BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/04/2010

Massage Envy Union Landing

Phone: (510) 471-5000Fax: (510) 401-510130963 Courthouse Dr., Union CityCA 94587View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Customized massage therapy and facial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/04/2010

BBB has determined that Massage Envy Union Landing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Massage Envy Union Landing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Massage Envy Union Landing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been sent a collection notice to pay additional money while the spa owes me services.
I have been a massage envy member since 2010. I opened by membership in ********* *** In 2014 I moved to ********** and moved my membership to a spa in Berkeley. I had an amazing serivce from the spa.
Following which I moved to Union City and transferred my membership to the union landing spa in Union City.
I have had the worst service ever since. I had a lot of unused sessions on my account and I asked the front desk here to freeze my account until I get a chance to use all my unused sessions. I was told a manger would call me back which never happened. I am an corporate executive and have very busy weekdays and couldn't take time out of my international trips to call your spa. Every time I try to reach the manager on a weekend, I would get no response back.
I gave up on my account before of this horrible service and response and stopped using massage envy.

Recently I received a notice from a collection agency that I owe massage envy about $350. I was taken by surprise on how my account went from you owing me massages to I owing you money. My wife called on a weekday and spoke to you manager here in Union Landing and she was told that I have 6 more months left on my contract. I had signed a 1 yr contract in 2010 in ********* and since then only transferred my account.

Desired Settlement
How do I have 6 more months left on my account when the account was opened in 2010?
Why am I been penalized for the managers not doing his job of addressing my questions?
I am in middle of my home refinancing now and this collection agency account can potentially impact my home loan. I am frustrated with this service from Massage Envy.
I need to protect myself from the charges incurred and any impact I am going to have on my home financing.

Business Response
Mr. ****** has been a member since August 7, 2010 in *********, ***** ******** and transferred his membership from Massage Envy Ballanttyne to the Union Landing location. On January 6, 2014, Mr. ****** did request for a freeze of his membership. Stated on the membership freeze agreement form that Mr. ****** signed, it states that he can freeze his membership up to one-half of the original term length (6 months). After this period the membership will continue back to being charged on a month to month basis. We successfully froze his membership but after the 6 months his membership reactivated and payments again were trying to pull out. Unfortunately the credit card we had on file with his account was not charging out his monthly payments. As we do with all memberships when the account becomes delinquent we make calls to inform the client and give them time to reach out to us. We made three separate efforts (7/21/14, 8/25/14, and 9/26/14) within three months' time to get a hold of him. One of which he spoke with an associate (8/29/14) and said he would call back regarding the issue. We didn't hear back from him and so we handed his account over to our collections department on November 15, 2014. Once we do this the membership becomes inactive in our system and any accrued sessions they have are unavailable for them to use. At this point a manager must be contacted to work with them on their account. It is stated in all membership agreements that if an account is not active, members are unable to use their accrued sessions. It wasn't until January that we did hear from anyone regarding Mr. ******'s account. On January 5, 2015 Mr. ******'s wife called in and spoke with a manager regarding her husband's membership. She wanted to know why He was in collections because his account was supposed to be frozen. We did mention the reason why Mr. ****** was in collections to his wife. Mr. ****** was suspended 6 months and owed $359.94. Mr. ****** is paying $59.99 a month for his membership. She said they assumed the freeze would go on indefinitely and the Manager, ***** kindly let her know that we do have strict policies with freezing a membership and all of this is clearly stated on the paperwork signed in clinic when anyone requests a freeze. After the assistant manager spoke with his wife they came to an agreement that if he came in and reinstated his membership for a 6 month term, the amount that did not get charged while his account was active and not cancelled; we could bring his account to current and allow him access to his previously accrued massage sessions. His wife agreed to these terms and ***** let her know his account wouldn't be pulled out of collections until these steps were taken to clear his account. We assumed the issue was settled. On Sunday (January 11, 2015) Mr. ******, himself came in asking questions about his account. After the front desk gave him a rundown of what was going on he became angry and started yelling at two of our female front desk staff. They kindly informed him that he would need to speak to a manager and gave him all of the manager's hours and took down his number and let him know a manager would give him a call back within the next few days. He again became aggressive and demanded to speak to a manager right then. Finally, after some time he agreed and left the clinic. The next day upon seeing the notes logged in the system ***** called ***** and they agreed ***** would call him the next day since she was well informed in his account. They believed he didn't quite understand the agreement they had come to with his wife. On January 13, 2015 ***** gave Mr. ****** a call. ***** spoke with him about his account in detail yet again. He explained that he had been a member since 2010 and he should not be in collections. He never cancelled his membership so the account became delinquent is what she tried to explain. ***** again reiterated that if he simply rejoined they would pull him out of collections and the amount would be charged monthly; not as a lump sum. He refused and began to yell at ***** over the phone and insisted that Massage Envy was trying to steal his money. He explained that he would not pay the money to collections. ***** decided as a courtesy to him to pull him out of collections, and disregard his previous debt for his monthly dues since he insisted he was not in the country during that period of time. She explained that in order for him to use his previously accrued credits he would either need to reinstate his membership or call the original clinic he signed up at in order to reinstate his credits. Normally once an account is inactive all credits are forfeited back to the clinic. Without being active he would be unable to use the sessions. She explained that those credits had reverted back to the Bellanttyne Clinic. He responded he would call the other clinic and the conversation ceased.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Massage Therapists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/22/2010Business started: 01/02/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Massage Therapy Council
1 Capitol Mall Ste 320
Sacramento, CA95814-3228
(916) 669-5336
http://www.camtc.org

BBB records show a license number of 1890 for this company, issued by California Massage Therapy Council. Their web address is http://www.camtc.org.

BBB records show a license number of 1117 for this company, issued by California Massage Therapy Council. Their web address is http://www.camtc.org.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Shaffer (Owner) Joanna Nelson (Clinic Administrator)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Massage Therapists

Service Area

This company services the East Bay area.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Massage Envy Union Landing

30963 Courthouse Dr.

Union City, CA 94587

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 30963 Courthouse Dr. 

    Union City, CA 94587

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Massage Envy Union Landing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Massage Therapists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.