BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2006

sfDisplay.com, LLC

Phone: (888) 583-3033Fax: (650) 583-3933400 Forbes Blvd Ste 5, South San FranciscoCA 94080-2026View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gift boutique services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2006

BBB has determined that sfDisplay.com, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised sfDisplay.com, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on sfDisplay.com, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a large acoustic guitar case and had it shipped to my daughter. I paid an extra $16 dollars for black felt instead of red. Total for the case was $211.99 and $29.33 for shipping to ********* My daughter received the case that still had red felt in it. But it came with a flimsy piece of bent cardboard that had black felt on it, so an insert of black felt that I was not notified of. This insert did not cover all of the red felt. About a 1/4" of red showed all the way around. The web site says the case is made of Beach Hardwood. Maybe the sides are but the back was a very thin piece of wood that did not look strong enough to hold up the guitar hanger. For the amount I paid I was very displeased with the quality, so we decided to send it back at my cost according to the web site. Took it to a UPS store and they wanted $176 for standard ground shipping. How can that be because it was only $30 to get it here? Took it too the post office and they wanted $110 to ship it? I quickly realized what had happened, which is I bought a case for around $125 and the shipping was around $125. That explains the poor quality construction of the case. We have decided to fix the felt issue and add thicker wood to the back and keep it. But extremely dissatisfied with this company.
Product_Or_Service: guitar display case
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Shut them down!! The owner of this company should not get away with treating their customers with misleading information like this. I myself am a business owner and can not believe they can get away with such false advertising. At the minimum they need change their web site and list the exact price of their product and the exact price of shipping.

Business Response
Hi ***** *****,

We appreciate your feedback.
If you felt that the case wasn't worth the money because of the shipping, then we dropped the ball along the way. I'm very sorry.
This is an oversized #2 package and therefore the company does end up paying a lot more for the shipping cost than what we pass to the customer.
As from your experiece with the UPS store and the postal office you found that the actual shipping cost is in fact 3 to 4 times more than what we charged you.

All our display cases are made with solid beech hardwood but of course like all furniture items the back panel under the felt covering is MDF-board.
This is a common funiture building process and very sorry for the mis-understanding.

Did you contract us to help process the return?
Certainly, you are not responsible for any of this, but we always want to make sure that we did everything we possibly could to make sure we have a happy customer.

Please feel free to contact our customer service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX if you still require help with this matter.

Apologetically,

****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have ordered several items online for my business. I expect to see the honest price of the item and the total shipping charges, this being no different. IF I would have know the true cost I would not have purchased it. As you mentioned, I do not feel the case was worth the money. Because of the cost to ship it back. We have decided to keep the case and since have redone the felt inside.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Collectibles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/2006Business started: 08/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Yee (Owner)Ms. Elaine Yee (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Collectibles

Industry Tips
Holiday Shopping Tips: Buying by Mail
Job Applicants Beware of Reshipping and Forwarding Scams

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for sfDisplay.com, LLC

400 Forbes Blvd Ste 5

South San Francisco, CA 94080-2026

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 400 Forbes Blvd Ste 5 

    South San Francisco, CA 94080-2026

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*sfDisplay.com, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.