BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2012

Zinus, Inc.

Phone: (925) 249-2782Fax: (925) 417-6958

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues8
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Frustrated by the lack of response from initial contact at the company through the ordering process
I tried to contact this company initially by phone and was never able to reach a live person until multiple calls had been placed. I eventually ordered my bed and a day later I am still waiting for the bed to ship. I also asked about expedited shipping which I would pay for and is listed on their website, but was told its not available. I have no idea why it takes two days to ship a bed, answer an incoming phone call, or provided expedited shipping.

Desired Settlement
I would like this shipped out in an expedited fashion and I want to actually have the unit ship in a reasonable amount of time from ordering.

Business Response
We are sorry that this customer had a hard time reaching us by phone. Our policy is to ship orders within 24-48 hours of receipt, and promise arrival within 5-7 working days after shipment. Mr. *****'s mattress is scheduled to be delivered Friday within that time frame. We have tried to contact him by phone to see if there is anything more we can assist with but have been unable to reach him. The difference in time zones might be an issue as we are in the office 8-5 Pacific time and he lives in ****** City. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Bed arrived today a full week after ordering. I am still frustrated that it took 2 full days just to have the bed picked up from their facility by Fedex and the difficulty reaching them by phone. I received only one phone call from the company and trust they will reach out to me to confirm that the bed met our needs.

Thank you

02/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I can't get a response from the ***** Company, after emailing and calling many times.
I own a ***** ***, split queen, adjustable massage, memory foam bed. Our remote control stopped working and we would like to buy a new one. I've even gone so far as to contact the Brookstone Company to no avail, but they at least emailed me back & said that I need to contact Vivon, or the parent company. They gave me the Zinus Corp. address in ******* ****** I wrote to them 2 weeks ago & as yet have had no response. It seems like such a simple request to just get a new remote control. Now I wonder if there's a problem with the mechanics of this bed and maybe that's why no one will assist me. It's a great bed & is quite comfortable, we just want to be able to use the rest of the functions again.

Desired Settlement
Please tell us how to get another remote control, or if that's not the problem, then please tell us where we can get it repaired. It used to work just fine.

Business Response
We contacted the customer and explained how to re-sync the remote. All is fine. She had been given incorrect contact information. Thank you!

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mattress causing back pain
last year i bought a mattress of this company from walmart
"Spa Sensations 12" Theratouch Memory Foam Mattress, Multiple Sizes; Size: Queen". I asked walmart and they asked me to check with Zinus Inc. I send an email and got reply that they will get back to me shortly. No call or email, its been 7 days now. Since it is causing issues of backpain, i cannot use it. Not sure what to do. Please help.

Desired Settlement
I would really like refund of my money.

Business Response
Hello. We have reached out to the customer by email requesting images of the mattress and proof of purchase. To date these haven't been provided. We are happy to help as soon as we receive these. On 1/9/15 we called the customer and she said she will provide these items soon. Thank you!

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a bed from the company a year ago and it now is causing me extreme back pain due to degradation of the materials.
I recently attempted to return this bed. I was denied based on Zinus' return policy. Their warranty does not cover degradation of the foam which has happened in under a year's time sleeping on this bed. I have followed all recommendations to include:
1. allowing mattress to fully expand over 48 hours after unpacking
2. rotating the mattress 180 degrees every 2 months
The mattress currently has degraded to such a point that there is next to no firmness and I am suffering from severe back pain every morning when I wake up. It takes 15 minutes in this bed to notice my back begin to ache. This is negligent and ridiculous. I have provided a strong customer review so other consumers do not make the mistake of buying this bed and any other from their company. I will do everything in my power to ensure that future consumers are not victims of their poor quality.

Desired Settlement
I wish for a full refund of my order immediately. I will be happy to return authorize all materials for this bed.

Business Response
This customer has been refunded through Amazon.com. We were waiting for final photos but did not reject his claim as stated. Return of the mattress is not necessary. Thank you.

07/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The mattress is defective,
Ive contacted them about my mattress warranty. I need a refund. The mattress is defective. They do not return my calls to give me a refund.
The problem with the mattress I purchased is that it has developed sink holes/indentions where my 80 year Mom sleeps and she got Stuck.. and a large hump in the middle of the mattress. My Mom cant even sleep on it anymore without back pain. So I want a refund. It was purchased online at Walmart.com Sales receipt : I sent to zinuc with 6 images,
They wanted me to do a full engineering meausrementon the mattress, This is insane.
I have contacted Walmart.com and also went to the Walmart store in ******** ** to return it for a refund and they tell me it has to come from the manufacturer. There was no info with my mattress on the manufacturer and walmart gave me a # to call Spa Sensations and Zinus so I did and they will not return my calls. I need a refund.

See My email to them and there response with images.

Message:*** 25, 2014
Hello
I bought 6 weeks ago a slumber 1 mattress from walmart for my 80 year old mom, it has totally sunk in the middle, I cannot get any help from anyone! My mother is handicapped as well as I am , and I can not lug this thing around. I need a sofy top yet firm mattress for my mom please help

Response:Dear *******,

Thank you for your e-mail. We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your purchase. We would like to assist you with the problem. Attached is information on how to file a warranty claim on our product. Once we receive your information, we will put it under review. We will reply back within the same or next business day. If you have any questions, please reply to this e-mail.

Sincerely,
Customer Service
Sleep Revolution
**** *******

I did everything they asked and I am still getting the runaround.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement: they pick it up and replace it for my 80 year old mom or a full refund .I also have many images I can upload if you have a spot.

Business Response
We contacted this customer and received further details. A refund check has been submitted to accounting and agreed to by the customer. Thank you for making us aware of the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company called me and said that they would issue a full refund 199.95 plus shipping, as to date I have not gotten a refund , I will not close this until the refund is in.

Final Business Response
The refund check was mailed from California on 6/30. Check #XXXXX. We have tried reaching ******* to confirm she received it but have not been successful. If we need to cancel this check and send another please let us know. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund arrived and I will close the case

Page 1 of 3
10/04/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5 yr warranty replacement issue. Wrong item received upon replacement.
Slumber 1 8in #3 p/d 3/8/13 replaced with #********* #4 7/23/13 due to warping of previous mattress. I was unaware I was receiving a firmer tight top non memory foam mattress. I sent numerous emails to vandy and called in to resolve this matter. I wake up every day with a headache and am unable to sleep. Im now on the ground on the old mattress. I did not pay for a number 4 firm and am not a back sleeper nor want to feel like laying on a firm hard surface as your website says and this mattress feels like. There's a big difference in a number 3 and number 4.

Desired Settlement
I offered 2 solutions. 1. The 4" Memory foam topper in the number 3. 2. A brand new mattress in a number 3. Either solution would make me happy.

Business Response
We are sorry for the delay in response as we did not receive the original notification. We talked with the customer today and explained that as we no longer manufacturer her original mattress we would have to offer a refund. The customer understood and agreed to this. We are mailing the check to the customer tomorrow for the original mattress purchase amount.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Mattress Makers Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.