BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2012

Zinus, Inc.

Phone: (925) 249-2782Fax: (925) 417-6958View Additional Phone Numbers1951 Fairway Drive Suite A, San LeandroCA 94577-5643View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers mattresses as well as pillows and other bed top products and slippers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2012

BBB has determined that Zinus, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Zinus, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues9
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Zinus, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Mold has developed on underside of 2 memory foam mattresses I bought.
I wrote the company, this is the copy of our email. We have not spilled anything on these mattresses. After some research, it looks like it's just our sweat from sleeping.

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your email. We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your purchase. Unfortunately, molding is not covered under our warranty due to it could be caused from outside factors that we cannot control (i.e. spills, etc.). If you have any questions please reply to this email.


From: '********* s' via Customer Service mailto:***************
Sent: Tuesday, October 13, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***************
Subject: 2 mattresses have mold/mildew

Hi, we bought 2 memory foam mattresses, both now have mold/mildew on the undersides.

1) king size, bought March 2015,, order # XXXXXXXXXXXXX. Should be registered.

2) twin size, bought July 2015, I cannot find the receipt right now, should be registered.

Desired Settlement
Replace the 2 mattresses. I think a mattress enclosed cover will prevent mold on future mattress. I think consumers need to be aware of this issue before purchasing.

Business Response
We will replace these 2 mattresses for this customer as a special courtesy. They shipped today tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXX. We do not include mold complaints in our warranty as it can be caused by customer behavior out of our control such as going to bed with wet hair, etc. or being stored in a damp place such as a basement. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because we do not go to bed with wet hair, and it's not stored in a damp place. Zinus contacted me and said they were upgrading us to better quality memory foam mattresses. They came today and we scanned the barcodes. The twin was downgraded to only a 1 1/2 inch of memory foam and 4 1/2 high density support foam. The original is 6 inch memory foam. So they sent us a cheaper product.
Then our king memory foam mattress, they sent us a piece of **** pillow top coil mattresses, no memory foam, and while researching, that too is a cheaper mattress than what we paid for.
We just wanted an equal replacement since we solved the problem of these mattresses, cannot be placed on plastic box spring covers. Apparently they need ventilation underneath.

Final Business Response
Please note that the 6 inch mattress sent was an exact replacement of the original mattress. This was explained to the customer on the 28th. The King mattress was a mix up in the warehouse and a spring mattress was sent instead of a memory foam. We asked the customer to donate the mattress sent in error and we shipped the king memory foam mattress yesterday. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We now have the king memory foam mattress and it looks like an upgrade. We put a bed bug plastic enclosed mattress zip cover over it. I hope this works.

05/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

they should not be allowed to continue selling these junk mattress sets, besides the metal frame bent only after about 4 months of use.
JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK I want my money back

Desired Settlement
I want this taken care of with either a FULL refund or a Replacement mattress set thats worthy of being a bed.

Business Response
We were sorry to hear of this customers complaint. She had not previously contacted us. We are sending her a refund check for the full amount of her purchase price. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Very good company after all easy to work with. And they take good care of their customers obviously. Sorry to assume the worst. And as a side note I did purchase two of these beds with one being a great bed so please see why the frustrations occurred

03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Frustrated by the lack of response from initial contact at the company through the ordering process
I tried to contact this company initially by phone and was never able to reach a live person until multiple calls had been placed. I eventually ordered my bed and a day later I am still waiting for the bed to ship. I also asked about expedited shipping which I would pay for and is listed on their website, but was told its not available. I have no idea why it takes two days to ship a bed, answer an incoming phone call, or provided expedited shipping.

Desired Settlement
I would like this shipped out in an expedited fashion and I want to actually have the unit ship in a reasonable amount of time from ordering.

Business Response
We are sorry that this customer had a hard time reaching us by phone. Our policy is to ship orders within 24-48 hours of receipt, and promise arrival within 5-7 working days after shipment. Mr. *****'s mattress is scheduled to be delivered Friday within that time frame. We have tried to contact him by phone to see if there is anything more we can assist with but have been unable to reach him. The difference in time zones might be an issue as we are in the office 8-5 Pacific time and he lives in ****** City. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Bed arrived today a full week after ordering. I am still frustrated that it took 2 full days just to have the bed picked up from their facility by Fedex and the difficulty reaching them by phone. I received only one phone call from the company and trust they will reach out to me to confirm that the bed met our needs.

Thank you

02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I can't get a response from the ***** Company, after emailing and calling many times.
I own a ***** ***, split queen, adjustable massage, memory foam bed. Our remote control stopped working and we would like to buy a new one. I've even gone so far as to contact the Brookstone Company to no avail, but they at least emailed me back & said that I need to contact Vivon, or the parent company. They gave me the Zinus Corp. address in ******* ****** I wrote to them 2 weeks ago & as yet have had no response. It seems like such a simple request to just get a new remote control. Now I wonder if there's a problem with the mechanics of this bed and maybe that's why no one will assist me. It's a great bed & is quite comfortable, we just want to be able to use the rest of the functions again.

Desired Settlement
Please tell us how to get another remote control, or if that's not the problem, then please tell us where we can get it repaired. It used to work just fine.

Business Response
We contacted the customer and explained how to re-sync the remote. All is fine. She had been given incorrect contact information. Thank you!

07/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The mattress is defective,
Ive contacted them about my mattress warranty. I need a refund. The mattress is defective. They do not return my calls to give me a refund.
The problem with the mattress I purchased is that it has developed sink holes/indentions where my 80 year Mom sleeps and she got Stuck.. and a large hump in the middle of the mattress. My Mom cant even sleep on it anymore without back pain. So I want a refund. It was purchased online at Sales receipt : I sent to zinuc with 6 images,
They wanted me to do a full engineering meausrementon the mattress, This is insane.
I have contacted and also went to the Walmart store in ******** ** to return it for a refund and they tell me it has to come from the manufacturer. There was no info with my mattress on the manufacturer and walmart gave me a # to call Spa Sensations and Zinus so I did and they will not return my calls. I need a refund.

See My email to them and there response with images.

Message:*** 25, 2014
I bought 6 weeks ago a slumber 1 mattress from walmart for my 80 year old mom, it has totally sunk in the middle, I cannot get any help from anyone! My mother is handicapped as well as I am , and I can not lug this thing around. I need a sofy top yet firm mattress for my mom please help

Response:Dear *******,

Thank you for your e-mail. We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your purchase. We would like to assist you with the problem. Attached is information on how to file a warranty claim on our product. Once we receive your information, we will put it under review. We will reply back within the same or next business day. If you have any questions, please reply to this e-mail.

Customer Service
Sleep Revolution
**** *******

I did everything they asked and I am still getting the runaround.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement: they pick it up and replace it for my 80 year old mom or a full refund .I also have many images I can upload if you have a spot.

Business Response
We contacted this customer and received further details. A refund check has been submitted to accounting and agreed to by the customer. Thank you for making us aware of the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company called me and said that they would issue a full refund 199.95 plus shipping, as to date I have not gotten a refund , I will not close this until the refund is in.

Final Business Response
The refund check was mailed from California on 6/30. Check #XXXXX. We have tried reaching ******* to confirm she received it but have not been successful. If we need to cancel this check and send another please let us know. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund arrived and I will close the case

09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They sent 2 defective items. They keep telling me my check I'd in the mail and it never is. Almost 6 months this has been going on.

Desired Settlement
Please issue full refund asap

Business Response
We have contacted this customer and have initiated an agreed upon refund of $778 which is being mailed today. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They say they have sent the check on multiple occasions but they always seem to have excuses.The response given to bbb on the company behalf was also incorrect because the check was never sent. Today again I have been given a similar answer that I have been receiving from the beginning of this process.My patience has run out and am tired of being given the run around for my rightfull refund.The communication between within their company is not acceptable. I asked for a copy of the check and was said it will be emailed to me last week and now they say that they can not send it because the accounting department in charge of the refund won't allow the supervisor to handle the check.If I don't get the check soon I will have no choice but to ask for additional funds for pain and suffering.

Final Business Response
I spoke with **** yesterday and confirmed the check was processed by accounting and mailed out late yesterday Sept 14th.

09/04/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a sleep platform with a 5 yr manufacturer's warranty in 2013. Some welds on the platform legs have failed. Company refuses to replace.
On 09/18/2013 we purchased a Queen size platform bed through for $90.99. Approximately 8 months ago one of the cross pieces on one side of the platform broke away. 2-3 months ago the legs attached at either side of the cross piece broke off, leaving the middle of one side of the bed with no leg. We must use a piece of wood to prop up that side of the platform or the bed sags 6-8 inches. Now other legs are becoming unstable. We contacted Sleep Revolution on July 19, 2015 via email at which time time they responded that we had to go through Amazon since we purchased from Amazon. We contacted Amazon customer service who were able to have all of us on a conference call. During this call Sleep Revolution refused to honor their 5 year manufacturer's warranty and said that it was Amazon's responsibility. Amazon will not replace the platform as they have a strict 30 return policy and they don't handle manufacturer's warranties.

Desired Settlement
At this point we would prefer a refund of our purchase price so that we may purchase a platform from another manufacturer. However we would take a replacement, without shipping charges, if that is our only choice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****
We have contacted **** and offered a replacement or prorated refund. We are sorry for the miscommunication on our part regarding honoring our warranty.

04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Defective product seller will not refund.
February 14 I purchased a Sleep Master Platform Metal Bed Frame/Mattress Foundation King sold by Sleep Revolution (by way of ORDER # XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX) from them that states it is sturdy and will support a large amount of weight with no problems. I received the bed on February 20th. A few weeks later it was bent in. My significant other and I are no where near the maximum weight the product stated it could hold. I contacted the company by amazon and I thought I was getting them but I was getting emails from Amazon. I finally figured out how to get to them and I was asked for pictures. I sent the pictures as soon as I could. I was contacted back by***** ******* (**** that I was only eligible for an exchange and not a refund. I don't want a exchange on a defective product. I got dropped to the floor and cut because of this product and I am a diabetic. I do not want an exchange I do not want to do business with a company that could sell a product such as this and feel it is safe. Its not. I am sleeping on the floor.

Desired Settlement
I just want a refund of my money. They can have the platform back.

Business Response
We are so sorry that they had a bad experience with our platform bed frame. We have less than a 2% return rate with this item so it must have been defective. We are refunding the customer and do not require that the frame be returned.

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Mattress causing back pain
last year i bought a mattress of this company from walmart
"Spa Sensations 12" Theratouch Memory Foam Mattress, Multiple Sizes; Size: Queen". I asked walmart and they asked me to check with Zinus Inc. I send an email and got reply that they will get back to me shortly. No call or email, its been 7 days now. Since it is causing issues of backpain, i cannot use it. Not sure what to do. Please help.

Desired Settlement
I would really like refund of my money.

Business Response
Hello. We have reached out to the customer by email requesting images of the mattress and proof of purchase. To date these haven't been provided. We are happy to help as soon as we receive these. On 1/9/15 we called the customer and she said she will provide these items soon. Thank you!

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a bed from the company a year ago and it now is causing me extreme back pain due to degradation of the materials.
I recently attempted to return this bed. I was denied based on Zinus' return policy. Their warranty does not cover degradation of the foam which has happened in under a year's time sleeping on this bed. I have followed all recommendations to include:
1. allowing mattress to fully expand over 48 hours after unpacking
2. rotating the mattress 180 degrees every 2 months
The mattress currently has degraded to such a point that there is next to no firmness and I am suffering from severe back pain every morning when I wake up. It takes 15 minutes in this bed to notice my back begin to ache. This is negligent and ridiculous. I have provided a strong customer review so other consumers do not make the mistake of buying this bed and any other from their company. I will do everything in my power to ensure that future consumers are not victims of their poor quality.

Desired Settlement
I wish for a full refund of my order immediately. I will be happy to return authorize all materials for this bed.

Business Response
This customer has been refunded through We were waiting for final photos but did not reject his claim as stated. Return of the mattress is not necessary. Thank you.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Mattress Makers Supplies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/06/2007Business started: 01/09/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Calif. Bureau Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulations
3485 Orange Grove Ave
North Highlands, CA 95660-5506
(916) 999-2041

BBB records show a license number of 139454 for this company.

Type: Bureau of Home Furnishings-Importers

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1987, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cyndi Hunting (Product Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Mattresses, Mattress Makers Supplies

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Spa Sensations, Sleep Revolution, Night Therapy

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Zinus, Inc.

1951 Fairway Drive Suite A

San Leandro, CA 94577-5643

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1951 Fairway Drive Suite A 

    San Leandro, CA 94577-5643(925) 249-2782
    Fax: (925) 417-6958

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Zinus, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 613-1225

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Mattresses


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.