BBB Accredited Business since

A1 Locksmith

Phone: (650) 344-5625 Fax: (650) 344-5626 View Additional Phone Numbers 359 Beach Rd, Burlingame, CA 94010 http://www.a1-locksmith.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A1 locksmith offers the full range of locksmith services; sales and installation for all types of locks and keys, replace of lost keys and change of re-key locks.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A1 Locksmith meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A1 Locksmith include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A1 Locksmith
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1995 Business started: 11/15/1991 Business started locally: 11/15/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Security and Investigative Svc
2420 Del Paso Rd, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 4119.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven Gray, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Gray, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Locks & Locksmiths

Refund and Exchange Policy
Before returning any items you must notify us by e-mail (a1qualitysafe@gmail.com) and obtain a return goods authorization number. Merchandise may be returned within 15 days from receipt of order and must be in their original boxes and properly packaged to avoid damage in shipping. The products must be returned in new, resalable condition and must include all packaging materials. Packaging materials must not be torn or damaged. All manuals and warranty registration cards must be unmarked. Any programming MUST be reset back to factory default. Display the RGA # prominently on the outside of the box to avoid delays to your refund. Returns without prior authorization will be refused. All returns are subject to cancellation, transportation, handling and 20% restocking charge. All sales are final on sale items. Any item not received within 45 business days will receive full credit to charge account. Defective merchandise is subject to inspection prior to credit being issued. Access/Electrical products are subject to factory inspection prior to credit being issued. All items are inspected prior to shipment. A1-locksmith's liability for damaged merchandise ceases when the shipment is accepted by a common carrier. The consignee should carefully inspect all merchandise and if damage or shortage is evident, the consignee should refuse acceptance until an agent of the carrier indicates on the delivery receipt the nature and the extent of the damages or shortages. All claims for damages or shortages should be made directly to the carrier Upon receipt of the returned merchandise in good order in accordance with the above and within 30 days of original delivery, we will issue credit to your charge account. Your cooperation is sincerely appreciated. Please contact our Customer Service Department to answer any questions you may have regarding the Return Policy.
Service Area
Area Business Services: San Mateo County

Additional Locations

  • 359 Beach Rd

    Burlingame, CA 94010 (650) 344-5625

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a safe from this company on September 9 for the amount of $589.99 and have YET to receive it. Everytime we call the business the "owner" does not answer our calls. He has YET to call us back after about 100 calls. I have a copy of the receipt for the charges paid. We want a FULL refund or for him to send the safe we ordered. Even a return call at this point would be a delight. His business is a scam... I can only image how many people he's ripped off in his lifetime. Product_Or_Service: Fire King FKXXXX-XGRE Fire Rated Fireproof Safe Order_Number: yhst-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX-

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund or send the safe we ordered. Lawyers are about to be involved on our end. SCAM!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/22) */ Item ordered Is not available if you are not interested in a similar item please give name and address to send refund to. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order and paid in March, it is now August and I have yet to receive my order or a refund to my card. Order # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX was placed March 12, 2015 for three MasterLock S316 compliance centers. Payment of $132.64 was made when the order was placed and charged to the card 3/16. After 2 weeks, I called to check the status and was told that they had a 3 week lead time. After 5 weeks, I emailed to check the status with no response. About a week later I called and left a message and never received a return call. I called after another week and was told that the lead time to ship from the factory was 4-6 weeks. 9 weeks after the order was placed I emailed again with no response. I called near the end of May and was told that he would check on my order and find out when it would ship but never called back or emailed with an update. On June 18th, I emailed again, "Order Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX This order was placed and paid for over three months ago. I have requested the status several times with no response. Please ship my order and send a tracking number or refund the money that I paid to my card." I received no response. After several more phone calls, I was told that I could cancel the order, but it would have to be done in writing by email to *************@gmail.com and it would be credited to my card. He said the man who would issue the credit was out that day. I emailed on June 26, 2015 "I would like to cancel Order Number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and have the $132.64 credited back to my MasterCard. I was told that the items had a 5 week lead time from the factory, but the order was placed and paid for 15 weeks ago." It will be 8 weeks tomorrow and I have not received a response at all and the money has not been refunded. My order was placed over 5 months ago. I waited for 3 months to receive which gives more than enough time for a 3-6 week lead time and shipping from the factory.

Desired Settlement: I paid for items and never received them, I would like to have the $132.64 refunded to my card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/25) */ Paypal refund processed per request order# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The money paid in 3/12/15 was refunded on 8/25/15

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a replacement key Oct4. I called multiple times and was variously told that it was delayed in *****, arrived etc. Paid $78.84 never received On October 4 I called and ordered a replacement key for a wall safe that we had bought from them. I was told it would take 6 weeks to arrive from ****** ^ weeks later I called and was told that it had arrived and they were going to send it out. Two weeks after that I was told that they had to check the warehouse and would email me. Today I was told that they were backlogged. The story changes each and every time and there is never a return call or email. I paid for the key on ordering it $78.84. Today **** -who seems to be th only person there said it wasn't his fault that I lost the original key! And if I wanted my money back I would have to email them. I am not certain. I feel that this company is a sham and never intended to order the key.

Desired Settlement: I would like the key for the safe or I would like my money back. My preference is the key but I don't believe that they actually ever ordered it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/07) */ usps tracking XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Our impatient customer was never quoted 6 weeks but but estimated 6-8 weeks as this item comes from overseas. And we do not like being called a sham and if this public derogatory comment is determined liable it will be turned over to our attorney Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After I posted my complaint I received my key. I was not quoted 6-8 weeks but 5 or 6 weeks. Finally, the substance of my complaint was not getting a clear response - in fact being told that the key had arrived and later told that it hadn't. It seems customer service and communications is not in their manual. As I have my key please close the case.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to deliver product after charging my credit card and accepting payment I ordered a safe #******* on Oct.1st 2013 and paid for it with my credit card. My bank authorized payment on Oct. 2nd 2013. I received an e-mail notice of the sales transaction from A1 Quality Safe on Oct.1st 2013. I have not yet received the product. I called A1 Quality Safe at the two numbers listed on their web site and got an automated message that the numbers I called were not good numbers. Finally on friday Oct. 11th they answered the phone and told me the safe had not been shipped out yet. They would not give me a date of shipment and would not supply me with a physical street address for their company only that they are in the "Bay Area". I don't know if this is a reputable company or if I have been "ripped off" for $131.00 ?

Desired Settlement: Either ship the safe to me as agreed in the sales process or refund my credeit card. Either way I want to be notified by E-mail which action they are going to do. My e-mail address is *******************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Dear Customer, This notice serves as proof of delivery for the shipment listed below. Tracking Number: *************************** Number(s):*************** GroundWeight:13.00 lbsShipped/Billed On:10/24/2013Delivered On:10/24/2013 4:30 P.M. Delivered To: ******************************* ***** Left At:Porch Thank you for giving us this opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, UPS Tracking results provided by UPS: 10/24/2013 5:43 P.M. ET Print This Page Close Window


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A1 Locksmith
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)