BBB Accredited Business since

Playspan

Phone: (877) 703-6339 P.O. Box 8999, San Francisco, CA 94128 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.playspan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers services to game and application developers to help add commerce and monetize their digital content - Monetization-as-a-Service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Playspan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Playspan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Playspan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 2012 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated 06/06/2006 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Customer Service, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Customer Service, Manager
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Internet Gaming

Service Area
This business service area covers worldwide.

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 8999

    San Francisco, CA 94128 (877) 703-6339

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PlaySpan refuses to authorize refund required by their own policy. Playspan's policy obligates that their clients release goods when paid. Their client (Infinite Game Publishing or IGP for short) has decided not to produce the product promised and has refused contact with all customers on the subject. Because their client will not produce or release the goods paid for, PlaySpan is required, by their policy, to return my payment to me. I paid $120 USD for a "Founder's Pack" for Mechwarrior Tactics. Soon after, the company canceled its contract with the game's developer and fired a majority of its employees working on the MechWarrior Tactics project. They have publicly indicated that they no longer believe it will be possible to produce and publish the game as promised. Even after 28 exchanges messages with 3 different ******** ******* representatives, PlaySpan/UltimatePay refuses to hold to their policy and return my payment.

Desired Settlement: The company claims to have a "no refund" policy. What I'm seeking is not actually a refund (which presumes the actual receipt of goods) but a reversal of my transaction, returning the money to my account for goods not delivered. I seek $120 USD be returned to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/30) */ Dear ******* ********, Thank you for alerting us with your situation through the Better Business Bureau. We have completely reviewed your refund inquiry and transaction in question: UltimatePay Order ID: XXXXXXXXX for MechWarrior Tactics account "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX" associated with email address "*********@gmail.com" in our PlaySpan systems. On March 26, 2013 we received your payment and processed the order to MechWarrior Tactics account "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX." We can confirm that a successful post-back communication (UltimatePay Transaction ID: {139fb47e-XXXX-Xedf-8ee6-7e10aa1610ea}) was received from the merchant indicating that your account has been credited with your game package. Our policy clearly states "PlaySpan's policy is that all sales processed by PlaySpan are final. Publisher is responsible for its own refund policy and you should consult the Publisher's refund policy at the respective Publisher Site." On October 16, 2014 we at PlaySpan ******** support received your initial communication regarding your missing game package issue. We have provided all transaction details and instructions to assist you with your refund inquiry. We have reviewed this inquiry with our concerned departments for further review and we understand the merchant MechWarrior Tactics is no longer an active company. Unfortunately, we do not have any contacts for MechWarrior Tactics that can assist with your refund inquiry. We can also confirm the refund option is not available for this transaction in our PlaySpan systems. We recommend taking further action with PayPal to dispute your transaction in question; as we are unable to further assist with your refund inquiry about the missing game package that was paid for on March 26, 2013. If you require any additional assistance from PlaySpan, please feel free to contact us at any time using the following email: ***************@ultimatepay.com. Sincerely, Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) UltimatePay's Terms of *******, which I have agreed to states the following: "Publishers are obligated to release the goods or services you have paid for. ... We will make a reasonable effort to return your payment to you through the same payment system, method or channel you used to send the payment..." If this is in UltimatePay's Terms of *******, then they are the ones obligating the company to deliver the goods. If the publisher breaks that contract, then UltimatePay, by their terms of ******* for over-payment (since I have not received the promised goods, there is clearly a debt in my favor) UtimatePay (not any other entity) will then make a reasonable effort to return my payment. UltimatePay is trying to file this as a refund, when a refund assumes that I have received goods. I have not received any goods, and therefore my request is a return of over-payment. I have paid for $120 worth of goods, I have not received the requested goods, and therefore there is a debt in my favor of $120. UltimatePay is fully aware that PayPal will not open cases concerning transactions older than 45 days. Knowing this, their recommendation is a misdirection. In fact, it was Paypal that recommended that I submit this claim to the BBB when I did contact them upon UltimatePay's suggestion and explain the situation. UltimatePay also recommended that I communicate with IGP, which they now acknowledge as an inactive company that they do not have contact with either. This acknowledges that they have full knowledge that their client, IGP, has no intention of fulfilling their contractual obligation to both UltimatePay and myself, the ********. To this date, UltimatePay has not honored their Terms of ******* concerning this matter. They have not made any attempt, reasonable or otherwise, to return my payment. Therefore, I do not accept their response because it does not align with their Terms of ******* or with ethical business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/11/03) */ Dear ******* ********, Thank you for alerting us with your rebuttal response through the Better Business Bureau. Your UltimatePay Order ID: XXXXXXXXX for MechWarrior Online account "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX" was successfully processed on March 26, 2013 with a merchant post-back communication (UltimatePay Transaction ID: {139fb47e-XXXX-Xedf-8ee6-7e10aa1610ea}) indicating your game account has been credited with your package. Our Terms of ******* which you agreed to when you initiated this transaction clearly states, we are no longer liable for the funds on this transaction, as the publisher has returned a positive notification stating the game package has been applied. Your refund request through our PlaySpan ******* is not applicable due to this information provided. PayPal is the payment option you selected during your successful transaction through our PlaySpan ******* for the merchant MechWarrior Online. Any discrepancy with your order is your responsibility to notify all involved parties in a timely manner for proper assistance and guidance. PlaySpan is solely an alternative payment provider for online merchants. We do not have the ability to ******* your game account. Furthermore, we are unable to meet your described compensation wishes due to the reasons mentioned above. Please understand that PlaySpan will no longer contend this matter with you, as we have provided the proper support required towards your specific incident and we are unable to further assist with your requests. Thank you, Visa Executive Inquiries Office Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear BBB, below I provide a line-by-line rebuttal of PlaySpan's response. Our Terms of ******* which you agreed to when you initiated this transaction clearly states, we are no longer liable for the funds on this transaction, as the publisher has returned a positive notification stating the game package has been applied. Your refund request through our PlaySpan ******* is not applicable due to this information provided. PlaySpan has provided no evidence that the package was applied or delivered. I have provided clear evidence that it was impossible for the package to be delivered. For the publisher to claim otherwise would be borderline fraudulent. PayPal is the payment option you selected during your successful transaction through our PlaySpan ******* for the merchant MechWarrior Online. Any discrepancy with your order is your responsibility to notify all involved parties in a timely manner for proper assistance and guidance. Again, Mechwarrior Tactics, not Mechwarrior online. I, in fact, notified you immediately after the company made it's intentions to not fulfill your terms of ******* very clear. I believe immediately is a very timely response. PlaySpan is solely an alternative payment provider for online merchants. We do not have the ability to ******* your game account. Furthermore, we are unable to meet your described compensation wishes due to the reasons mentioned above. My described compensation wish, first and foremost, is for my payment, which has been clearly unfulfilled by your client, which I have contacted you about in a timely manner, to be returned to me. I have proven that the terms of ******* that bind both you, the publisher, and myself in contract require it. To the BBB, I will provide my lengthy conversation with PlaySpan before this event occurred as evidence. I ask that you would please patiently review all that you have seen and judge accordingly. I have acted in the quickest possible time-frame, attempted to contact all companies involved in good faith, and pursued to this point all recourse other than full, legal action. I wish to settle this matter as peacefully as possible. Thank you for your patience. Sincerely, ******* J. ********

2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on a gaming site called League of Angels (LoA/Youzu Interactive), and I purchased a VIP subscription ($6.99/month) through PlaySpan/UltimatePay. I sent LoA a support ticket, informing them: "Hi. I want to cancel my recurring VIP subscription. I went onto "My Account", Payments, clicked on "cancel subscription and "Cancellation failed. Your subscription may have been canceled manually by the GMs at your request. Please contact our ******** support for details." appeared. Thanks." on July 31, 2014. I wanted the subscription cancelled before the August 6th, 2014 charge. A GM replied on July 31: "Hi, we'll cancel your VIP as soon as possible. Thanks for your support." I submitted another ticket today, August 8, 2014: "I was charged for VIP on August 6, 2014. I want it reversed, thanks." I received an automated server reply saying they'll deal with my complaint when they can. I tried logging into PlaySpan/UltimatePay to resolve this issue since the subscription/payment is through PlaySpan/UltimatePay. I tried numerous times; however, I have to login with account information, and they are saying my account doesn't exist, but they are still charging my card. No contact email or support email is available on their site, either. In essence, this is a billing, charging, and ******** ******* complaint packed into one, long paragraph. I doubt LoA will reverse the charges or do anything productive toward my case, so I came here. Thanks!Information from the email UltimatePay sent me:Youzu Interactive Subscription Transaction ID:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXYouzu Interactive Subscription Account Name:XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXXUltimatePay Order Number:XXX-XXXX-XXXXXXUltimatePay Transaction ID:(75140456-7f5e-4fce-8efX-XXXXd7194afd) Product_Or_*******: League of Angels VIP Subscription

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the subscription cancelled, permanently, and I want a refund of $6.99. Yes, it's only a small amount; however, I do not want them taking advantage of me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2015/01/26) */ Dear ******* *****, Thank you for alerting us with your situation through the Better Business Bureau. We have thoroughly reviewed your account and inquiry in our PlaySpan/UltimatePay system. We show that you originally contacted us on September 6th, 2014 regarding the Youzu Interactive subscription cancellation and refund request. On September 7th, 2014, we responded indicating that we do not have the ability to initiate refunds or service payment subscriptions. In addition to our response, we permanently blocked the account in our system to prevent any further payments from processing to the merchant per your request. We can confirm the last successful payment was processed on September 6th, 2014 to the merchant Youzu Interactive. To further assist you with your refund request, we have contacted Youzu Interactive on behalf of your account "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX." Please understand the refund decision and action is solely at the merchant's discretion for any successful payments. We request that you allow time for their ******** support team to review and contact you in regards to your inquiry. If you require any additional assistance from Playspan, please feel free to contact us at any time using the following email: ***************@ultimatepay.com. Thank you, Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 23, 2015/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contacted the company, League of Angels, before Youzu to get my subscription cancelled. The company did not comply for several months, allowing my subscription to run up the bill. I set up an account through Youzu, and I contacted them several times; however, my contact didn't go through until September. I'll let this issue be without compensation; I want the BBB to realize this company is a scam for refusing to repay my money after attempting to cancel the subscription for several months through League of Angels and through them. This complaint went unanswered for months, and I'll make sure I won't sign up with any overseas companies ever again.

10/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged twice monthly for services I did not pay for. Always at the same time and around the same day. I use to play a game where you really had to cash out to win. I stopped playing right before August of this year, still, I am being charged. XX-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 XX-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 X-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 X-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 X-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 X-X XX:XX Playspan-7.99 I may have OCD but not to this degree. I would appreciate the ill gotten money returned please. I don't play any games that use a "middle man" payment method, nor do I appreciate this money being stolen from me. I would also appreciate my card being removed from your system as that is really NOT something I was informed when I used the "middle man" would be done. Thank you. I have also informed my card company of this and I am having a stop payment against Playspan added to my account to keep this from happening to me AGAIN next month.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like the 3 months worth of $15.98 refunded please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ October 9, 2014 Dear ***** *******, Thank you for alerting us with your situation through the Better Business Bureau. Our records indicate that you have not contacted PlaySpan's customer support team regarding the reoccurring unauthorized charges made to your credit card account. We have located the following subscription game accounts "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX" and "XXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX" associated with the credit card transactions in question were made for the merchant R2Games. As a result of this claim, the accounts have been permanently closed for fraud. We strive to protect our customers and ensure the security of their account and information. Once an account has been closed for fraud, for any reason, the account will not be reopened. If you have concerns regarding your game accounts and anything acquired during your play, you will need to contact game support for further assistance. As a courtesy we have notified the merchant R2Games for your subscription cancelation and refund requests. Game support is equipped to assist you properly with your inquiry. Please allow game support to communicate with your directly via email. You may contact the merchant directly for further assistance at: *******@r2games.com. If you require any additional assistance from PlaySpan, please feel free to contact us at any time using the following email: ***************@ultimatepay.com. Thank you, Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate your help with trying to get the funds back and closing those accounts. I had tried calling and when I was being "Transferred" I was hung up on and after 48 hours, no call back to let me know anything.

5/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have problems paying for services on a gaming site i play I have been playing an online game called Wartune which is run by a company called R2 Games since May of 2013. Since May I have also been a member of their VIP program where I pay $8 per month to receive several perks in the game. I also added a VIP account for a second character I play in january of 2014. In addition to that program, I have also invested several hundred dollars in developing the character I play on that game. The payment processing for R2 Games is handled by a company called Playspan. I will add that I have always paid my VIP charges faithfully and on time and without issue from the time I became a VIP. On February 1, 2014, my monthly charges of $8 were due on both accounts and I paid them as I always do, using my own PayPal account. Both of my accounts were current on my financial obligation to PlaySpan. Also in February, a friend of mine asked me to help her with her game account as she was unavailable much of the time. In helping her, I attempted to process a charge for her VIP dues on her PayPal account, with her permission. The charges were not going through properly, so I decided to pay her dues on my own account so as not to jeopardize her VIP status. A VIP account which goes dormant loses significant benefits in the game which cannot be regained. The payment went through and I was satisfied that I had helped my friend. In March, I had problems processing payments on both my account and on my friend’s account as well. After literally 4 hours of contact with PayPal and R2 games, I discovered that there had been an odd series of events that no one could have anticipated which has ultimately led to PlaySpan freezing all accounts for four characters on the game; myself (on my two accounts), my friend, and another person who inherited an account originally help by another PlaySpan customer. Here is the flow of events: My friend would sometimes receive help playing her account by a third party whom I did not know personally at the time. Apparently, his PayPal account was somehow tied to her account. He had stopped playing at the end of 2013 and had given his game account to another person I knew on the game. He paid the January VIP charges for that account, but for one month only. He and I were not personally acquainted. When I attempted to process the payment for her on February 3rd, I was unwittingly using his PayPal account and not my friend’s account. I had no way of knowing he had an account tied to her gaming account or I would not have used it. I reasonably thought the PayPal account that came up would be hers. After numerous attempts to pay with her PayPal account failed, I decided to pay from my own account. I am not in the habit of paying for other people’s account, as I am on a fixed income and do not have a lot of money available. This was the first time I ever tried to help a friend in the game, but I knew she would pay me back for the $8. The charge ultimately went through, with my reasonable assumption that it had gone through on my own PayPal account that I had always used for my own charges. Unbeknownst to me, the payment that went through was actually $8 that was applied to my game account (where there was no balance due and payable), but apparently paid from the PayPal account that I thought was my friend’s. Why it paid for my account and not my friend’s is beyond me. This occurred on February 3rd. On February 9th, the owner of that PayPal account discovered and disputed the charge. He had seen the $8 charge and disputed the payment because he was no longer playing. While we were familiar with each other’s characters in the game, we did not know each other personally. We had no knowledge of any contact information for each other and never spoke. He knew the charge did not apply to his former game account because he verified this. If he received my email contact information, he truly would not know who I was. As such, he asked to have the pay

Desired Settlement: none

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/17) */ Dear *********** ****, Thank you for alerting us to your situation through the Better Business Bureau, Our records indicate that on 3/8/2014 you have contacted PlaySpan's customer support team regarding unauthorized charges to your account. It was verified and confirmed a payment submitted via PayPal was submitted without your authorization. As a result of this claim, the account has been permanently closed for fraud. We strive to protect our customers and ensure the security of their account and information. Once an account has been closed for fraud, for any reason, the account will not be reopened. Our records also reflect PlaySpan's customer support team provided additional detail on this matter on 3/14/2014 via phone support. If you have concerns regarding your game account and anything acquired during your play, you will need to contact the game provider directly for further assistance. You do also have the ability to continue participation for this game provider by creating a new account, not associated with the accounts we have permanently closed. You may contact the game provider directly for further assistance at: *******@r2games.com Thank you *** ****** Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) PlaySpan did not have cause to permanently block my account. There was no fraud and I told them so on the phone, and without regard to what I said, they immediately put a permanent block on the account and at least 5 others. They said someone else committed fraud on my account and they were permanently blocking all of them. Fraud is intentional and causes harm to someone else. This was a simple mistake no reasonable person could have forseen. I didn't even owe them any money when the $8 was reversed! My account was current. They should have to fix the mess they caused. They have done serious harm to me because I put a lot of money into this account. They jumped to a legal conclusion without due process. They can't just pass the buck and expect to get away with what they did wrong. They need to fix their mistake or work directly with R2 to get it fixed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/04/11) */ Dear Mr. ****, PlanSpan and Visa have fully addressed the issues you have brought before the Better Business Bureau. Our records indicate that on March 8, 2014, you contacted PlaySpan's customer support team regarding unauthorized charges to your account. It was verified and confirmed a payment submitted via PayPal was submitted without your authorization. As a result of this claim, the account has been permanently closed for fraud. Once an account has been closed for fraud, for any reason, the account will not be reopened. We provided more information to you over the phone on March 14, 2014. At this time there is nothing else we can do for you and nothing else we can tell you. We will no longer contend on this matter and consider this matter to be closed. We ask that the Better Business Bureau please close this case. Thank you. Visa Executive Inquiries Office Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i do not have a visa card i have a mastercard your confusing me with another account i called to find out why my account was blacked you told me it was because someone else called and reversed charges or rather stopped and that caused a block on my account because they called you said my account ***************@hotmail.com was committing fraud and permanently blocked it from me being able to give you money

4/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An issue with another company that you collect payments for, has left me without what I paid for and I would just like a refund. I paid for a service in an online game. No where when I was paying for this service did it state that Playspan handled their payments. That wasn't even available for me to see until after I had looked at the invoice via PayPal. This other company, R2Games, has mishandled my account in such a way it is now inaccessible. I have waited for a reply from their support for near a month. Their only response was not very helpful. I went through PayPal's dispute center, however when I disputed the claim I got no response from Playspan until I had PayPal escalate it to a full claim. I can't get what I paid for, so I want my money back. Simple as that. Seeing how PlaySpan took payment, it is PlaySpan's responsibility to offer a refund if delivery of service is unavailable. All Via PayPal: In the amount of $19.99 Invoice ID: {8ceXXXXX-XXbe-463f-af9e-4c5c415fa3aa}:XXXXXXXXXX:{bf3e11bb-bd36-4baf-9dc8-8efXXXXXXbee} Date: Feb 16, 2014 In the amount of: $9.99 Invoice ID: {0e231b55-bcc5-454a-aXXX-XXXf6978e586}:XXXXXXXXXX:{551deffd-afXX-XXXX-b484-2b662eba2f20} Date: Feb 16, 2014 In the amount of: $19.99 Invoice ID: {cfbd51d0-ef91-4e26-8ebX-XXXXXXb4ec03}:XXXXXXXXXX:{170e8844-fffe-42ad-8eXX-XXXXXXf74e47} Date: Feb 19, 2014 In the amount of: $9.99 Invoice ID: {ae4474e8-a8e6-4e39-96f0-c6faa082a845}:XXXXXXXXXX:{XXXXXXXX-fXXX-XXc9-9ccX-XXXXce6be021} Date: Feb 19, 2014

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I'm tired of being jerked around because the company I thought I was paying too, I wasn't. I have heard from many others that this a common practice for both PlaySpan and R2Games, and that it might actually be a Scam. Where I grew up, this was known as fraud. Not sure how the laws are out on the West Coast and China, apparently you're allowed to take people's money knowing they won't get what they paid for in return.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ Dear ** *********, Thank you for alerting us to your situation through the Better Business Bureau. Our records indicate the payments referenced in your claim have been successfully processed. Each payment has also been successfully communicated directly to R2Games to credit your account. Please understand, PlaySpan serves as an alternative payment service provider for various online games and other online merchants. As a payment provider we do not have the ability to service the game account directly. Once a payment has been completed, we do not have the ability or authorization to refund the transaction. Please feel free to review our terms and conditions in more detail at any time at https://site.ultimatepay.com/tos Section 7, Refund Policy. Your account is also currently open and active within our system. If your game account is inaccessible, you have not received credits for the payments that have been completed, or if you would like to request a refund, please contact the merchant, R2Games, directly to address these concerns. You may contact R2Games directly at: *******@R2Games.com Please also be advised that our customer support team has not received an inquiry from the email address *************@gmail.com nor the email address listed on your game account *********@gmail.com . We would be more than happy to assist with any additional questions or concerns you may have. Please feel free to contact us directly at: ***************@ultimatepay.com Thank you. *** ****** Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been dealing with the R2Games support long before I even thought about, or wanted, a refund. I tried to fix the issue through them, but they refused any help. I do feel I was scammed out of my money, and will accept nothing less than a refund. I decided it would be quicker to fore-go attempting to spend weeks waiting on another support system, that would probably be just as useless. Your company acted as a middle-man in this, so your company now has my full attention and distrust. This is bad business. Never have I been told that a business has no authorization to give refunds. Perhaps, since you want to screw people over like this, you should plaster that ToS all over the payment screens of the companies you take payment for. That way people are actually ABLE to see what they're getting into before hand. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/02) */ Issue has been resolved, please disregard the complaint.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased two of their Ultimate game cards which this company claims were hacked. On 2/11/14, I tried using two $10.00 dollar Ultimate Game cards to purchase a VIP account with a company Smallworlds. When entering the first card, PIN # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and a 2nd card PIN # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX a screen popped up saying these two cards had already been redeemed. At this point I logged out of the Smallworlds site and contacted through e-mail (UltimatePay ******** *******) wanting to know why this screen had popped up because this was the first and only time anywhere I had used these game cards. I purchased these two cards on 1/24/2014, at Price Chopper supermarket and I do have the receipt for them. I have since heard back from this company informing me that yes the two Ultimate Game cards had been redeemed for the account *****@yahoo.com at cooltoplay.com on 1/29/2014. This is not an account that I have nor did I redeem these two cards anywhere. There was no mention in their reply as to them replacing/reimbursing me for these two Ultimate Games cards totaling $20.00. I should not be held responsible the company's cards were hacked.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the total of $20.00 for the two Ultimate Game cards that were hacked before I was able to redeem them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/24) */ Hello ********, After reviewing the case in question we see that multiple tickets have been opened for your account. After providing the redemption details for the PINS in question (tickets XXXXXX-XXXXXX and XXXXXX-XXXXXX), our support team was awaiting final confirmation from you of fraudulent activity for the Ultimate Game Card PINS you've obtained. Upon this confirmation the Ultimate Game Card PINS would have immediately been replaced to ensure customer satisfaction. Research also revealed you have inquired about three (3) Ultimate Game Card PINS in total, PIN's 263760000032363 ($10.00 USD), 263760000032288 ($10.00 USD) and 263760000032348 ($10.00 USD). We have issued a replacement for the Ultimate Game Card PINS below: UGC PIN: ************************ worth $30.00 USD. Please be advised you may apply this new pin as payment towards a new order at any time. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Visa Executive Inquiries Office Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, today I purchased for the first time via Candy Crush on facebook 50 gold bars using online interact. My account was automatically debited $5.99 but never received the gold bars. When I googled Ultpay.com, there is no such website. When I check my receipt, it says that it's Play span. I would like my money back. Now I understand that it may just be $5.99, but with millions of people out there complaining about the same thing, these people are crooks and are making alot of money off of us and not supplying the goods. They should be shutdown!! Product_Or_Service: 50 gold bars Order_Number: Transaction ID: **** Account_Number: Payment ID: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money back, credited to the account it was taken from. They should be shutdown. I've also disputed this transaction with facebook.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ Dear Ms. ********** UltimatePay serves as an alternative payment service provider for various online games and other online merchants. Our records indicate the account registered to the email address ***************@hotmail.ca submitted a payment of $5.99 CAD that has been successfully processed as of 2014-01-05 13:20:25 toward UltimatePay Order Id: XXXXXXXXXX . As a payment provider, we do not have the ability to credit your game accounts directly. If you did not receive credits within your game account for the purchase mentioned above, you will need to contact the merchant/game provider directly, as they will be better equipped to further assist you with the crediting of your game account. You may contact Facebook directly regarding this issue at: https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/. This link will direct you to login into your account. Upon signing in you will be directed straight to the Facebook Credits Support Center. The first question on this page will ask you to select the payment method used in regards to the missing credits. You will want to complete all the questions following and submit the inquiry at the end. Please allow at least 48 - 72 hours for a response. Our records also show that our customer support department has not received direct contact from you regarding this matter. If you have additional questions or concerns regarding your account, you may contact our support department directly by using ***************@ultimatepay.com . You may also visit our website directly at ***************************** to further review our services. Thank you, ******* *********** Visa Inc. Global Operating Regulations Compliance Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) However now I need to make a dispute with Facebook as I still have no response from them!

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made one legitimate purchase from Playspan UltimatePay Oct 9th, 2013 for $34.95, but they have placed 12 additional unauthorized charges on my card. Hello, I made one legitimate purchase from Playspan Ultimate Pay on Oct 9th, 2013 for $34.95. I purchased a 6 month subscription to a game called ''Small Worlds'' but my statement shows numerous additional charges after that date that I did NOT make. There were 12 unauthorized charges to my credit card for a total of $75.20. The dates and amounts of the unauthorized charges are as follows: October 12: $9.90 October 12: $4.45 October 12: $4.45 October 24: $9.90 October 24: $4.45 October 26: $4.45 October 26: $4.45 October 27: $4.45 November 1: $9.90 November 1: $4.45 November 3: $9.9 November 3: $4.45 I'd like a refund for the unauthorized charges, and I'd like to ensure they do not charge my card any more. Thank you so much for helping me in this matter. I am learning some hard lessons about online purchases! ***

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all unauthorized charges (total of $75.20)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ Please see response attached Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you so very much!! I really appreciate the kind letter and the refund. I am completely satisfied and am so very grateful. Kind regards, *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/24) */ Please see our response

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Debid Card is being constantly denied and money is available. Have tried to make transacton by using playspan and Paypal and outcome is the same. On November 11 and 14 I tried to make purchase using internet for playspan game called Wartune on Whiteraven server 173 by using playspan and Paypal options and transactions were denied. I want to add that I invest money on 2 characters in that server. On November 11 I spoke to Superviser ****** and he explained that it is for security reasons and because i have made many purchases in a short amount of time the security system inplemented by the company has flagged me and limited my purchases. I explained that funds are in debit card and that i am interested in special promotions which has a time limit. I was categorily denied from using direct internet payment and was told that I must buy an ultimate game card. He said that he can't give any more details. They also said that they have done everything in their power but they can't overide the security system which is run by the company. I have made purchases with Playspan for months. Why all of the sudden stop me from doing debit card transactions and make me leave my house or use their game card in order to satisfy what they call security reasons? They said that there is nothing that they or I can do. I simply have to wait for according to them, the security system to clear on its own. On November 13 they did allow a $10.00 purchase that I made using Paypal but again denied the subsequent purchases on November 14. The security system is too tight. Tight to the point that it has afected loyal players. The company is loosing money because of this and I as a customer and player am very unhappy.

Desired Settlement: I want my debit card to be accepted by them without the excuse that its being denied for security reasons, when the money is available. If it is an internet playing company and they do have debit card payment option and paypal option which are the methods that I prefer and are free, then my purchase should be allowed and my debit card should not be denied. At least detailed explanations should be given so that situation can be fixed. But to respond that nothing can be done and force me to use their game card making it seem that they want me (a loyal customer) to stop using my valid debit card and conveniently use their game card only. I am not applying for credit, i have provided a valid form of payment which appears on their system. I don't want to be limited just because Playpan's security system all of the sudden thinks who knows what.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ Dear Ms. *********, Thank you for your letter of November 14, 2013 explaining the problems you encountered with your PlaySpan account. We can certainly understand your frustration and appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your concern. Please be advised that I spoke with the appropriate departments within PlaySpan on November 20, 2013 to discuss the concerns with your account. After further investigation, PlaySpan's records indicate that your account exceeded the limit for the dollar amount allowed to be processed within a small timeframe using the PayPal and credit card payment methods. Upon contacting customer service your account restrictions were lifted and granted the highest dollar amount of payments allowed possible for processing. However, you have now exceeded those payment limits to which PlaySpan is legally allowed to process. Please note, payment limits are subject to payment methods and payment accounts. As you have multiple game accounts and wish to submit multiple payments, PlaySpan suggests selecting one payment method towards one specific game account to decrease the amount of time before the payment limit is exceeded again. For the security of PlaySpan's systems and clients, they are not at liberty to disclose exact details as to what the payment limits are and what security filters are in place. You are free to submit additional payments using the suggested alternative payment methods such as an Ultimate Game Card, as these payment methods contain a lower risk. PlaySpan's records indicate you have successfully submitted additional payments since this claim has been created. A credit card payment of $99.00 USD was successfully processed on 2013-11-19 16:04:02 as well as four payments using the Ultimate Game Card. We apologize for any inconvenience; however, as the suggested alternative payment methods such as the Ultimate Game Card have been redeemed on your account successfully, continuation of this method alternating with your credit card and PayPal account is the optimal resolution. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention. Please be advised that Visa has concluded the investigation of this matter. Sincerely, ******** ***** Visa Executive Inquiry Office


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Playspan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)