This business is not BBB accredited.

Lookout Inc.

Phone: (415) 281-2820 1 Front St Ste 2700, San Francisco, CA 94111 http://www.lookout.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lookout Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lookout Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2011 Business started: 01/13/2005 Business started locally: 01/13/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Hering, CEO Mr. Brian Noble, Director of Support
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Hering, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Noble, Director of Support
Number of Employees

487

Business Category

Mobile Apps

Alternate Business Names
Lookout Mobile Security
Products & Services

This company offers smartphone security services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Front St Ste 2700

    San Francisco, CA 94111 (415) 281-2820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to locate device I have two Android Devices that was secured by Lookout. One device was a tablet. The other device was a Sony Android Phone. My devices are now missing. For a long time, I have subscribed to this service to secure my phone. Because they are now missing, I have tried to use this service to locate the devices. Not only do they refuse to locate the devices, they don't have a customer service number, or an alternate way to contact a live person for assistance.

Desired Settlement: I want my devices to be located. If they cannot locate them, I deserve a full refund, because I wasted my money and time with this company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/17) */ We cannot find an account for this user anywhere in our system with the email address provided here, nor via the person's name. We need a registered email address or phone number to be able to identify the user. There is also no record of an email to us (*******@lookout.com) for us to review and or analyze the issue. Can the user please email us - *******@lookout.com - so we can converse directly (we don't have phone support, hence the unavailability of a phone number) and try to help out. Thank you.

12/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple charges for a service I do not recognize and did not purchase. They do not answer, respond to email and have no live person to speak with. My credit card has been charge multiple times in 1 month and over the course of a few months for $2.99 at a time for an unrecognizable service. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Capital One is investigating as its fraud ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Capital One is investigating as its fraud

Desired Settlement: Aside from a refund I'd like an explanation as to how they received my credit card information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: Lookout Support Contact Email: ********************We have no record of a request by this consumer to our organization. An email to support@lookout.com is the best way to get support from Lookout and as long as we get account information, we can investigate and try to figure out what is going on. The information provided here, the email address and phone number, doesn't correlate to any account in our system. Without that, we cannot investigate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/11/10) */ Multiple charges for months for a service I DID NOT PURCHASE. They do not respond to calls or emails. I have disputed every charge for 5 months Lookout has been charging my credit card multiple times monthly for a service that I never purchase. I have disputed the charge multiple time monthly with Capital One. I was issued a new credit card to prevent it and they still managed to access my account again. I have called more than 15 times and have never reached a live representative and you can not leave a message. I have emailed them multiple times with multiple complaints and received ONLY and auto response back. I even attempted to enter my email addresses and select "forgot password" since the service requires a log in. Sure enough my email addresses do NOT have existing accounts. My next attempt is an attorney. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/11/17) */ We have called ***** no fewer than 4 times in the last week and have left a message each time with our phone number for her to call back. We have also emailed her with the same information but have not heard back even once. She can call me, ***********, at ************ to follow up on this. To reiterate, from the information provided to date we cannot find an account in our system. We need the first 4 and last 5 numbers of the credit card being charged to be able to definitively locate the account. Please ask ***** to call that number and we'll work to figure out what is going on.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted customer support about a problem with Lookout's service, and they are not willing to fully resolve the issue. I have 20,314 contacts backed up from my iPhone which I'm not able to download because Lookout's website times out and sends me back to the login screen before loading the contacts/file. I reached out to support and they are able to send me the .csv file I'm seeking for the 20,314 contacts. I also noticed I have 6,971 contacts backed up from an old Android phone I associated with my Lookout account. I asked the support team to also send me the .csv file for the 6,971 contacts and first the agent lied and said "I'm sorry, but we cannot provide you with contacts from the HTC One, as none are there. We can only provide the contacts as asked for originally." I then replied and said, "It's showing 6,971 when I check online." The agent then changed her story and responded by saying, "Won't these all be the same contacts though? I'd rather just ask for the 20k from the iPhone. It's very time consuming to do." followed by "I am going to just request the 20k contact file for now. It takes many hours for Lookout engineers to get the contact files, so I am only going to request the 20k contact file for now. I will be in touch once I have this file in the next few days. If tons of contacts are missing we will revisit your request at that time. I apologize for the inconvenience." The support team is essentially making an assumption about my data and deciding not to send me information based on how time consuming it is for them, when the reason I initially reached out is because their service is defective (and was confirmed as such). Here is the ticket # XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I want a complete backup sent to me, and refund for subscription.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ We have been in constant contact with the complainant about the issue and are working to get the data we can. We advised the process is not a swift one to get data via the database directly rather than via the web interface. We have advised the user we are working to get the data from both devices in the referenced case. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They said the issue would be resolved in a couple days and I'm still awaiting my data. It's not my issue that it takes more time this way for me to receive the requested information, yet the company makes a point to tell me as some sort of justification for delaying the procoess. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/12) */ We have sent the data and the user has downloaded it. The user has paid for Lookout via their T-Mobile subscription to the Jump program. Lookout has no way to refund monies from T-Mobile. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cnt lock or locate lost phone U lost my cell I put a code on it but when, I. Locate it I saw someone still makin calls. I paid $30 to block my cell from being used n to be located I would love a refund back

Desired Settlement: Just want a refund. Or fix the problem

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/03) */ This is the first we have heard of this concern. There has not been any contact to Lookout Support prior to this report. We're happy to help in this setting but find it hard to do so because the concern is complicated by the fact that there are multiple accounts that match the user details provided and we don't know which account or which phone is at issue. We cannot provide account details in this setting for security reasons but can if we receive an email from the email address we have on file for the user. Please send us an email to *******@lookout.com so we can investigate the issue and try to bring some clarity to the situation.

11/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Continually charged for a closed account. I had an account with Lookout Mobile, I went to lookout.com, logged in to my account and cancelled the service in October 20, 2013. Since that date I have continued to be charged by Lookout Mobile Security. I have filed a complaint with my credit card company who also attempted to contact Lookout Mobile but was unsuccessful. I submitted an email to Lookout Mobile expressing the problem with cancellation. I received a reply email stating I would have to log into my account to cancel. However, since I had previously cancelled the account my login no longer works. I have not been able to locate any other method online, by phone, or through my credit card company to cancel Lookout Mobile. Account ID: *********@gmail.com I have had many accounts of various types and I have never had such a difficult time cancelling a service or closing an account. Any assistance BBB can provide will be greatly appreciated!

Desired Settlement: Complete cancellation of any and all services provided by Lookout Mobile and absolute discontinuation of any further billing in any form.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ We have asked ******* for the credit card details being used to make the purchases because we can't find them in our system being currently charged. We never got a response to that email request. We have found two accounts that seem to match but neither is currently being charged by Lookout. The last charge was May 12, 2013 and checking any history with that payment method also shows no current purchases. Without more information to investigate, we are at a loss to help. The last request we got on this was on Aug XX XX:XX pm. We replied on Aug XX XX:XX pm and never got a response to that reply asking for more information so we could continue to investigate. This is as per our ticket # XXXXXX.

9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Look Out $30 In February for the year.I was sent an email today that Look Out would now add $2.99 to my Sprint Bill. I never agreed to this. I paid Look Out $30 In February for the year.I was sent an email today 09/09/2014 that Look Out would now add $2.99 to my Sprint Bill. I never agreed to this.I want the year of services I paid for and I do not want a $2.99 a month charge from Look Out or any of their other companies added to my Sprint Bill.

Desired Settlement: I want the year I paid for. I do not want $2.99 added per month EVER. This is not okay. Look Out has no contact number so I was unable to reach over the phone. I did send and email on 09/09/2014 stating that I would not be paying Look Out $2.99 and I wanted it removed off my bill.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/14) */ We removed the user from the Sprint trial promotion she had been included in. This is documented in the email exchange we had with the user in ticket # XXXXXX.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to get adequate response regarding possible fraudulent charge from Lookout I was charged $29.99 on 1/31/14 by Lookout on my credit card. I used their free service in 2010 and 2011. I was unable to find a phone number to contact the company. I sent an email inquiry asking for clarification on the charge. I have been in communication ever since trying to determine if Lookout originated the charge. After describing the above issue, I repeatedly get this email: Unfortunately we do not have a phone support at the moment. If you don't know the email address of your Premium account please provide the following information so I can find the Premium account: 1) Date of Premium purchase 2) Amount of Premium purchase 3) First 5 and last 4 digits of your credit card If this purchase was made via Google Checkout please provide the 15 digit ID code for your purchase so we can do further research. Or provide your full name as it appears in Google Checkout. I appreciate your time.

Desired Settlement: Return of the $29.99 charged without my authorization.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ We have been in touch with the consumer regarding the purchase but have no record of it from the details provided. The only way this makes sense is if there is another account which was used to make the purchase. The last way we have at our disposal to research this is via the credit card used. We have asked for a portion (first 5 and last 4 digits) of the credit card number that was used to make the purchase but have not received them. Hence, we can't find the charge to refund it. Unfortunately, without identifying the account in question - which we have not been able to do with the information so far provided, there isn't much more we can do.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Lookout mobile premium for 29.99 and when my device was lost the service did not work to locate or lock device as promised. On 3/20/14 my cell phone was stolen. I came home logged into Lookout mobile website to locate device only to have the service tell me they could not locate device and when I tried to lock device that failed as well I could not even wipe my information from the device. All this for 29.99

Desired Settlement: I now have to purchase a new phone 349.00 Galaxy Note 3 as this is the device I had the service on had the Lookout Mobile product worked I could have just found the person with the device and had police retrieve it. I not only want my 29.99 back for the service I want them to help pay for a new device as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/24) */ We are saddened to hear of the device missing but there are any number of reasons for a device to be unable to be located (e.g. lack of power, signal, or data connection), generally being the device's inability to contact our servers and report back its location. There is nothing any software can do in those circumstances. Our terms of service https://www.lookout.com/legal/terms outline the technical limitations of our services which are provided without a warranty of any kind. This is outlined in sections 8a, 8b, & 8c in our terms. It seems there is a misunderstanding of the services Lookout provides. We provide mobile security, data backup, and missing device capabilities but not mobile phone insurance. It might be best for the user to contact their carrier as they may have insurance or replacement coverage through that entity. Fyi, there is no internal case number to apply to this report as it appears the user has not contacted our support organization via the email in the complaint.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product was not working; after telling their rep how to manually fix the issue they cancelled my account. After an issue caused my wifes phone to be reset; we went to restore the many pictures that were supposed to be backed up (812). I followed their instructions and downloaded the file to get the pictures back. After 3 downloads it finally worked. Then the .zip file was corrupted, and I was not able to uncompress it and get all the files. Being that I am a Sr. Linux Engineer by trade I was able to repair the file manually and get some pictures back. After searching their site for a very long time I was able to guess their support email (*******@lookout.com); as they didn't have it listed; and don't provide chat or phone support. Once I was able to get a representative to reply to my request for help. I advised them it was broken, and they acknowledged that their product was not functioning as it was supposed to. I agreed, and offered an alternative way to get my files to me. I said if we cant get the files I would like a refund; they cancelled my account before asking me and issued the refund before we were even able to come to a fix for my files. These are my kids birth pictures and the only copy. So now I don't have the pictures from the backups; which are more valuable than the $15 refund will ever be.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the pictures manually zipped up off the server and provided to me directly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ We have provided our user the data via a separate method today. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) the file was delivered; but it was not complete it was short several hundred files. only 812 out of the 1100+ were there... anyways I am done with this company and now i know better...

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WANT TO DEACTIVATE MY ACCOUNT WITH THEIR COMPANY;BECAUSE THEY ARE TAKEN MONEY OUT OF MY CHECKING ACCOUNT I CAN'T GET MY ACCOUNT NUMBER FROM THEM.I'VE CHANGED MY E-MAIL ADDRESS

Desired Settlement: MONEY PUT BACK INTO MY CHECKING ACCOUNT

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ We have received four emails from the complainant and cannot locate an account at all to be able to assist. The email address being used to send messages doesn't resolve to an account in our system, nor did the additional email provided. We have asked repeatedly for the phone number associated with the account and have never been given it. Lookout only accepts credit cards, phone carrier billing, and google or apple payment methods so it is impossible we would be deducting money from a checking account. We have tried to help this person repeatedly by asking for account details (we don't maintain "account numbers" such as what is being requested here) but have only been provided email addresses that don't match any account in our system. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I haven't heard from anybody yet Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/06) */ I have included screenshots of the last three communications we have had with *******. We are awaiting a response from him to be able to help him further. Without this information, we are helpless to assist. They are ticket numbers XXXXXX, XXXXXX, XXXXXX. If ******* would respond through the tickets he has opened with us, it would be much more efficient and effective for us to be able to help him. Even in the response to the BBB record here, "I haven't heard from anybody yet" there is no information (valid Lookout account email address or phone number) for us to pull up his account and aid him. ***** please provide your Lookout email address or Lookout registered device's phone number so we can look up your account and help you.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid lookout.com to backup and store data,for a now disabled smartphone device. The company did so. However,it can't restore the data. For the past several years at least, I have paid lookout.com to backup and store data on my smartphones, including contact information, call logs, and pictures. Last week, on Friday, December 6, my original HTC One smartphone completely stopped working. Two days ago, on Tuesday, December 10, a replacement HTC One smartphone from AT&T, arrived at my residence. On Tuesday, December 10, I installed the lookout.com app on my replacement HTC one phone. In addition, I also accessed my backed up data on the lookout.com website. However, the lookout.com website's instructions has been ambiguous, difficult, and ineffective in restoring data to my replacement HTC One phone. Since Tuesday December 10, I've repeatedly asked for help from lookout.com, by emailing them at *******@lookout.com. Lookout.com has replied to all of my email requests. However, it has supplied me with repeated but ineffective instructions, on how to restore data to my replacement smart phone. The company refuses to offer any telephone assistance, or web chat assistance, in order to clarify and to help me restore data to my replacement device. Lookout.com's repeated and rigid email instructions are ambiguous, difficult to understand, ineffective, and not factually consistent with their prompts located on both my web-based account at lookout.com and the Android lookout.com application installed on my smartphone. Lookout.com's ineffective and unprofessional behavior has cost me time and money. In addition, I've been unable to communicate with certain people on my contact list because lookout.com did not completely render its service, which I paid for On my lookout.com account, my telephone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX and email address is ************@gmail.com

Desired Settlement: I request that lookout.com assist me in restoring data to my replacement smart phone,in a more effective, professional, and timely manner, other than email only. I request assistance via telephone and/or web chat from lookout.com. I did not pay for a premium service, not to have my data restored.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/02) */ My review of the user's requests have us working with him fairly closely. While we do have a publicly stated policy of not providing phone support (https://faq.lookout.com/topics/XXXXXXXX-why-doesnt-lookout-have-phone-support) we will give **** a call today to try and get the situation sorted out. Fwiw, I didn't see any previous message from the BBB about this case. The email from 12/31 was the first I received - I've searched all my email. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/10) */ We will call **** today to try and get this sorted out.

1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Zero customer service. Charges for no servive. Failure to make a call. Virtual impossibility to contact. Robbery. They know!

Desired Settlement: Refund all charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/11) */ Received business response via email on 12/9/13: The user has been paying for our premium functionality (for many months) and he recently re-installed our app on his device and opened another account (on October 24, 2013) - almost certainly by mistake. When a user opens our app for the first time they are asked to create an account or log into an existing account. He did the former, even though that form asks you to enter a new password twice, which is a very traditional function when creating a new account. When we were initially contacted by the user (also on October 24), we informed him of the situation he was in and instructed him to deactivate the newly created account and log back into the prior, premium account. He seemed unhappy we didn't respond to him by phone and somehow perform the action for him, but we don't respond to any user via phone - nor do we change account status that the user has the ability to make themselves, for security reasons. (Fyi, we can only validate a user by their email address so have to use email as our communication medium or we could never be sure we are dealing with the authentic account owner.) We provided him the information to correct the situation via email but apparently that didn't satisfy. In the all the communications I have seen from him to us, he never asked for a refund. We're happy to refund him for November and December, as those are the months he didn't receive the services he was paying for - due to a change on his device made independently and exclusively by the user. Please let me know if you have any questions. *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lookout Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)