BBB Accredited Business since

Location Labs/ Safely

Phone: (510) 601-7012 Fax: (925) 293-0199 5980 Horton St STE 675, Emeryville, CA 94608 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.locationlabs.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers location based services for mobile phone developers. The company's mobile personal safety services provide a wide variety of innovative solutions on some of the largest mobile carriers in the world, including AT&T, Sprint and T-Mobile, and the Location Labs location-based services platform help developers create intelligent, location-aware applications.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Location Labs/ Safely meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Location Labs/ Safely include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Location Labs/ Safely
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 09/07/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Burman, Director Of Finance Mr. Joel Grossman, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Burman, Director Of Finance
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Mobile Telephone Service

Service Area
This business service area covers the U.S and Canada.
Alternate Business Names
Wavemarket, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5980 Horton St STE 675

    Emeryville, CA 94608 (510) 601-7012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Location labs is not honestly handling a very dangerous program that comes on ALL Sprint owned phones that tracks with fine GPS location of the phone Location labs is not honestly handling a very dangerous complaint about location labs V3 client program that comes on ALL Sprint owned phones that tracks with fine GPS location of the phone and user, the "parent" phone can intercept calls, can see whose calling, can place outgoing calls on users phone number, can see and stop all text messages basically mimics a hacked phone - for all intents and purposes the phone is not secure nor the privacy odf the user. In May 2011 a call was placed from my phone that was to an 86 y o woman in CT. Her son in law asked me to discontinue calling her- I hadn't called her so I felt puzzled. He said he'd have his wife call me (it was her mother) Shr did we agreed that she would make sure it was ***-***-**** and my voice! It was both so the hacker had a way to call from my number without the phone and record me while on with my cable company because in April my computer had been accessed with a mobile device. I have been compromised by whereabouts and by employers by what appears to be SDPD- San Diego Police Department- booth traffic, financial crimes, and narcotics division. Why? They are creating such hardship that I have asked Sprint to check into it and have contacted location labs who say location labs V3 client is not able to run on Virgin Mobile phones because very specific Sprint programs need to be in place that Virgin Mobile does not have access to. Now they say It will run on VM but they do not find a subscription for ***-***-**** and there are no monthly payments. I DID NOT SUBSCRIBE to this service so who did it for me SDPD, Sprint? Its an invasive dangerous program

Desired Settlement: Lets get clear who was running the service on my phone. Does law enforcement have a pool of accounts that they can hack the average citizens account?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/01/06) */ The V3 client that is pre-installed on Sprint Android devices has no capability to make outgoing phone calls. It is unclear to me how this customer has reason to believe that the V3 client was responsible for any of the outlined events. Law enforcement has no access to the V3 client. ****** ****** VP of Operations Location Labs


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Location Labs/ Safely
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)