BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers legal information at FreeAdvice.com and Insurance listings of lawyers, expert witnesses and insurance agents at attorneypages.com, expertpages.com and insurancepages.com.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advice Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advice Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advice Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 1996 Business started: 09/11/1991 Business started locally: 09/11/1991 Business incorporated 09/11/1991 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Goldsholle, CEO
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Internet Services News Publications - Trade, Association

Service Area
This company services nationwide.

Additional Locations

  • 2330 Marinship Way Ste 120

    Sausalito, CA 94965

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company advertised my name as a "Crime Scene Expert" on ther web page without my permission a statement which is not true On 12/4/2013 I ran a Google search of my name and found my name listed on expertpages.com as a "Crime Scene Expert" a statement which is not true. The web page also had my personal cell phone listed. The site appeared with the heading Maricopa County Medical Examiner's Office which is where I'm employed as a Medicolegal Death Investigator. I did not nor did the Maricopa County Medical Examiner's Office give permission for the web page to advertise me as an expert for hire. When I contaced the web page a representative stated they made two attempts to contact me by email in 2011 and once in 2012 before making the claim but noted I had not opened the emails. The web page did remove the content at my request but it did cause me to wonder just how many public service personel such as police officers,firemen, prosecutors, judges, and social workers might be having their safety compromised by this web page that feels it has the right to make public their personal information for their own gain. The company could have contacted me by telephone to get my permission and clarify whether the information was correct but they didn't bother in my opinion this is exploitation and this company should receieve some type of poor rating. Thank You ****** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to be investigated for abuses and unfair bussiness practices. They should be forced to obtain permission from people before they advertise them as experts and release their personal information.This practice at the least is unethical

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/10) */ Thank you for forwarding the consumer's complaint to us, and although you told us that no comment was necessary, given the circumstances, we thought it appropriate to respond. We abide by the principle that the customer is always right. However, Mr. ***** has never been a customer of ours, we did not ''advertise'' him on our site, and we gained absolutely nothing from having him on our site, and we fail to see any basis for his complaint. Further, as he acknowledged, once he contacted us and asked us to remove him, we immediately removed all references to him from our site. Our ExpertPages.com unit was the very first online directory of forensic experts, and has been publishing names of our subscribers who are forensic and related experts in a publicly available online list of experts. ExpertPages includes the subscribing expert's full professional profile, listing his or her field of expertise, credentials, education, CV, and accomplishments. We also encourage subscribing experts to authorize us to conduct a background check and actually verify various references and credentials, and we award the experts who have had their credentials verified a badge to that effect on our website. We promote that highly visible and publicly searchable list to law firms, attorneys, insurers and government agencies, generating assignments for the subscribing experts. Several years ago, as a service to attorneys, insurers and experts who use our site and might want to check-out non-subscribing experts, we began to compile a secondary list of other persons, who through our research, or at the suggestion of attorneys and other experts, also have served as forensic consultants or trial experts. The names and profiles on that secondary list are accessible only when an attorney or fellow colleague comes to our website and does a specific search for that person by name. There is no charge to anyone for inclusion on the secondary list. Every profile on that secondary list carries a prominent statement, highlighted in red, that data was obtained from publicly available sources and we have not independently verified any of the information. We also periodically attempt to contact persons whose names appear on the secondary list and ask that they verify the accuracy of the basic information listed. Mr. Scope was emailed at least twice in 2011 and once in 2012 and invited to revise the limited information we have about him, but did not reply to our invitations. We also note that as Mr. ***** maintains online profiles with substantial amounts of personal information, including statements that he is a Death Investigator at the Maricopa County Examiner's Office in Phoenix, we are a bit surprised that he is suggesting that anything we did is different from what he himself has been doing. See, for example, Facebook https://*****************************, and LinkedIn http://**************************?*************************+*****************************************. Thus we are puzzled by his complaint. Regards **** ******, Advice Company Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept their explanation the company could have easily contacted me since they have my telephone number to get my permission to post my name on their web page furthermore what I put on faceebook or other web pages is my bussiness not theirs. The simple fact is THEY DID NOT HAVE MY PERMISSION TO POST MY CELL PHONE NUMBER ON THEIR WEB PAGE AND I AM NOT A CRIME SCENE EXPERT therefore they made false statements regarding my expertise yet they continue to insist what they did is okay why don't they do a survey of public service officials such as police officers, crime scene specialists,ect. and see how many of them want their cell phone numbers listed on their web page obviousley they don't care. Maybe they should all post their own phone numbers if their going to post ours. They admit they sent me emails and since I did not respond to them they just went ahead and did what they wanted when they could have called and asked.They even seem to deny they advertised me on their site in their resposnse my question is then how did it get on their web page and if their not in control of their web page then who is? Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/23) */ The information was obtained by an outside contractor who obtained it from public sources. We had no idea it was his cell phone. As we said in our prior response, when we heard from him we took his information down immediately. While he suggests we should phone people before listing them, our counsel had advised us that approach could violate do not call rules, which is why we rely on email.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Advice Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)