BBB Accredited Business since

First California Mortgage Company

Phone: (877) 885-3262 Fax: (707) 665-0651 View Additional Phone Numbers 1435 N McDowell Blvd Ste 300, Petaluma, CA 94954 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.firstcal.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage brokers for loan programs. This business service area covers New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, San Jose, Jacksonville, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Austin, Columbus, Fort Worth, Charlotte, Detroit, El Paso, Memphis


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First California Mortgage Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First California Mortgage Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on First California Mortgage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2006 Business started: 02/02/1988 Business started locally: 02/02/1988 Business incorporated 12/20/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business Oversight
1515 K Street Suite 200, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/fsd/licensees/default.asp?flag=1&srchtyp=contains&licstatus=active&busname=&id=
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Natalie.Rios@dbo.ca.gov
The number is 6054270.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carly Thomas Ms. Shannon Furr, HR Director Mr. Christopher Hart Ms. Kat Hollowell, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carly Thomas
Number of Employees

199

Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Real Estate Real Estate Loans

Alternate Business Names
First Cal

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

First California Mortgage Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1435 N McDowell Blvd Ste 300

    Petaluma, CA 94954 (877) 885-3262 (707) 238-3700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company used different names advertising mortgages, took an application online, promised all is good, and then did not honor their promise. On April 30,2015, I checked zillow.com for mortgage rates to refinance my properties. A company called FirstCal mortgage Co (it was also called America Mortgage on zillow.com when I saw it first) showed a 30 years fixed rate of 3.5%. This seemed very good compared to others because everyone else was at 4%. I called the company and was transferred to a person named **** *********(RA). He talked to me and said he will run our credit report (I and my wife) and let me know whether we qualify. In about 15 minutes after he looked over our Credit report, income, and expense he said everything looks good and we qualify. I specifically told him if we don't qualify I do not want to go through with this process. In the meantime I had my own brokerage company person check this company's rates. He wrote me that this companies rate has gone up to 3.875% in about one hour since I was talking to **** ********. My friend mentioned that this is very odd and I agreed. I brought this up with RA and he said some mambo jumbo regarding market manipulation and basically garuanteed me that everything is ok and we will qualify for the rates of 3.5%. In the next few days I worked with him and worked on all three properties that I wanted to refinance. He told me that this is not a problem and started asking me for various documentation from my wife and I. I provided everything that was asked for and more. After a week of collecting information from us all of a sudden he calls me and brings all kinds of excuses that we don't qualify because of income to debt ratio. Please note that everything was fine for a week and all of a sudden this issue comes up. I tell him what is the problem and he says I have a large car payment and if I payoff the lease amount for that car then everything would be fine. I go ahead and call the car leasing company and get the payoff information and call RA that I can payoff the lease and should be fine. He first says ok and then calls me in an hour or so and tells me that is not going to work either and then a few minutes later he writes me that they can not process my loans at all due to income to debt ratio. This whole process sounded very suspect to me because they went from everything being fine to not being fine at all for processing these loans. Generally if a problem comes up they offer some alternatives and RA did not offer anything. It sounds really fishy to have gone through this process. I am not even sure if this was a legitimate company at all. It seems to me they collected all of our personal information and then said good bye. It is as if they wanted to collect our personal information and perhaps do something with it such as selling it or using it. We had to call all agencies and secure our credits and install alerts on all of our information and it has been very stressful. I would like you to check this company and person to see whether this was all legitimate and if legitimate then why they would lie and cheat and drag people along, gather information, and then change everything. If the company and person is not legitimate then I would like to know what other steps can be taken to correct this situation. In either case a very stressful and suspicious process and this company should be put on the list of alerts for others not to fall in this kind of trap.

Desired Settlement: They need to not do false advertising and also a responsible person from this organization needs to guarantee us that our personal information is securely destroyed and apologize for this process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *****,Compliance Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@firstcal.net Attached please find the response letter that is being mailed directly to Mr. ******* today. Please note that this letter does contain information pertaining to Mr. *******'s financial situation and thus should not be posted in full on your website.

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They put a mark on my credit report saying I paid late on one of the mortgages they had transferred to themselves for all of 1 month. I received a phone call out of the blue around August-September of last year from a gentleman claiming he works for the loan company that had my loan previous to the one servicing at the time. I was skeptical and stated as such as he was asking for some documents related to obtaining the loan in the first place. I received another call from someone higher up also asking the same so I told them to email me the information they needed. It turned out to be ALL the documents one would need to refinance a property and I was still skeptical of this situation so I refused. A few months later I received a notice saying they were transferring my loan back to the company (First California Mortgage) with the usual letter stating this is your new servicer, mail your payment to this address but they will forward payments, and that payments will be given 60 days before documented late on my credit report. A few weeks later, I received another letter saying my loan would be transferred AGAIN to a different bank. During the one month they had my loan, somehow this company First California Mortgage reported a late payment for one of the two mortgages they had transferred. The letter clearly states that they cannot report a late payment received within 60 days after a transfer and my payment was on time so I feel that maybe this was done vindictively for refusing to give them all the documents they wanted when they called me. I am trying to do a refinance now which lead me to even know about this mark on my credit. This mark reduces my score by approximately 40 points according to my loan officer and would cost me a considerable amount of money if I moved forward before this is corrected. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Desired Settlement: Correction of my credit report or even a letter stating they never intended to report a late payment and if it is on the report to please expunge it as it is in error. They keep claiming they never reported anything and pulled my credit and don't see anything so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/27) */ Upon investigation, it was determined that First Cal's sub-servicer, ********** ********* Inc. ("DMI") erroneously reported one late payment on this consumer's account. A correction was submitted to the credit reporting agencies by DMI on February 24, 2015, and consumer was provided with a letter from DMI on February 24, 2015 stating that the late payment was reported in error. First Cal responded on February 27, 2015 to consumer that consumer's allegation that the late payment was reported in retaliation for consumer not providing documentation previously requested by the company to whom First Cal originally sold the loan as unfounded as First Cal was not involved in that request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The loan servicing department has refused useful assistance removing an invalid lien against property. Email communication blocked & Ph.unresponsive. Back in September I applied for a credit loan from my bank. A credit report was made and a lien from 1993 surfaced that was previously unknown. The loan was put on hold until the lien could be resolved. Further investigation revealed by documents from the County recorder that the lien has no valid basis because First Calif. transferred their interest in the property in 1994 with a Corporation Assignment of Trust to another mortgage company. The property interest has passed ******* a number of financial institutions from 1994 to 2009 when I finally paid off the last mortgage holder (GMAC), all without any reference to the 1993 lien that First Calif. holds. I have presented sufficient documentation from the County Recorder including the input of First American Title Co., to First Calif. with the hope of persuading them to remove the bogus lien that is blocking the use of the properties assets. The loan servicing department has refused to take any action in the matter, claiming that they need me to supply them with a 'new document' for them to perform on. The problem is that the servicing and legal department have been unable to identify the type or name of the document they require. The attitude seems to be that 'this is my problem' and not First California's. Whereas the issue stems from First Cal's failure to erase the lien back when their interest was first passed ** to another financial institution. In spite of all the documental evidence and reasoning I have presented, First Calif. has remained entrenched in their position that they can do nothing about the problem until I come up with some as yet undefined 'new document'. The title company (First American) I conferred with stated that there is no basis for the lien, that a new document (whatever it is) should not be necessary if First Calif. would simply act on the existing documents given and remove the lien. I sent First California those opinions given by the Title company. Unfortunately, after many e-mail exchanges in which I have always been polite, never derogatory or even caustic, in my attempts to reason with pertinent documentation, the senior loan servicing person (Ms. ****) and her counter part in the legal department (Ms. *********) decided they no longer wanted to deal with this issue, and put a block on my emails and as yet have not responded to my attempts to contact them by phone. That is pretty much where we are at this point. I have done some preliminary checking into seeking legal help, but have not enlisted any as yet due to the high cost. I am retired and trying to make it on a fixed income. Not a lot of discretionary income to work with. Thank you for the venue of expressing my complaint. I don't believe there is any excuse for this type of behavior from a professional institution. ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I simply request First California take responsibility for the invalid lien against my property so that I may have a clear credit report and be able to use the assets of my property for investment potentials. Their lien in not only invalid, but illegal and could result in a law suit if not addressed. At this point I seek no legal damages. I wish them simply to perform their responsibility.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/13) */ Received business response via email on 2/13/14: On December 23, 1993, the ****** County Recorder's Office recorded a Deed of Trust from ****** M. ***** and ***** J. ***** to First California Mortgage Company as Instrument XXXX-XXXXXXXX. The following year, First Cal sold the ***** loan to Capstead Mortgage. On September 6, 1994, the ****** County Recorder's Office recorded a Corporation Assignment of Deed of Trust granting, assigning and transferring all beneficial interest in the ***** Deed of Trust from First California Mortgage Company to Capstead Mortgage Corporation, That Assignment of Deed of Trust incorrectly referenced the Instrument number of the recorded Deed of Trust as XXXX-XXXXXXX instead of XXXX-XXXXXX. It is important to note however, that even with the Instrument number error contained in the document, as of September 6, 1994, First Cal no longer held any legal interest in the ***** property. Five years later, Capstead sold the ***** loan to GMAC Mortgage. On October 5, 1999, the ****** County Recorder's Office recorded an Assignment of Deed of Trust granting, assigning and transferring all beneficial interest in the ***** Deed of Trust from Capstead to GMAC Mortgage Corporation. That Assignment of Deed of Trust also referenced the Instrument number of the recorded Deed of Trust as XXXX-XXXXXXX instead of XXXX-XXXXXX. The Crosses paid off the loan in 2002. On June 28, 2002, the ****** County Recorder's Office recorded a Substitution of Trustee and Reconveyance of the *****' Deed of Trust back to ****** M. ***** and ***** J. *****. The Reconveyance referenced the Instrument Number of the original Deed of Trust as XXXX-XXXXXXXX, instead of XXXX-XXXXXXXX. There was no reference to the incorrect Instrument number of XXXX-XXXXXXX contained in the previous Assignments. Mr. ***** states that because of the error on the Instrument number made on the original Assignment from First Cal to Capstead, the First California loan continues to appear on his credit report even though it has been paid-in-full, and that he continually experiences hardship as a result. Despite the research conducted by First Cal, it remains unclear whether the lien appears on Mr. *****'s credit report because of the error on the Assignment from First Cal to Capstead,or because of the error made by GMAC on the Reconveyance document back to the Crosses, or both. In an effort to resolve the error, First Cal will prepare a corrected Assignment of Deed of Trust and present it to the ****** County Recorder's Office for recording. It is at the discretion of the ****** County Recorder's Office whether or not to accept the corrected Assignment for recordation. First Cal can do nothing to resolve the mistake on the Reconveyance from GMAC to Mr. and Mrs. ***** because as of September 6, 1994, it no longer held any legal interest in the property. Should ****** County agree to record First Cal's corrected Assignment of Deed of Trust and the lien still appear on Mr. *****' credit report thereafter, Mr. ***** must pursue resolution of that error with GMAC Mortgage Corporation. On behalf of First Cal, I also want to apologize to Mr. ***** for the issues he experienced with First Cal's Servicing Department. The Servicing Department's original investigation led them to believe that it was GMAC's error on the Reconveyance that was causing the credit report problem for Mr. *****. Ms. **** and Ms.********** had stated to him that First Cal was unable to help him and directed him to contact GMAC Mortgage. Further subsequent investigation of this matter revealed the error on the original Assignment from First Cal to Capstead. First Cal will prepare a corrected Assignment of Deed of Trust and submit it for recording to the ****** County Recorder's Office no later than March 28, 2014. I will personally contact Mr. ***** when the document is submitted for recording to advise him of such. Sincerely, **** ***** Compliance Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Response from Mr. ***** regarding case #BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX First of all, I appreciate the support and assistance BBB of the San Francisco Bay Area in unclogging the communication between myself and First California Mortgage. We are finally getting somewhere. I do also thank and accept **** *****'s apology on behalf of First California Mortgage for the difficulty experienced in seeking to resolve this issue. 1. I do accept and agree with the response from First California to initiate a corrected Assignment of Deed of Trust from First California Mortgage to Capstead Mortgage and the sending of it to the ****** County Recorder, thereby releasing any further obligation for the invalid lien from First California's standpoint. 2. I have an additional **** that I believe will expeditiously resolve the impinging effect this lien has upon the current use of my property resources: In the process of seeking to find a solution to dispute this lien I contacted the credit agency responsible for its revelation. Their policy in processing a dispute is for the financial institution involved with the disputed lien to furnish documentary evidence nullifying its legitimacy. Apparently my position in the dispute is not official enough to do it on my own. This should be no problem for First California to accomplish due to the findings they have unraveled in their own investigation. I would assume a simple letter to the credit agency explaining the nature of the problem (such as has been sent to me) along with a copy of the Capstead Assignment, corrected or uncorrected, should accomplish the immediate release of the lien from their records. I don't know how other credit agencies which might be also holding the same invalid lien on their records are officially notified, but hopefully the correction filed with the county recorder will address any potential issues in the future. I will be glad to send a PDF copy of the credit-title search report detailing the lien to First California once they unblock my e-mail access to their corporate office. I would have sent it long ago had the e-mail access not been blocked. I will send it directly to Ms. *****'s Office of Compliance if she will reveal to me her e-mail access. The Title Search Report will give Ms. ***** all the information needed to contact the credit agency and address any further details they may require in removing the lien. If Ms. ***** wishes to contact the credit agency directly and obtain the report, the numbers are: DataQuick Lending Solutions Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Regarding: Search Report No. XXXXXX-XXXXXA Document No. XXXX-XXXXXXXX Parcel No. XXXX-XXX-XXX I, ***** ***** authorize the forwarding of the above personal information FYI: The credit report that reveals this lien will I believe also reveal that the lien is not based on any subsequent Assignments or Reconveyances post dating the XXXX-XXXXXXXX Deed of Trust held by First California Mortgage. It is possible that the lien doesn't even necessarily stem from the incorrect identification numbers discovered on the First California to Capstead Assignment, but simply from the mistake of the mortgage companies involved to update their own records and notify the credit system of the First California-Capstead transaction. That possibility is supported by the observance I have made while conducting my own title search at the County Recorder, in which no further unresolved liens have resulted from ongoing incorrect numbers found in subsequent Assignments and Re-conveyances. Apparently incorrect numbers do not seem to interfere with title transfers as much as one would suppose. The lien in question seems to be stuck within the XXXX-XXXXXXXX Deed of Trust credit report only, as though it was still held by First California dating from that time. There is no record of its existence to be found anywhere else. Thanks you to everyone for the attention given to this problem, I will await your response to the results of the above no. 2 request and be glad at that time to sign off as..... 'Issue Satisfactorily Resolved' ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/07) */ First Cal sent a letter with supporting documentation to DataQuick on 3/6/14 asking DataQuick to remove the invalid information. A copy was sent via email to Mr. *****. Mr. ***** responded via email that he would like the same letter sent to the major credit agencies and inquiring about the status of the corrected Assignment. First Cal will respond to Mr. ***** by 3/10/14. **** ***** Compliance Manager First California Mortgage Company Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. ***** of First California Mortgage has been very helpful in taking steps to have the lien removed from the Title Search Co.(DataQuick), which is holding the lien. We are simply awaiting for a response from the DataQuick as to their disposition in the matter. Ms. ***** has stated she will by 3/21 also send a corrected Capstead document to the ****** County Recorder to guard against the surfacing of any further invalid liens. If there are any records of this invalid lien resident with any of the major credit companies, she has also offered to assist me in disputing them as well. I must first contact them to see if any such liens exist on my report. As soon as we receive notification that these efforts have been satisfactorily responded to, I will be delighted to consider the issue resolved. ***** *****

9/18/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on First California Mortgage Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart