BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2005

GoGrid, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (415) 869-7444Fax: (415) 896-7001View Additional Phone Numbers360 Spear St Ste 200, San FranciscoCA 94105-1638

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers internet services, web hosting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2005

BBB has determined that GoGrid, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GoGrid, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: GoGrid failed to provide services as requested, failed to respond to inquires, then sent a unsubstantiated claim to collections and threatened to sue
In or around February 2014, we entered into a term sheet with GoGrid to provide hosting services. GoGrid promised uptimes and load times that met or exceeded industry standards. In reliance upon their promises and representations, we spent thousands of dollars with a systems administrator preparing to migrate to GoGrid's servers. Upon implementation, load times appeared to be unusually slow. We lost sales as a result. We contacted our GoGrid account representative by email and voice messages that went unreturned. As a result, we had to migrate to another service and incur additional costs with our third party systems administrator.

Eventually, on May 2, our system administrator found a different contact at GoGrid to inform him of the problems and that we had been forced to migrate to another server, and confirm termination and ask if anything else was needed. The representative eventually called back and indicated he would talk to management about termination and take care of it and see if there is anything they could do to resolve the issues and reinstate the contract. (The contract did not contain any particular termination limitations or requirements).

We received no further correspondence or phone calls from GoGrid. Then on August 1, 2014, we received a letter from a collections agency on GoGrid's behalf claiming $15,000 was past due. We had not heard anything from GoGrid or its representatives, nor had we ever received any invoices, which was consistent with the termination.

We informed GoGrid of the collections letter and asked them to correct the error. Rather than correct the error, they authorized the collections agency to commence a collections lawsuit, even after indicating they had terminated the contract and without ever providing the promised services, presenting an invoice, or any detailed explanation for the demands for payment.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, Mgr *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@gogrid.com
The customer would have been entitled to a credit for services paid should they have requested it. Policy attached. Customer signed a contract for the services and did not open a case informing us of any shortcomings of services (see attached contract). No evidence on file of any attempt by customer to allow GoGrid to remedy any shortcomings to service. Customer is responsible for balance of contract (see attached terms).

If customer can provide data proving inadequate service level, we will allow dissolution of contracted commitment per the SLA. No credits can be given beyond the terms of the SLA (max 1 month's paid service).

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
GoGrid did not respond to our initial inquiries re problems with service. Only after we were forced to migrate to another service did they respond. At that point we notified GoGrid of shortcomings in phone calls and emails. They indicated verbally they would handle the termination and get back to us if there was any way they could remedy the problems with service and restore the contractual term. They never did. That they have no record on their file is not our fault, but theirs. We have two people on our end who participated in the call.

Their claim now that we were required to open a case in some manner other than sending emails, making phone calls, etc. is not supported by the contract we signed. I do not have copies of whatever policy or terms they provided BBB. They have refused to provide them to me despite multiple requests. In any event, they are not part of the two page contract we signed.

We maintain they should zero out their account and compensate us $5,000 for our losses. Their offer of a 1 month credit is ridiculously insufficient. If this is any indication of their business practice -- that they will make representations on the phone but not carry them out, and attempt to hold customers to terms that were never provided to them, these are deceptive business practices and warrant attention from legal authorities.

Their request for data is silly. We reported the problems at the time. We migrated off their server approximately ten days after migrating onto their server. They know that. They also know that we did not do that to go to a cheaper solution. We went to a solution that was slightly more expensive, in fact. The reason we left in such a short period is because it was not working. I do not know why else they suppose we left.



Final Business Response
Customer contacted us directly on 8/26 and additional remedies were offered on 8/27. See attached thread.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: GoGrid charged my account and refused to cancel my account upon my written request.
Sent two cases requesting cancellation XXXXXXX indicates that services must be cancelled as per my written request. Despite numerous attempts at following up, GoGrid refused to do anything except charge the credit card for more money.

Initial Business Response
Apologies to customer for any misunderstanding of Terms of Service. Customer request for cancel was inside service delivery month. Terms specify no refunds, and this policy can't be changed. However, to provide a superior experience, we are issuing a special refund of two months' service at the demand of the customer and will cancel the service as requested.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They finally listened.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/31/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/18/2012Billing / Collection Issues
12/20/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
11/26/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/15/2003Business started: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Accounting Department
Number of Employees

120

Business Category

Internet Services

Service Area

This business service area covers worldwide.

Alternate Business Names
ServePath, ColoStream, Upstream Networks
Industry Tips
Choosing a Web Hosting Service for your Business Web Site

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GoGrid, LLC

360 Spear St Ste 200

San Francisco, CA 94105-1638

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 360 Spear St Ste 200 

    San Francisco, CA 94105-1638(415) 869-6900
    (415) 869-7444

  • 217071 Filigree Ct 

    Ashburn, VA 20147

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GoGrid, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 321-7284
  • (415) 869-7000
  • (415) 869-6900

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (415) 358-4492
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.