BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/1991

Worleys Home Design Center

Phone: (510) 582-6400

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: The wooden floors that was installed on 01/16/13 was not quite the color like the sample and now has an annoying squeekiness.
After floor was installed on January 16, 2013, I complained to **** **** (Sales Rep) on that same day that the sample she initially showed me in the store was not what was installed. **** came to my house to get the final check for the service and **** agreed with me that the wooden floor didn't quite look the same to her as well. At that time, I gave **** $3,379.00 with a balance of $1,000.00 to be paid to them once the correction of the floor was completed. I have called Mr. **** ****** several times, emailed him, and sent a certified letter to Mr. **** ****** to correct my floor. To date, the matter has not been resolved.

Initial Business Response
We were originally contracted to install the new hardwood flooring in the master bedroom, entry with closet and 13 stairs. We delivered the hardwood ahead of the scheduled installation start date in order to allow the hardwood to acclimate.
We began the installation in the master bedroom. After we began the first day of installation (one half of the master bedroom floor) the customer pointed out one board that was slightly darker than the majority of the rest of the hardwood. We agreed to replace that piece.
The customer added installing additional hardwood in the upstairs hallway. The customer hired someone else to remove the existing ceramic tile in the upstairs hallway and to reinforce the stairs. After completing over half of the flooring installation and 4 stairs, the customer questioned the color of the hardwood. Our installer called the store and reported this, so we sent the sample to the customer's house to compare. Our installer offered to stop the installation until the customer's concerns were resolved. We pointed out to the customer that on our sample that she chose it clearly states on the bottom ''wood is a product of nature with each piece varying in color, graining and character. The limited samples above cannot show all potential variations.''
After comparing the sample to the hardwood being installed the customer instructed our installer to continue with the installation. Upon completion of the installation when it was time to pay the balance due, the customer withheld $1000.00 and noted that she would pay the remaining balance when the hardwood installed matched the sample in our store. In good faith we replaced an additional 3 or 4 more boards that the customer was not satisfied with in order to maker her happy.
All the hardwood was from the same batch, but we decided to submit six pieces of the hardwood flooring along with our store sample to the manufacturer for an evaluation of the color. The manufacture determined the color was within the acceptable color range and denied the claim.
Recently, the customer notified us about some squeakiness in the flooring. We will contact the customer and attempt to resolve this issue.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While I still disagree regarding the color variation of the wood flooring installed in my home. Nonetheless, I accept your offer only to go forward with correcting the annoying squeeking of the wooden floor that was installed in my home. I look forward for this matter to be resolved by November 15, 2013.

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXXXX
I think the consumer is confusing the store display sample with the leftover pieces of flooring. The store display sample the customer made her selection from clearly states at the bottom
''wood is a product of nature with each piece varying in color, graining and character. The limited samples above cannot show all potential variations.'' It seems unlikely that after spending many hours over several months at our store that the customer would not have seen this printed on the sample. We advise each customer that wood is a product of nature and each piece will be different.
The installation of this job began on 1/7/13 and was completed on 1/16/13. Approximately the second or third day after the installation began, the customer asked our installer to bring the sample to the job to check the color. Our installer offered to stop the job if she was not happy with the color. After seeing the sample, the customer instructed our crew to continue with the installation assuming she was satisfied with the color. We completed the job 4 days later. When it was time to pay the balance due on the job, the customer withheld $1,000 until the hardwood matched the sample. Perhaps she didn't want to be inconvenienced by stopping the job to address the color issue?
We have submitted several pieces along with the original sample to the manufacturer to evaluate the color and they determined it was within the acceptable color range and denied the claim. There is nothing we can do to resolve the color issue. We will investigate and try to resolve the issue with the squeakiness.
Pictures of verbage clearly displayed at the bottom of the sample is attached.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Interior Decorators & Designers, Contractors - Flooring, Window Coverings, Upholstery Fabrics - Retail, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household, Countertops, Cabinets, Floor Coverings & Installation

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.