BBB Accredited Business since

Five Star Limo

Phone: (707) 453-1200 Fax: (707) 453-1300 1266 Callen Street, Vacaville, CA 95688 http://www.fivestarls.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers 24 hour limousine and transport services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Limo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Limo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Five Star Limo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated 05/27/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave 2nd Fl, San Francisco CA 94102
http://consumers.cpuc.ca.gov/default.aspx
Phone Number: (415) 703-2059

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shan Singh Bahia,, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shan Singh Bahia,, President
Number of Employees

13

Business Category

Limousine Service Transportation Services Airport Transportation


Additional Locations

  • 1266 Callen Street

    Vacaville, CA 95688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: negligence in communicating cancellation of service, unreasonable additional charges I sent an email to the company detailing this complaint and did not receive any correspondence in return. As a result, I am bringing my complaint to the BBB. I booked limousine service for my daughter's birthday party using the company's online booking service and received a confirmation number in a pop-up window. After I did not receive confirmation by email or phone, I called the morning before the scheduled service to confirm. I was told to email the company but that the reservation should be fine. I could not find any email address on the website and was unable to contact them to confirm. Less than one hour before we were scheduled for pick-up, the company called to ask if I had received their cancellation email. I had not because it was sent to the spam folder. They informed me that if I wanted to book service I would have to agree to pay for an additional hour of service. Since the birthday party was already dressed and waiting for the limo to arrive I felt I had to agree to these terms and I paid for the extra hour (4 total). The limousine ended up arriving almost 45 minutes after the original scheduled time. Since we were due to return home at a particular time, I was only able to use less than 1 and half hour out of the four I payed for. The company stated that since the pick-up location is located outside of their service area, that additional terms applied. Neither these terms nor the comapany's coverage area are specified on their website. Furthermore, it was negligent for the company to have not attempted to contact me through other means and confirm that I received their cancellation message. If I had received a phone-call even one day ahead, I could have either made other arrangements or agreed to the terms without feeling pressured by the fact that the children were waiting for the limo to arrive. I feel that given the circumstances, the company acted unprofessional, negligent and unethically.

Desired Settlement: I agreed to pay 3 hours for a limousine ride that was meant to last from 8-10. Instead, I paid for four hours and utilized the limo from X:XX-XX:XX. I feel that given the inconvenience and the fact that a special occasion was involved a fair resolution would be for me to pay for the hour and a half I used.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/11/23) */ Hi ******* We Sent This Email To ****** ***** For Cancellation Conf You See The Date And Time We Sent And Also We Did Phone Call Her She Never Responded Thanks. **** Singh Bahia Forwarded message from FIVE STAR LIMO <****@fivestarls.com> Date: 23 Sep 2015 12:18:14 -0500 From: FIVE STAR LIMO <****@fivestarls.com> Reply-To: FIVE STAR LIMO <****@fivestarls.com> Subject: CANCELLATION Conf# XXXXX For ****** ***** (09/26/XXXX-XX:XX PM) To: ****@fivestarls.com FIVE STAR LIMO **** ****** Street ********* CA XXXXX US Tel: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Email: ****@fivestarls.com TCP XXXXX-B Cancellation Confirmation Cancelled Reservation Confirmation #XXXXX Last Modified On: 09/23/XXXX XX:XX AM This reservation has been cancelled. If this trip should not have been cancelled, please contact our office immediately at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. ________________________________________ Pick-up Date: 09/26/2015-Saturday Pick-up Time: 08:00 PM ServiceType: Charter Primary/Billing Contact: ****** ***** Passenger: ****** ***** Phone Number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX No. of Pass: ********** Type: 1-9 Passenger ******* Limo - New 2015 MKT Lincoln Limo Payment Method: Visa ** 8203 ________________________________________ Trip Routing Information: PU: : XXXXX N. ***** street *********** CA ***** (United States of America) - Ph: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Notes:Girl's 9th birthday party ST: :Oh My ******* **** W ********* Ln, ****, *** CA ***** (United States of America) DO: : XXXXX N. ***** street *********** ** XXXXX ________________________________________ Notes/Comments: Girl's Hollywood themed 9th birthday party - will be going to get frozen yogurt ________________________________________ Charges & Fees Per Hour 3 x 83.00 $249.00 Reservation Total: $249.00 Payments/Deposits: $0.00 Total Due: $249.00 ________________________________________ Terms & Conditions/ Reservation Agreement: Safety First! Passengers *** not allowed to stand or dance while the vehicle is in motion. Please do not stand on seats or lean against the window. Credit card customers must bring a photo ID and the same credit card that use for booking with at the time of pickup and provide them to the driver for imprint. Damages caused by negligence of any passenger **** be the liability of the renting client. All damage fees will be charged to the renting client, to include all parts and labor, plus a fee for all down time of said vehicle. Company is not liable in the event of mechanical breakdown while on charter and will only be responsible for making up lost time at a mutually agreed date. The client assumes full financial liability for any damage to the limousine caused during the duration of the rental by them or any members of their party, including carpet or seat burns - smoking is not permitted in any of our limousines. Sanitation fee is 250.00. Alcohol Consumption is prohibited by passengers ***** 21 years of age. Illegal drug use is prohibited by law. Any fines will be paid for by the customer. The driver has the right to terminate run without refund (if there is blatant indiscretion on the part of the client(s)). It is Illegal to stand through the sunroof. Overtime pay may apply after the prearranged time described on the run sheet. Not responsible for delays or the termination in winter caused by unsafe road conditions. Not responsible for articles left in the limousine. Vehicles cannot be loaded beyond seating capacity. Balances to be paid to the driver on the run date before the beginning of the run. Driver note: No Signature Signature Required Collect Imprint Credit Card End forwarded message FIVE STAR LIMO **** ****** Street ********** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I acknoweldged the receipt of the email they have included in both my original complaint sent directly to the business and in my complaint to the BBB. The problem is that the email was in the SPAM folder and the company made no attempt (including a phonecall) to confirm that I received the cancellation notice. I would like to reiterate that the email I sent to the business received no response from the company. I have included the email below at the bottom of this response. THERE WAS NO PHONECALL. I will happily provide my phone record to validate this. I CALLED on Friday, September 25th at 9:58am in an attempt to confirm my reservation. I did not receive a call until Saturday, September 26th at 7:07pm. This is less than one hour prior to my 8:00pm scheduled pick-up time. My complaint stands - it was negligent to make no attempt to ensure that I received a cancellation notice. It is unprofessional to conduct important communications through email alone since it is often the case that emails erroneously end up in SPAM folders. It is unethical to impose additional fees and charges without giving the customer ample notice. I made an attempt to resolve this complaint directly with the company. They ignored my communication. Dear Five Star Limo, I recently booked your limousine services for my daughter's 9th birthday party on September 26, 2015, for 8:00pm using your online booking services. The booking was for a total of three hours (the website advertised minimum) and was scheduled for pick-up at my home. After booking, I received a confirmation number via the website. Because I never received any confirmation by email or phone, I became concerned about my reservation. I called your company on September 25, around 10:00am and was told that the receiver of that call could not look up my reservation at that time. Instead, he advised that I send an email. I was not able to email your company because he did not provide the email address and I was not able to find it on your website. On Saturday, (September 26) less than an hour prior to the scheduled pick-up time your company called to ask if I had received their cancellation email (I had not). Apparently, because I did not book four hours instead of three, your company decided to cancel my reservation. By this time, the party was already dressed and eagerly awaiting my daughter's "surprise". Out of sheer panic and frustration, I quickly agreed to the four-hour minimum and asked that the driver leave immediately. Because of the late notice, the driver arrived forty-five minutes after my original scheduled pick-up time. By the end of the night, we were only able to utilize less than an hour and a half of the four hours that I paid for. It is understandable for mistakes to happen and for unplanned errors to arise occasionally. However, it is unacceptable and unprofessional for a company to attempt such critical communication via email - and make no further attempt to contact the customer through other means such as a simple phone call. Additionally, my attempt to receive a status of any sort and confirmation by phone being essentially pushed aside and directing me to email the company the day before the booking is equally as unprofessional and clearly unproductive. Furthermore, your company's last minute attempt to contact me via phone less than an hour before the scheduled pick-up time is absolutely ridiculous and should not be tolerated by any customer. This method of communication left me cornered, flustered, and in a terrible situation with no choice but to agree to undeniably outrageous terms in order to refrain from disappointing seven 9-year-old girls! Some things you should consider as a business primarily seeking clients online: First, the cancellation email you sent me made no mention of the 4 hour minimum and ended up in the spam folder! If email is the primary way with which you wish to communicate you should take steps to ensure that important messages (such as CANCELLATIONS!) are received by the customer in a timely manner. Had I received a phone-call, I could have made other arrangements without feeling backed into a corner. Second, you should clearly define your service areas and any terms that apply to those requesting charters outside of your designated areas. I was aware that you were in Vacaville. However, your company's website appeared in a google search for limousine service in Lodi and your website advertised service in "Northern California." I commute an hour and a half every day and do not feel that the hour drive from Vacaville to Woodbridge is unreasonable. I chose your company because of the flat rates, claim of "no hidden fees" and your accreditation by the Better Business Bureau. Because I believe in giving your company a fair and adequate chance of resolving this issue before taking this complaint further, I am going to refrain from filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding your company's unethical treatment of a customer, your company's negligence to ensure that any communication was received, and your company's contradiction in the information provided on your website and what was told to me over the phone. I think that it is unethical to spring unexpected terms and charges on a customer with such short notice. You can contact me by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX, or email at this email address. Thank you, ****** ***** On a positive note, our driver ****** was courteous, attentive and provided excellent customer service. He should be commended.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Five Star Limo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)