BBB Accredited Business since

Golden State Lumber

Find a Location

Phone: (707) 206-4100 Fax: (707) 769-0285 View Additional Phone Numbers 855 Lakeville St Ste 200, Petaluma, CA 94952 http://www.goldenstatelumber.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail and wholesale lumber hardware and milling services as well as showrooms for all your remodeling needs including windows, doors, trim and moldings and tool repairs. This company offers retail sales of building materials such as lumber, hardware, plywood, concrete, etc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Golden State Lumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Golden State Lumber include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Golden State Lumber
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 08/02/1985 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jessica Scerri, President Mr. Danny Della-Santina, General Manager, San Rafael Mr. Ralph Panttaja, General Manager, Stockton Mr. Eric Schmies, General Manager, Brisbane Mr. Nick Terra, General Manager, Newark
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jessica Scerri, President
Number of Employees

340

Business Category

Lumber - Retail Windows Lumber Carriers Hardware Consultants Lumber - Wholesale Lumber Mill Representatives Milling Cutters Building Materials Hardware - Retail

Service Area
This business service ara covers Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, Woodside, San Francisco, Cloverdale, Cotati, Healdsburg, Petaluma, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Sebastopol, Sonoma, Windsor, Benicia, Dixon, Fairfield, Rio Vista, Suisun City, Vacaville, Vallejo, Belvedere, Corte Madera, Fairfax, Greenbrae, Kentfield, Larkspur, Mill Valley, Novato, Ross, San Anselmo, San Rafael, Sausalito, Tiburon, American Canyon, Angwin, Calistoga, Lake Berryessa, Napa, Oakville, Pope Valley, Rutherford, St. Helena, Yountville, Arcata, Blue Lake, Eureka, Ferndale, Fortuna, Rio Dell, Trinidad, Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, Union City, Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, San Lorenzo, Sunol, Antioch, Brentwood, Clayton, Concord, Danville, El Cerrito, Hercules, Lafayette, Martinez, Moraga, Oakley, Orinda, Pinole, Pittsburg, Pleasant Hill, Richmond, San Pablo, San Ramon, Walnut Creek, Albion, Anchor Bay, Boonville, Branscomb Calpella, Caspar, Cleone, Comptche, Covelo, Dos Rios, Elk, Fort Bragg, Gualala, Hopland, Inglenook, Laytonville, Leggett, Little River, Longvale, Manchester, Mendocino, Navarro, Noyo, Old Hopland, Philo, Piercy, Pine Grove, Point Arena, Potter Valley, Redwood Valley, Rockport, Talmage, Ukiah, Willits, Westport, Yorkville, Clearlake, Clearlake Oaks, Cobb, Hidden Valley Lake, Kelseyville, Lakeport, Loch Lomond, Lower Lake, Lucerne, Middletown, Nice, North Lakeport, Paramore Springs, Upper Lake, Whispering Pines, Crescent City, Burnt Ranch, Coffee Creek, Douglas City, Hayfork, Hyampom, Junction City, Lewiston, Mad River, Ruth, Trinity Center, Trinity Village, Weaverville, Big Bar, Helena, Peanut, Salyer, Zenia,
Alternate Business Names
Golden State Lumber, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The pre-hung doors were not built to order specifications. The company initially assured to fix the issues but stopped responding later. I ordered doors for our house remodel with this company. We noticed a few issues with a couple of pre-hung doors that we received: 1. We had ordered a custom door for a double-stud wall. The door was supposed to be built to accommodate an automatic door bottom and a peal-and-stick seal for sound insulation. I had already ordered the door bottom and seal online. The sale person was supposed to collect it from me and deliver to the door manufacturer. He indicated that he only needs the door bottom. The door seal can be applied anytime after the door is installed. The door however was not manufactured to accommodate the kind of seal we had specified. When we finally applied the seal, the door could not be closed. I reported this problem to the sales person more than a month ago (Apr 18th). He initially promised to get it looked at, but nothing has happened yet even after multiple email and voice messages. 2. One of the closet doors was missing a ball-and-catch mechanism. I have been assured several times by the sales person that he will get it installed but it has not happened yet. The sales person initially assured that he would get all the issues taken care of. But even after repeated reminders he has failed to do so. Recently he has stopped responding to my email or voice messages. I tried contacting the branch general manager, but did not hear back from him either.

Desired Settlement: Please either fix the issues or provide new doors built to the order specifications.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Hello Below I have addressed the issues listed by ****; 1. We supplied ****'s contractor with a door and **** then purchased an aftermarket weather-stripping from a secondary supplier. Unfortunately both the door and the weather-stripping were both installed incorrectly by the contractor. 2. The closet doors were ordered and shipped with the correct hardware; the strikes come taped to the door as they cannot be properly installed until after the door is fully installed. These strikes were misplaced on the job-site by the door installers. The replacement parts were reordered (at our expense) as soon as we were aware of what was needed. These parts have been in my office for a while waiting to be picked up by the contractor. Unfortunately there has been a misunderstanding between **** and his contractors, **** was under the understanding that Golden State Lumber would be coming to his house to fix these items. Golden State Lumber is a retail supplier only we do not do any construction. We supply material to contractors and home owners alike. We do our best to help guide them on which products are best for their project, however it is up to the purchaser to be sure the material is installed correctly. I met with **** and his contractor on site and I explained the issues and gave some solutions, I also explained to **** Golden States Lumbers position as a supplier and that it was the Contractors responsibility to install the product correctly. When I left both **** and the contractor had discussed options on how to fix the issues and were working on establishing a plan. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Golden State Lumber
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)