BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2012

Indiegogo

Phone: (866) 641-4646

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

93 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 50 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues12
Billing / Collection Issues8
Delivery Issues19
Problems with Product / Service54
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints93

Additional Complaint Information

Consumer complaints state concerns with paying money to fund projects for products that do not end up being made. Consumers do not receive the product they paid to fund or a refund.

Per Indiegogo:

Indiegogo is a platform that empowers people to mobilize the global community to fund their ideas and share in their successes. Whether a campaign is entrepreneurial, creative or cause-related, Indiegogo is open to anyone ready to act on their aspirations. This gives our community the chance to fund what they care about most, without having to conform to any mold.

Many campaigns offer perks in exchange for different contribution amounts. It's important to note that Indiegogo is not able to guarantee that perks will be delivered or deemed satisfactory.

Indiegogo encourages all potential contributors carefully evaluate campaigns prior to contributing. We've compiled a list of considerations for you to use as a starting point: http://support.indiegogo.com/hc/en-us/articles/526816-How-to-Evaluate-a-Campaign

The nature of crowdfunding is such that campaigns on Indiegogo are raising funds for work-in-progress projects, ideas, or causes. Claiming a perk on Indiegogo is not the same as buying something online. Because projects may still be in their early stages, many things can happen between the time the project is raising funds and the expected project release date. While your contribution brings the campaign idea closer to becoming reality, there's always the chance that a project may end up falling through, and the campaign owner may not be able to offer their contributors the perks they'd originally promised. We always recommend opening up a conversation with the campaign owner if you have any question about what will happen to your contribution if the campaign owner is unable to raise the funds they need to complete their project.

For more information, please refer to our Terms of Use (https://www.indiegogo.com/about/terms).

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (93)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No attempt to resolve non delivery of items purchased via website
Indiegogo have supported the selling of products and services via their website. Despite complaining to Indiegogo twice they are not will to resolve the issues. The site has handled the purchase electronically taking money from my self, they have advertised and promoted the products and yet no products have been delivered despite emailing.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of all monies paid via Indiegogo for SOAP Inc - approx $816 in total.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform which empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms.) Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. Although we are unable to refund the contributor's contribution, we have been in touch with this contributor and have shared the campaign owner's contact information with this contributor in an effort to facilitate communication.

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a blanket response from Indiegogo - it may be stated in their terms and conditions. They (Indiegogo) have promoted a third campaign without checking the intentions of SOAP (due diligence), they have taking payment from SOAP (from our payments via their website) - this is an unregulated activity that they are hosting on their system.

User beware - the above site takes no responsibility for any activity on their site that involves their users or provides any due diligence for checking potential campaigns.

Final Business Response
Indiegogo provides an open crowdfunding platform permitting funds to be raised for a wide range of projects in accordance with our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms). Campaigns are run by their individual campaign owner's and not by Indiegogo. Indiegogo does not manage campaigns, nor are perks offered by Indiegogo. Instead, all perks are offers made by Campaign Owners, and we recommend to any contributor who has questions about a campaign's offerings that make inquires of the campaign owner.

People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. Again, Indiegogo does not make claims or verify that a "campaign owner will deliver perks or that contributions will be used as described on the campaign." The decision to contribute to any campaign is in the sole determination of the contributor and their evaluation of the campaign, not Indiegogo. We recommend that each contributor goes through their own vetting process before they decide to contribute. We have compiled a list of how to evaluate a campaing, as a good starting point: https://support.indiegogo.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXX-How-to-Evaluate-a-Campaign

In order to maintain the openness of our platform while protecting the security of our users, Indiegogo uses a proprietary fraud detection algorithm to quickly catch violations or unwanted behavior on our platform. We also rely on our team of Trust and Safety experts to review and verify activity on our platform and take the appropriate action. Finally, we have a fantastic community of users who let us know about suspicious or inappropriate behavior that helps us keep our platform secure.

That said, we appreciate this customers thoughts on Indiegogo's position as an open platform. Indiegogo offers a space for innovation and discovery. Instead we provide a platform where people who are passionate ***** their ideas can connect with funders who believe in their vision. It's a core part of our ethos as a business and we vehemently stand by this belief. Our customers deserve the opportunity to fund ideas they believe in. The crowd is entitled to decide, eyes wide open, what concepts they want to have a part in trying to advance.

04/03/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is about the Soap router campaign on Indiegogo.
This is about the Soap router campaign on Indiegogo, I've contributed $224 and haven't received anything yet. No hardware, no software, nothing. Not even communications about the current plans on fulfilling their commitment.

Desired Settlement
$224

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform which empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use(www.indiegogo.com/about/terms.) Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund.

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.


03/30/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Indiegogo will not enforce their refund policies with a campaign developer.
A campaign for a product listed on Indiegogo has failed. They continue to string along consumers with empty promises and no proof of progress. Following Indiegogo's protocols to request a refund has yielded zero results with all consumers complaining to date. I have personally requested a refund six times with no results. The campaign developer has breached Indiegogo's own policies and Indiegogo does not take down the developer's project, enforce their own policies on the developer or assist in refunding consumer advanced funds.

Desired Settlement
Refund in full of all paid monies.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms). Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. Although we are unable to refund the contributor's contribution, we have been in touch with this to outline that they must contact the campaign owner if they'd like to receive a refund.

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They've done nothing to help get funders refunds. There is no indication of any action. I've contacted the campaign owner multiple times and have received no response. Indiegogo hides behind their platform and washes their hands of helping jilted contributors who are out hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Final Business Response
We understand this customer has a follow up to their initial complaint.

As has been previously outlined, contributions are not refundable by Indiegogo. Our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms) states: "Contributions, including the Service Fees portion thereof, are not refundable. If a Campaign Owner is unable to perform on any promise and/or commitment to Contributors (including delivering any Perks), the Campaign Owner will work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include the issuance of a refund of Contributions by the Campaign Owner."
Therefore, we recommend this contributor work with the campaign owner on their refund request.

Finally, it's important to note that contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might experience delays, changes to their original vision, or may ultimately not come to fruition. We recommend each contributor complete his or her own personal vetting process before deciding to contribute to any campaign. We have tips on how to evaluate a campaign, as a starting point, in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were selling an invisible hearing aid, 7ml long, with rechargeable battery and so on, and now they are telling us that things have changed
I tried to buy a nanoplug hearing aid, that claimed to be the smallest, and also said that was a rechargable battery, and you could set it up with your own computer at home, and now they just send us an email telling us that they have changed the design and the battery is no longer rechargable because the CE mark asked them to do that, but it's ridiculous that they chage this after selling thousands!!! I paid $399.00 and now I don't even know what's going on,and I've tried to reach somebody at indiegogo and they have no answers. the payment was thru paypal

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. Contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might experience delays, changes to their original vision, or not come to fruition. We recommend each contributor complete his or her own personal vetting process before deciding to contribute to any campaign. We have tips on how to evaluate a campaign, as a starting point, in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms.) Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. While we are unable to issue a refund for this contribution, we have provided the campaign owner's contact information to this contributor in an effort to facilitate communication.

We also understand from this campaign's recent update that they will be working directly with contributors to facilitate a resolution to their concerns. We recommend this customer review said update and get in touch with the campaign owner, directly. The update can be seen, here: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/nanoplug-the-world-s-first-invisible-hearing-aid/#activity

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand that indiegogo is not the one to blame about this scam, but it's amazing that the would put their hand on fire for nanoplug, because this has been a scam, yes we were backing up a project, but because of the information shown on indiegogo website, we decided to back that up!!! and the hearing aid they were showing suppose it was already tried, that means it was possible to make, so we don't know how do you promote people to go and help nanoplug without making your own reseach about the product, and the worst is that nanoplug are trying to give us a cheaper chinese version, bigger and already on the market!!! We as indiegogo supporter don't understad why indiegogo would just watch a fake company use their plataform and steal over 200,000 dollars without doing anything

03/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Indiegogo has permitted SOAP Inc. to start a new (3rd) crowdfunding campaign event though admin were scam artists
Soap Inc has change perks scope after Indiegogo campaign completion (from hardware+software product to soft and off-the-shelf hardware). Proof have been made by several articles that Soap Inc administrators we're not trustable (CEPro.com search SOAP or ***** ******** articles). Even with this knowledge publicly available (plus Indiegogo's SOAP campaign platform) and the fact that SOAP administrators posted intention to start a third campaign on Indiegogo to reimburse backers not satisfied with the new SOAP's orientation, Indiegogo permitted SOAP to make a 3rd campaign that was literally a Ponzi chain (taking money from peoples to reimburse others). Indiegogo has not done it's due diligence before letting SOAP make it's 3rd campaign (or maybe scampaign is more the right term). Indiegogo as made itself an accomplice of a Ponzi chain by letting SOAP start over a new campaign mainly for reimbursing 2nd campaign mad backers.

Desired Settlement
I want Indiegogo to reimbursed my 335 US$.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them, and in turn allows contributors to help fund ideas that they would like to see happen.

Campaigns are not run by Indiegogo, but instead are run by their individual campaign owners. Contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. We encourage each contributor to research the campaign before they decide to contribute and have tips, on how to evaluate a campaign, as a starting point, in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use www.indiegogo.com/about/terms. Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. Although we are unable to refund the contributor's contribution, this contributor has the campaign owner's contact information to facilitate communication.

As Indiegogo does not run campaigns, the campaign owner is the party solely responsible for their campaign and who has the information on what they plan to ship, and when they will be shipping out perks. The campaign's Updates tab is the best place to get the most up-to-date information from the campaign owner, including a recent post where they outline that they plan to ship out hardware to those contributors who claimed hardware: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/it-s-a-router-it-s-a-android-tablet-it-s-home-automation-its-soap#activity

Finally, by creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Let's see if either of SOAP campaigns can deliver their perks as Indiegogo stated as backing up SOAP.

Page 1 of 13
04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudulent campaign allowed to run and Indiegogo refuse to even acknowledge they owe refund on non-delivery of goods.
$282 paid to Indiegogo (paypal transaction 1HAXXXXXYLXXXXXXW )for SOAP campaign perk (https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/it-s-a-router-it-s-a-android-tablet-it-s-home-automation-its-soap/x/XXXXXXX).

Every communication has resulted in Indiegogo responding they hold no responsibility even though money was paid to them. They insist in contacting the campaign owners directly even though since it appears to have been fraudulent they have to all intents and purposes disappeared. I paid $282 on the expectation of at least a chance to receive hardware devices as described but it is now certain I will receive nothing and Indiegogo believe that perks do not have to be fulfilled at all, nor did they do any diligence checks on the campaign or they would have seen all the founders had declared bankruptcy just before starting it. And in fact their competitor Kickstarter ejected the same founders for this reason before they tried on Indiegogo. If I had known about these risks beforehand I would not have given my order and sent my money.

Desired Settlement
$282 refund, solely the amount I paid and received nothing for.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them, and in turn allows contributors to help fund projects they'd like to see come to fruition. Contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. We have tips on how to evaluate a campaign in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use posted at www.indiegogo.com/about/terms. Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. Although we are unable to refund the contributor's contribution, we have been in touch with this contributor and have shared the campaign owner's contact information with this contributor in an effort to facilitate communication.

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My money was paid to Indiegogo that means my transaction was with them. I have no alternate route to get a refund, as Indiegogo are well aware I've stated numerous times to them that there is no response from the campaign owner despite Indiegogo collaborating with them still by allowing them to set up another campaign. The only route for communication is through Indiegogo (who were the recipients of my money directly) and they refuse to communicate to the campaign owner on my behalf, thereby cutting me off from any other resolution. Providing me with email addresses that have no response is not sufficient. Indiegogo claim they are adhering to their terms of service but their TOS also state that failure of campaign owners to attempt to provide paid for perks results in closing of their account, instead Indiegogo are colluding with them to further create more campaigns to bring in more funds.

Final Business Response
As previously outlined, contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo. Our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms) outlines: "Contributions, including the Service Fees portion thereof, are not refundable"

Per our Terms of Use we have provided this contributor with the contact information of the owner of this campaign in an effort to facilitate communication. We recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every attempt to explain to Indiegogo that there is no successful communication with the campaign owner has been met with sending me the same non-working email addresses again and again. Indiegogo may be in communication with the campaign owners but there's no response from the contact details they provided to me. I do not believe the terms of use are relevant when there has been negligence on Indiegogo's part in allowing a fraudulent campaign to take place on their platform. Despite being warned of the fraudulent campaign Indiegogo continued to help the same campaign owner mount another fraudulent campaign after this one. I believe this amounts to demonstrating collusion if not negligence, and hence my assertion the terms of use they quote do not apply. This isn't a campaign that failed, but a campaign that wilfully was set up to obtain money through deception, Indiegogo had the capability to prevent this happening in the first place with only reasonable checks required. There is nothing in the Terms of Use disavowing Indiegogo responsibility for fraudulent transactions.

04/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
One of Indegogo's members/advertisers is Soap, which advertised a hardware product that has not materialized. Indegogo will not help recover.
An Indegogo member company, Soap. Soap advertised home control hardware products. Delivery dates have come and gone. Recently, Soap announced that they abandoned the hardware products and would deliver software. Many of us contributors were very disappointed and many have asked for a refund (mine should be the $819 I paid Soap) and almost none have received refunds. It appears the Soap principles absconded with the funds. Indegogo refuses to help in this matter and is ignoring us.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking refund of the total $819.00 I paid to Soap for hardware products that Soap refuses to deliver.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them, and in turn allows contributors to help fund ideas that they would like to see happen.

Campaigns are not run by Indiegogo, but instead are run by their individual campaign owners. Contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. We encourage each contributor to research the campaign before they decide to contribute and have tips, on how to evaluate a campaign, as a starting point, in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use posted at www.indiegogo.com/about/terms. Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. Although we are unable to refund the contributor's contribution, this contributor has the campaign owner's contact information to facilitate communication.

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Indiegogo has done nothing to help all us defrauded Soap, Inc contributors. Indiegogo ignores the many complaints from Soap contributors about Soap's fradulent behavior. I have read of other Indiegogo campaigns that have gone the way of Soap and Indiegogo has done nothing to stop such campaigns.

Final Business Response
Indiegogo provides an open crowdfunding platform permitting funds to be raised for a wide range of projects in accordance with our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms). Campaigns are run by their individual campaign owner's and not by Indiegogo. Indiegogo does not manage campaigns, nor are perks offered by Indiegogo. Instead, all perks are offers made by Campaign Owners, and we recommend to any contributor who has questions about a campaign's offerings that make inquires of the campaign owner.

People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. Again, Indiegogo does not make claims or verify that a "campaign owner will deliver perks or that contributions will be used as described on the campaign." The decision to contribute to any campaign is in the sole determination of the contributor and their evaluation of the campaign, not Indiegogo. We recommend that each contributor goes through their own vetting process before they decide to contribute. We have compiled a list of how to evaluate a campaing, as a good starting point: https://support.indiegogo.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXX-How-to-Evaluate-a-Campaign

In order to maintain the openness of our platform while protecting the security of our users, Indiegogo uses a proprietary fraud detection algorithm to quickly catch violations or unwanted behavior on our platform. We also rely on our team of Trust and Safety experts to review and verify activity on our platform and take the appropriate action. Finally, we have a fantastic community of users who let us know about suspicious or inappropriate behavior that helps us keep our platform secure.

That said, we appreciate this customers thoughts on Indiegogo's position as an open platform. Indiegogo offers a space for innovation and discovery. Instead we provide a platform where people who are passionate ***** their ideas can connect with funders who believe in their vision. It's a core part of our ethos as a business and we vehemently stand by this belief. Our customers deserve the opportunity to fund ideas they believe in. The crowd is entitled to decide, eyes wide open, what concepts they want to have a part in trying to advance.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Indiegogo's response was very predictable: hands-off, we're not responsible. Despite the fact the Soap, Inc and other Indiegogo's clients have been shown to be frauds, Indiegogo will do nothing to police its client fund raisers, and will do nothing to stop a fund raiser once the evidence shows fraud.

04/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NANOPLUG worlds first hearing aid, programmable,recharable battery etc. purchased 2. new update giving us BEE 2, someone elses product.bait & switch
Purchased 2 NANOPLUG hearing aids, described as per their campaign and specs are easily accessible via simple web search on many news pages. for myself on DEC 20,XXXX XXX$ USD pledged to purchase development and shipping of 2 NANOPLUG'S. Campaign total reaching 293,426 USD. Yesterday March 4th, 2015 Nanoplug Update says they finished the "new and required Design" however that design is a picture copy of a product already in existence called the "Bee 2" see below: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/nanoplug-the-world-s-first-invisible-hearing-aid/x/XXXXXXX#activity

http://advancedhearing.com/hearing-aids/bee-ii-800-cic-digital-hearing-aid

this is outright grand fraud. although indiegogo isnt responsible for the company's actions directly, they have financially benefited from this deception. Proceeds of crime, doesn't abolish the action. my credit card company would go after indiegogo to re-coupe the funds. pass *** buck to have me chase after the person who's campaign it is will Yield fruitless.



ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: R.C.M.P, and Bank Of Montreal

Desired Settlement
refund of my money invested. Indiegogo provided the place for the crime, took part in the profits and should't be exonerated due to lack of proper filtering techniques. your an accomplice or a real business. prove my assumption wrong. Either way I will be filing reports with every agency I can contact. How much money and how long until INTERPOL gets involved?

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. Contributing to a campaign on Indiegogo is not the same thing as making a purchase in a store. People can raise money for various things, and be at various stages of their project. Contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made project. Like anyone contributing to an early-stage project, you accept the risk that the project might experience delays, changes to their original vision, or not come to fruition. We recommend each contributor complete his or her own personal vetting process before deciding to contribute to any campaign. We have tips on how to evaluate a campaign, as a starting point, in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-how-to-evaluate-a-campaign.

Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms.) Therefore, we recommend the contributor reach out directly to the campaign owner if they are interested in receiving a refund. We also understand from this campaign's recent update that they will be working directly with contributors to facilitate a resolution to their concerns. We recommend this customer review said update and get in touch with the campaign owner, directly. The update can be seen, here: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/nanoplug-the-world-s-first-invisible-hearing-aid/#activity

By creating a campaign on Indiegogo, the campaign owner agrees to use funds and fulfill all perks as stated in their campaign. If, for any reason, they are unable to use Contributions as described in their Campaign, they agree to work with the Contributors to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution, which may include refunding their Contributions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company lied right from the start, the NanoPlug team hasn't replied or given any refunds. Their most recent communication was to offer refund taxed very heavily without valid proof or reason. There is a team of us sharing knowledge on a private forum as in the link to the site on indiegogo has had very good information from one of the NanoPlug members saying he got scammed too. This of course was all deleted. Good thing we created a private forum and kept copies of everything.

Please refund me on the same premise you did another forum member, same investigation should yield the same results.

"We've finished our initial investigation regarding your disputed transaction of $399.00 from INDIEGOGO XXX-XXX-XXXX. During our investigation, we notified the merchant of your request and asked them to respond. At this time we have either not received a response from the merchant, or the response we received did not validate the charge. Accordingly, we are resolving the dispute in your favor. We have adjusted the temporary credit we previously applied to your account to reflect that it came from INDIEGOGO XXX-XXX-XXXX and have sent the merchant a second notice."

Final Business Response
We understand this customer has additional concerns regarding this matter. The quote posted from this customer is not from Indiegogo and we cannot comment on messages sent to other contributors by third party sources.

That said, as previously outlined, contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo. Our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms) states: "Contributions, including the Service Fees portion thereof, are not refundable."
As such, we recommend this customer get in touch with the campaign owner if interested in receiving a refund.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Nanoplug.co website has had all info removed from it. Further, a Whois search, shows the Nanoplug website was closed down so no email could pass ******* on March 16, 2015. NANOPLUG told people to email her requests for a refund- but obviously now, no mail can pass ************* Exhibit Ex 03 d 5a: website as it looked a few days ago. All previous info is now gone.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2003d%205a%20Nano%20Screenshot%20from%XXXXXX-XX-XX.png

See Exhibit Ex 03 d 5b: website WHOIS analysis from end of February showing nanoplug.co was active.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2003d%205b%20nanoplug.co-whois-4Mar2015.png

See Exhibit Ex 03 d 5c: website WHOIS analysis March 17 showing nanoplug.co was not allowing traffic. Email shutdown.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2003d%205c%20nanoplug.co-whois-current-address-XXXXXXXX.png

Countless people have requested a refund from her, and to date, no one has reported to have received a penny. The only people who have claimed to have gotten their money back was by the charge card company protecting their customers- not by Nanoplug, and not by Indiegogo.

From an update: "...we hired China company who can do that...and it is similar as Bee that has the same functions, the design is similar... Also, aid has the same chip and the same function as well as Bee2." But the included photo was clearly a BEE II!

The Bee II, referenced in text and shown in a photo in the Nanoplug update, is of Chinese origin.

It is NOT tiny in size to fit hidden in ear canal, is NOT user programmable, does NOT have rechargeable batteries. The BEE II is a cheap listening device that is a far cry from the user-
programmable, state-of-the art equipment that purchasers were first shown and promised.

BAIT AND SWITCH FRAUD

See Exhibit Ex 04 a: Nanoplug updates showing the switch. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2004%20a%20Nanoplug%20update%20page.doc

See Exhibit Ex 04 b: website showing where scammer probably got the image jpeg she used

showing the "new" Nanoplug- which is really just a BEE II.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2004%20b%20Screenshot%20from%XXXXXX-XX-XX.png

See Exhibit Ex 04 c: A direct comparison showing Nanoplug updates image and the image of a BEE II. Clearly this is the SAME image.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2004%20c%20image%20comparison.doc

In fact, when purchased in quantity, the BEE II may be purchased from the Chinese company ALIBABA.COM for only FIVE dollars. Yes, FIVE dollars!

See Exhibit Ex 04 d: Alibaba website showing BEE II can be purchased for $5 in large quantity.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2004%20d%20Alibaba%20Screenshot%20from%XXXXXX-XX-XX.png

Thus, since evidence suggests that NO working Nanoplug ever existed to start with, the owner

has clearly engaged in a "bait and switch" scam. The bait was a revolutionary Nanoplug. The switch was a $5 cheap BEE II.

See Exhibit Ex 04 e: Nanoplug vs BEE. What was promised vs what is the substitute.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2004%20e%20Nano%20vs%20Bee.jpg

I contacted Nanoplug again through the Contact link on Indiegogo and requested a full refund. I also sent an email to the advertised address. I have heard nothing back.

https://www.indiegogo.com/trust

They claim to be able to detect fraud.
They claim to want people to report fraud (Nanoplug people have REPEATEDLY reported this).
They claim to "review" and "take action" but even with all evidence, they refuse to protect those
scammed. There is NO EVIDENCE Indiegogo has done ANYTHING except take people's money.

One of the product designers on the team, a Mr. ****** ***, states that he received someunassembled components but had no means to verify their functionality. He also states that he was never paid for his work on the project (5%) and now believes his former employers are dishonest. He further stated that he made the videos at the direction of the Nanoplug owner, including the use of actors as opposed to real people with a real Nanoplug to test.

See Exhibit Ex 03 c 1: postings by ****** ***
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2003c%201%20Jongha%20Postings.doc

See Exhibit Ex 02 d: Nanoplug "development team" from Indiegogo site- this info is now GONE.The two people of importance are Nevena Zivic and the designer she *************** ***.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2002%20d%20Nanoplug-Team.jpg

The Nanoplug owner actually removed negative comments from her Indiegogo site as an attempt
to stem the growing criticism. Including and especially, the posted comments of ****** *** (her
designer/promoter) who says he now believes he and all of us have been scammed.

See Exhibit Ex 03 c 1 (mentioned above): postings by ****** ***. These postings have all been
deleted and may not be found on the Nanoplug Indiegogo comments page.

Further, she has removed access to the videos promoting the product. You can no longer play
them from the Nanoplug sites.

Furthermore, I assert that Indiegogo actually FASCILITATES fraud. They encourage people to always "communicate with the project people." But in this case, when buyers asked challenging questions on the Nanoplug public discussion board, noted inconsistencies, requested proof for dubious claims, and even made accusations- the Nanoplug people were allowed to DELETE those comments
This is a contradiction in Indiegogo's stated purpose of communication and protection.And worse still, this action HELPS people commit fraud using Indiegogo. Indiegogo is culpable,The platform is RIPE for fraud.

When people were reporting to Indiegogo that there appears to be fraudulent activity with Nanoplug, and those reports increased- Why did Indiegogo
allow the Nanoplug people to DELETE the Nanoplug Team page?

thus allowing the scammers to hide their identities? If Indiegogo REALLY wanted to
protect consumers, they would have a mechanism in place to archive evidence and prevent deleting evidence and information by the scammers.

And lastly, Mr. *** ********* did in fact file a fraud report with Indiegogo all the way back on November 21st This again is damning evidence that Indiegogo was warned that that the Nanoplug project
was fraudulent.

See Exhibit Ex 06: Indiegogo email to Mr. ********* (victim) showing they received his fraud report and were aware of potential problems as far back as November 21, 2014.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/XXXXXXXX/Nanoplug/Ex%2006%20First-Red-Flag-Indiegogo-XXXXXXXX.png

This was when the fundraising for Nanoplug was still open.

As an end result, despite Indiegogo's claims of Trust and Fraud protection, the reality is that
they are assuming no responsibility at all and their claims of protection for users of their site
are worthless and even farcical. All of the evidence I shown indicates they actually aid
and abet FRAUD! I am not accusing Indiegogo of fraud. But the evidence shows they turn a blind eye and do nothing- thus aiding and abetting the fraud of others. All while they promise to protect users of their site.

Given the fraud described above, I am writing to request redress in the form of a full refund of
the money paid to Indiegogo, Nanoplug's effective representative, promoter and sales portal.

Victims of this malicious fraud have been meeting together and sharing information in an effort to get their money back, without whom I would not have had the information provided above and other things not included but links can be provided.

04/03/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
IndieGogo collected profit off 5 different campaigns held by the same individual totaling more than $1XXXXX but didn't deliver on any.
IndieGoGo not only allowed the same individual run 5 fraud campaigns, but they continued too allow him to rip consumers off big time because they profit regardless. This business needs to be inspected by the FBI and would be a great candidate for the show 'American Greed.'

Desired Settlement
I want my contribution back, but even more I want them to be stopped from continuing this scam they call a business.

Business Response
Indiegogo is an open platform that permits campaign owners to raise funds for a wide range of projects in accordance with our Terms of Use (www.indiegogo.com/about/terms). Contributions made through Indiegogo are transactions that take place between the campaign owner, contributor, and payment processor, and are non-refundable by Indiegogo, as stated in our Terms of Use. Indiegogo does not manage campaigns; instead, Campaign Owners run and are responsible for their own campaigns.

It is important to note that contributors are backing an idea, not purchasing a pre-made product. Indiegogo does not make claims or verify that a campaign owner will deliver perks and instead recommends that each contributor go through their own vetting process before they decide to contribute. We have compiled a list of how to evaluate a campaign, as a good starting point: https://support.indiegogo.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXX-How-to-Evaluate-a-Campaign

That said, like anyone supporting an early-stage project, contributors accept the risk that the project might not come to fruition. Many campaign owners are able to use the funds raised from their Indiegogo campaign to help bring their ideas into reality. However, there are times when projects do not go according to plan or the campaign owner experiences an insurmountable barrier to completing their project. In all cases, we still require Campaign Owners to be communicative to their contributors, be transparent about the status of their project, and work with their contributors no matter the outcome of their project.

According to our Terms of Use, Indiegogo is under no obligation to mediate campaigner/contributor disputes. With that said, we have attempted to contact the owner of this campaign multiple times, but unfortunately have not received any response. Because this campaign owner has remained unresponsive and has not delivered perks, we have taken measures to ensure that this campaign owner does not raise funds on Indiegogo in the future.

Our Terms of Use (https://www.indiegogo.com/about/terms) binds campaign owners to use funds and deliver any perks as promised in their campaign. You can use our Terms of Use in a court of law should you decide to take legal action.

We have been in touch with this contributor and to facilitate communication we have provided them with the contact information of this campaign owner.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe any company should operate with integrity and good values. It truly saddens me that anyone believes its "okay" to make money off of a fraud. My complaint doesn't stem from the campaign owner running just one campaign and not following through on what he promised, but rather multiple campaigns (I believe it was 5 separate campaigns totaling well over $100,000) from the same owner, in which he did NOT deliver on any of them, but IndieGoGo sure did allow, because they make a great deal of money off of the huge amounts this man raised. I've never felt so robbed by a company. There is absolutely no way that this could be legal. Thankfully, I only lost $60, which honestly isn't a big deal. However, I'm making this complaint to protect others. IndieGoGo is making money off fraud campaigns! Anybody with a brain knows that this is illegal in the United States and I'm sure in the rest of the world too. I hope to bring light to this crowdfunding scheme and put a stop to it once and for all. It'd be one thing if one these fraudulent campaigns, IndieGoGo returned the portion they made to donators, but as we can all see, this certainly isn't in the plans for IndieGoGo. I know very well that some innovations don't work out and even so, cost a considerable amount of money, but its so obvious that this wasn't the case with this campaign owner. He clearly had money pocketing on his mind throughout the whole process. He changed his name, email, and contact info listed in his IndieGoGo profile, he's stopped responding to those who donated, and he apparently won't respond to IndieGoGo either. Innocent? I doubt it. Now, this is where IndieGoGo needs to step in and cough up what they made from ALL of his campaigns, turn him into the FBI, and make sure justice is served. Clearly, though, IndieGoGo is running off plenty of fraud campaigns b/c they won't do the ethical thing with just one campaign. Really? This is unfortunate to say the least. IndieGoGo, you ought to be ashamed of yourselves!

Final Business Response
We understand this customer has additional concerns regarding this matter.

In order to maintain the openness of our platform while protecting the security of our users, Indiegogo uses a proprietary fraud detection algorithm to quickly catch violations or unwanted behavior on our platform. We also rely on our team of Trust and Safety experts to review and verify activity on our platform and take the appropriate action. Finally, we have a fantastic community of users who let us know about suspicious or inappropriate behavior that helps us keep our platform secure.

This campaign owner was complaint with our Terms of Use until they remained unresponsive to contributors and Indiegogo, and did not deliver perks. Because of this, as stated previously, we have taken measures to ensure that this campaign owner does not raise funds on Indiegogo in the future.

Indiegogo offers a space for innovation and discovery. We do not make claims as to whether a project is possible or impossible or whether a campaign can create their products. Instead we provide a platform where people who are passionate ***** their ideas can connect with funders who believe in their vision. It's a core part of our ethos as a business and we vehemently stand by this belief. Our customers deserve the opportunity to fund ideas they believe in. The crowd is entitled to decide, eyes wide open, what concepts they want to have a part in trying to advance.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, IndieGoGo failed to provide a solution. Given that, I am not satisfied with their response. Its truly unacceptable that they are doing this to generous donators. This campaign owner didn't just run one big campaign, take what he could from donators, and run. Even worse, he ran multiple (5 to be exact) campaigns totally more than $100,000. It has become VERY clear that he had no intentions of delivering on his part.

Nonetheless, what most people probably haven't even realized yet is that IndieGoGo makes a great deal of money off these campaigns. Because it is very apparent this campaign is a fraud (i.e. not delivering product, failed promises, changing his contact info including his name on the campaign page, disguising other info, and so on - very clear), not only do I think IndieGoGo should forfeit profits from ALL of his campaigns, but I'm pretty sure its a HUGE crime for them not to. I'm going to get to the bottom of this.

04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Crowdsource Funding site refuses to give me donations made in my name for two whole months. They never gave me the option of a "flexible" fundraiser.
Crowdsource funding site refuses to give me donations made to my campaign for two whole months, when I'm getting evicted in 3 weeks and need the money before then. They do not answer in personal messages, either, they just give ref's to their website. I need my money NOW and want to cancel my campaign and they refuse to. Also, they have manipulated Google so that it doesn't show up complaints about their business. Their website is extremely hard to use and vague and doesn't answer questions. I NEED MY MONEY NOW.

Desired Settlement
I NEED MY MONEY NOW. EITHER THROUGH PAYPAL OR MY BANK.

Business Response
Indiegogo is a global crowdfunding platform that empowers people to raise funds for the things that matter to them. We understand that this campaign owner is concerned about the status of their campaign's disbursement of funds.

Campaign funds raised via Direct Credit Card are disbursed within 15 business days of a campaign's deadline, assuming that the bank account information is complete and accurate. This disbursement timeline is clearly outlined during the campaign creation process. Additionally, all disbursement information is outlined in our Help Center: http://support.indiegogo.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-disbursements-when-do-i-get-my-money.

This campaign owner can expect the funds to be disbursed within 15 business days of their campaign's deadline, and will receive an email notification when the funds have been disbursed.

We have also been in contact with the campaign owner directly in order to clarify this process.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The campaign deadline was not disclosed to either me nor my contributors, thus making the donors extremely angry and are pulling out their money. I have asked that the campaign be CLOSED for emergency needs, and the company can do this but refuses to. They will not swerve from their "campaign deadline" when other funding sites like GoFundMe send you your money right away via PayPal. Why does Indiegogo have to be different? I have told them over and over that I am being evicted BEFORE the "campaign deadline" and I must close the campaign NOW but they only send prolific and vague answers back to me that do not address the problem. I am only asking that they act like other funding sites and refund my money to me NOW which is totally reasonable. Instead, they choose to hold on to my contributions for months on end. I am pursuing this problem further in any way that I can. They are ignoring that it has become an EMERGENCY.

Final Business Response



REPLY::::

We understand that this customer has some additional concerns on this matter, and feedback on our platform.

To address the concern regarding the deadline, the campaign owner is the sole party to choose the deadline of their campaign while they are creating the campaign. Additionally, the deadline is listed publicly on their campaign page for the duration of the campaign funding period.

With regard to the disbursement of funds, Indiegogo clearly outlines how disbursements are processed via which payment processors before the campaign owner launches their campaign. Indiegogo outlines that funds raised via Direct Credit Card will be disbursed to a valid bank account, up to 15 business days after the campaign ends. Additionally, this information is listed on the campaigner Dashboard, and in our Help Center article, here: https://support.indiegogo.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXX
This article outlines:

"...Contributions made by credit card are held until your campaign's deadline and then sent as a lump sum (minus fees) to your bank account via ACH (Automatic Clearing House) or International Wire transfer. Disbursements can take up to 15 business days after your campaign's deadline for the funds to arrive in your bank account, assuming that your bank account information is complete and accurate. You will receive a confirmation email from Indiegogo on the day that your disbursement is sent....."

While we cannot change the disbursement process, we have been in touch with this campaign owner to again clearly outline the disbursement process, as well as where this campaign owner could find this information both before and during their campaign.

Finally, we appreciate this customer's feedback on our disbursement process vs. other crowdfunding platforms. This is valuable feedback as we work to provide the best platform for all our customers.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My account or campaign plainly states now that it is "flexible" funding which means that I get the proceeds of the donations in my PaYPal account as they happen. I have not received one penny of the $275 that I am owed. How can you withhold my campaign donations from me, when the donors are so angry about this? They wanted me to get the funds immediately. How can you rationalize ripping off a customer like you are doing?

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.