BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/30/2011

Paymentwall, Inc.

Phone: (415) 707-9920Fax: (415) 684-7780

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

39 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues14
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service20
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints39

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (39)BBB Closure Definitions
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MY debit card has been charged around 20-50 every month the last couple months for a product i never used or recieved.
starting in june there was a 25 $ charge from payment wall. Then again in july a 103$ charge took place. In august there was two separate 50$ charges. I was told I would be charged these amounts to use items in a game called "world of warcraft" however, the account that had said items I could not access. I would love to have the money returned.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see at least half the money charged...to be returned. Of course I would enjoy an entire refund, but even half would suffice.

Business Response
The orders associated with these transactions have already been completed.

The customer's account has been banned in the game due to repeated violation of the website's policy. As reported, his violation includes "Harassing and name calling people over and over". A lot of people reported him to be rude and harassing them. He was warned a lot of times. It's his 3rd ban.

Our support team has already been in touch with the customer and has communicated with him why his account got banned.

08/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They refuse to give me my points even though I submitted proof that I completed the offer.
On June 17th 2014, I completed an offer on PaymentWall page on Instagc.com. I never received the 164 instagc points that were promised. I filed a ticket with them on June 19th. They sent me an e-mail requesting a screenshot showing that I had completed the offer. I uploaded the screenshot that they requested. I heard nothing further from them until July 12th saying that they couldn't find any record of completion even though I sent them a screenshot proving that I did complete this offer. I have had no further communication from them since then. Here is a copy of the e-mail confirmation that I received for completing this offer.
The message is not flagged. Click to flag it.
Your Auto Insurance Quote Request
Print

From
usinsuranceonline.com Mail

To
*****@hellokitty.com

Date
Jun 17, 2014, 12:57 AM
Thank You For Submitting a Quote!

Thank you for submitting an insurance quote! Insurance agents will be contacting you soon with competitive insurance rates. While you wait, considering clicking below to get a few more quotes from trusted carriers. That way you can make sure you get the best rates!

Desired Settlement
I want the 164 points credited to my instagc.com account. User ID: *************

Business Response
We cannot award the rewards for this offer as our system has flagged the conversion as high risk.

For additional information, we can be contacted through *******@paymentwall.com.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your response makes no sense at all. How can it be considered high risk? I completed the offer with valid information and submitted proof that I did so. When I originally filed a ticket for this offer, you requested a screenshot which I submitted right away. You made me wait over a month for a response and then denied me. And in response to your last posting on the ticket on Instagc.com, I did NOT use a proxy server to complete this offer. That is a complete and total lie that you are using to get out of paying me what I have rightfully earned. I am located in the USA and I accessed this offer directly though PaymentWall's offer page on InstaGC.com.
The only resolution I will accept is the full 164 points credited to my InstaGC.com account.

Final Consumer Response
PaymentWall has still refused to make it right but InstaGC credited my account for the missing points. Please close this case as resolved but not by PaymentWall.
Thank you,
******* *****

08/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The non delivery of paid for items.
On 8/7/2014 i purchased a $50, $10 and a $5 gold increase for the game Bleach online. I did not receive the items. I made and inquiry and have received a single response as to the payment method and other pertinent information. I paid using 2 $25 Subway gift cards and a $15 Subway gift card. I have bought multiple times like this before and had no problems til now. The issue I have is the total lack of response to my inquiries and emails to get this resolved. I first gave it a couple hours, then I left it for 12 hours. Now it has been over 24 hours since the purchase and still not one response.

Desired Settlement
I just want the items I paid for. Do not want anything else. It is not acceptable to have no response to inquires about money spent to their company.

Business Response
These orders have already been completed by the following day.

If the customer should need further assistance, he could reach us via any of the inquiries he opened or call XXX XXX XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Taking unauthorized charges from my bank account.
On 5/8/14 and 5/9/14 took close to 70.00 in 6 seperate charges from my account. Claimed someone in my house made them. Was not even home and provided company with the 2 IP addresses I have in my house. Claimed there was nothing they could do but would not provide what IP address they claimed that was used. Had seen charges from payment wall 415 on previous month statement, like 1.50 here and there but was near when payments for house insurance and car insurance was taken from my account. So i assumed they were charging me a fee. But when charges started coming out like 20.70 and 11.00 and other charges over 10.00 were coming out I contacted my bank. Paymentwall since other charges were not disputed they would not do anything. But again i know i should not have assumed. Had a stint put in my heart and have been kind of busy with rehab. And now having hard time getting my money back. I had allowed made a charge for my son through microsoft after that the paymentwall charges started showing up.

Desired Settlement
I want the money they took back.

Business Response
Our Risk and Fraud Department is currently investigating the transactions in issue. We will be working with your credit card issuing bank. Once we have our findings, we will coordinating with the local authorities with the information we have to file a possible charge to whoever made these transactions.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for services and have not received what I have paid for
4/13/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX
4/14/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX
4/14/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX
4/15/XXXX XX:XX AM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX

I made 3 transactions so I am assuming one of these is a reprocess, and only 3 are on my two credit cards: a Discover Card and a Visa Card
Visa completed on 4/16/2014
Discover completed on 4/15/2014 and again on 4/13/2014, these are the dates of completion shown on my credit card statements.
Discover I used twice and Visa once.

The three transactions I made all ended with a notice that to prevent theft of information they would hold off on processing the payment. All three times the money has been taken but no services have been rendered. I have emailed company a few times and they have responded. The last email I got from them was saying that wXXXXXXXX and wXXXXXXXX were successful and transaction wXXXXXXXX was not and I would not be charged for it. I emailed them back saying I see that the money has been taken but I have not received anything yet (4/29/2014). I emailed the site I donated money to, Dalaran Wow, thinking maybe it could produce something to assist in the process or maybe its an issue on their side of things but something somewhere is messed up because I clearly see the transactions out of my account and have not received $400 worth of services.



Desired Settlement
Either a full refund of the three $133.35 transactions or the service I am supposed to receive for this money.

Business Response
The purchase for the transactions below have been credited to the card holder's account:
4/13/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX
4/14/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX
4/15/XXXX XX:XX AM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX

We have verified that this did not go through and the card holder has not been charged:
4/14/XXXX XX:XX PM payment of 133.35 #wXXXXXXXX

For further assistance or questions regarding these transactions, you may contact us at XXX XXX XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 6
01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They wouldn't allow me to make a payment for a online game purchase.
Problem date and purchase date is today August 18, 2014. Paymentwall Order #wXXXXXXXX. I tried to buy currency for an online game; 12,000 game gold for $300 via credit card. They told me that the payment will be refunded due to high risk. They wanted me to take a screenshot of my online credit card account showing the transaction I made with Paymentwall, but I am unable to do so. And, they do not seem to be very helpful in being able to make the transaction go through.

Desired Settlement
They already said my payment has been refunded and I have to wait 5-7 business days. However, I wanted to be able to purchase currency for this online game I am playing and now I am unable to do so. Since I can not make the purchase for the currency for this online game I am playing with my credit card; I'll accept the refund, but I want them to pay for the in-game currency that I cannot seem to purchase myself.

Business Response
Our customer support team was in contact with the customer on August 18th. We have sent instructions to have his account verified before we allow him to make another transaction. The customer did not contact us anymore to have his account verified.

A refund has been issued for the transaction done by the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because the instructions they sent did not work. I even told them that it did not work, and all they did was keep sending the same instructions. After receiving the same response multiple times, I wrote: I am not having a good experience with this service. I'm trying to spend money on a game; which i know is kind of a lot. It is my credit card and it has the available credit for it. If I could take a screenshot, I would, but my keyboard print screen button is not working. I am getting tired of waiting on receiving something I expected right away. If I have to wait to long, I will send a report to the Better Business Bureau.
I did receive a refund; but their effort into helping resolve the issue was very poor.


Business Response
As we have advised you in the inquiry, kindly submit requested verification document so we can verify your account. Once we have verified your account, you should be able to make further transactions.

To resolve the issue, you may reopen Inquiry ID XXXXXX. We are waiting for your update on the ticket. Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only advice I received was to submit a screenshot, which I have said I am unable to do. I was not given any other advice. Your (Paymentwall) customer service is poor and not very helpful, and because of this I am not going to use your service; and you deserve a negative rating.

01/28/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Payment transaction, immediately removed from my account, then cancelled by Payment Wall, however refund has not yet been processed.
I attempted to make a purchase utilizing the Payment Wall interface on 11/28/2014 at 12:18 pm. Payment Wall took the purchase amount out of my account immediately. Then, the payment was cancelled by Payment Wall, and the transaction was marked as "Cancelled, refunded." The cancellation was also marked as 11/28/2014 at 12:18 pm. However, the payment was not immediately returned to my account. When I contacted Payment Wall to find out what the situation was, I was informed that payment was cancelled and refunded due to security reasons. If there was an issue with security, the money should have never been removed from my account in the first place. Now they are asking for personal information in order to complete the transaction, but they claim that the money was refunded. If the transaction was cancelled and refunded, then why would they need personal information to complete the transaction? How do you complete an alleged cancelled and refunded transaction? And yet I still do not have the money back in my account. I have serious concerns regarding potential fraud with this company.

Desired Settlement
I want an immediate refund of the $9.99 transaction they removed from my account and allegedly cancelled and refunded with the same minute that they took the money. And I should not have to provide any personal information for them to refund the money they removed.

Business Response
Hello *****,

The refund was processed on the same day the transaction was made. Fortunately, our Risk and Fraud Department was able to screen this transaction as high risk. We have also blocked your credit card on our end so that no further transactions can be made using it.

As for the refund, the processing time varies depending on your credit card issuing bank. Standard processing time is 3-5 business days, but some take longer than the others.

Rest assured that the refund has already been processed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I previously used this exact card for a transaction through their site and there was never a question of high risk. There is no reason the card should have been tagged as high risk the second time but not the first time. Additionally, if it was high risk, as they claim, then why did they do the transaction in the first place? If it was truly considered high risk, the company should have denied the transaction in the first place, rather than processing it and then issuing a refund. Then the company asked for personally identifiable information in order "to resolve" my complaint. If the refund was already processed, as they claimed, then there is no need for me to provide any further information, particularly personal information. Although the money was eventually refunded, there are still questionable practices being used by this company and any consumers should beware the practices. There is never a need to submit a copy of a drivers license AFTER the money was taken and then allegedly refunded. Any identification should be requested prior to the money being taken.

Final Business Response
The information is to verify the customer's account so that it could be unblocked, not for the refund.

The refund has been processed even before the customer contacted us to ask regarding the status of the transaction.

Please contact your credit card issuing bank to inquire about the refund. Here's the transaction authorization code or reference code for the refund we issued: XXXXXX.

For further assistance, please email us at *******@paymentwall.com or call XXX XXX XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If Payment wall deemed my account to have a security issue, then they never should have taken the money out of my account to start with. Any alleged security issues would have occurred with that withdrawal, so their claim is not valid. While I did eventually receive my refund, I was without access to my money for more than two weeks. I did contact my credit card company and they explained that they had to wait until Payment wall processed the refund, contrary to the statements made by Payment Wall that the refund was issued immediately. I have the emails where Payment Wall told me it would be 5 to 7 business days for the refund to be processed, and then after that time period had passed, another email from Payment Wall stating that it would be 8 to 10 business days. It was 15 business days before the refund actually occurred. So Payment Wall can lie to the BBB in their response to this complaint, but I have the written communication which proves otherwise. I will never use Payment Wall again and I warn all other consumers not to trust this company. I have since changed my credit cards, as I deem Payment Wall to be a major security risk, and I do not trust them. CONSUMERS BEWARE, DO NOT GIVE THIS COMPANY ANY OF YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION.

12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I found fraudulent debit charges on my debit card totaling $33.72 from Paymentwall.com on Aug. 28 & 29.
On Oct. 4th, 2014 I saw a total of 11 charges on my bank statement for a total charge of $33.72. I did not make these. I contacted Paymentwall @ XXX-XXX-XXXX on Oct. 4th. Told them I wanted my money back. They refused, saying my kids took my debit card and used it. This is false. My kids never did this. I want to know how I can get my money back and how they got a hold of my debit card number. They refused to refund my money.

Desired Settlement
I want my $33.72 money refunded to me.

Business Response
Hello *******,

Based on the initial investigation done by our Fraud and Risk Team, the charges that you see on your account were initiated from where you called us from, as verified by the IP address you provided us during the call. This means that someone from your household made these transactions.
Paymentwall has no way of obtaining your credit card information or charge your card. These transactions were manually initiated by someone in your household who has access to your credit card information.
We have already blacklisted your card on our system so that it would no longer be used on any of our partner merchants. Please be informed, however, that the person who has access to your card can still use it on other websites.
Please contact your credit card issuing bank on how you can secure your credit card details.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because the reason this "company" had my IP address was because they asked me for it on the phone when I originally called them to complain about these fraudulent charges and I gave it to them! These transactions were not made by anyone in my household. These charges were not "manually" charged because my debit card has been in my possession the whole time. Plus, no one in this household has my password to my computer, but me. I want my refund.

Final Business Response
All these charges were made from the same location which matches the IP address provided by the cardholder.

We advise the cardholder to contact her issuing bank to add a layer of security for making transactions using her credit card. As we have advised, we have blocked the credit card on our end and can no longer be used with our partner websites.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I have said in my previous statement, I did NOT make these transactions. My debit card has been in my possession the whole time. They (paymentwall) have my IP address because in my original complaint on the phone with them, they asked me for my IP address and I gave it to them. When I originally called, THEY did not tell me where the transactions were made from. I know now that I should have not given them my IP address because they are now trying to use that as evidence, which is false evidence. I have never heard of Paymentwall until I found their transactions on my bank statement. I am still requiring that they refund me the fraudulent charges of $33.72.

11/27/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide virtual currency in two instances, even after proof of completion was provided.
I completed two offers with this company to earn virtual currency called Swag Bucks. One for installing High 5 Casino game in Facebook and playing it for 14 Swag Bucks and another offer to sign up and get jokes delivered to my email for 8 Swag Bucks.
The awards were never credited.
I wrote and provided the confirmation email header for the jokes to email which was signed up for, proving it had been completed. And, I took a screen capture of the game, High 5 Casino installed in my Facebook as proof that it has also been completed to their requirements, and attached the picture to the support request.
Even with the proof that each was properly completed, each was denied.

Desired Settlement
Honoring their offers and giving full credit of the 22 Swag Bucks I earned via proper offer completion of the two offers I completed.

Business Response
Hello, ****.

We apologize if you have encountered any inconvenience regarding the Offers we're running on our site.

We see that you are complaining about 2 offers. Let's go through them one by one. For the High 5 Casino offer, we have checked with the Adnetwork however their reports show that this offer is not completed. We have escalated this issue and is awaiting for feedback.

For the Get the Jokes offer, we have issued 8 Swag Bucks to your account as compensation for completing it.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was actually credited for one offer: 10/30/13 Special Offer: Paymentwall 14 SB
There has been no other credit applied to my account by Paymentwall for the past month.
Telling the truth does not seem to be a strong suit with you.
Here is a list of every transaction to my account in the past month:
11/03/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
11/02/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/31/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/31/13 Searching the Web 12 SB
10/30/13 Special Offer: SB Offers: Accused Novel 20 SB
10/30/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/30/13 Special Offer: Paymentwall 14 SB
10/29/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/27/13 Searching the Web 10 SB
10/27/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/25/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/24/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/23/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/21/13 Bonus Swag Bucks: Daily Poll 1 SB
10/21/13 Searching the Web 7 SB

Final Business Response
Mr. ****** has been awarded the promised Swagbucks for the two Offers he messaged us about. We don't see any other Offers in his account that qualifies for any more crediting.

11/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I joined a dating site called ChirpeMe., Paymentwall took the money from my Wells Fargo account.
I joined Chripme, a dating site on July 23, 2013. I gave my credit card number to pay for the service which was 29.99. Nothing happened, I could not talk to anyone or email anyone. So I knew something was wrong. I guess you have to pay another 19.00 for chrips, I don't know there is no way to find out what you are suppose to do. Why the company did not just take it out of my WF account , but some how this company Paymentwall got involved, now I don't have the money nor am I signed up on the site. There is no way to get in contact with anyone. Please help. Thank you, **** Wiest

Desired Settlement
Either give me some information about this site and how it works or refund my money.

Business Response
Our customer service team has been in contact with this user since July 24th and we already have resolved the issue by issuing a refund to this customer's account.

Paymentwall is the official payment solutions partner of Chirpme that is why the charge on Ms. *****'s account shows Paymentwall.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am tired fooling with this company, Please ask them to just delete my profile from the site. I am getting all of these emails that I do not want. Thank you **** ****** *****

Final Business Response
We do not see any more transactions from Mrs. ***** account on our end. The only successful transactions she made for Chirpme through us are as follows:
07/24/13 USD 19.99
08/22/13 USD 29.99

Both these have been issued a refund.
Since we have already cancelled Ms. ******* account, no charges should have been made against her account. We do not see any transactions for September.
If this is the case, we request Ms. ***** to contact us via **************@paymentwall.com with the following details to help us verify the charge:
1. Last 4 digits and expiration date of the card that was charged for September
2. Name on the card
3. Receipt or screenshot of her online transaction showing the transaction made to Paymentwall, Inc.

Thank you.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mobile Apps, Internet Services, Internet Shopping, Internet Gaming, Internet Selling Services, Payment Processing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.