BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2010

asknet, Inc

Phone: (415) 449-5700Fax: (415) 352-2611235 Montgomery St Ste 825, San FranciscoCA 94104-3003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an on-line shopping cart provider for mid to large size companies seeking to increase their online sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2010

BBB has determined that asknet, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised asknet, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on asknet, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized changes to my bank account
This company has fraudulently charged my checking account for 113.78. I have never even heard of this company before this happened!! I checked my bank account the other day and found this charge on my checking and saw the company name! I do not recodnize and I have not ordered anything on line or made any purchases for this amount! I called my bank and made them aware and have to file a dispute and be out of this money till it is settled! I have seen that others have had this same thing happen to them over a span of many years apparently!

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my 113.78 put back into my check account and this company looked into for massive fraud!!

Business Response
I have contacted Ms. ************ by phone regarding this matter as she had contacted us directly questioning this credit card charge. It was confirmed that Ms. ************ seems to have had her credit card account compromised and we have reported this charge to our Payment Services department who will attempt to reverse this charge back to Ms. ***********'s credit card account as soon as possible. Ms. ************ has notified her credit card bank of this and a few other unauthorized charges placed on her credit card and has taken steps to block further unauthorized charges to this credit card account. We will continue to assist Ms. ************ until this matter is completely resolved and her unauthorized charge through one of our Vendor supported online stores is returned to her in full.

Consumer Response
3-3-15

Sent via email:

The situation was resolved. It was a case of "mistaken identity" as they were also victims in a scam that involved my bank acct. If I could I would like retract my complaint if at all possible. Please contact me at this email if any questions. Thank you.
********* ************

From *******

10/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Asknet failed to deliver the Steinberg recording software I bought. CSR ****** in CA refused to make it right. $180 is taken & product not delivered
X-XX-XXXX Invoice # RE-XXXXXXXXXX Supposedly downloadable product failed to download twice. Asked for disc, Asknet (******) refused. I'm out $180. I have forwarded screen shot of the 2 failed download attempts to their complaint dept. No response. I like Steinberg & their products, and truly believe they would not appreciate the unprofessional treatment of Asknet. Worth noting that when I uploaded the screen shot of the failed download attempts I saw where the CA CSR had labeled the case "solved" and apparently closed it. Not sure how "took my money", and "never delivered the product" equals "solved". ******'s supervisor might want to look into that.

Desired Settlement
Please just send the the product I ordered, on a disc, in a box, just like you would if I had never attempted to purchase a download. You cannot deliver a download, but UPS can deliver a disc in a box. I wanted to be using this product on X-XX-XXXX when I paid my money. That obviously didn't happen. Please resolve quickly, as I have a project I need to be doing.

Business Response
The customer purchased a download product of Steinberg's Groove Agent 4 Full Version on September 13, 2014. After not being able to retrieve his download product, the customer contacted asknet Support on Monday, September 15,2014 to request that we send him a box product or CD that contains the program he was unable to retrieve with his download file. This particular Steinberg download product did not come with a backup CD that we could sent to Mr. **********. We created a support ticket and forwarded it to Steinberg Support to see if Steinberg Support could assist Mr. ********** in gaining access to his download purchase. When Steinberg Support did not provide Mr. ********** with an immediate response, Mr. ********** submitted a BBB complaint against asknet demanding a resolution.

Since there was no Backup CD that could be sent to Mr. ********** from our system, our CS Agent correctly informed Mr. ********** that we could not rectify this situation with simply sending him a backup disc containing his installation file for this program. Mr. ********** then demanded that we send him a box product in place of his download purchase. A box product is different than an electronic download version and cannot be switched unless the download version is cancelled and a new box version ordered.

A special attempt was made on September 17, 2014 to call Steinberg Support North America to request direct support be provided to Mr. **********. **** ******* of Steinberg Support contacted Mr. ********** via the phone number that was provided during a phone conversation Mr. ********** had with our support desk on September 17, 2014. **** ******* from Steinberg said he would burn a special CD that is not available for purchase by the public and send it to Mr. ********** to assist him in resolving his download issues.

Asknet represents our vendor customers like Steinberg with their billing and shipping issues for their online store sales. We did our best int this case to contact Steinberg Support on behalf of Mr. ********** to assist him in finding a resolution to his download issues. At this time I believe this issue is closed pending Mr. **********'s receipt of the CD containing his installation files for Groove Agent 4 sent by Steinberg Support NA.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I appreciate that Asknet did have some limited response, the issue is not resolved. **** ******* did call and state he would send the disc image, and I appreciate his and Steinberg's response. However, I still have no discs, and no program. It is now 9-22-2014, nine days later and I still do not have a product I paid for and expected instant access to. My project is nine days older, the money is still nine days out of my account, and I have nothing. This is not resolved. Asknet needs to quit selling what they don't have to sell, and have no means to support.
Please do not close this case.

Final Business Response
We regret to hear that as of September 22, 2014 that Mr. ********** has yet to receive his installation CD from Steinberg Support but I believe this is due to the shipping times required for such a physical delivery to reach Mr. **********. We have contacted Steinberg Support North America to follow up on the status of this CD delivery to Mr. ********** and have confirmed with **** ******* that the disc was sent out on September 20th. If Mr. ********** has not received his CD promised by Steinberg Support we will be happy to assist him with putting him in touch with Steinberg Support North America once more. We do suggest that Mr. ********** contact **** ******* at Steinberg Support North America directly if he has any issues with the contents of installation files burned on the CD.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********* cubase artist 7 software return and refund.
I bought music recording software from ********* online . The music software that came with my alesis mixer would not work with windows 8 operating system, which I currently use. I was told by ********* that I should upgrade to make it work with windows 8, so I upgraded, so I thought. Through numerous emails I had with ********* , I just could not make it work. Now they told me that it is mine now and they can not give me my money back. I have never been able to get it to record any music.

The people at asknet.com , they sell a lot of different software for various companies. They tell me that only "*********" can handle the refunds for their software. ********* is like a brick wall. They will not listen to me and there customer service was terrible. I don't want to deal with them and I can not get there address to complain about them to you so I have gone through asknet.com and they are the ones that are on my billing on my checking account, not *********. They are the ones that took my money.

The purchase date was : 7/3/2013 on my visa card.

Customer Number: ********

The Online order number is: *********

Item number is: *********

This is the Price: ($99.99)

Cubase Artist 7 Upgrade from Sequel 2/3, Cubase SE 3, Studio Case 2, Cubase LE 4/5/6 or
Cubase AI 4/5/6 /

Package version

Shipping 14.99 14.99

Total in USD 114.98

Desired Settlement
I would like to have them supply a shipping package to send their stuff back or pay me an extra amount of money to cover shipping it back to them. I want to be reimbursed for the software that does not support windows 8 operating system. (Current model and operating system) My computer is like 4 months old. I paid $114.98 for the software with shipping, if they paid me that I will ship it back. But I cannot use it as it is now.

Business' Initial Response
asknet reached out to the Mr. ******* to assist him with his request for a refund and return of a used and registered Steinberg box product that, by definition of our return and cancellation policy, a product cannot be returned or refunded once a customer has used and activated the product license key. Returns will be accepted for all unused products where the license key of the product has not been previously activated. asknet has contacted Steinberg directly to request more information on this case to assist the customer. A call to Mr. ******* resulted in Mr. ******* accusing both asknet and Steinberg of trying to intimidate him which has clearly not been the case as both Steinberg and asknet Support have tried to explain to Mr. ******* the reason why his refund request for his Cubase Artist 7 Upgrade box purchase was refused. Steinberg Support has repeatedly requested more information from Mr. ******* and left several voice messages requesting a call back to Steinberg's Support desk. Mr. ******* has not responded back to Steinberg Support as requested. When asked about this situation with Steinberg Support, Mr. ******* alluded to the fact that he has dealt with Steinberg Support enough and now wants his money back for his used and installed software program. Mr. ******* has since stated that he has removed the Cubase Artist 7 Upgrade box program from his computer but this will need to be confirmed by Steinberg Support before any further action can be taken. Mr. ******* has admitted that he did not read the terms and conditions of the purchase agreement he made when he processed his online purchase for this box order. asknet and Steinberg Support prides itself on working with all customers with their support requests assuming that we receive a fair degree of cooperation from the customer seeking assistance. Mr. ******* has requested a refund for a boxed software program that he has already used and registered. As this request falls outside of the terms of our stated refund and cancellation policy, it will need to be reviewed further and ruled upon by the software vendor once the information they have requested has been provided.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
product would not load properly. then had problem getting refund.
customer number XXXXXXXX. item #XXXXXXXXX, Cyperlink media suite 11 ultimate.order number XXXXXXXXX. order date 03/10/2014. credit card.$83.45.called tech support next day. product would not load dialog box said volume missing and files corrupt. this is a brand new dell ****. tech unable to help me he just didnt understand i could not finish loading the product due to error on files already downloaded.then called 2 days later 03/11/2014 tried to get money back under 30 day return policy. told had to sign a form. informed her could not print form. i told her i was going to cal BBB she hung up on me. i called back she said not going to be talked to like that. i was saying email me form and she trying to talk over me. don' have product they have money. others should beware.

Desired Settlement
my money back and change business practices so others not duped into iffy dealings. i have downloaded antivirus no problem, user friendly.downloaded office suite no problems, user friendly. question why all this shady dealings. just to get number to call them multistep confusing method. like if it is diffuclt enough many people just walk away. why does company want bad fee;ings in customer, just saying.

Business Response
Mr. ****** was provided instructions to submit his refund request for order # XXXXXXXXX in compliance with CyberLink's cancellation policy for electronic download purchases. CyberLink requires customer's to sign and return a Letter of Destruction Agreement form that will effectively sign their ownership rights to the activation code they received for their online electronic download purchase back to CyberLink in exchange for the full purchase price of their online purchase. This cancellation policy is valid for up to 30 days from the customer's initial purchase date.

Mr. ****** called into our Customer Support desk on March 11, 2014 and was provided these cancellation instructions but began yelling and saying he did not need to comply with the cancellation policy because he did not have a printer. Mr ****** was provided some other solutions to return his completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form to us but insisted that he did not need to bother anyone to assist him and would instead submit a complaint to the BBB to get his refund back.

Every effort was taken to try to work with Mr. ****** to get him to return his required Letter of Destruction Agreement form so we could process his refund request for this order. Unfortunately, Mr. ****** was unwilling to work with us to return the required LOD form so there was nothing else our support agent could do in this case.

We process hundreds of cancellation requests every day and customer's without printers are still willing to work with us to return a valid form of their completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form that will allow us to process their cancellation request.

We will be happy to assist Mr. ****** with processing his refund request for CyberLink order # XXXXXXXXX upon his compliance with submitting his completed LOD form back to us electronically. We will accept the completed LOD form with a printed signature from Mr. ****** instead of the usually required written signature if this will help Mr. ****** to complete his cancellation policy requirement. Mr. ******, please call us back at XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ***** to assist you with this process.

As for the unfortunate phone dialog Mr. ****** referred to as of his phone call to us on March 11, 2014, we regret any misunderstanding on our part that may have contributed to this matter not being resolved in a more effective manner.

Regards,

asknet Customer Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They play that same game in blaming the person calling if that was taped let's hear it I told her I didn't have a printer she said only way to get refund when I told her I was going to be she started trying to talk over me as I was saying email the letter I'll sign it she hung up on me. I called back immediately and she accused me of hollering at her I was only trying to say email me the letter. No swearing nothing said to attack her. I have been chairman of the ***** county FEMA board chaired it two years, board of directors for eastern Oregon chapter of the red cross. On city of ***** ad hoc committee for purpose of improving rate structure for waste management. I don't lie and I don't get irrational with my responses. Their system is built around complex loops of conflicting instructions making it very difficult to communicate with them. Try it sometime. Their Own tech support couldn't fix it. Then they have a person to handle the complaints and I believe she has a lot of people calling and she gets too defensive to handle it quickly and properly.

Final Business Response
Our records do not show that this customer has submitted a completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form back to us electronically as of Thursday, March 20, 2014. The offer for the customer to submit the Letter of Destruction Agreement form to us electronically without a valid physical signature was due to the customer saying he did not have access to a printer. By allowing the customer to submit his completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form back to us with merely a printed / implied signature, we were engaging in a gesture of goodwill in light of the customer's unusual situation of having no means by which to print out the form to sign it. We have a mailing address in the US (not Germany)that we would have gladly provided to the customer had we known he had suddenly gained access to a printer. The customer has previously made no mention of having purchased a printer or provided a reason why he was unable to access a printer. The customer said he "did not have access to a printer" so we provided him with an alternative solution. We continue to wait for the customer to return his completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form to us so we can assist him with processing his refund request. We kindly request that the customer resend his completed Letter of Destruction Agreement form to us again electronically to the email address of ***************@asknet.com in order to speed up this refund process. We have kindly asked that the customer contact us directly by phone so we can best assist him but so far the customer has decided not to do so.

Final Consumer Response
I have completed the letter and I sent it to the address shown on ******** I also was allowed to file it electronically via email. The issue is in their hands. The statement is a well composed response to gloss over the facts. Try to easily contact these people, When other companies make the links accessible. Please ask them to play back the tape of the discussion I had with their support person. I only raised my voice when she tried to talk over me. I kept saying send the email. the more she kept trying to talk over me the louder I got. Yes I did say I was going to contact BBB. if you look at the experience in whole you have a tech support that said you have download all four downloads, I told him the dialog box said could not download because thefiles where corrupt. No real attempt to assist with the problem.Finally I said lets just back up and I'll not complete the purchase. The tech with Omnitech said there were 1000 plus errors in the files. I sent an email to BBB explaining. Ironically the files were such that I could not download the software I had to install the printer I had bought from DELL that was delivered two days later. In total an experience was one of smoke screens and difficult links. Take money in USA but only respond through Germany. I never said ''I need not comply'' only said I could not print it. windows 8 was not compatible with my older printers. The proof is they still allowed to file the letter electronically. So they had a means to help me file the letter. Still have heard nothing directly from them except to say I could file it via internet. Without BBB I would still be trying to get a return of money witch I still don't have and the thirty day clock is running.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Selling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/29/2007Business started: 06/08/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2007, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Bruner (Customer Service Supervis)Ms. Ute Imhof (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Internet Selling Services

Service Area

This business service area covers: Worldwide.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for asknet, Inc

235 Montgomery St Ste 825

San Francisco, CA 94104-3003

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 235 Montgomery St Ste 825 

    San Francisco, CA 94104-3003(415) 449-5700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*asknet, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Selling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.