BBB Accredited Business since

Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc.

Phone: (925) 373-7675 7701 Marathon Dr, Livermore, CA 94550 http://www.sosagranite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tile and ceramic contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1997 Business started: 06/10/1987 Business started locally: 06/10/1987 Business incorporated 02/13/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mario Sosa, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mario Sosa, President
Number of Employees

43

Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Limestone Quartz Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Granite Cabinet Doors Cabinets Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Marble - Cultured

Service Area
This business service area covers: entire San Francisco Bay Area, including San Jose, Gilroy, Morgan Hill, Monterey, Livermore, Marin, Sonoma, Napa, Antioch, Modesto, Stockton, Sacramento, Carmel, Hollister, Lake Tahoe.
Alternate Business Names
Sosa Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7701 Marathon Dr

    Livermore, CA 94550 (925) 373-7675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not been paid for an invoice dated 8-8-2014. I produced and delivered 1000 tee-shirts decorated with the their company logo. My proposal was accepted and the job was delivered as approved. I have left several messages inquiring about payment but have not had any returned calls.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking payment of the invoices for products and services delivered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ Hi *****, I am replying to your fax dated X-XX-XX regarding ***** ****, Case #XXXXXXXX. The company Proforma was hired to embroider shirts for our company. When the shirts were delivered, there was no phone number on the shirts. This was an issue with the owner of our company. I have been in constant contact with the billing rep for Proforma who works on the east coast. I explained to her when the check would be released and she notated the account. Within two days of speaking to her, I received this notice stating *****, who is the sales person, had filed this complaint. I called ***** and let him know I had been speaking to his accounting department and he said "Oh I was unaware of that and once your check is posted, I will recall my complaint with the BBB". The check was mailed 9/26/14 for $8161.94, payment in full. There was no reason for ***** to file this complaint as we had been in contact with his accounting department back east, this was lack of communication within his own company not ours. Thank you, ***** ******** Staff Accountant **** Granite & Marble *****@sosagranite.com Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext *** Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Unfortunately I had made 6 attempts to find out when the payment would be made to my company over 60 days and did not receive a single response.. The artwork was approved and the project run as per approved artwork. A phone number was not requested on the tees. I appreciate that communications were finally established and that payment was made. Thank you.

12/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am owed a refund of a portion of $ 5,017 charged to me on labor for the install of granite counter and backsplash, the latter was never performed. on 6/1 we entered into a contract and began paying for the install and materials of a backsplash and countertop. the labor of the countertop was completed but over the course of the next 3 months, Sosa was unable to complete the install of the backsplash. This was due to multiple mistakes on their end, we even visited the establishment in person on 3 more occassions after 6/1 to ensure the details were in place and work could be completed seemlessly. Finally on 9/3 (3 months after payment was first rendered)installers arrived to complete the work, but could not began beacuse i noticed that a.) the tiles were faulty and b.) incorrect plans were drawn. Sosa was contacted and he requested that the installers complete the work with the 25% of tiles that were potentially usuable. This was not a possibility considering we had already waited 3 months for the work to happen and the installers drawings/plans were incorrect. We requested of Sosa twice daily since 9/3 an itemized description of what we would be refunded for considering we had paid the $5,017 charge of total labor in full months prior. They finally replied that we would be reunded only $53 as they were charging us for the tile they could not recieve a credit for and the labor of the installers who did not complete any work, with $53 being the balance. They could not receive credit for the tile as it had already been cut, yet they admitted that it was cut without anyone confirming that it was of acceptable quality and are now passing that price onto the customer. They are also passing to me the cost of the labor of the installers that did not install a tile of the work in my house.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $2,000 of the $5,017 in labor i have paid. This is more than resonable considering I paid this in full for a service i never received, and i paid it 3 months ago. All i want is to pay for only the work which was actully completed, and not the costs of mistakes caused by the company's continued ineptitude.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/22) */ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/11/05) */ October 31st, 2013 Robyn and ***** ******* hired Sosa Granite and Marble to install our backsplash and our granite countertop. We did revise the plans/contracts three times. The first instance was when our original materials ordered were no longer in production and we had to revise our order. The second time the project manager, ******** *******, discovered that the tile we wanted for the backsplash was not available. This brings us our third and final instance. The material that was finally selected (for the third time) was a plain stone square at 4''x4'' that were to be cut in a diamond pattern to fit exactly how we wanted to the backsplash to be installed. ******** ******* mentioned that she did not check the product before it was shipped from Sosa to our home for install. If this material was checked properly before it was shipped out to *********** ********, Martinez, they would have discovered that 75% of the tile that was ordered and shipped was not the product we ordered. In fact, the tile had a pattern on them that we never ordered. We ordered a plain stone tile at 4''x4'', not a stone tile with tree imprints on them. On the scheduled day of the install, my wife discovered the material was not what we had ordered. In fact, 75% of the product was wrong against our order. With only 25% of the product usable, the crew wouldn't have been able to finish the same afternoon. With 75% of the material that is inaccurate, it would seem almost impossible to finish a job with material shortage so costly. My wife sent the crew home since no work would be fully completed that day. The crew was at our home for a total of 1.5 hours before leaving our house. This was now the third delay in an effort to have a simple backsplash installed into our home. It is now our 6th month in dealing with Sosa Granite and Marble, and we are no closer to a completed backsplash than when we started 6 months ago. After this most recent delay we decided that we wanted out of this deal with Sosa. When we told them that w wanted them to be taken off of our job, Sosa acknowledged that they would not only did not refund my money for the entire order of tile materials, but only a portion would be refunded. We have paid over $7000 (of an $8600K+) into this project. $5000+ of the grand total is strictly the cost of the labor needed to complete this project.. I want the full amount credited back to my credit card for our money that Sosa Granite and Marble used to pay his staff for a project that was never started, nor completed. That total is $2000K in full that needs to be credited to our account. There is absolutely nothing stated in our contract that Sosa has the right to pay for the cost of their labor from a clients' account, if a crew is prevented from working that day. Since we have already paid for the labor on the entire project including a full day of a crew that performed roughly 1.5 hours of work time. According to our contract, there is absolutely nothing in our contract that states what happens if a crew is sent home by the customer. It certainly makes no reference for charging the customer in full for labor provided or not. The contract does not have a provision in it if indeed the wrong materials are used, what may happen as a result. Sosa, according to the contract has charged us $5000K in labor for BOTH installations of the countertop and the backsplash. As of now, we have no backsplash that was ever installed. But Sosa charged us in full for both jobs. This is a completely unacceptable business practice. Since Sosa fell short of providing the services necessary, we want our money back for an backsplash install that NEVER took place. There is no documentation on our contract that states that Sosa can charge our card for labor not performed and materials not checked and ordered correctly.. It is not my responsibility to cover the company's cost due to an inept and unscrupulous company. I expect a partial credit of $1500K of the labor of the backsplash never performed and a full credit for the cost of the material that were NEVER used. $1500K to cover money spent on the materials ordered and on the labor that was never performed. Sosa is welcome to provide a dollar amount on what it would have cost to perform the install of the backsplash. Respectfully, ***** ******* ******************* Martinez,CA ************@gmail.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sosa Granite & Marble, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart