a loan officer named ****** *****, who I'm filing the complaint against. Because I had a history of going through so many lenders, before even starting the loan process with ******, both my agent and I gave all the information about conditions of the condo that we knew of that may had other lenders to turn down on us. We confirmed with ****** over and over whether she could do the loan for me under rather unfavorable circumstances of the condo, and she said she can do it. ****** even mentioned, "How many more times I have to tell you that I can do it?" over on a phone call with me. She was so sure and made me believe as a naïve consumer that there would be no problems in getting the loan approved for this condo that I wanted to purchase. I gave her all the necessary documents on time, I paid for home inspection ($200) and I paid for home appraisal ($400). I emailed/talked with ****** on daily basis getting updates & sending requested documents, and one day, I couldn't get a hold of her. After several phone calls and emails, I found out that there was a problem. She said something on the HOA Cert was filled out wrong by the condo's management team, and said they can no longer do the loan. She said because she can't order the HOA Cert until I was in contract, she had no way of finding out either. She said because they didn't find out that the HOA Cert was filled out incorrectly for her previous client, they had approved his loan, but cannot approve my loan. So is it by luck to get home loan approved? When I told her that because we knew that the conditions on the condo was somewhat different from any other condos, I confirmed many many times before starting the loan process, she said,"I told you, you should apply, but I could not guarantee it (in blood)." Because there's no guarantee in the business for she knows that everything is subject to underwriting approval. This whole situation is unfair and unjust for me. All I did was trusting in words of a "professional". ****** said, "Yes, I can do it." She never said I cannot guarantee it. ****** made me falsely trust in her words and ability, but ultimately made all my time and efforts go to waste. I did all I can do as a naïve consumer, and believed in the professional's judgment and the professional's words. Ultimately, I lost my opportunity to buy a home and most certainly I lost my money. I asked for a refund, but she ignored my emails and phone calls saying it is not her fault. I tried contacting ******'s boss, ***** ****, who said he is the vice president of the company. He told me to email him if there are any evidences from ****** claiming that she can do the loan. I did email him. Got no response. I called him few days later to check if he's received the email. He said he did receive it, and said he'll get back to me the day after. Again, few days have passed, and no response. I emailed him again to follow up, and again, I have no response yet so far. This whole experience with this company and the people who say they represent the company was so horrible. I wish I could turn back time and make it never happened. I want my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like total refund of all upfront fees that I had to pay and waste, which includes $200 home inspection fee and $400 appraisal fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/17) */ We are pleased to announce we were able to come to a mutual understanding and agreement with the complainant. With client service our number one goal, we are very thankful this process was able to help us further define what that really means not only to us but our valued clients. Thank you to the BBB for providing the portal for this resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The so claimed vice president of the company, Mr****** ****, reached out to me with a phone call, and indicated that he decided to give me a full refund. I am waiting for my check to arrive at the moment.

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to get a lein released from my property. This lein was paid off in Oct.2013. I am in process of trying to refinance my home with Quicken Loans. Everything is complete except a lein release document from Land Home Financial. When i began the process of the refinance i was under the belief that the second mortgage i had had been satisfied. The second mortgage was paid off in Oct. 2013. I did not receive a release of lein at that time but i do have the paperwork showing where i sent the adjusted payoff amount of $ 4500.00 . The check was sent by certified mail.The loan # at Land Home Financial is XXXXXXXXXX, the property address is **** **** ****** St. ******* *** XXXXX. I also have a letter from Mr. ***** ******* the vice president of Land Home Financial stating that the lein has been satisfied. This letter was sent to me on March XX XXXX. I have been working with Quicken Loans since February 2015 to refinance my home. I have sent Mr. ******* several e-mails trying to get this issue resolved. I can provide all documentation mentioned if needed. This delay has resulted in me missing a rate lock deadline agreed to by Quicken Loans and myself not once but twice. Title source is the company that has been trying to get the lein release form from Land Home Financial. The contact at Title Source is ***** ********* The contacts at Quicken Loans are ****** ******* or **** ********* My account # at Quicken Loans is XXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to have this lein removed from my property and documentation provided to Quicken Loans so i may complete the refinance that i have started with Quicken Loans.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/23) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this matter. Please be advised that Land Home Financial Services (LHFS) has confirmed that the lien release is currently being processed by ******** ****** on behalf of the investor of the loan, Dreambuilder Investments, LLC (DBI). As previously disclosed, LHFS has no delegated authority to execute a deed of reconveyance and/or satisfaction of mortgage. We would like to assure you once again that continuous efforts are being made with DBI to resolve this matter. We have escalated this request to the beneficiary under this loan for their review and consideration to execute and file a lien release/satisfaction/reconveyance. Although LHFS is not at fault, we are diligently working on your behalf to resolve this matter as soon as possible. However, with the information provided, we ask that you continue to contact DBI to further resolve this matter. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact **** ********* (****************@lhfs.com). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason i do not accept the response is because Quicken Loans, Title Source and myself have been trying to get this release since Feb.2015. Once the proper documentation is provided to Quicken Loans, Title source or myself then i will be satisfied.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want the company to remove the appraisal they obtained on my home : *** ***** ****** street **********. XXXXX. It is a unfair. Your clients the ********* were buying my home until a bad appraisal came up. Unfortunately occurrences occurred that only myself and my realtor were prev to. My realtor advised me to not report these things and wait 4 months to get a fair appraisal. I contacted the State of Ca appraisal board and was told to report what occurred and unfortunately I had to fire my realtor.. Which bring me to why I am contacting you. As you know an appraisal stays on a home for 4 months. Unfortunately the appraiser and I had conflict at such a time she should have not continued with the appraisal as she was almost 2 hours late and some racist things were said during the appraisal that are unethical resulting in a low retaliatory appraisal which is unlawful. I have attached the complaint sent to HUD and the State of California along with 3 recent sales one of which is a home the same model as mine that closed for 277,000 and the comps. If I listed my home at 250,000 there would be a line down the block. The appraisal unfortunately is a fraud and I will leave it up to the authorities to handle it. I would like for you to remove the appraisal from my homes record so that I may sale my home under a appeal so that I can move on. I would appreciate a appeal and review of the appraisal as it is a fraud and unfair. I would hope that you would remove it. XXX-XXX-XXXX .

Desired Settlement: Remove the appraisal

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/03) */ While we feel for your situation, our hands are tied at this point. All of the appraisers on the panel for Land Home Financial Services, Inc. are contracted out on a case to case basis. Please consult the appraisal board (OREA or the BOE) for your best course of action moving forward. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your company has the power to resolve a wrong. You can have the The Direct Endorsement (DE) Underwriter who has responsibility for the quality of the appraisal report is allowed to request clarifications and discuss with the appraiser components of the appraisal that influence its quality. The appraiser broke a law The lender is held responsible, equally with the appraiser, for the integrity, accuracy and thoroughness of an appraisal submitted to FHA for mortgage insurance purposes.However, effective for case numbers assigned on or after February 15, 2010, no members of a lender's loan production staff or any person who is compensated on a commission basis upon the successful completion of a loan or reports, ultimately, to any officer of the lender not independent of the loan production staff and process, shall have substantive communications with an appraiser relating to or having an impact on valuation, including ordering or managing an appraisal assignment.The Direct Endorsement (DE) Underwriter who has responsibility for the quality of the appraisal report is allowed to request clarifications and discuss with the appraiser components of the appraisal that influence its quality. THE APPRAISER YOUR COMPANY USED CONTACTED PRODUCTION STAFF AFTER THE APPRAISAL WITH VALUATION I HAVE PROOF THIS IS A FEDERAL CRIME. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THAT AND ALL THAT HAPPENED . i CAN EMAIL YOU THE PROOF. DO YOU WANT IT? I WANT THE APPRAISAL THROWN OUT ITS UNFAIRLY STOPPING ME FROM GETTING ANOTHER BUYER AND YOUR RESPONSIBLE FOR THE APPRAISAL ACCURACY AS WELL AS THE APPRAISER The lender is held responsible, equally with the appraiser, for the integrity, accuracy and thoroughness of an appraisal submitted to FHA for mortgage insurance purposes. FHA may pursue appropriate enforcement actions against both or either party for violations. dO YOU WANT THE EMAIL WHERE THE APPRAISER CONTACT YOU THE LENDERS PRODUCTION STAFF A FEDERAL CRIME?The Direct Endorsement (DE) Underwriter who has responsibility for the quality of the appraisal report is allowed to request clarifications and discuss with the appraiser components of the appraisal that influence its quality.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated calls, leaving no message and not responding when the phone call is answered. I began receiving multiple calls from this company on my cell phone on April 9, 2015. They never left a message and several times I answered the call only to hear silence and then be hung up on. This has continued several times a week, sometimes twice a day, up until now, May 8, 2015. I contacted the company and the person I spoke with verified that it was their company calling me and tried to pass ** off as a "dropped call". This is not believable since it happened at least four times. First of all they shouldn't be calling my cell phone to solicit me. Second of all it is very poor practice and very unprofessional to not leave a message or respond to an answered call that YOU initiated. Thirdly, the phone calls were happening so often that it turned into harassment rather then an occasional solicitation. This was very inappropriate behavior and treatment towards a potential customer.

Desired Settlement: No more harassing phone calls. I'm not you're customer nor will I ever choose to be!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ Dear Mrs. ********** First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies. The handling of your account was miss managed and for that we are terribly sorry. Quite frankly, we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and for providing valuable feedback regarding our solicitation efforts. After a thorough review of our call records, we found two critical errors in our systems, of which lead to the experience you described. Our Contact Center placed 6 calls to your number between 4/9/15 and 4/27/15 A third party system we utilized incorrectly flagged your number An associated failed to follow protocol by not leaving a message Based on your feedback and our internal review, we have implemented internal changes to our processes that will positively affect future client satisfaction. Coming full circle, I would like to personally thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. It's this type of feedback that promotes growth and efficient business practices and one of the main reasons we are proud to be a part of the Better Business Bureau. We deeply regret the burden and annoyance our growth has cost you, and the fact you had to go to such lengths to resolve this issue. Please note, your number has been permanently removed from our databases. There is no reason for you to receive another call from us; if you do, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We greatly appreciate your patience and understanding. Sincerely, **** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to my records, I was called by their call center a total of 10 times between 4-9-15 and 5-6-15. I answered 4 of the 10 calls. Every time that I answered all I heard was silence and then the call was disconnected. A message was never left the other 5 times that I didn't answer my cell phone. I have reason to believe that my number is still in their database since our records don't match.

6/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Removal of my Mortgage Insurance PMI Called Land home a few weeks ago ,(everytime I call I get people who have no knowledge and will not pass *** on to someone with mortgage exp or knowledge. I asked to have my PMI removed and they stated "they would send me something" I haven't received anything except another bill that includes my PMI. I was told by my broker that by LAW no pmi can be assessed if payment is > 21% of paid mortgage, which is me... I have sacrificed a lot to put all my money into this loan so that I can get rid of pmi. I called again today and was placed on hold then a "supv" named *********" was very rude speaking to me like im some kid, or worse no respect. After repeating the ques 4 times without an answer from me, just rapid fire ques "what can I do for you!" I aksed her not to speak to me that way and realized I am not going to get anywhere with her, and refused to speak with an arrogant person first thing in the am. So to date I have not heard from anyone with substance from land home, someone who knows my loan? I really don't want to do business with them anymore.. they are trhe worst as far as Im concerned. I just want my PMI removed so I don't have to keep paying an extra 158.00 dollars a month. Regards *****

Desired Settlement: Immediate removal of my PMI. Retroactive to this month

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/01) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your complaint. We empathize with your frustration regarding the standard operating process to cancel the Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) and the appraisal requirement. It is a must we adhere to, and ensure certain policies are in place in order to protect and be in compliance with all interested parties. Standards for the removal of PMI differ from agency to agency, each having their own strict benchmarks for what warrants a removal. We thank you for your patience while we researched your specific situation. We assure you that we take all complaints seriously. Our review of your loan has determined that there has been no illegal wrongdoing in the requirement of an appraisal to determine and execute a final evaluation to cancel the PMI on the loan in question. Although we understand your loan recently funded in January, the purpose of a current appraisal is to ensure the property has not lowered in value. With that being said, we have made an exception; as a result of the recent large down payments to principal, a request has been made to remove the PMI from your loan. We expect the removal of PMI to be effective July 1, 2015. Additionally, regarding the service you experienced, we value your feedback and regret your dissatisfaction in speaking with our client service agents. Please be assured that our calls are monitored, and our senior management has reviewed all calls to ensure that they were properly addressed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refiance process started beginning on Jan 2015. AO april 12-no loan progress. Purchase loan documents fully submitted Feb 20. AO april 12-no loan. Started refi beginning of Jan. LHF pulled credit and confirmed ease of loan. Submitted all docs by Jan 26. It's April 12 and loan not closed. Beginning of feb got pre-approval letter for a purchase of 340k. Backed out of accepted contract after inspections. Submitted another 340k offer with a new pre-approval letter middle of Feb. Offer not accepted. Purchase contract of 300k for third house signed Feb 20. All docs submitted in full for both loans by Feb 20th 2015. LHF has failed to complete both loans so far and I am 7 days past escrow close and 4 days from losing house and thousands of dollars. I have constantly been promised since beginning of March that the loans will close tomorrow. I have connected with two costco supplied lenders and have been reassured by both in writing that I have zero reason to not be accepted for any loan product. I have waited to switch to the costco loan as I have been repeatedly assured by LHF that my loan will close tomorrow. I am out of contract on this coming friday april XX XXXX and will lose the house if LHF fails to follow through. I can not extend contract date with seller as they are already antsy to move on due to our local market rising significantly since our Feb accepted offer. I have continued to look for a replacement house and can find nothing with the same size and same lot size and same lot utility thats in teh same town of 100,000 people! This is the home we want, this is the home we have been reassured we can afford, this is the home we can afford, and this home is exactly what we want. LHF failing to complete and deliver the 2 loan products they promised in any kind of timely manner is gross negligence and deserving of sanctions and reparation. My next step is state and federal regulators for non-performance.

Desired Settlement: Complete BOTH the loans as originally promised BEFORE friday April 17 so we can fullfill purchase contract. Reimburse us the $5,000 our cost for contractors scheduled to begin repairs April 6th 2015. or replace the house we are in purchase contract for if it gets taken away from us. That replacement cost is valued at $300,000 + emotional damages as yet to be determined. No-thats not a joke. My family has been in love with and preparing for this house since Feb 20th and we are all very happy and excited to be moving into this wonderful house in a superior location. All we want is to move in as of close of escrow April XX XXXX as promised by LHF since our Feb 20th signed purchase contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/27) */ We regret the part our policies have played in delaying this borrower his access to the loan funds he is requesting. At Land Home Financial, our goal is to ensure each and every check and balance of the loan process is adequately reviewed and measured for success - not only for Land Home Financail, but most importantly the borrower. In an industry stricken with loose standards, we have taken a steadfast approach to our checks and balances. We have never lost contact with the borrower in question. We continue our efforts to come to a mutual resolution with the problems at hand within this loan scenario. Currently the burden of work is lies with the borrower, and we are awaiting a response on his desired future direction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All documents requested for the refi were fully submitted by Feb 20th. LHF failed to submit to underwriting until March 24th. Underwriting failed to issue a HUD 1 so we could sign docs for the refi until YESTERDAY April 27th. Failing to fund or complete the refi in a timely manner created a significant delay and hardship for the purchase. It delayed the purchase escrow by almost 3 weeks. It almost caused the purchase to fail due to the DTI ratio being off as the refi had not yet completed. According to every single professional lender I have been in communication with and according to the real estate lawyer I have been communicating with, the LHF practice of pausing the refi when a purchase is being considered is not only a lousy practice but completely unheard of. As a result of the refi not being completed in a reasonable time period, I ended up with a highly undesirable FHA loan which is cost me an extra $5,000 in closing costs to buy down PMI and will cost me an extra $188/month for 246 months which works out to over $46,000. An additional expense is the cost of having to hire contractors to complete work I was expecting to have time to do during the 3 weeks I should have had before being forced out of my current residence. LHF thinks that by buying down the rate on my refi by 0.125, that they have resolved the issue. I am still not able to occupy my purchase and the issue is not resolved. A resolution to the issue would be to either pay me the $55,000 it is costing me for LHF negligence, or to turn the purchase into a conventional at no cost to me at a rate of 4.00% or better. The lawyer I have been in communication with is very excited to begin this case at no cost to me but I would like to resolve this matter without costing LHF the expense of a court case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/15) */ Mr. *******, With the mention of legal action, we cannot further engage this conversation via this communication channel. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) With this pathetic non-response and an obvious failed effort to attempt a resolution, the next step is to wait for a positive response.

3/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FROM THE CUSTOMER SERVICE MAIN NUMBER TO LOAN SERVICE TO ESCROW. THE REPRESENTATIVES THAT ANSWER ARE RUDE SPECIFICALLY WHEN I CALL THE 909- AREA CODE Today is Feb XX XXXX.i have been trying to refinance this loan due to the fact i was told i was going to get a call in 9-12 months if rates dropped and i did not.as soon as i requested a payoff and went through a different company,then i am receiving calls on a daily basis from land home financial services inc,stating NOW, they can help. i called to get information on my insurance because on my online profile it states i have ins through "pacific specialty insurance" and gives a policy number. i called them and provided the policy number land fin.gave me,they wer not able to pull me up.then they tried by name, address, phone, etc.still no inf that i ever had ins with them..then i call LHFS again and speak with another rep who gives me same info, i tell her it doesnt exist,she tells me shes going to call with me on the phone and the ins comp, tells her they cant find me or my home.then she says to me "sometimes loan officers do weird stuff like this just to get your loan closed".. i was furious because im thinking the entire time, ive had no insurance for a year, but there is no way you can close a loan without ins. today a letter comes in the mail saying its a notice of cancellation for my homeowners pers ins.. i check my escrow account and the money is sitting there,that they collect each month. every time i call i have to be transferred to 4-5 diff customer service reps and no one knows how to explain why my online profile info is incorrect,why my home owners ins has not been paid, why i got a supplemental tax bill, when my loan is impounded. i even tried to submit a complaint online to demand a supervisor in escrow calls me....and their website locks out after a few minutes, so once im half way typing. i gett error messages saying session timed out so you have to log back on and all your info is deleted.it makes no sense, i cannot get any help, it seems everyone there completely confused.i receive another letter from MGIC saying they sent a incorrect service info, for the above property and corelogic i call lhfs.. again no one knows what this letter is for but its on their letter head with a texas p.o box.. basically everyone i talk to seems completely lost. i worked at bank of america and countrywide so i know what the escrow dept can pull up or look into. i need my insurance paid, which expired in january and i need to know why or who corelogic is, and also why my online info shows a company name and policy number that does not exist

Desired Settlement: i need them to pay the insurance company asap policy GBHXXXXXX-XX FOR $315. I NEED THEM TO explain who or what corelogic is and also fix my online ins info because pacific specialty ins company does not have my policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/09) */ Dear ***** *****, First off, please accept our sincerest apologies for the confusion and inconvenience we have caused in regards to your account. Furthermore, thank you for taking the time to assist us serve our clients better. It is due to your case we have been able to locate errors in our business practices and fix them. For that we want to thank you for your patience and understanding. I am happy to inform you we have disbursed payment for your Golden Bear insurance policy in the amount of $315.00 on March 2, 2015. Our records have been updated with your current policy information; you may rest assured that all future insurance payments will be disbursed from your escrow account in a timely and professional manner. Our research has indicated that when your homeowner's policy was switched to Golden Bear, we were not informed of the change by either yourself or your insurance agent. In the resolution of this matter, we contacted your agent who provided payment and policy information. This enabled us to update our records and make the necessary payment. There has been no lapse in coverage. Your online access should now reflect your current insurance information. We apologize that various phone representatives were unable to better explain the situation. This matter has been brought to the attention of their management team so that coaching may be provided. CoreLogic is our trusted third party provider of property tax information; they are responsible for ensuring that our property tax records are accurate and up to date. Supplemental tax bills are a common occurrence in the State of California; these bills are not paid out of escrow as they cannot be tracked consistently in the same way as standard property taxes. For this reason, supplemental tax bills are the responsibility of the individual borrower. We are able to disburse payment from escrow for a supplemental tax bill with a written request including a copy of the bill in question. Bear in mind that paying this type of bill from your escrow account may cause an eventual escrow shortage which can lead to higher monthly mortgage payments. We will make every effort to provide you with the outstanding service you expect and deserve as our valued customer. If you have any questions, please call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

3/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to recognize contract made with previous broker after assuming the loan. I'm struggling with a mortgage company. Land home financial services(LHFS)has taken over servicing of my loan. The previous company, Newport Beach holdings(NBH) has not sent the appropriate paperwork to LHFS. I had entered a modified work out agreement with NBH in OCT 2013 and have been making payments according to that agreement since. Now that LHFS has taken over the loan they are not recognizing this agreement due to NBH not giving them the appropriate paperwork. This has tied up the processing for my home refinance that would payoff this second mortgage. LHFS has placed a $120,000 item against my home deed. LHFS has taken over servicing back in May of this year.I have contacted LHFS about this issue several times. I have attempted to contact NBH, but cannot reach anyone at the number I have for the company. As a result my Refinance is on hold and I have missed my rate lock date. NBH account number XXXXXXXXXX LHFS account number XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Service loan as agreed. Provide appropriate compensation for negligance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ Land Home Financial took over the loan in question on May 9, 2014. At which time we were provided with the pre-modification terms via an electronic referral file. However, the loan's original investor (Newport Beach Holdings) did not provide the appropriate collateral, and as a result, despite our best intentions to do so, were unable to perform a new loan audit, i.e. refinance the loan. On September 25, 2014 we did in fact receive the necessary updated terms to perform the requested change. Coming full circle, the loan in question is now showing current with the borrower's requested terms. **** **** ***** PR & Communications Director Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) LHFS has since sent me a billing showing that my last months payment was received late and has charged me a late fee along with apparently late interest. It is hard to be late on a payment when I had yet to receive a bill from this company or an agreement on the terms of my loan. Once again I had been paying my previously agreed upon payments even though though this company was not recognizing them. I use a bill pay service through my financial institution. My records show that the payment in question was mailed to be received by LHFS on the 10th of October. LHFS claims that payment was not processed until after the due date. Regarding the due date, LHFS has modified the due date to an earlier date than what was agreed upon in my modification paperwork. The date agreed upon was the 13th of each month. My current billing shows a due date on the 12th. LHFS continues to show me bad business practices and I would currently not recommend anyone doing business with this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/02/20) */ Mr. *******, Forgive my delay in responding to your formal rebuttal. I want to apologize for the inconvenience we have put you through during this process. It is not fair for you to spend your time and energy disputing the clear facts of this issue with us. I personally take full responsibility for the mistakes of my servicing department and the delay in acknowledging them. I have been informed that your loan's servicing has been transferred to SW Linear Investment Group (SW). We have informed SW of our error in communicating your due date, and formally sent notification that the correct due date is the 13th of each month. Please let me know if you have any issues moving forward. I left my direct line on your personal VM. Again, I am sorry for the inconvenience we have cause you. **** ***** Director of Public Relations & Communications ********************************************************************************************************************************************

3/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has sent me a bogus mortgage statement. I do not recognize the account number. The statement is photocopied and not the real deal. The amount due is $57,082.44 and it says the outstanding Principal is $90,269.00. The account number is XXXXXXXXXX. I want proof that they own this debt and proof that they paid for it such as a cancelled or wire transfer. The big banks are coming into courts with bogus notes so I guess these guys think they can do the same thing. I do not want to be sued by some company where I have to hire a lawyer to defend myself. I do not have a mortgage with this company. It is also past statute of limitations in the state of ******** to be collected. On the back it says "this communication is from a debt collector etc.".

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to stop sending me bogus mortgage statements. This is a form of harassment and I want it to stop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ Dear *****************, I apologize on behalf of Land Home Financial Service, Inc. for any communication that you felt was harassment. That is never our intention. Our goal is ensure you are informed of our policies in an effort to avoid penalties. Please see below for our formal response mailed to you from our servicing department. Please let myself and/or Tina know if you have any questions regarding Land Home Financial's response. Please note that LHFS is the servicer on behalf of the investor, *****************************), LLC. As we understand, you are disputing this debt. Pursuant to your request of validation of debt, to request a validation of debt, you were required to do so 'within the thirty-day period" after receipt of the debt validation notice. As such, because the 30-day period has long since expired prior to you sending the aforementioned request, you are not entitled, under statute, to such validation. However, since you are requesting such validation, enclosed are the following loan documents, which provide the validation/verification of debt: Notice of Assignment, Sale or Transfer of Servicing Rights Fixed Rate Consumer Note and Security Instrument Fixed Rate Disclosure Statement Allonge to Installment Consumer Loan Security Agreement Copy of Recorded Deed of Trust Assignment of Deed of Trust We trust the enclosed documents are responsive to your request. Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the number listed below and/or our Customer Service Department toll-free (877) 557-9042. Sincerely, ********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did mail a validation letter to them with a tracking # *************************** for USPS. They refused to receive it. I asked the following questions: 1. Proof that you either own or were assigned the debt from the creditor 2. Proof that you have the right to collect this debt in my state 3. Proof that your company carries a bond 4. Proof of how your company assessed the outstanding debt 5. Payment history from the original creditor 6. Name and address of the original creditor 7. Copy of the original contract bearing my signature 8.Address of the property this statement refers to This was sent 2/5/2015. The first "bill" I received was dated 1/20/2015 and was mailed to me on 1/21/2015. My validation request was mailed to Land Home Financial Services, ********************************************************************. I have proof of all of this. *************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/05/15) */ Dear ******************, This is to acknowledge receipt and final response to your most recent inquiries received May 13, 2015 on the referenced loan and property. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Please note that Land Home Financial Services, Inc. (LHFS) is merely the servicer on behalf of the investor, ************************************ As a servicer, the information that was mailed in our previous correspondence is all the information that was provided to us by the investor (***) of the loan. Any further questions regarding the validity of the debt and the documents above, must be addressed with the investor of the loan, ***. *** can be reached at the following address and phone number: *************************************************************************************** Please feel free to contact our service department with any further questions regarding the process to validate this loan; however actual validation needs to happen via ***. (LHFS's Phone number, email and mailing address included in mailed correspondence.) Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Does this mean you will stop sending me your bogus bills? ***************

2/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was interested in purchasing a mobile home in a Florida Gulf Coast community but was unable to find an insurance company from whom I could purchase mobile home insurance because of its location near the central Florida Gulf coast. I then spoke with an LHFS Loan Coordinator ****** ********* ******** who told me verbally over the phone that insurance was not required if the loan was $9,999 or less, so I signed the loan agreement. Then I received a letter from LHFS saying my mortgage loan agreement requires me to maintain hazard insurance on the mobile home at all times !!! Product_Or_Service: Mobile Home Account_Number: Loan No. XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I do not want to be required to pay for hazard insurance on the mobile home I recently purchased solely based on the fact that the LHFS Loan Coordinator, *********************, telling me over the phone on 8/27/14 that I would not need insurance if I put down a larger down payment to make the mobile home loan less than $10,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/03) */ Is it not every day a client plays a major role in addressing a business's process and procedures. Given the scope and breath of Land Home Financial Services, Inc. we pride ourselves on offering the best products and services we can to our vast, diverse audience. As regulations, laws and business procedures change; we at times develop practices that over reach their intended audience and as a result can cause confusion. We sincerely apologize for any confusion, unrest and concern we have cause the borrower in question. The information she was provided via mail was incorrect and contradicted what in fact was factual information and advice provided by our loan coordinator. We would like to extend a humble thank you to the borrower for the role they played in helping us bring this issue to light. We have reached out to the borrower explaining the misunderstanding. We look forward to clearing up the confusion and moving forward on the same page.

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to fulfill their end of the loan agreement and lack of response from their account managers. In 2008 we opened a home construction loan with Land Home Financial Services(LHFS) for a manufactured home on bare land. Construction of the home began shortly after which first involved drilling for a water well. 8 months after the loan was opened we were ready to pull building permits and break ground. As soon as we attempted to pay for the well drillers services and pay for the permits we found that our loan had been closed 5 months prematurely by LHFS. Since that time we have been trying to contact this company with little or no results. Only after repeated calls and emails daily do we sometimes get a response. They have gone so far as to ignore our correspondence for up to a year at a time. This deal started out shady to begin with. First they required us to use their appraiser who was not familiar with the area and used comps from 30-50 miles away and houses and land sizes that were much smaller than the one we were building. We solicited four other appraisers at random who all agreed the stated value was under by at least a third of the value. When we finally received a reply back from them they stated the closure was due to the market fallout and that the loan would resume once the market recovered. Our continued requests for an update over the years were ignored for months at a time while we were given excuses that our loan agent was out of town or unavailable. Meanwhile they continued to charge interest on the original loan amount. Early in 2014 they finally responded with a request to move forward with the loan again so we submitted new estimates for the home and building expenses. Since that time we have had to forfeit our down payment on the original pre-built home and found that a similar replacement is going to cost an additional 40k. We then had to re-certify the well and file all new permits including a new perk test and building estimates. We secured those new estimates and tests at their request shortly after. Now we are being told that there has been 70k worth of accrued interest on this loan and that if we want to move forward we need to put down another 20%. The full amount owed at this time without interest is 160k for which we have already paid 45k down on. Instead they are asking for appraisals of our current house and trying to secure the equity from that to cover the interest of this loan they have forcibly kept us from completing. When we responded with our complaint about not feeling that we are responsible for this amount of interest they responded with "well you can always foreclose and give up the property". They have locked us into a loan that we cannot move forward on and continues to accrue interest daily. They still have yet to provide any input on the new estimates which was over 6 months ago and are nearing expiration again. To say this company is partaking in shady business practices would be an improvement compared to what we have to deal with over the past 7 years.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking to have the loan re-instated so we can complete the project and do not feel we are responsible for the accrued interest since the loan was closed. If this loan had not been closed prematurely and for no reason this project would have been completed before the original year the contract stated. We acknowledge the interest accrued up until the loan was closed but nothing after since we have been forcibly held in limbo by this company with no way to move forward. We also request that LHFS recognize the initial down payment we placed on this property instead of requiring a second down payment as they have said would be required to open a new loan. We feel a new loan should not be required since the terms of the initial loan were never fulfilled to begin with.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/10) */ With the difficulty the year of 2008 brought upon many borrowers, Land Home Financial Services, INC. has done its best to stall normal recoupment processes in light of the borrower's financial condition with the hope the situation would work out amicably for both parties. Communication has been regular, and always with the intent to solve the problem without further cost or issues to the borrower. The borrower has been offered multiple avenues to resolve this balance with a multitude of re-payment options, each deemed unsatisfactory. Unfortunately the conversation at times has reached a stalemate. Land Home Financial expresses its deepest sympathies for external circumstances that have forced this unfortunate circumstance upon the borrower. However, it is our stance we have taken the necessary steps to resolve this issue to the best of our ability. At this time, Land Home Financial continues to work diligently with the borrower to reach a resolution that satisfies both parties. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have presented one offer which was to pay the full $70,000 in interest that has accrued due to their negligence in handling this loan. They have us handcuffed in this loan which continues to accrue interest until they decide to move forward. They claim that the house will not appraise for what it needs to in order to qualify for the loan yet each time it does. Its only when you tack on this additional $70,000 that the numbers fall out of line. If we had been able to move forward originally instead of getting cut-off in the middle of the project this interest would not have been there at all. We also cannot move on to another loan company because our down payment was used to start this loan process. They seem to have some notion that our current house contains the equity to pay it off but that is not a true statement. Our current residence is losing value daily and at this point would be lucky to break even. We have been willing to meet them in the middle at $35,000 just as a means of getting this project moving again. That was presented to them back in August which was the last we have heard from any of them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/23) */ We, Land Home Financial Services, Inc. are happy to announce a mutual understanding has been reached in Mr. *****'s loan. Communication is progressing towards an amical resolution. A settlement is near and we are relieved to say both parties will be satisfied in the end. We would like to note that while we appreciate the place Mr. ***** is coming from, and understand the frustration this situation has brought upon him, we respectively dispute his claim(s) of negligence. We take pride in our business practices and processes. The mere fact that this situation is concluding in the manner with which it is, is a testament to that fact.

8/28/2014 Delivery Issues
12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since July 1, asking Land Home to reimburse an avoidable fee of $425, resulting from its misrepresentation of a home equity line of credit product. Contacted **** *****, ****** ********, and ***** *****, starting July 1, 2013 and have been met with no response since July 17. All are representatives of Land Home Financial. Prior attempts since last Land Home response were July 17 and 24, August 6 and 22, and final one to **** on September 12. I'm disappointed by the unprofessional behavior and poor service I am experiencing from Land Home, not only because I'm an existing customer, but also because I have had such a positive experience working with the team before. If Land Home had understood the product they were brokering, we would have not applied for their recommended home equity line of credit product. Instead, we proceeded with executing all the pre-requisites, which included a $425 out of pocket expense to a third party appraisal firm and a significant amount of time investment from us, only to find out that Land Home had misrepresented the product, which has resulted in a financial loss to us. We should not bare the financial burden as consumers of brokerage services that depend on and reasonably trust the expertise of their mortgage broker. I'm asking for Land Home to take ownership of its mistake and refund my appraisal fee of $425 as it was avoidable. ****** misunderstood, and consequently misrepresented to me, the terms of the home equity line of credit (HELOC) product she was securing for me. She was clear on my objectives and concerns about doing a refinance of my primary mortgage to secure a HELOC, which she later discovered was required by the product we were applying for. In good faith, we had moved forward with getting an appraisal completed on my home, then a couple of weeks later discovered that TCF Bank (a third party that Land Home works with) would not underwrite my HELOC because it was not associated with a new mortgage. Happy to provide the full email trail if needed.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a refund of our $425 appraisal fee due to Land Home's negligence. We also had intangible costs for time invested in securing the HELOC, time for securing an alternate product from an alternate service provider, and resultant delays to executing the project for which the product was to fund. At this time, we hope Land Home will simply refund our financial loss of $425.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/23) */ Refund and letter sent to Mr. ***** by UPS today 12.23.13. Copy of the letter and refund sent with a cover letter Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Land Home apologized for the delay and issued a refund for the appraisal fee as requested.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Land Home Financial Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)