BBB Accredited Business since

California Casualty Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 800-9410 Fax: (650) 294-8365 1900 Alameda De Las Pulgas 4th Floor, San Mateo, CA 94403 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile and homeowners, life, renters, recreational vehicles, and other insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Casualty Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on California Casualty Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1994 Business started: 08/29/1917 Business started locally: 08/29/1917 Business incorporated 08/29/1917 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance/CDI
300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1700, Sacramento CA 95814
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chuck Muenzen, Vice President, U/W & Prod. Dev.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Muenzen, Vice President, U/W & Prod. Dev.
Number of Employees


Business Category

Insurance - Auto Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Marine Insurance - Rental Insurance - Medical Liability Insurance Services Insurance Companies

Service Area
This business service area covers California.
Alternate Business Names
California Casualty California Casualty and Fire Insurance Company California Casualty Compensation Insurance Company California Casualty General Insurance Company of Oregon California Casualty Indemnity Exchange California Casualty Insurance Company California Casualty Management Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

California Casualty Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1900 Alameda De Las Pulgas 4th Floor

    San Mateo, CA 94403 (800) 800-9410

  • PO Box M

    San Mateo, CA 94402


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim for damage to the kitchen/pantry area of my residence. The damage has been repaired, yet I have not been reimbursed for expenses. I filed a claim for water damage to the kitchen/pantry area of my residence. The repairs were done and I have asked to be reimbursed for eating expenses along with the purchase of a dog kennel for my aggressive dog. I had a phone conversation with the adjuster on December 11, 2015 at which time I was told that since it was a Friday my payment would be issued on Monday (December 14, 2015). To make it easier for the adjuster a spreadsheet with all the expenses was done by my Wife both times our receipts were mailed to the adjuster. On December 21, 2015 I received an email from the adjuster again saying that payment had been issued, and that the company who did the repairs was going to come by and pick up the dog kennel.

Desired Settlement: I would like not only the reimbursement check but if they are going to take the dog kennel I would like to be reimbursed for my time and gas for going to purchase the kennel and compensation for the 3 + hours it took my Wife to assemble it, along with repayment for the tarps used to protect my dog against the elements. The adjuster was made aware at the inception of the claim that I had an aggressive dog and he would need a place to be housed since the some of the repair work required having access to the back yard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2016/01/04) */ I spoke to Mr. ******** last week and confirmed that he has received the two outstanding payments mentioned above. Mr. ******** also had some additional questions on a previous claim that we are looking into for him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2016/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: California Casualty's insured rear-ended me and totaled my PAID off vehicle that I purchased in 2006 and had planned on giving to my son in 18 months. They offered me 13,500 and to "buy back" for 5000. The repairs are 8900.. That would leave me with $400 out of packet and a salvaged title??!!! Really???!! AND A NEW CAR PAYMENT 18months prior to anticipated and $10,000+ out of pocket for a car for my son!! I attempted several times to rationalize with California Casulgy/.. To no avail!!!!!

Desired Settlement: 14500 for for car with 2500 buyback which is the average for my car totaled accordingly to the online auctions that I researched, and the salvaged title... Or XXXXX for my car and 3500 buyback with a clear title.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ********* TM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* Ms. *****, Thank you for allowing us an opportunity to review our file handling and respond to Ms. ******'s inquiry dated 7/22/15. California Casualty takes customer complaints very seriously, as we do our relationship with your department. Insurance owes the actual cash value of vehicle that is determined to be an economic total loss. A local market study was used to derive the current actual cash value of the loss vehicle. This research takes into account multiple variances such as asking price, mileage and option differences. The loss vehicle was compared to 8 vehicles all within 65 miles of her location. These vehicles matched in year, make and model. Adjustments were made for the variances in options and mileage. The method or means in determining the fair market value of the loss vehicle is in accordance with the permitted methods of valuation as required by the State of Ohio as outlined in OH ST s 4505.11; OH ADC XXXX-X-XX. As Ms. ****** indicated she wanted to retain the vehicle and repair it, a salvage bid was obtained on 4/27/15. The bid is based on historical auction sales of similar vehicles within 90 days of the loss date. The Ohio Department of Motor Vehicles requires a salvage title on all retained totals, along with a salvage inspection conducted at a Highway Patrol Inspection Station. This state requirement is in place to protect consumers. If Ms. ****** believes the market value of the 2007 Lexus to be $14,500, she has been instructed to provide us with supporting comparable vehicles and research. These must meet the same perimeters as the report we presented and meet the Ohio requirements. She was issued a check for the owner retained amount of $8586.56. We ask that Ms. ****** provide us with her supporting documentation on value. While we cannot waive the Ohio salvage title laws or alter the salvage value, we are certainly willing to review her documentation. We ask that she direct her correspondence to the adjuster *** *****, who has been eager to resolve the claim since 4/27/15 Thank you for your time and attention.

4/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spam email. Date: 3/12/15. I am quite angry that this company would send spam email advertising their company to over 500 employees at Cabrillo College. Our email is for education and business purposes only. It is disgusting that educators have to spend time looking at this garbage spam, moving it to junk mail, and blocking the sender.

Desired Settlement: Apologize and desist.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Underwriti Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** I have been asked to review and investigate the consumer's complaint. To summarize her complaint, the consumer received a marketing email from the Company. The consumer feels her work email should be used for education and business purposes only. I have reviewed the consumer's complaint and offer the following response. California Casualty is a group marketer who offers auto and home insurance to higher education employees. As part of the marketing efforts, higher education employees receive various mailings regarding the availability of insurance. When federal guidelines allow, higher education employees may also receive a periodic email from the Company. The consumer's employer has opted in to receive related promotions to their work email address and is "Do Not Call Compliant." California Casualty does allow consumers who do not want to receive marketing materials to opt out from any further emails. At the bottom of every email the Company sends is a link that allows the consumer to opt out of the Company's emails. The consumer will immediately be removed from our mailing list and will not be sent any further emails to that address. I appreciate you bringing this matter to the attention of California Casualty and allowing the Company the opportunity to resolve the consumer's concerns. California Casualty takes great pride in providing excellent customer service to current and future policyholders. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

9/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: California Casualty has not responded to any calls or emails regarding our claim, in the last 33 days. Their insured client smashed into my truck, totaling it and sending me to the hospital. They simply ignore all attempts at contact. They also rejected a request for a rental car made by the rental agency on our behalf. We have not been compensated in any way despite the fact that their insured was found 100% responsible for the accident. The police report reflects that clearly.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Pay a settlement reflecting our loss of use, the vehicle itself, hospital and ambulance bills, injuries, and all other resulting hardships that is your responsibility.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****** Upon receipt of the correspondence from the Better Business Bureau, we immediately contacted the complainant. The complainant has not responded to our inquiries for the information needed to conclude the claim. Once the complainant makes contact with our office, we will begin to conclude the complainant's claims. We would request your assistance in reminding the complainant to return our calls so that we may resolve this claim directly with him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An email was sent to the CA Casualty agent recently, outlining the immediate obligation of loss of use that is easily resolved, as well as the issues that will have to be addressed at a later date. The information they are requesting should have been acquired through our insurance agency already, whom they have been corresponding with. After ignoring our attempts at contact for nearly six weeks, they should simply reimburse us for monies they repeatedly refused to provide for losing our transportation at the fault of their insured. That would resolve the current complaint, with further claims pending. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/18) */ California Casualty has reimbursed the complainant for loss of use. We continue to request telephone contact from the complainant to resolve outstanding items.

7/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an offer of a "$25 movie gift card" for receiving quote. I called CA Casualty (XXX) XXX-XXXX, got quote, never received gift. As a teacher, I received an advertisement card from California Casualty Insurance, around late 2013 that contained a card (which I still have) offering, "This is your ticket to members only savings and a free gift! Call now for a no-cost, no-obligation auto quote and receive a free $25 movie gift card" if I obtained a quote. The card says, "Priority Code "MOVIE". I proceeded to call (XXX) XXX-XXXX and received a quote from California Casualty. The agent told me CA Casualty would send me the $25 movie gift card, but they never did. I called back a couple of times. I was told by another agent that "yes, we see that you have received a quote but we don't know why you haven't received the promised movie gift card. We will send it to you." I was again promised it but never received the card. I called again around Jan 2014, and again was told the same thing the previous staff member had stated, but of course I never received the $25 movie gift card that had been promised to me by California Casualty.

Desired Settlement: I still have the card for the promised "Free $25 Movie Gift Card." California Casualty insurance should do the right thing and send me at least the $25 dollar movie card they offered, or if they want to go a little above for their error, I am fine with this. I understand that this is probably just an unintentional error on their part to not have sent me the promised gift card. However, they should keep their promises. As I previously mentioned, I still have the card and would be happy to e-mail a photo of the card to provide proof, if needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/02) */ July 2, 2014 Better Business Bureau RE: BBB Case Number: XXXXXXXX Consumer: ***** ******** Quote Number: XXX-XXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern: I have been asked to review and investigate Mr. ********'s complaint. To summarize his complaint, Mr. ******** received an invitation from the Company for a no-obligation quote and a $25 movie gift card. Mr. ******** reports that after completing the quote and following up with the Company, he has not received the gift card. I have reviewed the consumer's complaint and offer the following response. On January 13, 2014, Mr. ******** contacted the Company to receive a no-obligation quote in response to a $25 movie gift card promotional offer mailed by California Casualty. To be eligible for the gift card, the consumer is required to contact the Company for a quote and provide the priority number from the enclosed letter. During the conversation, Mr. ******** explained that he had recently moved and provided his new mailing address, **** S ******** **** Ontario, CA XXXXX. Mr. ******** completed a quote for automobile insurance, which was not accepted, and provided the priority number for the $25 movie gift card. On April 29, 2014, the Company received a follow-up call from Mr. ******** where he advised he had completed a quote but had not received the gift card. The Sales Representative mentioned she was not sure why he had not received the gift card, but she would send an email to the person in charge of Marketing. Every 2-3 weeks, California Casualty matches their mail file (prospects that were offered a gift card) to their responder file (people who received a quote and provided a Priority Number). When they "match" their responders to their mail file, they not only use the Priority Number match, but have an algorithm that also matches name and address. This list is provided to their fulfillment vendor who fulfills the gift cards. They are sent, via first class mail, from the vendor within 2 weeks of receiving the file from California Casualty. Although Mr. ******** completed a quote and provided the priority number, the Company was unable to fulfill the gift card request due to a mismatch in Mr. ********'s name and address. California Casualty mailed the promotional offer to Mr. ******** with the listed information: ***** ******** III, **** ** ******** *** *** J, Anaheim, CA XXXXX The Company's records reflect the quote was completed with the listed information: Frank ********, **** S ******** Ave, Ontario, CA XXXXX Mr. ********'s name was never sent to the fulfillment vendor due to the mismatch in his name and address. On April 29, 2014, the Marketing Department received the email from the Sales Representative and requested additional information, such as a prior address to fulfill the gift card request. This information was never provided, so the gift card request was not fulfilled. Upon receiving Mr. ********'s complaint, I was able to review the initial Sales conversation and confirm his prior address. Once the Marketing Department was able to verify the mismatch of information, a gift card was immediately mailed to Mr. ********. I have confirmed a gift card has been mailed to Mr. ******** at **** ** ******** Ave, Ontario, CA XXXXX on June 30, 2014. I appreciate you bringing this matter to the attention of California Casualty and allowing the Company the opportunity to resolve the consumer's concerns. California Casualty takes great pride in providing excellent customer service to current and future policyholders. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance. Sincerely, ******* ***** Underwriting Analyst Home Office Underwriting Direct phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX Email: ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) CA Casualty Insurance did the right thing and mailed me the $25 gift card they promised. I just received it. Thank you.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 2 active homeowners claims that are not being resolved. About a month ago I filed to seperated homeowner claims. They are both in regards to water damage in the kitchen area of my residence. I have been unable to use my kitchen for over a month. In an effort to get the repairs done I phoned the adjuster (***** ******** days last week and got no answer. I left a message each of the 3 days. When I orginally filed the claims she appointed a company (ATI) to come outand survey the damage. This company I assume is part of or contracted by California Casualty seeing as thou they gave low ball estimates and all the work compared to 2 other contractors I had come out.The main issue is trying to get my leaking pipes repaired.I was told by the adjuster that they would be covered unless its normal wear and tear. California Casuality had a plumber come out to look at the pipes but gave little input before leaving. He seemed to be uncomfortable from the time he arrived at my house. I have no reason why this was but can only assume that he didnt like being in the city of comton which has for the most part a negative connortation with its name. At any rate I was left to fond my own plumber who came out and informed me that the pipes had simple seperated.I had them fax the reason to the adjuster and to no surprise they said it was not covered. Not being satified with that "standard" answer, I phoned the claims office and spoke to a very rude supervisor (**** ********* I asked him what are reasons pipes would be covered under my policy. He refused to say only saying that seperated pipes were not covered. I believe that this is a standard insurance ploy not to pay. I have also been trying to get a person I choose to to the cabinet work instead of using the company they appointed. When I told the adjuster she sent me an estimate from "their" contractor and told me I had to have my contractor match that cost. Another issue is the housing. I am currently staying in a hotel , but I was told I have to move to a temporary house at some point. The first house my Wife and I looked at was very dirty and smelled of urine.I am doing all this while working full time.This entire process is now becoming very stressful due to the adjuster not doing her job. Everytime I try and expidite the process I am fsced with another problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have an adjuster who is availiable and is trying to work with me. I understand that insurance companies do all they can to defer costs even at the expense of the customer, but i just want them to do what I have paid them for several years to do. They have no problem collecting on the policy but when it comes time to pay out they balk as much as they can.I would also like to find out what is covered in the way of plumbing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I am a Team Manager in the Claims Department of California Casualty Management Company. One of my job responsibilities is to investigate complaints such as this. Please accept the following as my response to the allegations. The insured contacted California Casualty and reported two water discharge claims from faulty plumbing systems in April, 2014. It was explained to the insured that although the coverage under the subject insurance policy does not allow for repair of a plumbing system due to wear and tear and deterioration issues, coverage for the resultant water damage was accepted. With the insured's permission, we arranged for a vendor through a managed repair network to affect all water and mold remediation to the dwelling which has been completed. We have issued payment for the water remediation and await the invoice for the mold remediation so payment can be made regarding this aspect of the loss. The same vendor provided an estimate of repair for the interior dwelling damage once remediation was completed. We have issued an actual cash value payment to the insured for repair of the estimated damage based upon that contractor's repair estimate less the policy deductible. We have sent the insured a letter explaining the loss settlement provisions of the policy and how he can recover payment for the withheld depreciation. We have advised the insured that he can choose the vendor of his choice to affect the repair to the dwelling but all repair estimates for insurance settlement purposes must relect materials that are like, kind and quality to those that were damaged. During the time the insured's dwelling was not livable due to the mold, we arranged for a hotel for the insured to reside in and agreed to pay for the hotel expesne as well as any food expense over what the insured would normally incur for the same. We are in the process of gathering all receipts for these expneses so payment can be extended to the insured. Based upon my review of the claim files, it sure appears the claims have been handled appropriately and claim payments have been issued appropriately. Our claims adjuster remains in contact with the insured and will do so until both claims are completely resolved. If you require further information, please let me know. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Work is slowly being done, and now I am recieving checks for various amounts of money and no explanation as to what they are for. My wife e-mailed the adjuster regarding these checks and the response was very vague. My Wife did a return e-mail for clarification, along with unanswered phone calls to the adjuster.At this point we are holding to some of the checks as we are still in the dark as to what they are for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/13) */ The handling adjuster has spoken with Mr. ******** on several occasions regarding the adjustment of his 2 claims and has e-mailed him on seveal occasions with payment explanations. To assist Mr. ******** in understanding all payments that have been issued to date on both claims submitted, I have e-mailed him a complete Statement of Loss reconciling the loss exposures and payments. Both the handling adjuster and I are available to Mr. ******** if he has any further questions regarding the loss(es)and payments extended to date. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted CalCas to get insurance. I asked for "everything" as I "didn't want surprises" I trusted them to give me what I needed. They didn't. I had just moved to a new home in Gilbertsville, PA. I contacted CalCas with whom I had insurance prior to insure this property and also upped the limits and asked for maximum coverage for insurance as I "did not want any surprises". I am not an insurance expert, so I was relying on them to protect me. I trusted them. They violated that trust. In a number of calls I made to California Casualty when I moved to that property, I explained I wanted full coverage for everything ''including the kitchen sink'' and repeatedly said that ''I do not want surprises'' and even referenced flooding in those calls. Furthermore in those calls, at one point in particular they were asking me questions about the residence for the purpose of coverage and I told them I had a sump pump. I distinctly remember that event because the woman had asked if I had any appliances on the outside of my house and I had made a particularly humorous comment about not being that much of a redneck. In those calls I made it abundantly clear that the cost of the property insurance was of no factor and I wanted full and complete protection without surprises and that I was relying on them to ensure I had what I needed to be fully covered because I did not want surprises. Low and behold, that day in July, I lost over $10,000 in networking equipment from a sump pump failure which caused the basement to flood. When I discovered this, I called the insurance company and the women said it wasn't covered because ''the property policy doesn't cover sump pumps.'' She made no mention that I needed a special rider on the policy. I actually distinctly remember her saying that nothing existed of that sort. I found out shortly after calling the landlord's insurance company that statement the CalCas woman made was in fact false and a rider does exist. I called CalCas back, and immediately demanded an explanation of why that wasn't included in my policy. This is where the excuses began. CalCas would deny the claim for a reason - I would shoot down that reason with fact and they would re-review the policy and the phone calls and come back with yet another excuse of why they were not paying me. This went on over 5 times, with over 5 different excuses. To note, as soon as I was aware of the rider and everything I called up and immediately had an account review and spent over 2 hours on the phone with them re-reviewing the entire coverage and included the sump pump rider and numerous others that day and the price difference was laughable. Policy insurance is cheap, the price was nothing. Thusly proving if it was properly offered I would have undeniably made them include it. I finally sent it back to the ''home office review'' process as they called it and explained that point and they come back with yet another excuse. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Pennsylvania Insurance Department

Desired Settlement: I want the money for what I lost plus expenses and extra for pain and suffering. I believe I am entitled to at least $15,000.00 for what they put me through. I want a formal apology in writing. I want them to admit they were wrong.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ This complaint was assigned to me for a review and response. I reviewed Mr. and Mrs. *****'s policy related to the loss in question, July 23, 2013, on August 6, 2013 at the request of our Claims department. As part of Mr. and Mrs. *****'s policy review, I did review his policy application, all policy comments, transactions, endorsement, on-line typed conversations between Mr. ***** and company representatives related to his policy. I also reviewed every call between Mr. ***** and company representatives and all policy declaration pages and endorsements for Mr. and Mrs. *****'s policy. Mr. and Mrs. ***** filed a claim for loss to personal property that was damaged by flooding in his basement due to a sump pump failure. The loss occurred at his rental home. During the initial call to the Company the representative immediately advised Mr. ***** that there did not appear to be coverage for this loss. Mr. ***** insisted that we review this further. The claim was transferred to one of the Company field adjusters who discussed the loss with the insured on 7/23/13. At that time Mr. ***** explained that he had a basement flood due to the failure of the sump pump. He further explained that during a recent storm he lost power to the sump. The adjuster clarified that his Renter's policy Water exclusion specifically excludes water that overflows or is discharged from a sump pump unless the insured has the Water Back Up and Sump Discharge or Overflow endorsement. During that conversation Mr. ***** insisted we escalate the claim further and requested transcript copies of his conversations with the Sales agent. He demanded that we reconsider our position because he had made it clear to the Sales agent that he wanted full coverage for everything. The field adjuster obtained Mr. *****'s recorded statement about the loss and his reasons why he believed he should have coverage for this loss. Mr. ***** told the Company he had several contacts with Sales and each time he requested full coverage, including coverage for flooding. He also recalled the agent asking him if he had a sump pump to which he replied that he did. After gathering Mr. *****'s information, his file was reviewed several times by a Home Office Claims Consultant and an Underwriting Analyst. These reviews included listening to the Sales calls and related documentation. We confirmed that Mr. ***** mentioned he wanted all coverages 'including the kitchen sink' while discussing the Auto policy during the initial Sales contact on 3/29/13. There was no mention of this in any communications related to his Renter's policy. He contacted the Service Department on 6/26/13 to change the Renter's policy address to a new location. During each contact, the Sales or Service agent asked a number of basic questions about the property so we could evaluate the risk. Following these communications with the insured a policy packet with the appropriate Declaration Page, Endorsements and required Pennsylvania documents was sent to Mr. *****'s given address. He later claimed he only received the Auto packet but not the Renter's. He told the Company he was receiving mail from both his old and his new address. Mr. ***** recalls that during one of his calls the agent asked him if he had a sump pump. We have no record of any such conversation in our contacts with him, nor did he indicate to the Company that he had a basement or a sump. We have provided Mr. ***** with copies of his communications with the Sales agent so he is able to clarify what was actually discussed. He did call the Company at one point to ask if we offered flood coverage. He was advised the Company did not, however we could transfer him to the Company's Agency Services office who could discuss flood coverage options with him. He declined to be transferred. Mr. ***** pursued further escalation on this matter. He had several long telephone conversations with a Claims Team Manager and a Regional Claims Manager. He insists that the Sales or Service agents should have asked more probing questions about whether he had a basement and a sump pump. Had the Company done so and offered the Water Back Up endorsement he states he would have added this coverage since price was not a concern for him. The Company advised him that the Sales process is not exhaustive and, like any carrier, the Company relies on the customer to raise pertinent concerns and to also review the policy packet to determine if they need any additional endorsements or coverage. Mr. ***** is adamant that it was solely our responsibility to make sure he had the Water Back Up endorsement on his Renter's policy and does not appear inclined to accept any degree of responsibility on his part to evaluate his own coverage needs. The Company offers many optional endorsements and not every insured needs every endorsement. It is ultimately the insured's responsibility to review their policy declarations, their policy contract and the list of optional endorsements that is mailed to every policyholder, and determine if additional coverage is needed. The list of optional endorsements that is mailed to every policyholder clearly shows a brief description of the optional endorsement and clearly places a check mark next to each optional endorsement selected by the insured. The sump-pump endorsement was included on the list of optional endorsements mailed to Mr. *****. The sump-pump endorsement was not checked that it applied to his policy and the sump-pump endorsement was not listed on Mr. and Mrs. *****'s policy declarations page. Company records did not indicate Mr. ***** called in to add the endorsement or ask a question about the endorsement. Mr. and Mrs. *****'s claim was reviewed extensively and Mr. and Mrs. ***** were provided with the Company's decision on their claim and an explanation as to why the decision was made. Unless Mr. and Mrs. ***** have new information to provide the Company for review, the Claims decision will remain as what was previously communicated to Mr. and Mrs. *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have spoken to a number of insurance lawyers, law professors and independent insurance underwriters about this issue. In accordance with what I was advised, I vehemently believe that I be compensated for my loss by California Casualty. I fully intent to pursue this matter to the fullest extent of the law and beyond if necessary. Furthermore, prior to the incident I did not receive a declarations page and had even called in numerous times saying I did not receive a declarations page and other important missing documentation. So I was unable to review my policy on paper to see if everything I needed is covered. However, the BBB e-mail I received asked for some "Middle Ground". The actual full coverage amount maximum that CalCas should have paid in the first place is $5,000.00. To avoid bringing this any further, and to end this issue now I will be willing to concede to $1,500.00 and I am willing to entertain any monetary counter-offers CalCas is willing to make. I will also concede to a non-disclosure agreement if they so request. I will even concede to drop any other stipulations that I previously requested for $1,500 or best offer sent to my current address via certified check delivered by 19-June-2014 4:30PM provided if its less than $1500 I previously accept that offer. That is a MORE THAN FAIR middle ground. Actually, it's significantly less than middle. I also am stating for the record that this offer EXPIRES if they do not accept this before the BBB closes the case. As soon as the BBB closes the case, and which point I file a lawsuit against CalCas, I will no longer accept this agreement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/02) */ Mr. ***** has submitted his complaint to the PA Insurance Department and we are currently working on responding to his complaint with the department. The Company will continue to work with the PA Insurance Department on Mr. *****'s complaint. Due to the sensitive nature of the complaint, we will not respond on this forum to his request for a negotiation of the loss. He may contact the PA Insurance Department to review the status of his complaint and the Company's response once the Company replies to the PA Insurance Department.

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very poor customer service and many uncessary delays in completing documentation. From the onset of my claim (November 27, 2013) both representatives failed to do their jobs correctly and timely. There were many delays because of their uncooperative attitude and on two occasions gave me incorrect inforamtion. All of this has placed an undue burdon on me both financially and emotionally. I am without a vehicle because of the delay in getting paid for my the total loss of my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking $8,000 plus for the payout of my total loss claims.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Thank you for bringing ******* ********* concern to my attention. On 01/21/14 $8029.65 was issued to Ms. ******* for her total loss vehicle. Ms. ******* disputed the value of the settlement, and the Appraisal Clause was explained. We set up an additional inspection of the vehicle to address the disputed value. We have issued a check on 02/03/14 for $96.76 based on the outcome of this inspection. The total amount paid for the value of the vehicle at this time is $8126.41. We have not heard from Ms. ******* on her selected appraiser. We have provided her with the information if she would like to pursue an additional resource to assess the value of the vehicle. A total loss settlement can be very difficult and we do apologize if there has been any miss-understanding during the handling of the claim.

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not deduct the premium from the correct bank account. I changed my bank account near the beginning of the month, since the old one has zero funds was being closed. They claim it takes 10 days to change, which is ridiculous. This type of change should be very quick. Now they will not change the payments, resulting in fees and issues with my bank. I spoke with a *****, and when I asked for her supervisor, she refused.

Desired Settlement: I want the to fix the billing error, and remove the charge from my old bank account and apply it to my new one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/23) */ To Whom It May Concern: I’ve reviewed the insured’s complaint regarding the billing pertaining to his auto insurance policy and offer the following response. The insured is set up on an automatic bill pay plan that deducts his payment from his checking account on the 15th of each month. The system process of generating and sending the payment request to the bank starts on the 6th of each month. Once the bank receives the request they then process and return the payment to us on the 15th. On 1/7/14 the Company received a Web Request from the insured asking to change the bank account information for which his payments are deducted from. The request was processed but being that the request was received less than 8 business days, which is on average 10 calendar days, prior to the deduction date it was too late to apply the change to the 1/15/14 deduction. An email was sent to the insured advising that the change will apply to the 2/15/14 deduction. There are statements addressing when to make changes to the E-Z Pay deductions listed in both the E-Z Pay Pre-Authorized Insurance Payment Agreement and the E-Z Pay Payment Schedules that were sent to the insured. The statement lists the need for 8 business days for any E-Z Pay deduction changes. The complaint also stated that the Customer Care Specialist refused to get him a supervisor when he requested one. When the insured requested to speak with a supervisor the representative advised him that there was not a supervisor available at that time but offered to have one contact him within 24 hours. The insured took that as a refusal to get him a supervisor and stated he was going to contact the BBB. The insured is requesting we reverse the payment on his old account and send it to his new account. As E-Z Pay billing is a system automated process that requires 8 business days to process prior to the payment due date, we are unable to process his request. In an effort to minimize any further billing problems the 1/15/14 payment can be made via the phone by calling our Customer Service Department. Then starting with the 2/15/14 payment the deductions will be made from his new account. I hope the additional information has clarified the Company’s position on this matter.

12/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was involved in an hit and run accident where the driver left. I was hit in the back while sitting still. I went to the hospital and was taken by ambulance, as a result I went to have treatment from a chiropractor. Well now the bills have been submitted and now ***** ********* is doing everything to keep from paying this claim. She even asked for my bill from 2 years prior which I have submitted. Now she is saying that she needs all bills from two years prior. The problem after she has requested a bill or record she always needs something else before she can make a determination. This has been gpoing on for several months and I feel as if It is very frustrating and Harassing. She is doing everything in her power not to pay this claim. I have not had an accident since 1996. I am an educator and this insurance supports teachers but not me. My doctor has been a practicing chiropractor for 20 years and he said that never has any insurance company ask for the patients bill and records from two years prior. I feel violated, I was injured and now they are adding insult to injury.I would not lie about anything. They have already fixed my car but I have all of these bills to pay.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This claim needs to be paid as I have emerygency bills from the ambulance, emergency room and chiropractor. Each week I contact the adjuster and she says now I need this or now I need that she is trying to take as long as she can and making up stuff she does not have in order to not pay this claim. When I have submitted everything she has requested she asks for something else and this just keep going on and on...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *********,**** **** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********************* Dear Ms. ******* ******: We are in receipt of the correspondence submitted by Ms. ***** * ********. Please accept the following as our response to her complaint. Our records reflect that on May 13, 2013 Ms. ******** reported that her 2011 Nissan Maxima had been struck by a hit and run vehicle. She reported that as a result of this accident, she had minor rear bumper damage and had sustained an injury, which required medical treatment. As part of our injury evaluation, additional medical records were needed. After some difficulty with obtaining these records, we have been told by her medical provider that they are forthcoming. Once we have these records, we will be in a position to move forward with our evaluation and resolution of this claim. I hope that this letter assists you with understanding our position with this claim. Should you have any additional questions about our position, please do not hesitate to call. Sincerely, ***** * ********* Adjuster **** ****ger California Casualty ****gement Company ******************* ********************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/26) */ The doctor's office sent the mail certified over a week ago. So she has the records and she is not telling the truth about not having the records. I have not had a car accident since 1996 when I had a hit and run they asked for my doctors records from the last 2 years. The state trooper came to the tunnel and an ambulance was called where I had to go to the hospital where I was in diabetic shock as I was hit in the back while standing still because the car in front of me ran out of gas. I was able to stop but the woman behind me that hit me drove off. Had I known she was going to drive off I would have crawled out of the car but I could because my neck was hurting from whiplash. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/12/06) */ Thank you for the follow up. The remaining records were received via email from the provider on November 25. We are now moving forward with the review of the records and our evaluation. We will follow up with Ms. ******** once our evaluation is complete. She has been notified via email of the status.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on California Casualty Group
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart