BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/23/2006

Ideal Positions

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 609-3483Fax: (866) 709-34831385 8th St, ArcataCA 95521

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers website marketing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/23/2006

BBB has determined that Ideal Positions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ideal Positions' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ideal Positions

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Horrible Customer Service, Bad Contract communication / explanation, Rude / Insulting Management. Contract was wrong 3 times in a row.
For approximately one month I dealt with *** ******, sales division of IdealPosition. It was clearly understood that I was open to working with Ideal Position after being referred by my Mother and long time client of IP. I even went so far as to say that I was open to changing my website to help their service work more effectively. *** was great, we spoke and he understood that I desired to purchase a 3-Month package payment upfront, as I was not interested in having monthly withdrawals from my bank account. The first contract was delivered per my request, however it came to me as a 1-year contract, monthly renewing and Auto Withdrawals. I went back to *** explaining it was wrong, and was later delivered another contract. This was exactly the same... or if it was different, *** didn't seem to argue, but did some research as to what the issue was. I called *** again asking for the new contract, being very clear as to what I wanted, and he understood it completely with no explanations as to if this was acceptable. I did not receive this contract, and 24 hours later called back and asked where it was? *** had it sent to me later that day. I checked my Spam filter on the server side, and there was no contract there. It just wasn't sent.

Holding the third contract in my hand, I looked and at a cursory glace, saw the exact same contract. I was wrong, they had in fact added a contract stipulation that now said my contract had a minimum of 90 days, yet the contract still had only a 1 month upfront payment plus setup fee, and still had automatic withdrawals monthly from a bank account. I called back, and told *** that I was not interested in working this way, and that there was clearly a communication error between his desk and whomever is doing the contracts.

*** then transferred me to this person, the Manager named *****. ***** immediately got on the phone with a defensive tone, ready for battle, and interrupted / talked over me, and when I tried to interrupt and say anything, was told to "let him finish". I kept quiet until the end of his tirade, I felt belittled and insulted. After about 20 seconds of silence where I attempted to compose myself, I began to speak and was again interrupted and told I was wrong, and that this wouldn't be a good fit. I asked to speak to the Owner and ***** would not let me. I asked if he would let me speak at all, and with a venomous attitude came "Go ahead, say what you want to say." To which I responded "You're a dick," and then hung up the phone.

I attempted to call back ***, to thank him for his time, and apologize for how it ended so abruptly, but was transferred back to *****, who would not let me speak to the Owner of the Company or ***. I told him I would be posting on the BBB and Yelp, and hung up.

Unhappy with how this conversation went, I attempted to call back *** and thank him for his time, apologize for this going badly and part company. Instead, I was sent to voicemail, on second call I heard 3 seconds of "It's him again" and then was hung up on. On my third call I was transferred back to ***** who spoke to me with disdain and told me I was not allowed to speak with ***, and then I hung up.

Desired Settlement
I want to speak with the Owner of the Company and log a formal complaint. Ideally, the Owner would apologize for treating a customer this poorly... however I know that chance is slim to none.

Business Response
Attn: Better Business Bureau

This letter is in response to a complaint brought against Ideal Positions by Mr. ****** ****, Case #********.

Ideal Positions is a website marketing company that provides marketing services for our clients' websites in the sponsored results on the Google search engine and on the Yahoo!/bing search network.

As of 10/11/2013, the date of the incident described in Mr. ****'s complaint, Mr. **** had already been speaking with Ideal Positions' Customer Service & Marketing Consultant about signing up with Ideal Positions for marketing services, over the period of about a month. Mr. **** told Ideal Positions' Consultant that he would be signing up for service after he returned from a vacation. Ideal Positions sent Mr. **** a copy of his contract to sign, which Mr. **** received upon his return. Mr. **** informed Ideal Positions that he had received the wrong contract because the commitment was for a year, while Mr. **** had specified a commitment of 90 days.

Ideal Positions corrected Mr. ****'s contract, but he insisted that the contract was still incorrect because of two factors: the 30-day recurring billing cycle and the month-to-month service clause, which requires a client to request to cancel service at least 15 days before the beginning of their next billing cycle if they wish to discontinue service. Mr. **** wanted to be able to pay the entirety of his 90-day commitment up front and to have his contract automatically terminate after the completion of the 90 days. These were unconventional changes that required edits to the contract Ideal Positions generally offers.

During Mr. ****'s conversation with Ideal Positions' Customer Service & Marketing Consultant on 10/11/2013, it was evident that Mr. **** was becoming increasingly frustrated over the terms of his contract. Mr. **** wanted to change the verbiage on his contract and, as Ideal Positions' Customer Service & Marketing Consultant did not have the authority to do so, Mr. **** was transferred to Ideal Positions' Projects & Progress Director.

Ideal Positions' Projects & Progress Director provided a solution for Mr. ****, offering to honor his requests to pay all 90 days up front and to automatically terminate his contract at the end of the 90 days if Mr. **** would submit both of these requests in writing on the cover sheet of his contract, rather than require that the contract itself be rewritten. Mr. **** found this solution unacceptable. Mr. **** expressed his strong displeasure to Ideal Positions' Progress & Projects Director. Because Mr. **** found Ideal Positions' solution unacceptable, Ideal Positions' Projects & Progress Director suggested that perhaps Ideal Positions was not a good fit for Mr. **** and offered to refer him to other reputable marketing companies. Mr. **** became very upset at this suggestion and called Ideal Positions' Projects & Progress Director an insulting name, which he references himself in his complaint, after which Mr. **** hung up the phone.

Ideal Positions' Projects & Progress Director remained calm and professional throughout his conversation with Mr. ****. He tried to find a solution for Mr. ****'s demands and, upon being informed that the solution was unacceptable to Mr. ****, tried to offer reputable references that might be able to reasonably accommodate him.

Per Mr. ****'s request, Ideal Positions' Owner attempted to contact Mr. **** on 10/14/2013, leaving him a voice message that included a request for him to call her back on her direct office line. She wished to express her concern over Mr. ****'s statement that he had a negative experience during his client account signup process. As Mr. **** never did sign up, there were no charges to refund; this fortunately limited the scope of the conflict, but also limited Ideal Positions' options for making amends with Mr. ****. Mr. **** requested an apology from Ideal Positions' Owner, but as of this date, Ideal Positions' Owner has not heard back from Mr. ****.

Ideal Positions regrets that we were not able to find a mutually satisfactory solution to this issue and that miscommunication over the stipulations of Mr. ****'s contract contributed to this unfortunate incident. Ideal Positions sincerely wishes Mr. **** success with his business and regrets we could not assist him further in his endeavors.

07/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Service promised was not service delivered. Credit card was charged without authorization.
Ideal Positions rep first contacted me in April, 2013 stating that they will help to place my website on the first spot with google. During the conversation they admitted that the first spot would be only for a phrase of words combination. They promised that they will monitor the campaign and will adapt the words and phrases to make sure to yield positive results. Over the phone they took down my credit card information and I agreed to try their service for no longer than a month. Subsequently, they emailed an agreement that I did not sign as it stated month to month. The rep said that there is nothing to worry about as the agreement contains a provision that the company will pro-rate and reimburse the charges should I cancel earlier than a month. Within a week of "service" it became apparent that all Ideal Positions were collecting funds from customers and placing minimum bets without even monitoring the results which were non existent. On or about May 1, 2013 during the conversation with the rep I expressed concern about the "service" and the rep assured me that I should give it more time. On May 7, 2013 I called to cancel the service. (I was instructed to call only). Nobody picked up. The same was repeated on May 8. On May 9 I called and spoke with a rep and requested a confirmation. She said she would send an email, and also said a cancellation specialist would contact me within 2 business days. Nobody called until May 13, at which time the person called and hung up. I called him back and he refused to provide a cancellation confirmation. After an argument he did provide it. At that time it was clear the company is engaged in fraudulent practices with misleading advertising, bait and switch contracts and horrible customer service. When I disputed the charges they placed with my credit card, they produced a "signed contract" with a signature that does not belong to me.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of any and all charges, apology, and refund for cost of my time I had to spend on resolving this issue.

Business' Initial Response
Attn: Better Business Bureau

This letter is in response to a complaint brought against Ideal Positions by Ms. ***** *****, Case #*****.

Ideal Positions is a website marketing company that provides marketing services for our clients' websites in the sponsored results on the Google search engine and on the Yahoo!/bing search network.

Ms. ***** enacted service on 04/23/2013, signing up for a Pay Per Click (PPC) campaign on an automatically recurring 30-day billing cycle. On 04/23/2013, Ms. ***** signed a Customer Service Agreement, agreeing to Ideal Positions' terms of service. This document is attached. Once Ms. ***** provided authorization for services by signing her CSA, her website was submitted for immediate placement on the Google, Yahoo! and bing search engines for her selected search terms.

In her complaint, Ms. ***** contests that the signature on her CSA does not belong to her. As can be seen on the attached agreement, her CSA was faxed to Ideal Positions on 04/23/2013 and has her name at the top of the fax, from which one could reasonably infer that the agreement was faxed from Ms. ***** office. If Ms. *****claim is true, why would the signed agreement have been faxed from her own office? It is Ideal Positions' stance that Ms. ***** provided authorization for services and agreed to the automatically reoccurring 30-day billing cycle and to Ideal Positions' cancellation policy by signing her CSA.

The cancellation policy on Ms. ***** signed service agreement from 04/23/2013 states:

''To cancel service, please call Ideal Positions' toll-free number at least fifteen days before your next billing cycle begins, and communicate your intent to cancel to one of Ideal Positions' Administrative Assistants.''

Ms.***** claims that she tried to cancel prior to 05/09/2013, at least 15 days before her next billing cycle began on 05/23/2013, and that she was unable to reach anyone at Ideal Positions.

On 05/28/2013, Ideal Positions' Tech Advisor contacted Ms. *****to communicate with her about the chargeback dispute she filed with American Express. Ideal Positions' Tech Advisor told Ms. ****** that he would check our phone records for her call prior to 05/09/2013. Ms. ***** hung up on Ideal Positions' Tech Advisor, at which point he called Ms. ***** again and left her a voicemail explaining that if she could provide us with the number she called from and the date she called, plus any other information that could substantiate her claim, he would be more than willing to help her resolve this issue. Please find attached Client Notes detailing this interaction.

Without this information from Ms. *****, Ideal Positions can only reference our call logs. Ms. ***** never contacted Ideal Positions with further information following her conversation with Ideal Positions' Tech Advisor on 05/28/2013. Please find a copy of Ideal Positions' phone records attached. Ideal Positions' phone records show that the only call received from Ms. ***** prior to 05/09/2013, and following her previous charge on 04/24/2013, was on 05/01/2013. Our attached Client Notes show that on 05/01/2013, Ms. *****spoke with her Customer Service Representative at Ideal Positions about the performance of her PPC campaign, but nowhere is there mention of Ms.***** requesting to cancel.

The phone records show no other record of Ms. ***** calling Ideal Positions until 05/09/2013, when she requested to cancel. Because Ms. ***** did not request to cancel at least fifteen days before her next billing cycle beginning on 05/23/2013, as detailed in her customer service agreement, Ideal Positions held Ms. ***** to her final charge and 30-days of service. Ideal Positions continued to provide Ms. ***** with service until her final billing cycle ended on 06/22/2013.

In response to the complaint made by Ms. ***** that Ideal Positions is engaged in fraudulent practices with misleading advertising, it is Ideal Positions' stance that Ms. ***** was provided the exact service described by her customer service agreement, as evidenced by the attached screenshot of Ms. ***** Google AdWords campaign, managed by Ideal Positions from 04/23/2013 to 06/22/2013.

In response to the complaint made by Ms. ***** that Ideal Positions uses ''bait and switch contracts,'' it is Ideal Positions' stance that the customer service agreement provided to Ms. ***** was signed by Ms. *****, as evidenced by the fax date, time and name from Ms. ***** office. Ms. ***** claim is unfounded.

It is unfortunate that Ms. ***** feels negatively about the customer service she received from Ideal Positions. However, Ideal Positions' Tech Advisor provided Ms. S*****with ample opportunity to provide Ideal Positions with further information to substantiate her claims about attempting to cancel prior to 05/09/2013. Ms. ***** chose not to take the opportunity provided by Ideal Positions to substantiate her claim and resolve this dispute cordially and professionally.

In response to the claim made by Ms.***** that she is owed a ''full refund of any and all charges, apology, and refund for cost of my time I had to spend on resolving this issue,'' it is Ideal Positions' stance that none of the above are warranted, as there is no evidence that the signature on Ms. ***** customer service agreement does not belong to Ms. ***** no evidence in our phone records of Ms. ***** having called Ideal Positions during the time in question, and ample evidence that Ideal Positions complied with all the terms of service authorized by Ms.*****on her signed customer service agreement. For these reasons and all the reasons stated above, Ideal Positions does not owe Ms. ***** an apology nor a refund of any kind, and Ideal Positions' account should not be debited. Ideal Positions wishes Ms. ***** success with her business and regrets that we could not assist her further in her endeavors.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company didn't produce any affidavits, certified records or even names of those who assert "their position." They cannot produce any authentic documents or proof that I didn't cancel thei service or even that I ever agreed to their service as they provides it. As such, the complaint is not resolved and I insist on full refund and apology.

Business' Final Response
Our position remains the same.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Marketing Services, Web Design, Search Engine Optimization Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/21/2006Business started: 05/01/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelsy Anderson (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Internet Marketing Services, Web Design, Search Engine Optimization Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ideal Positions

1385 8th St

Arcata, CA 95521

To | From


2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ideal Positions is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Internet Marketing Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.