This business is not BBB accredited.

Keane Kitchens

Phone: (650) 631-0330 Fax: (650) 631-0332 1091 Industrial Rd Ste 185, San Carlos, CA 94070 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.keanekitchens.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers kitchen refacing, full remodels, countertops, flooring, plumbing, sinks, and faucets.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keane Kitchens include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Keane Kitchens
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Mr. Patrick Keane, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Keane, Owner
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1091 Industrial Rd Ste 185

    San Carlos, CA 94070 (650) 631-0330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We got a new kitchen in Aug-2012. In Feb-2013, 6mo. later, our countertop cracked. This wasn't repaired until April 2014, but more damage was caused. In Aug-2012 we had Keane Kitchens install a new kitchen and flooring for us at a cost of approx. $40,000. We were very happy with the results and things were fine. In Feb-2013, 6mo. later, our kitchen counter top cracked. My wife was in another room and heard a bang, later discovering the damage. We then had over a year's worth of correspondence with Keane and their supplier United Marble & Granite Inc., ***** ****** Ave, ***** *****, **** Keane wanted UMG to do the repair work to the counter. UMG claimed the crack must have been from something hot put onto the worktop. We dispute this, (as I have said, no one was even in the kitchen when this happened. We were also never informed that heat would be an issue with this material, or we would never have selected it.) Eventually UMG said they would replace the counter, but only once someone else ordered the same material that resulted in a large enough off cut that could be used for our repair. After chasing them for months, eventually UMG said they had a piece of quartz large enough for the repair. However, the repair they would make would be to remove the damaged piece we had, cut it in half, then just replace the damaged half with the new piece and keep the remaining good half of the original piece. This would mean an extra seam in our countertop, which was really not ideal but we had waited long enough so agreed. It took until until April 2014 for the repair work to be done, but more damage was caused. Keane came and removed some of our wall tiles on 9-Apr in order to make room to remove the damaged worktop. (Note that Keane have purchased extra tile to replace this, but have yet to do so because we are not happy with the work done on the countertop. I'm happy with this part of Keane's service and unhappy with UMG at this point.) UMG put the new piece in, which we knew would mean an extra seam which isn't great but we were ok with that. However, they chipped the adjacent piece of the existing counter top when putting in the new piece. They also hadn't cut the new piece correctly, (it had a different curve on the front,) so they had to go away and redo that, so left us with unfinished kitchen, (with no working cook top,) and no real idea of when it would get fixed or what they were going to do about it. When they eventually came back, before they installed anything I asked what they were going to do since they may be wasting their time putting in this new piece if they couldn't repair the chip. They told us that they would send a fabricator to clean that up and we wouldn't even notice. So, we let them carry on and put it in. A week later the fabricator showed up and did his thing, but really I can't see what he has done to make anything better, since you can clearly see and feel a difference in the surface of the counter top, (it's just a shame the pattern doesn't carry on through the stone and is only on the surface, otherwise it would probably be ok.) Further chasing of Keane and UMG has resulted in nothing, except being told that this was the best we were going to get. So, we've traded a large crack for a chip and a seam and now I'm totally at a loss about what to do about it. We've also still got an ugly section of wall that is missing tile, but I don't want to put the wall tiles back in if we could get a better countertop repair done, since that would be wasting everyone's time. But I don't know what the chance are of getting a better repair done are from UMG. Obviously we'd all like this to be over, but as I'm sure you can understand I don't really want to just settle for what we've ended up with.

Desired Settlement: We would ideally like a whole new counter top installed so we can be sure it is installed with no color differential and not having to risk further damage to the existing counter top. If this isn't possible then at least making good the damaged sections so that anyone would be unable to spot any damage/repair had been done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/13) */ 8/13/14 ***** KITCHENS CASE- XXXXXXXX The countertop crack was caused by a thermal expansion crack which is not covered by a warranty. The crack is caused by excessive heat, this has been proved by the rep from Silestone and the popping sound made. There was a crock pot being used in the area where the stone had cracked. The countertop does not crack out of the blue and for no reason. As a courtesy, Keane Kitchens worked for over a year to resolve this and arranged UMG to do the repair free of charge. Keane kitchens has removed extra tile, the cook top and has purchased and located new tile on ****** ********* behalf free of charge and have been in contact consistently with this client. As a courtesy, for free, UMG replaced the portion of the countertop. The client was made aware that replacing the section had a risk of damage on other parts of the countertop.UMG sent someone to repair the chip but it is not to the client's satisfaction. Keane Kitchen's has still and is still doing everything we can to make this client happy. She states she appreciates our help and has no complaint with us but has filed a complaint against Keane. The client has made threats to both companies, using this as a tactic to get a free countertop. We have contacted UMG they will continue free repairs for this client but they will not continue to do free repairs if they are going to be threatened. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We agree that Keane have been trying to help and appreciate that. However, we disagree with the thermal crack diagnosis, (even if it were correct then we feel we were mis-sold the material with no advice that it wouldn't stand up to even a moderate temperature,) and it has also taken a very long time to try and resolve. The last we heard, prior to contacting BBB, was that nothing else would be done so it wasn't a threat on our part to contact BBB. As things stand right now Keane have arranged with UMG to attempt one last repair. We are of course happy to try that out and are waiting to hear back with more details, (i.e. when this will happen and how the repair will be done.) We do not have to get a whole new countertop, we just want a repair that isn't so visible, (i.e. a better color match.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Keane Kitchens
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)