This business is not BBB accredited.

Joyus.com

Phone: (866) 856-9878 375 Alabama St. Ste 325, San Francisco, CA 94110 http://www.joyus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a video based shopping website that demonstrates, consults, suggests, and sells special apparel, beauty and lifestyle products to its community of visitors.



BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joyus.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Joyus.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2011 Business started: 01/16/2000 Business started locally: 01/16/2000 Business incorporated 10/15/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sin-Mei Tsai, Marketing Director Jonathan Hoeh, VP of Business Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Jonathan Hoeh, VP of Business Operations
Principal: Ms. Sin-Mei Tsai, Marketing Director
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Service Area
This business service area cover nationwide.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Joyus.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    375 Alabama St. Ste 325

    San Francisco, CA 94110 (866) 856-9878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered item from them, which I returned immediately the next day due to the fact I found it dangerous for me. Returned January 18th, no credit yet. I ordered merchandise from Joyus .com order # ************* on January 10th, 2016 for $139.00 paid with my American Express credit card. When merchandise arrived I installed it as per instructions, but found it to be very dangerous, and my daughter as well. So I immediately took it apart very carefully and put all items in the box neatly and shipped it back to them at the address specified on their webpage the very next day (received it January 14th,returned it January 16th, 2016). They received the package on January 18th, 2016. I called them and spoke to *****, all I received were excuses and she said she would expedite the credit as soon as possible. So far, no credit on my American Express statement and they've had the $139.00 since January 11th, 2016 as per my credit card statement. We are now in February, and I think they just put my credit on the back burner so-to speak. I would like a full credit of $139.00 immediately.

Desired Settlement: A full credit refund of $139.00. The returns was made according to their "within 30 days" window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/08) */ My name is ******** **** and I'm the Vice President of Business Operations at Joyus. I just learned that a customer filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding the length of time it took to process and refund a return. I researched the complaint and learned that the customer's return was mishandled at our return facility in Virginia. It is very rare that such a situation occurs, but when it does, my team and I take it very seriously. In this instance, I took the following steps: (1) I immediately refunded the credit card in full, (2) called the customer to notify her of the resolution, (3) apologized for the delay in processing the return, and (4) requested more details about her experience with my team so I can continue to improve level of service. By the time I called the customer she had received a refund confirmation email, but was pleased to get a personal call following up on the issue. I take every customer interaction, positive or negative, very seriously and use each one to improve the level of service my team provides to each and every one customers. My team and I will use this feedback to further improve our return operations and customer service. Sincerely, ******** **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2016/02/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I replied very recently to one of your e-mails asking you to drop the complaint due to the fact I received a full credit as per my request, and Mr. **** got in touch with me by phone and apologized. I am totally satisfied and complaint should be dropped. Thank you for your help in this matter. Sincerely, ****** ********

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need to get an exchange and have left messages about 6 times and no call back. And I was billed for item. Order placed with Joyus on Oct. 16 and received 1 pair of aqua blue halo earrings that were defective. Price was $52 and the order number is**************. Placed several calls and no one returns call. I paid with a credit card.

Desired Settlement: A call back to get an exchange or if no exchange, a refund. Terrible customer service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: D. ******** VP Produc Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@joyus.com Dear ********, My name is ***** ******** and I am the Co-founder and V.P. of Product at Joyus. It had come to my attention that a customer had filed a complaint with the BBB about an exchange and also not getting a response after multiple attempts. This is not the way we operate here at Joyus and no customer should have to feel like she needs to take extra steps for her voice to be heard. The failure on our end is egregious and as representative of a company, who prides itself on delighting customers, found this to be unacceptable. We actively investigated this issue. We processed the exchange for order number (*************) and the exchange reached her on November 10th. We originally spoke by email on Oct 21st about a promotional code she had on the order and then again by email on Nov 4th about the exchange. We did try to reach out by phone but have been unable to reach her about the matter. We have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. We work hard for our customer service to be top notch. We strive to make every customer interaction personal and build stronger relationships through our service. Sincerely, ***** L. ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They contacted me immediately after I filed the complaint and sent a new pair of earrings, but still defective. I am now waiting for a refund on the purchase. Thank you for your help. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2015/01/05) */ I am still having trouble receiving my refund from this company. They received my merchandise back and I have not received a refund. When I contacted them about this, they said they put it on a gift card. I never received a gift card nor did I know they were doing this. If I had not kept checking my credit card, I would never have known they were putting it on a gift card, I requested the return to be credited back to my credit card, which they told me they were doing, but apparently never did. This is a fraudulent company because they would have never given me a gift card nor refund if I did not keep up with this. They should be put out of business for their scamming ways. Thank you, ***

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has not refunded money for returned merchandise - they have had returned merchandise since 9/17 Per their cust svc rep, ***** has had my returned merchandise since 9/17, but has yet to refund my money. i have now worked with 2 separate cust svc reps with absolutely no success in getting my refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for merchandise returned - $50

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ We are sorry about the bad experience that the customer encountered. It seems that the customer was misinformed. When customer service communicated that the package was received by us, what was meant was that the shipping carrier shows the package as being delivered to us in their tracking information. In reality, the package was missing from the packages received and hence the return department was never able to process the refund. The customer also received false information about our not being able to locate packages that are received by us. This is not true -- we are able to locate packages so long as they have actually been delivered to us, and the person who provided this false information is no longer with the company. When we received the complaint from BBB, we were able to look up the tracking and see that the package was lost. We have provided a full refund of $50.45 and a $10 shopping credit for the error. We are sincerely sorry about the misinformation and the delay in the refund.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Joyus.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart