BBB Accredited Business since

Buck's Saw Service, Inc.

Phone: (415) 897-6811 View Additional Phone Numbers 707 Grant Ave, Novato, CA 94945 http://www.buckssawservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers the sales and services of lawn and garden equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buck's Saw Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buck's Saw Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Buck's Saw Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 2001 Business started: 02/01/1984 Business started locally: 02/01/1984
Business Management
Mr. Mark Bailey, Owner Ms. Lori Bailey, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Bailey, Owner
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lawn Mowers


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charging me $46 shipping on a small parts order of $14 without telling me or asking me. I ordered $13.74 worth of small parts to be sent to Hawaii. The parts weighed less than 6 ounces..They charged me $45.65 shipping costs without telling me!!. It could have been shipped for less than $5.00 by USPS. They have little regard for the customer when it comes to shipping costs and not the courtesy to advise the buyer in advance of filling the order. This is one very unthoughtful company with a very poor attitude.. The correct parts were shipped. Bad business in the shipping department!!!

Desired Settlement: THey should consider advising the customer of unusual shipping charges , as a matter of fact all the time..Not just unusual..As in my case they did not feel it was necessary to advise me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@comcast.net As one of the owners of Buck's Saw Service, I take bad reviews of my business very seriously. In defense of our business, there was no discussion or verbal request from the customer for a quote regarding shipping to Hawaii. Our business uses UPS to ship parts to our customers, we do not charge the customer any more than what the shipping company charges us. The customer also failed to mention the phone call he made to my employee, verbally assaulting and threatening him with legal action making him feel very uncomfortable and upset. I immediately returned the customers call asking him to answer to his verbal assault of my employee. It took the customer several days to return my call regarding this matter in which the customer made a less than convincing apology to me but would not apologize directly to my employee to whom the threats were made. If one of my employees acted outside of their responsibilities, they would answer for their actions. There was no wrong doing in this case by my employees, therefor, I can do nothing more than let the customers actions speak to his integrity. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not completely true.....I did ask about shipping charges to the first person I placed the order with. He said it would be around 20$. After receiving the bill, I phoned and I was "verbally insensitive" " when the person I spoke with had no interest in resolving my complaint except to say we only charge what UPS charges us..Which is accurate. No apology no anything, except defense of their charges. It just seems like bad business to have such large shipping cost compared to the cost of the parts without informing the customer. No one advised me in advance of the purchase anything about shipping costs. except the $20 dollar ball park when i spoke with the first person..**** as I recall. I truly assumed they would use the US Postal service for such a light weight item..They shipped the correct product and it certainly arrived quickly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Buck's Saw Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)