BBB Accredited Business since

Jones Maintenance Service

Phone: (415) 387-9942 View Additional Phone Numbers 1911 Hayes St, San Francisco, CA 94117


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general maintenance cleaning services for homes, apartments, and offices. Also includes floor care, carpet cleaning and window washing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jones Maintenance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jones Maintenance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Maintenance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2007 Business started: 02/22/2007 Business started locally: 02/22/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Walter Jones, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Walter Jones, Owner
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Janitor Service Window Cleaning Cleaning Services - Commercial Office Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Building Cleaning - Exterior Carpet & Rug Cleaners House Cleaning

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek

Additional Locations

  • 1911 Hayes St

    San Francisco, CA 94117 (415) 921-2373 (415) 387-9942

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Maintenance damaged windows upon cleaning, agreed to cover cost of repairs but won't accept estimate or provide alternate acceptable solution. In July 2013, ***** Maintenance cleaned my windows. There work resulted in damage to the UV filter on 5 of my windows. Additionally, the workers had left a mess of dirty water splotches on the walls, floors and rugs of the apartment. Mr. ****** ***** came by and examined the issue. He did not charge me for the window cleaning and I felt that was fair compensation for the dirt/mess left behind in the apartment. He saw the damaged film and agreed he would cover the cost of repairs and I offered to track down the original contractor, whom I know would have the best/lowest rate, and provide him with an estimate. Once I had the estimate from Daystar, the original contractor who'd done the work on my windows, I emailed it to him-- $325. I explain to Mr. ***** that this was their minimum charge to come out and that I had done enough research to know this would be the cheapest rate out there for this kind of work. Mr. ***** was not happy and said he thought it was too expensive, that he'd rather have one of his men do the work or find someone cheaper. I explained that I was no longer comfortable having any of his workers doing anything at my place and this contractor would do a great job, warranty his work, and I wanted it to be someone of my choice to that we could resolve the situation once and for all-- in other words, if Mr. ***** found an alternate contractor and I wasn't satisfied with the outcome, we'd still have a problem. But if he covered the cost of the contractor of my choice, the outcome wouldn't be his problem, he could be done. Additionally, since his worker damaged my window film, he owed it to me as a customer to "replace the original." It wasn't fair for him to expect me to compromise and go with another provider if I'm not comfortable with that. Unfortunately, that was all at the beginning of September and I've gotten no where with Mr. ***** despite the numerous calls and emails. I think I was fair telling him I'd even consider one of his contractors, but it's now been weeks and he hasn't proposed anything. But at this point, I'm no longer open to that. He needs to cover the $325 to do the repairs with my contractor of choice, that is the fair and professional thing to do. The last I hear of him he left a voicemail lecturing me these things take time. I should not have to wait for weeks, when he's not holding up his end of the bargain. Seems to me he's dragging his feet till I give up on getting the $325 from him. I ask that he honor the agreement we made and cover the $325 so I can get my windows fixed-- it's now been over 3 months since this all began.

Desired Settlement: Emails he hasn't responded to: I expect him to cover $325 from my selected contractor below. On Sep 25, 2013, at 1:47 PM, ******** ********** <*******@gmail.com> wrote: Walter-- I made a mistake. It's actually 5 window panels that are scratched up. I will want the same brand UV film, to insure quality. If you find someone who is less costly, and can match the exact brand of the film (I'll get the details from this vendor) then you're welcome to send them over. But again, if their work is not to my satisfaction, we're back to square one. Therefore, I highly recommend we move forward with my chosen vendor, so that regardless of the outcome, you can no longer be involved/responsible. Also, the big thing is that **** has a warranty of 5 years on his work-- meaning if any of the film he applies, peels, fails, etc, he will fix at no charge. Whomever you find, I'll expect them to offer the same warranty. Thanks, ******** On Sep 20, 2013, at 9:59 AM, ******** ********** wrote: Hi Walter Please see below on expected cost for replacing the film on the 4 window panels. I tried to get them to lower it but unfortunately, they have a minimum fee for coming out and doing the work. But it definitely won't be more than $325 because I have fewer windows than what she's costed below. And if they charge me less in the end (****'s a pretty nice guy) I'll let you know. When it's done, I'll send you a copy of the receipt for reimbursement. Thanks for your understanding in this matter. You all have been doing my windows for many years, with the film on there, and this hasn't happened before. I have no doubt that it won't happen again next time. And I really appreciate your willingness to pay for the repairs. Best, ******** Begin forwarded message: From: "********" <*********@comcast.net> Date: September 12, 2013 10:22:03 AM PDT To: "******** **********" <*******@gmail.com> Subject: Re: ********'s Windows Good Morning ********, I am sorry the $325.00 is our min service fee. So by you removing the film and adhesive will not change the price. Per your phone conversation with **** a couple of weeks ago here is the measurements he wrote down: 1.5' X 2' @5 2.5' X 3' @1 ******** ****** Daystar Window Tinting -----Original Message----- From: ******** ********** Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 8:42 PM To: ******** Subject: Re: ********'s Windows Hi *** I don't have 6 panes. I have 4 panes, roughly 2ft by 1ft and 1 pane roughly 2ft by 3 ft. Also, he doesn't need to remove the film. Since it was scratched up, I already removed it. Does that effect the estimate? Thanks! ******** On Sep 11, 2013, at 11:24 AM, ******** wrote: Sorry for the delay. **** has been working crazy hours trying to finish up a commercial job. He was finally able to work on the paper work this morning. The cost to remove and replace the film on the 6 panes comes to $325.00. I am sending our in the mail a film sample of the film **** matched your sample to. It's a CS50. As soon as you receive it please let us know if it matches. thanks ******** ****** Daystar Window Tinting

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ No comment, matter resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/11/14) */ I have received a check for $325 from Jones Maintenance. Please do not close this case till I've deposited and confirmed the validity of the check. I will do so in the next 3 business days. Thank you, ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Maintenance Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)