BBB Accredited Business since

Sheet Music Plus

Additional Locations

Phone: (510) 420-7160 Fax: (510) 373-6520 View Additional Phone Numbers 1300 64th St, Emeryville, CA 94608 http://www.sheetmusicplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers large selections of sheet music, specializing in music books, sheets, scores, choral sheet music, song books, and much more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheet Music Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sheet Music Plus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Sheet Music Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 1998 Business started: 09/21/2000 in CA Business started locally: 09/21/2000 Business incorporated 09/21/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shreya Jain, Controller Ms. Jenny Silva, CEO Mr. Mike Swelstad, Assisant Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Customer Service, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Internet Services Music - Sheet

Service Area
This business service area covers: US and Internationally.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sheet Music Plus has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1300 64th St

    Emeryville, CA 94608 (800) 743-3868 (510) 420-7160

  • 1322 Pacific Ave

    San Francisco, CA 94109

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sheet Music Plus has promised a refund on a May 2nd, 2015 undelivered order since July 21st, 2015. Order #: XXXXXXXXX Amount: $27.49 Item: Score of Bruckner's Symphony No. 2

Desired Settlement: They claim the difficulty is that I purchased the item through PayPal and that by the time they notified me that the item was unavailable, Paypal's window for reimbursement had passed. They ask for MY understanding! As I see it, this is NOT my problem!

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/12/23) */ Yes, they have FINALLY reimbursed me! I will not doing business with them in the near...or even distant future. Thanks for your efforts on my behalf! ******* ********* **** **** ****** Dr ********* ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Waited over 3 weeks for my order, they were unable to give me any type of update. Requested refund and was only given partial. Item never received. 9/4/15 Placed order on their website. Item showed in stock and order confirmation showed item would ship out within 24hrs. 9/11/15 Order status shows item not yet shipped. Called customer service and they said that said item was on back order and would take 2-3 to ship out. 9/29/15 Still no update. Called again. Customer service has no idea what is going on with my order. Said they would call me back or email me. 9/30/15 Called again and still nobody knows what my order status is. Requested to cancel my order and a refund. 10/1/15 Partial refund given. This is a joke. Not once did they reach out to me to say "Hey, your item is backordered" or "Here is the update. We expect it to be shipped on on X date". Extremely poor service. Not once they did reach out to me. And then they have the audacity to only give me a partial refund. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Paypal

Desired Settlement: I want the rest of my money refunded.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2015/10/30) */ Finally after waiting almost a month they refunded the rest of my money. Extremely poor customer service. Their accreditation with the BBB should be revoked. If this is the type of business that is in good standing with the BBB, then being an accredited business with the BBB means nothing. This company can not be trusted to do the most simple customer service tasks.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchased sheet music. However, we were not able to print it out with any browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari). The website required a special plug-in to print the music (there was no warning of this before purchase). Chrome and Firefox deemed this plug in too insecure to run. We were concerned about malicious downloads.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be refunded for the sheet music which we are unable to print/use.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2015/02/06) */ From: ********* ****** (mailto:****************@gmail.com) Sent: Friday, February 06, XXXX X:XX PM To: ******* ****** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX Yes- the business contacted me and this is resolved :) *********

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my orders on July 24 and August 5, 2014, but received none of the packages within the estimated delivery dates. I placed order number XXXXXXXXX in the amount of US$ 109.81 on July 24, 2014, and order number XXXXXXXXX in the amount of US$ 33.75 on August 5, 2014. Both payments were made through PayPal, and received Transaction ID numbers 50CXXXXXLXXXXXXXX and 7NYXXXXXNXXXXXXXX, respectively. SheetMusicPlus claims that the contents of order number XXXXXXXXX were shipped in 3 packages, and of order number XXXXXXXXX in 1 package. The estimated delivery dates were between August 8 and August 22 for 2 packages, between August 20 and September 4 for 1 package, and between August 21 and September 12 for the last one. On September 12 I wrote to ******@sheetmusicplus.com and notified them that I had received none of the packages, but received only an automated answer saying that I should "expect a response from one of our team members within 1 business day", which never happened. Although they claim to have sent those packages by "Standard Air", they have refused so far to provide me with the United States Postal Service label numbers so that I could track them or contact my local postal service.

Desired Settlement: I therefore ask for the cancellation of orders number XXXXXXXXX and XXXXXXXXX, and a full refund of the total amount of US$ 143.56 paid through PayPal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/02) */ Case XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ***** ******, This letter is in response to case XXXXXXXX. Sheet Music Plus is an online worldwide reseller of sheet music. Often time's shipments are delayed in the local country's customs or postal service. We believe this has occurred with to Mr. ******* ************** orders. We had resolved this issue by refunding the cost of both orders and reshipping both orders via Express Air free of charge. We had apologized to Mr. *********** and hope that he'll continue to utilize our service in the future. Sincerely, ****** ******** Manager, Customer Service Operations Sheet Music Plus Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still belive that things would be much easier if Sheet Music Plus just answered their customers' e-mail messages, instead of only accepting to communicate with them if they file a complaint on Better Business Bureau. The only reply I received to the message I sent on September 22 was that it had "been forwarded to the General Manager", and I got no reply whatsoever to the message I sent on September 26. I did receive through PayPal a refund of USD 143.53 of the total amount of USD 143.56 originally paid. I also received via UPS three packages containing the re-shipment of the contents of my two orders. There are still no news about the four original packages that Sheet Music Plus claims to have shipped previously. The problem is that UPS charged me USD 66.59 of undue taxes plus 67.59 of fees for their "services", totalling USD 134.18, or BRL 325.92. I could not find a way of attaching copies of the three UPS invoices to this case, so I uploaded them to https://www.dropbox.com/s/qxkf3u2chb97jag/Case_XXXXXXXX_UPS_taxes_and_fees.pdf. UPS claims that the description of the contents of the packages, "sheet music, bounded or not bound", does not make it clear that they are in fact books and therefore exempt from taxes. I had specifically asked Sheet Music Plus that the packages be sent via the United States Postal Service and described with the generic term "books" to avoid such problems that courier services tend to create in ******* I would like to know what Sheet Music Plus has to offer regarding this problem, so that we can resolve this dispute. I would even agree to pay the questionable taxes, if they agree to pay at least the UPS service fees. Sincerely, ******* *********** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/11/20) */ On October 15, I received a message from Mr. ****** ********* the Manager of Customer Operations of Sheet Music Plus, offering a gift certificate in the value of USD 135.00 to compensate for the undue taxes and service fees I had to pay. I wrote back on October 24, but so far received no reply. This is the contents of my message, a copy of which I am also attaching to this case: Original Message From: ******* *********** mailto:************@terra.com.br Sent: sexta-feira, 24 de outubro de XXXX XX:XX To: 'Order Escalation' Subject: RE: Sheet Music Plus: Message Received RE: Tracking information Dear ****** ********* I appreciate the efforts that Sheet Music Plus is making to compensate for the problems I had with my orders. I never received the messages dated September 24 and 26 that you attached to this message. As a matter of fact, this is the first message I ever received from ***********@sheetmusicplus.com. I have checked my junk e-mail folder, and I have no active spam filters in my mailbox. I now read that on September 26 you wrote "if you happen to incur customs fees, please let us know". And, in reply to my question on Better Business Bureau case number XXXXXXXX about the USD 134.18 of undue taxes and service fees I had to pay to UPS, that you have issued a gift certificate in the amount of USD 135.00. That leaves me with the same problem: that I might never receive the new order, or have to pay undue taxes and service fees again. So, if I accept the gift certificate and place a new order, can you guarantee that it will be sent by a reliable, trackable shipping method? Also, can you guarantee that the contents of the packages will be clearly described as "books", which are exempt from taxes in Brazil, and not as "sheet music, bounded or not bound" or something else? Finally, can you also guarantee that, if you fail to do so and I have to pay undue taxes and service fees to UPS or another courier company, you will make a full refund of that amount to my PayPal account? Sincerely, ******* *********** Dear Ms. ***** ******, My name is ******* ***********. On September 19, 2014, I filed a complaint against Sheet Music Plus, which received case number XXXXXXXX. On October 2, they sent a response, which was forwarded to me. On October 8, I sent my rebuttal, but received no notification ever since that they had responded to it. I recently noticed that in my case there was an entry named "More info received from the consumer (10/28/2014)", which was in fact a fax that Sheet Music Plus would have sent to BBB on October 23. On October 31, I replied to it, but since it was not listed as a response from business, my reply also appears as More info received from the consumer (10/31/2014)". Could you please make sure that my last reply gets forwarded to the Sheet Music Plus? I tried several times to contact them by e-mail in vain, and they only seem to respond when contacted through Better Business Bureau. Sincerely, ******* ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Sheet Music Plus
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart