BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2013

Jones Maintenance Service

(415) 387-9942View Additional Phone Numbers1911 Hayes St, San FranciscoCA 94117-1125

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general maintenance cleaning services for homes, apartments, and offices. Also includes floor care, carpet cleaning and window washing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2013

BBB has determined that Jones Maintenance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jones Maintenance Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jones Maintenance Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** Maintenance damaged windows upon cleaning, agreed to cover cost of repairs but won't accept estimate or provide alternate acceptable solution.
In July 2013, ***** Maintenance cleaned my windows. There work resulted in damage to the UV filter on 5 of my windows. Additionally, the workers had left a mess of dirty water splotches on the walls, floors and rugs of the apartment. Mr. ****** ***** came by and examined the issue. He did not charge me for the window cleaning and I felt that was fair compensation for the dirt/mess left behind in the apartment. He saw the damaged film and agreed he would cover the cost of repairs and I offered to track down the original contractor, whom I know would have the best/lowest rate, and provide him with an estimate.

Once I had the estimate from Daystar, the original contractor who'd done the work on my windows, I emailed it to him-- $325. I explain to Mr. ***** that this was their minimum charge to come out and that I had done enough research to know this would be the cheapest rate out there for this kind of work. Mr. ***** was not happy and said he thought it was too expensive, that he'd rather have one of his men do the work or find someone cheaper.

I explained that I was no longer comfortable having any of his workers doing anything at my place and this contractor would do a great job, warranty his work, and I wanted it to be someone of my choice to that we could resolve the situation once and for all-- in other words, if Mr. ***** found an alternate contractor and I wasn't satisfied with the outcome, we'd still have a problem. But if he covered the cost of the contractor of my choice, the outcome wouldn't be his problem, he could be done. Additionally, since his worker damaged my window film, he owed it to me as a customer to "replace the original." It wasn't fair for him to expect me to compromise and go with another provider if I'm not comfortable with that.

Unfortunately, that was all at the beginning of September and I've gotten no where with Mr. ***** despite the numerous calls and emails. I think I was fair telling him I'd even consider one of his contractors, but it's now been weeks and he hasn't proposed anything. But at this point, I'm no longer open to that. He needs to cover the $325 to do the repairs with my contractor of choice, that is the fair and professional thing to do.

The last I hear of him he left a voicemail lecturing me these things take time. I should not have to wait for weeks, when he's not holding up his end of the bargain. Seems to me he's dragging his feet till I give up on getting the $325 from him.

I ask that he honor the agreement we made and cover the $325 so I can get my windows fixed-- it's now been over 3 months since this all began.


Desired Settlement
Emails he hasn't responded to: I expect him to cover $325 from my selected contractor below.

On Sep 25, 2013, at 1:47 PM, ******** ********** <*******@gmail.com> wrote:

Walter-- I made a mistake. It's actually 5 window panels that are scratched up.

I will want the same brand UV film, to insure quality. If you find someone who is less costly, and can match the exact brand of the film (I'll get the details from this vendor) then you're welcome to send them over.

But again, if their work is not to my satisfaction, we're back to square one. Therefore, I highly recommend we move forward with my chosen vendor, so that regardless of the outcome, you can no longer be involved/responsible.

Also, the big thing is that **** has a warranty of 5 years on his work-- meaning if any of the film he applies, peels, fails, etc, he will fix at no charge. Whomever you find, I'll expect them to offer the same warranty.

Thanks,
********


On Sep 20, 2013, at 9:59 AM, ******** ********** wrote:

Hi Walter

Please see below on expected cost for replacing the film on the 4 window panels. I tried to get them to lower it but unfortunately, they have a minimum fee for coming out and doing the work. But it definitely won't be more than $325 because I have fewer windows than what she's costed below. And if they charge me less in the end (****'s a pretty nice guy) I'll let you know. When it's done, I'll send you a copy of the receipt for reimbursement.

Thanks for your understanding in this matter. You all have been doing my windows for many years, with the film on there, and this hasn't happened before. I have no doubt that it won't happen again next time. And I really appreciate your willingness to pay for the repairs.

Best,
********



Begin forwarded message:

From: "********" <*********@comcast.net>
Date: September 12, 2013 10:22:03 AM PDT
To: "******** **********" <*******@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: ********'s Windows

Good Morning ********,

I am sorry the $325.00 is our min service fee. So by you removing the film and adhesive will not change the price.

Per your phone conversation with **** a couple of weeks ago here is the measurements he wrote down:

1.5' X 2' @5
2.5' X 3' @1


******** ******
Daystar Window Tinting

-----Original Message----- From: ******** **********
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 8:42 PM
To: ********
Subject: Re: ********'s Windows

Hi ***

I don't have 6 panes. I have 4 panes, roughly 2ft by 1ft and 1 pane roughly 2ft by 3 ft.

Also, he doesn't need to remove the film. Since it was scratched up, I already removed it.

Does that effect the estimate?

Thanks!
********


On Sep 11, 2013, at 11:24 AM, ******** wrote:

Sorry for the delay. **** has been working crazy hours trying to finish up a commercial job. He was finally able to work on the paper work this morning. The cost to remove and replace the film on the 6 panes comes to $325.00. I am sending our in the mail a film sample of the film **** matched your sample to. It's a CS50. As soon as you receive it please let us know if it matches.

thanks

******** ******
Daystar Window Tinting

Business Response
No comment, matter resolved.

Final Consumer Response
I have received a check for $325 from Jones Maintenance. Please do not close this case till I've deposited and confirmed the validity of the check. I will do so in the next 3 business days. Thank you, ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Janitor Service, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Window Cleaning, House Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2007Business started: 02/22/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Jones (Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Janitor Service, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Window Cleaning, House Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Service Area

This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jones Maintenance Service

1911 Hayes St

San Francisco, CA 94117-1125

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1911 Hayes St 

    San Francisco, CA 94117-1125(415) 387-9942
    (415) 921-2373

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jones Maintenance Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (415) 921-2373
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Janitor Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.