BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Locksmith Emergency

Phone: (866) 903-4947Fax: (650) 756-1318View Additional Phone Numbers3014 Los Prados St Apt 315, San MateoCA 94403-2025http://www.sbs24locksmith.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers locksmith services including, keyless entry, master key, lock repair and lock installation.

BBB Accreditation

Locksmith Emergency is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Locksmith Emergency's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Locksmith Emergency's rating include:

  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/15/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues
01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Technician tricked and overcharged me.
I accidentally locked my bedroom door on 11/5/13. I called several locksmith company and I found SBS Locksmith that offered a reasonable price of $50.00 to do the job.
The technician came and he tinkered with the door knob with his tools and said he cannot unlock it because the door knob is a high security type and this should be used only for the main entry door and not in bedrooms that even thieves could not unlock this. He said the only way this can be done is to drill it and it will take him a long time to do it. The door knob is a $27.00 Kwikset.

He gave me a new estimate of $225.00 but I did not want to pay that much and told him I'll find a way to open it myself. He said if I pay cash he can do it for 200.00. Still I did not want to pay and I told him again and again that he can leave and I'll find a way. After a long negotiations, I finally agreed to $170.00 in cash.
He used the same tools he tinkered with and in less than 3 minutes he was able to unlock the door without drilling the door knob.
I felt that I was conned by this technician. I gave him his money and told him that you talked me out of paying you more because you said it will take you a long time to do it but you did it for less than 3 minutes only without drilling.
The next day, I called the office to complain and *****, the dispatcher, said she will talk to the manager and she'll get back to me.
I called back on Nov. 12 because I did not get any call back. According to *****, the manager talked to the technician and the technician said that I agreed to the price and that's it.
I agreed to the $170.00 because he said he will drill it and it will take him a long time to do the job. He did not do what he was supposed to do based on the price that we agreed upon.

Initial Business Response
hello i am the manger/owner of the company i writing back to you because i have read and reviewed the BBB complaint and the reason for compliant as i spoke with my Technician about problem as well i have come to a decision that of time of job technician goes out evaluates the job gives price to customer agrees to pricing no matter how long or what he said he needed to do to get it open he got job done and in the end customer agreed to final price i cant refund no money for the job that was done and closed .

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I called your office I was given a quotation of $50.00 to unlock the door. This was our agreement, not the $170.00.

When he started fiddling with the door lock he said he cannot open it and the only way to open it is to drill it and it will cost you more. He said if you call other technician he will tell you the same thing and might cost you more. We finally agreed to the price of $170.00 that he will use a drill. But he did not drill the door lock he used the same tools that he started with before we agreed on the higher price. I still feel that I have been duped by your technician.
Mr. Manager, do you honestly believe that your technician cannot open the door the regular way? Do you really think that your technician is honest? Is it your policy to harbor dishonest technician?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SBS 24/7 Locksmith was called to change the lock on the front door of our condo. When we called them they first quoted an estimate of 35 - 40 dollars, however when they showed up they told us it would be $150. Not only was it more expensive than expected, they ended up doing a BAD job and our front door doesn't even lock anymore. My partner tried calling multiple times to get them back out to re-service the lock and ensure that it works and instead of willing to assist they would tell us they would contact us back and never would. Eventually they told us to call the individual that serviced our lock directly. He too was impossible to get a hold of and would call us 15 minutes before wanting to come to our place. On top of that he told us there would be an additional charge to do any fixes. I can't believe this company is still operating and open. Not only is the customer service HORRIBLE, but they also are scamming people with bids that are WAY under priced, and in return you end up paying a lot more than expected, with a job that is not properly done.
Product_Or_Service: New Lock and install
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Initial Business Response
hi my name is ***,
I am responding to the customer complaint to bbb
i have read and talk to technician that did job and come to a conclusion that i can not refund customer money as desired. The reason i have come to that decision is at the time of the call when Mr *** called he was giving the starting price of 15 for service call and $40+ for the changing the lock job and was told only technician can give final price once he gets there and evaluates job he then gives customer price before he starts doing the job after customer agrees then the tech starts doing the job once tech is done with job, then customer pays for the job once tech is done.
so therefore feel no need to refund customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's not only a matter of price, but it is also due to the fact that he did a BAD job and when we were trying to arrange for him to come back out and fix the problems (the lock doesn't even work) we were given the run around by SBS, who then told us we need to work directly with the technician who installed the lock. The technician told us that there would be additional charges to come out and fix the lock That said, if you are going to charge upwards of over $100, when originally quoting $15, you have to at least make sure the job is done right and well, to the customer's satisfaction. It has been a joke trying to work with this company and should be shut down for the horrible work they do and fined for being crooks.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Locks & Locksmiths

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/2010Business started: 10/01/2009
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 4944 for this company.

Type: Security & Investigative- Locksmith Company

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2009, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ann Suma (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths

Service Area

This business service area covers San Mateo, San Francisco, Oakland, San Jose, Concord, Walnut Creek, Berkeley, Sausalito, San Rafael, Daly City and entire bay area.

Alternate Business Names
SBS 24 Locksmith, Inc., SBS 24/7 Locksmith, Anytime 24/7 Locksmith

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Locksmith Emergency

3014 Los Prados St Apt 315

San Mateo, CA 94403-2025

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3014 Los Prados St Apt 315 

    San Mateo, CA 94403-2025(866) 903-4947

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Locksmith Emergency is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (650) 228-9800
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Locks & Locksmiths

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.