BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/25/2013

Comp and Save

Phone: (877) 465-6888Fax: (877) 838-9869

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
email cust svc re leaking cartridge. Order*XXXXX. Asked for return auth label. Told they don't send out return auth on Fridays. Not rec. want refund
Purchase 07 14 paid debit card $37-cartridges for HP Office Jet 6600 which black leaking out into printer. Wants money back

Desired Settlement
refund money back asap.

Business Response
Hi,
Per our record, we have already issued the return shipping labels to you on Aug 1, 2014. Once we receive the returned items, we will issue the refund back to your credit card. Thanks.

******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
We will issue the refund once the returned items are received and processed. Thanks.

Final Consumer Response
Received shipping label, took cartridges to post office Aug 1have not received a refund on credit card...

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund was issued on my closed bank debit card instead of my paypal acct as requested. Wells Fargo denied refund and Comp&Save want refund my money.
On 11/24/13 I ordered a printer cartridge for my HP Officejet 4630 online. On the order I noted "please make sure this cartridge will fit HP Officejet 4630" notes. (Item# *************) (Order#******). On 12/20/13 i tried the cartridge & it would work. I called customer service and was told they had problems HP's reading it. I was told to return it, I explained that I recently closed the Wells Fargo account I used to make the purchase. The guy took my paypal account number and told me the refund would credit that account. On 12/23/13 I finally received the return shipping label from *** (RMA#********) and I placed in the mail. On 1/6/14 I received an email from ***** **** saying the refund of $16.99 had been credited to my Visa ****************. I immediately called and told them the refund had been credited to a closed debit card/bank account. I was told it was credited to the wrong account by mistake and that would have to call my bank. I called and even went to Wells Fargo and was told they could not refund a close bank account and that it would be denied. Myself and a customer service rep from CompandSave had a conference call with Wells Fargo and said that CompandSave's Merchant services would have refund the money b/c it would not credited to this debit card. After this conf. call with Wells Fargo the cust. serv. rep. said call back in a week and his would call his card merchants and about this issue. Today, 01/30/14 I called them back about the refund and was told I was just out of luck. This refund was mistakenly credited to the wrong account by an employee of CompandSave and I did not receive my refund. I should not be out $16.99 because of a mistake and faulty product and time I have wasted concerning this matter.

Desired Settlement
$16.99

Business Response
Received business response via email on 3/6/14:

I have looked into her order and please see my response as follow.

1. Customer contacted us on 12/20/2013 to request the return authorization. We emailed the return label to customer on 12/23/2013. Customer did not tell us anything about the expired credit card during the call.

2. We received the returned item on 1/3/2014, and full refund on items were issued to the customer's credit card on the same day.

3. On 1/6/2014, customer called us again and requested us to issue the refund to their paypal account. However, we were unable to recover the refund which had been issued to their credit card. We called our merchant processor, and they said that the fund was already at customer's credit card company. The customer needed to contact her credit card company in order to retrieve the fund.

The customer kept calling us about the refund after that, but we had explained to her that we are unable to get the refund back since it was already settled, and she has to contact her credit card company in order to get the fund back to her account.

The refund did issue to the customer and we are unable to reissue another refund to her paypal account. Thanks.



****** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is untruthful. When I called on 12/20/2014 I did give the customer service rep my paypal account information. When I received the email confirmation that the refund was credited to my closed bank account I called again. The customer service rep I spoke with apologized because they did have the information and it was their mistake. I questioned why they had did not refunded the shipping, they did refund the shipping to my paypal account but I was instructed to call my bank, as I did. It was their mistake they credited the return to a closed account and they are not telling the truth about not having my information. The account was closed, I never received the refund.

Final Business Response
We processed the debit card or credit card the same way at our end, as soon as they are having the Visa/MasterCard logo. We just double check with our merchant processor, Paymentech, today, and the refund did send to customer's debit/credit card. According to our merchant processor, the fund should be holding by the customer's credit/debit card issuer. Please contact the credit/debit card issuing bank for assistance in this case.

Our merchant processor told us that the refund can still be issued even though the debit/credit card is closed unless the card is expired (on the expiration date). And the fund will be received by the card issuing bank.

Thanks.

******

Final Consumer Response
On January 6, 2014 I did receive a confirmation from James Sean with a refund to a DEBIT CARD for a checking account I had previously closed NOT a credit card. The refund could not have been credited to this account because I had CLOSED the account a prior to the refund request. This was not an expired credit card. Per Wells Fargo, CompandSave's credit card merchant could not have credited any funds to a CLOSED BANK account. And WellsFargo's merchant card service's told the employee at CompandSave that when we called them trying to resolve this issue. Since the account is closed no funds are available to be retrieved. At the time I called about the defective printer cartage for instructions on returning it, I did in fact give the company my paypal account b/c the clerk told me it would be refunded to that card and at that time I told him the account was CLOSED. He then I was asked if I want a paper check mailed to me or if I would like refunded to a paypal account. The refund instructions were over looked by an employee of CompandSave when processing the refund and should not have pay for that employees mistake

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order #******* ordered a printer cartridge and when I tried to install it into my printer, it did not fit. I contacted the company through their website to explain my issue. They agreed to issue me a refund. I paid 9.98 which included shipping. I only received a 5.99 refund. I do not understand how I am responsible for the 3.99 shipping charges when I was sent a defective item. I was not offered an exchange and I was not told that I would not be refunded shipping charges.
Product_Or_Service: Black Printer Cartridge
Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
I want the 3.99 shipping charges to be refunded. Your product was defective and I should not be responsible to pay for shipping on a defective item!

05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Ink Cartridge - Refill & Sales, Printer & Printer Supplies- Manufacturer, Printing Equipment, Toner Cartridges, Printing Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.