BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/30/2005

Lucky Money, Inc.

Phone: (415) 864-8367

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: This company uses false advertisement using "Money in minutes" in their website. Both remittances I've sent online took over a few days even weeks.
Problems: 1. Customer Services Issues - Lack of Communication from the company; 2. False Advertisement: "Money in minutes"

First Incident: Initiated on May 6, 2014; Tracking Number: ********. Amount Sent: $800.00 plus $3.00 remittance fee. Payment Method: bank account (checking account)

From May 7 thru May 14, I have not received an email nor a phone call from Lucky Money regarding the cause of delay. On May 14, I called Lucky Money to follow-up on the status of my remittance since it has been over a week and my recipient is anxiously waiting. The customer service mentioned that it will take a few days since it was my first time and that they require additional documents from me for verification purposes. I verbally requested from customer service to send the request in writing. On that day, I received an email (Request XXXXX). I emailed the requested documents on May 16, 2014. On or around May 20, I called again to confirm the receipt of the requested documents and to follow-up on my remittance. They confirmed that they received the documents; however, they have not released the money yet. At this point, I already requested my money to be refunded since it has been taken out of my account since May 8. The customer service promised that it will be remitted as soon as possible. Anyhow, the funds were not transmitted to my recipient until May 21, 13 days since I've initiated it.

Second Incident: Initiated on June 10, 2014; Tracking: ********. Amount Sent: $750.00 plus $3.00 remittance fee. Payment Method: bank account (checking account)

At this point, my bank account has been verified so I expected the remittance to be the same day. I went online today, June 11, to check on the status; however, it still says payment verification. I called customer service around 6:40 PM or so to follow-up. Customer service asked me to call their office again tomorrow. I expressed my concerns regarding the delays of the remittances and the lack of communication from Lucky Money. I verbally asked for my request to be documented and be cc'd on her email to the online department to expedite the process. I am still awaiting their response. If the company cannot process my remittance on the time frame they are advertising, I would like for them to remove "Money in minutes" in their advertisement.

If my remittance, Tracking: ********; not remitted to my recipient by tomorrow, June 12, 2014; I would like them to refund my account.

Initial Business Response

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Refund haven't receive yet amt $255. Requested since march 11. Was promised refund on the 27th then 28th. But until now no refund from luckymoney
Staffs are inconsistent with their statement. 1 male answered rude. Receipt no. ********. They said per policy refunds are 1 wk after cancellation, one said 2 wks. But its been 2 wks and 4 days no refund receive yet

Initial Business Response
Refund in the amount of $255.00 has been issued to customer ******** account number ********** on March 28, 2014.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: The company failed to refund my money at the time as they promised.
I wired $1,000 to my sister on 12/18/2013. Then, I received an email saying the transaction is pending and I need to provide my bank statement. Due to security reason, I told them I can't provide it and just cancel the transaction. I received an email informing me that the transaction is cancelled and will be refunded after 15 days. I tracked the transaction in their website and it is showing it was cancelled on 12/22/2013. $1003 (including $3 fee was debited from my account on 12/20/2013). Its been more than 15 days from 12/22/2013 and it's still not yet refunded. I emailed them days ago to follow up but never received any reply.
I believe they're in bad faith since they debited my bank account even though they haven't received the bank statements. Their email said "it's pending subject to submission of bank statement" and yet they still debited my account.
I sent them an email to cancel the transaction on 12/19/2013 and they debited my account on 12/20/2013.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/15/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Money Orders & Transfers, Internet Access Provider

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.