BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1999

Sheet Music Plus

Find a Location

(510) 420-7160View Additional Phone Numbers1300 64th St, EmeryvilleCA 94608-1107

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers large selections of sheet music, specializing music books, sheets, scores, choral sheet music, song books, and much more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1999

BBB has determined that Sheet Music Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sheet Music Plus' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sheet Music Plus

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
02/06/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

My husband purchased sheet music. However, we were not able to print it out with any browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari).
The website required a special plug-in to print the music (there was no warning of this before purchase). Chrome and Firefox deemed this plug in too insecure to run. We were concerned about malicious downloads.

Desired Settlement
We would like to be refunded for the sheet music which we are unable to print/use.

Final Consumer Response
From: ********* ****** (mailto:****************
Sent: Friday, February 06, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ******* ******
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX

Yes- the business contacted me and this is resolved :)


08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I placed my orders on July 24 and August 5, 2014, but received none of the packages within the estimated delivery dates.
I placed order number XXXXXXXXX in the amount of US$ 109.81 on July 24, 2014, and order number XXXXXXXXX in the amount of US$ 33.75 on August 5, 2014.
Both payments were made through PayPal, and received Transaction ID numbers 50CXXXXXLXXXXXXXX and 7NYXXXXXNXXXXXXXX, respectively.
SheetMusicPlus claims that the contents of order number XXXXXXXXX were shipped in 3 packages, and of order number XXXXXXXXX in 1 package.
The estimated delivery dates were between August 8 and August 22 for 2 packages, between August 20 and September 4 for 1 package, and between August 21 and September 12 for the last one.
On September 12 I wrote to ****** and notified them that I had received none of the packages, but received only an automated answer saying that I should "expect a response from one of our team members within 1 business day", which never happened.
Although they claim to have sent those packages by "Standard Air", they have refused so far to provide me with the United States Postal Service label numbers so that I could track them or contact my local postal service.

Desired Settlement
I therefore ask for the cancellation of orders number XXXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXXX, and a full refund of the total amount of US$ 143.56 paid through PayPal.

Business Response


Dear Ms. ***** ******,

This letter is in response to case XXXXXXXX.

Sheet Music Plus is an online worldwide reseller of sheet music. Often time's shipments are delayed in the local country's customs or postal service. We believe this has occurred with to Mr. ******* ************** orders.

We had resolved this issue by refunding the cost of both orders and reshipping both orders via Express Air free of charge.

We had apologized to Mr. *********** and hope that he'll continue to utilize our service in the future.


****** ********
Manager, Customer Service Operations
Sheet Music Plus

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still belive that things would be much easier if Sheet Music Plus just answered their customers' e-mail messages, instead of only accepting to communicate with them if they file a complaint on Better Business Bureau.

The only reply I received to the message I sent on September 22 was that it had "been forwarded to the General Manager", and I got no reply whatsoever to the message I sent on September 26.

I did receive through PayPal a refund of USD 143.53 of the total amount of USD 143.56 originally paid.

I also received via UPS three packages containing the re-shipment of the contents of my two orders.

There are still no news about the four original packages that Sheet Music Plus claims to have shipped previously.

The problem is that UPS charged me USD 66.59 of undue taxes plus 67.59 of fees for their "services", totalling USD 134.18, or BRL 325.92.

I could not find a way of attaching copies of the three UPS invoices to this case, so I uploaded them to XXXXXXXX UPS taxes and fees.pdf.

UPS claims that the description of the contents of the packages, "sheet music, bounded or not bound", does not make it clear that they are in fact books and therefore exempt from taxes.

I had specifically asked Sheet Music Plus that the packages be sent via the United States Postal Service and described with the generic term "books" to avoid such problems that courier services tend to create in *******

I would like to know what Sheet Music Plus has to offer regarding this problem, so that we can resolve this dispute.

I would even agree to pay the questionable taxes, if they agree to pay at least the UPS service fees.


******* ***********

Final Consumer Response
On October 15, I received a message from Mr. ****** ********* the Manager of Customer Operations of Sheet Music Plus, offering a gift certificate in the value of USD 135.00 to compensate for the undue taxes and service fees I had to pay.

I wrote back on October 24, but so far received no reply.

This is the contents of my message, a copy of which I am also attaching to this case:

Original Message
From: ******* *********** mailto:************
Sent: sexta-feira, 24 de outubro de XXXX XX:XX
To: 'Order Escalation'
Subject: RE: Sheet Music Plus: Message Received RE: Tracking information

Dear ****** *********

I appreciate the efforts that Sheet Music Plus is making to compensate for the problems I had with my orders.

I never received the messages dated September 24 and 26 that you attached to this message.

As a matter of fact, this is the first message I ever received from ***********

I have checked my junk e-mail folder, and I have no active spam filters in my mailbox.

I now read that on September 26 you wrote "if you happen to incur customs fees, please let us know".

And, in reply to my question on Better Business Bureau case number XXXXXXXX about the USD 134.18 of undue taxes and service fees I had to pay to UPS, that you have issued a gift certificate in the amount of USD 135.00.

That leaves me with the same problem: that I might never receive the new order, or have to pay undue taxes and service fees again.

So, if I accept the gift certificate and place a new order, can you guarantee that it will be sent by a reliable, trackable shipping method?

Also, can you guarantee that the contents of the packages will be clearly described as "books", which are exempt from taxes in Brazil, and not as "sheet music, bounded or not bound" or something else?

Finally, can you also guarantee that, if you fail to do so and I have to pay undue taxes and service fees to UPS or another courier company, you will make a full refund of that amount to my PayPal account?


******* ***********

Dear Ms. ***** ******,

My name is ******* ***********.

On September 19, 2014, I filed a complaint against Sheet Music Plus, which received case number XXXXXXXX.

On October 2, they sent a response, which was forwarded to me.

On October 8, I sent my rebuttal, but received no notification ever since that they had responded to it.

I recently noticed that in my case there was an entry named "More info received from the consumer (10/28/2014)", which was in fact a fax that Sheet Music Plus would have sent to BBB on October 23.

On October 31, I replied to it, but since it was not listed as a response from business, my reply also appears as More info received from the consumer (10/31/2014)".

Could you please make sure that my last reply gets forwarded to the Sheet Music Plus?

I tried several times to contact them by e-mail in vain, and they only seem to respond when contacted through Better Business Bureau.


******* ***********

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
02/25/2013Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Music - Sheet

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/09/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 2000, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Sokoff (Controller)Ms. Jenny Silva (CEO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Internet Services, Music - Sheet

Alternate Business Names
NoteAble Holdings, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sheet Music Plus has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sheet Music Plus

1300 64th St

Emeryville, CA 94608-1107

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1300 64th St 

    Emeryville, CA 94608-1107(800) 743-3868
    (510) 420-7160

  • 1322 Pacific Ave 

    San Francisco, CA 94109-2718

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sheet Music Plus is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 743-3868

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Internet Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.