BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/2012

Barons Jewelers

Find a Location

(925) 452-17004870 Dublin Blvd, DublinCA 94568

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are the East Bay Area's leading fine bridal jewelry specialist. We feature designer brands, an extensive selection of certified diamonds and fine gems, Swiss watches and fashion jewelry.We have jewelry repair,custom design, appraisal and watch repair services on site.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/2012

BBB has determined that Barons Jewelers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Barons Jewelers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Barons Jewelers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesman sold me a ring by telling me it was a Lazare Kaplan cut, which turned out to be false.
On November 7th, 2013, I came to Baron's to purchase a diamond engagement ring. The seller, **** *****, showed me several diamonds, all of which he claimed were Lazare Kaplan cut diamonds. When I picked out the one I liked, he again confirmed that it was a Lazare Kaplan cut and I purchased the ring.

Later on, I took the ring to several jewelers to get estimates/appraisals, and was told that the diamond is a "Very Good" cut. A Lazare Kaplan is an "Ideal Cut", which is a big difference, and I realized that I had been ripped off.

I returned to Baron's, found ****, and told him about the appraisals. He continued to say that it is a Lazare Kaplan, and I told him I need proof. He spent 30 minutes on the computer, but couldn't get any information. He then told me that the diamond has Lazare Kaplan engraved in the girdle, but I told him that was not the case, as I had one of the jewelers show me the diamond through a microscope.

Finally, I went to another associate, I believe his name was ****. I explained to him what had happened, he looked up my diamond, and said that it was not a Lazare Kaplan. **** then told me, "I showed you several diamonds that day, some were Lazare Kaplans, some were not, and this one apparently wasn't. That wasn't true. **** told me the day I bought it, and the day I came looking for answers, that it was a Lazare Kaplan, until **** confirmed that it wasn't.

Baron's misrepresented a product, and because of that, I have been ripped off. There is a huge difference in price between Very Good cut and Ideal cut diamonds. If I had known that it was a Lazare Kaplan, I would not have bought it. I would appreciate any help in this matter. Thank you in advance.

Desired Settlement
The company told me the diamond they sold me was a Lazare Kaplan. So either they can pay me the price difference between a Very Good cut and a Lazare Kaplan, or they can exchange my ring for a Lazare Kaplan of THE SAME PROPORTIONS, at NO ADDITIONAL COST. I believe it is only fair that they stand up to their word.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Findings, Jewelry Engravers, Jewelry Buyers, Jewelry Advisory Service, Appraisal - Management, Watches - Service & Repair, Jewelry Repair, Jewelry Polishing & Plating, Watches - Dealers, Jewels - Imitation, Jewelry Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/23/1992Business started: 01/01/1967
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1967, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol Bassett (VP Of Marketing)Customer Contact: Mr. Ronnie Heller (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Findings, Jewelry Engravers, Jewelry Buyers, Jewelry Advisory Service, Appraisal - Management, Watches - Service & Repair, Jewelry Repair, Jewelry Polishing & Plating, Watches - Dealers, Jewels - Imitation, Jewelry Manufacturers

Products & Services

We have jewelry repair,custom design, appraisal and watch repair services on site.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMSun: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Service Area

This business service area covers: East Bay and the Tri Valley area.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Barons Jewelers

4870 Dublin Blvd

Dublin, CA 94568

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4870 Dublin Blvd 

    Dublin, CA 94568

  • 1044 Stoneridge Mall Rd 

    Pleasanton, CA 94588-3218

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Barons Jewelers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.