BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2001

Golden State Lumber (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (707) 206-4100Fax: (707) 769-0285View Additional Phone Numbers855 Lakeville St Ste 200, PetalumaCA 94952-7329

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail and wholesale lumber hardware and milling services as well as showrooms for all your remodeling needs including windows, doors, trim and moldings and tool repairs.

This company offers retail sales of building materials such as lumber, hardware, plywood, concrete, etc.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2001

BBB has determined that Golden State Lumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Golden State Lumber's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The pre-hung doors were not built to order specifications. The company initially assured to fix the issues but stopped responding later.
I ordered doors for our house remodel with this company. We noticed a few issues with a couple of pre-hung doors that we received:

1. We had ordered a custom door for a double-stud wall. The door was supposed to be built to accommodate an automatic door bottom and a peal-and-stick seal for sound insulation. I had already ordered the door bottom and seal online. The sale person was supposed to collect it from me and deliver to the door manufacturer. He indicated that he only needs the door bottom. The door seal can be applied anytime after the door is installed. The door however was not manufactured to accommodate the kind of seal we had specified. When we finally applied the seal, the door could not be closed. I reported this problem to the sales person more than a month ago (Apr 18th). He initially promised to get it looked at, but nothing has happened yet even after multiple email and voice messages.

2. One of the closet doors was missing a ball-and-catch mechanism. I have been assured several times by the sales person that he will get it installed but it has not happened yet.

The sales person initially assured that he would get all the issues taken care of. But even after repeated reminders he has failed to do so. Recently he has stopped responding to my email or voice messages. I tried contacting the branch general manager, but did not hear back from him either.

Initial Business Response
Hello
Below I have addressed the issues listed by ****;
1. We supplied ****'s contractor with a door and **** then purchased an aftermarket weather-stripping from a secondary supplier. Unfortunately both the door and the weather-stripping were both installed incorrectly by the contractor.

2. The closet doors were ordered and shipped with the correct hardware; the strikes come taped to the door as they cannot be properly installed until after the door is fully installed. These strikes were misplaced on the job-site by the door installers. The replacement parts were reordered (at our expense) as soon as we were aware of what was needed. These parts have been in my office for a while waiting to be picked up by the contractor.

Unfortunately there has been a misunderstanding between **** and his contractors, **** was under the understanding that Golden State Lumber would be coming to his house to fix these items. Golden State Lumber is a retail supplier only we do not do any construction. We supply material to contractors and home owners alike. We do our best to help guide them on which products are best for their project, however it is up to the purchaser to be sure the material is installed correctly.
I met with **** and his contractor on site and I explained the issues and gave some solutions, I also explained to **** Golden States Lumbers position as a supplier and that it was the Contractors responsibility to install the product correctly. When I left both **** and the contractor had discussed options on how to fix the issues and were working on establishing a plan.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/06/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lumber - Retail, Lumber - Wholesale, Hardware Consultants, Lumber Carriers, Windows, Hardware - Retail, Building Materials, Milling Cutters, Lumber Mill Representatives

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/05/2001Business started: 01/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1985, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jessica Scerri (President)Mr Danny Della-Santina (General Manager, San Rafael)Mr Ralph Panttaja (General Manager, Stockton)Mr Eric Schmies (General Manager, Brisbane)Mr Nick Terra (General Manager, Newark)
Number of Employees

340

Business Category

Lumber - Retail, Lumber - Wholesale, Hardware Consultants, Lumber Carriers, Windows, Hardware - Retail, Building Materials, Milling Cutters, Lumber Mill Representatives

Service Area

This business service ara covers Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, Woodside, San Francisco, Cloverdale, Cotati, Healdsburg, Petaluma, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Sebastopol, Sonoma, Windsor, Benicia, Dixon, Fairfield, Rio Vista, Suisun City, Vacaville, Vallejo, Belvedere, Corte Madera, Fairfax, Greenbrae, Kentfield, Larkspur, Mill Valley, Novato, Ross, San Anselmo, San Rafael, Sausalito, Tiburon, American Canyon, Angwin, Calistoga, Lake Berryessa, Napa, Oakville, Pope Valley, Rutherford, St. Helena, Yountville, Arcata, Blue Lake, Eureka, Ferndale, Fortuna, Rio Dell, Trinidad, Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, Union City, Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, San Lorenzo, Sunol, Antioch, Brentwood, Clayton, Concord, Danville, El Cerrito, Hercules, Lafayette, Martinez, Moraga, Oakley, Orinda, Pinole, Pittsburg, Pleasant Hill, Richmond, San Pablo, San Ramon, Walnut Creek, Albion, Anchor Bay, Boonville, Branscomb Calpella, Caspar, Cleone, Comptche, Covelo, Dos Rios, Elk, Fort Bragg, Gualala, Hopland, Inglenook, Laytonville, Leggett, Little River, Longvale, Manchester, Mendocino, Navarro, Noyo, Old Hopland, Philo, Piercy, Pine Grove, Point Arena, Potter Valley, Redwood Valley, Rockport, Talmage, Ukiah, Willits, Westport, Yorkville, Clearlake, Clearlake Oaks, Cobb, Hidden Valley Lake, Kelseyville, Lakeport, Loch Lomond, Lower Lake, Lucerne, Middletown, Nice, North Lakeport, Paramore Springs, Upper Lake, Whispering Pines, Crescent City, Burnt Ranch, Coffee Creek, Douglas City, Hayfork, Hyampom, Junction City, Lewiston, Mad River, Ruth, Trinity Center, Trinity Village, Weaverville, Big Bar, Helena, Peanut, Salyer, Zenia,

Alternate Business Names
Golden State Lumber, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Golden State Lumber

855 Lakeville St Ste 200

Petaluma, CA 94952-7329

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Golden State Lumber is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 234-7700
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lumber - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.