This business is not BBB accredited.

Massage Envy

Phone: (650) 757-3689 Fax: (650) 758-1703 494 Westlake Center, Daly City, CA 94015 http://www.massageenvy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers massage therapy.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Massage Envy include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2008 Business started: 07/04/2007 Business started locally: 07/04/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Angeline Stafford, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angeline Stafford, Owner
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Massage Therapists


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    494 Westlake Center

    Daly City, CA 94015 (650) 757-3689

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a member of Massage Envy Spa for over a year, I decided to end my membership. After numerous calls and a visit to their spa they have not canceled my membership and continue to charge my credit card. I was informed that only a manager can cancel my membership, but repeated messages left for the management have gone unanswered. I have also contacted their corporate headquarters by phone twice and email once to ask for help canceling my membership but those requests have also been ignored.Finally I asked my credit card company to put a block preventing them from further charges and to credit me for the two unauthorized charges which they are attempting to process. When my credit card company tried to call them, the woman who answered hung up on them as soon as the agent identified herself as representing Chase Bank.Evidently, I am not the only customer having these issues according. This website details contact information and common complaints about Massage Envy Spa.To be clear, I enjoyed the service I received there while I was a member, but their unresponsiveness when I decided to end my relationship with them is very disappointing and quite possibly illegal.Any help you can offer in this matter would be appreciated.****** **** Product_Or_Service: Massage Therapy Account_Number: ZXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Massage Envy to contact me to ensure that:1. My membership has been canceled.2. The two unauthorized charges have been credited back to my visa card.

8/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The worst customer service EVER! My wife, turned me on to this place last year 2014. I guess she had been a member for years. The first few times we went, we we're always able to get a couples room and do it together. It gave us something to share together on our limited time we do actually get to spend time together. Those first few times I found myself beat up worst then when I went in. The tied time I actually had bruises on my back and a pinched nerve because the lady was incredibly rough on me even after I had asked for a very light massage. My wife said that I should speak up when they become to rough. So the 4rth time was better. Now, I haven't used this service for 3 months my wife asked me to set up an appointment for both of us this last Friday. July 2015. I called everywhere to get a couples room and no one had availability except this one in San Meteo. This morning we showed up 15 minutes early and I was told that two separate rooms we're available. I questioned the lady who said that they do not have couples rooms. I told her that I spoke to a lady who assured me that their we're a couples room available For today. She said no. And that it was actually her I spoke to. I said to her why would I lie about something like that? She said people do that all the time.. I have never been treated like that before in my life! So I cancelled my appointment and was told that I would be charged. My wife went ahead and did hers alone while I sat in the car! I would have never travelled this far just for single rooms. I would have gone to Daly city if that we're the case. I decided to cancel my membership. Why bother paying for something if I am not getting what I want? Why go through the aggravation if being told I am a liar when in fact this lady did a bait and switch act on me and wasted my morning? I called the Daly city office to cancel my membership and the lady was very rude. She said that in order for me to cancel my membership, I would have to pay the twelve months in advance. I explained to her that I had already been paying for this for 8 months now and have only used them 5 times.. she told me it did not matter. I asked for a manager but she refused. She instead gave me a bogus email address to write to them. I asked for their attorneys information so I can give it to my attorney and she refused. I contacted my credit card company to make sure that any charges that come through are rejected. I guess the next step would be to start the legal process and if anything else, go see my doctor to get examined to see if their is any damage to my kneck from the first three horrible massages I received!!

Desired Settlement: Cancel my membership as requested. No FURTHER Charges on my credit card. In other words, STOP CHARGING MY CREDIT CARD. You people already squeezed 8 months of payments on only 5 massages!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)