BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures and distributes numerous lines of home products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Clorox Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Clorox Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 13
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Clorox Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 05/03/1913 Business started locally: 05/03/1913 Business incorporated 09/23/1986 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Suzanne Henricksen, Senior Manager, Consumer Ms. Beverly Randolph-Meeks, Operations Manager, Consumer Affairs Ms. Svetlana Walker, Corporate Counsel, Legal
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Suzanne Henricksen, Senior Manager, Consumer
Number of Employees

8,400

Business Category

Industrial Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
409 Brita Brita LP Brita Usa(Clorox-Product Name) Brita Waters(Clorox-Product Name) Burt Consumer Services(Clorox-Division Name) Ever Clean Fresh Step FreshCare Glad GladWare Green Works GUD Handiwipes Hidden Valley HomeCare KC Masterpiece Kingsford Kitchen Bouquet Lestoil Liquid-Plumr Match Light Oxi Pine-Sol ProResults S.O.S. Scoop Away Soy Vay Tilex

Additional Locations

  • 1221 Broadway

    Oakland, CA 94612

  • PO Box 24305

    Oakland, CA 94623 (510) 271-7347

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought original pine Sol from my local store Silverman's which will not allow me to return or exchange it now since I no longer have the recepit I filed a complaint a few weeks ago that was closed after I couldn't get back in contact with the worker due to me being in the hospital. I bought 4 bottles of Original Pine Sol maybe a month ago. Two 144 Fl Oz bottles for $9.97 and Two 64 Oz Fl bottles for $4.47. After buying the bottles and taking them home I later realized that this is not the smell that I grew up on and come to love. This smell is actually sickening and I strongly disliked it. I attempted to take the product back and exchange it but without a receipt and using some of it the story denied that request. I would like a refund of my money or I would like 4 bottles of the original that you sale online which is the real formula sent to me. Either or. This is a extremely unfortunate situation as I have been a lifetime customer and now I am forced to deal with the headaches from the new formula. What would make you do this? Once again since I've just gotten out of the hospital it is easiest to reach me via Email but if u must call again I have left the number. Hope this situation is settled. I would hate for it to leave a black eye on the whole clorox brand for me. Thanks again

Desired Settlement: I would like for your guys to send me the REAL original formula that you sell online or refund my mone . I just want what I thought I was buying or my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** Contact Phone: ************** Contact Email: ********************************* This is the consumer I have called over 8 times leaving my phone number to return my call. I want to reimburse this consumer but he will not return my calls.

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought original pinesol at the local store. Used it not knowing of the change. It's HORRIBLE and not what I wanted. Would like the real original. Bought pine Sol original from my local corner store. I bought 4 bottles like I usually do to hold me over with my cleaning. Went to use it and I now see that the formula is changed and I hate it. The store will not allow me to return it because I no longer have the receipt. This has all been one huge headache for me literally and figuratively. The new formula makes me feel physically ill. The smell is terrible. Please fix this problem.

Desired Settlement: I now see after doing my research that the real original pine Sol is sold online. I would like to have that sent to me because that is the formula and smell I was looking for. Not the new and improved stuf . I would think this is a simple request for a long term customer

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/28) */ We will contact his consumer and reimburse him the money he paid for the product.

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Burt's Bees account is being used for Bazaar Voice reviews. I received an email during the night which upon inspection turns out to be sent by ********@em.burtsbees.com at 12:00 a.m., August 20, 2015 for the LOVE of NATURAL RATE & REVIEW SWEEPSTAKES. The prize is a $500 BURT'S BEES ONLINE SHOPPING SPREE. You are supposed to choose a product to review to enter the sweepstakes. When I tried to "write a review" for Beeswax Lip Balm the website blocked me from leaving the review and another individual's review appeared under my account for this product. The message on the Burt's Bees website along with the other individual's review states, "Duplicate Submission: You have already submitted the following review for Beeswax Lip Balm". I apologize for not documenting the first individuals information as I thought it was a "glitch" or something and repeatedly, immediately tried over and over again to submit my "write a review" for this product. Signed into my Burt's Bees account, I went to the Beeswax Lip Balm, clicked on the product, clicked on the Customer Reviews, clicked on "write a review" and was blocked repeatedly and received the same messages of, "Duplicate Submission: You have already submitted the following review for Beeswax Lip Balm" with other individual's reviews for the product. When I clicked on the URL for the reviews it came up that they were BazaarVoice reviews. I then went to the Bazaar Voice website and saw that Burt's Bees was a "client" of theirs. Of special note the first two reviews were made on August 19, 2015 a day before I even received the email for the sweepstakes. I have photographic evidence of reviews listed under my account by Bazaar Voice. I contacted Burt's Bees Customer Service and the young woman was unwilling to give me any information as to what I was requesting and it took explaining the situation to her several times before she got part of a grasp on it. Her resolve was to send an email to someone. I explained that it was not the proper resolution if someone would even get her email message and that I wanted to speak to someone in the Corporate Office or in charge basically as it was illegal matters taking place. She stated that she did not have the Corporate Office information, asked me to hold and that she would give me another telephone number. She placed me on hold and never came back. After a lengthy wait, I hung up. I then telephone Bazaar Voice and asked to speak to whomever was in charge of the Burt's Bees account. First willing, upon further explanation and me stating "illegal" several times the young woman played unknowledgable as to whom was in charge of the Burt's Bees account. She first stated that all she had to do was look up the list. I informed the employee of Bazaar Voice that if necessary, I will take legal action and would contact the Corporate Office. In addition, I explained to both individuals that I spoke with that the email account that I use for Burt's Bees had been hacked into recently.

Desired Settlement: As both Burt's Bees' and Bazaar Voice's employees refused to let me speak to the proper individuals in charge of this sweepstakes, I am being blocked from participating in this sweepstakes as when I am logged in to my account other individual's Bazaar Voice reviews are coming up for the product I'm trying to review, the website stating, "Duplicate Submission: You have already submitted the following review for Beeswax Lip Balm", I am seeking $500.00 or a $500.00 Burt's Bees' gift card as compensation before taking legal action against Burt's Bees or Burt's Bees with co-Bazaar Voice. I can submit photographic evidence of other individual's reviews to Burt's Bees, Bazaar Voice and the court if necessary. I would like to resolve this matter before it comes to the point of me taking legal action as my rights have been violated. I would be willing to speak to the media regarding these matters.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/08/26) */ We will contact consumer to let her know someone will look into her complaint and it will be handled. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2015/08/27) */ I was contacted by an employee of Burt's Bees today, August 26, 2015. I have accepted all resolution matters. I would like to add that this employee offered immediate assistance in reaching out to me and in a resolution.

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company screwed up refund and my bank account was frozen as a result. I still haven't received promised refund per policy either. On 2/5/15 I called to request a refund for my purchase of two liquid plumr products per the company's advertised money back guarantee. I was first told that its not an actual refund - its a coupon towards a future purchase. I was only promised a refund after pressing that I wanted the refund as advertised, not a coupon. I received a refund check a couple weeks later which i deposited. I then found that the check bounced due to a stop payment placed on the check the day after it was mailed to me without the company bothering to notify me. As a result my bank charged me a fee & my account was frozen. Additionally i still have no refund for my purchase. This complaint is my 4th attempt at obtaining my refund for the purchase and the bounced check fee i was charged. To summarize- I was told when i called regarding the bounced check that there was nothing that could be done to expedite the refund because "thats not how the system was set up" despite my account being frozen & being unemployed with no income. I was told by a supervisor named Ricky that a second check had been mailed out 2/6/15. On 3/3/15, I emailed customer service since i still hadn't received the check. I received a generic response that said sorry and that a check had been mailed for the refund of the product purchase & bank fee- on 2/26/15. So its obvious that when i was told by both the customer service rep & his supervisor that a check had already been sent out on 2/6/15- that was a lie. It is now 3/17/15. I have not received my refund. I still owe the bank the fee that was charged to me because the company could not be bothered to inform me that a stop payment was placed on the refund check that was originally sent to me and to date the company has still not bothered to actually send me a replacement refund. It's been over a month and the mess the company created has caused me an enormous amount of financial pain and suffering. This is the most atrocious display of 'customer service' I have ever seen.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund of my products and the refund of my bank fee ($10) and i want it expedited to me. I do not believe that a multi-billion dollar company is not capable of putting a check in a priority mail envelope- and I want a tracking number to track the refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/19) */ I called consumer and left message we would reimburse her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had been contacted by the corporate office and was told that I would be receiving a refund check for my purchase and my bank fees and that I would receive an additional $25. It was verified that a refund had never been mailed to me on Feb. 6th as I was told by the Customer Service Manager I spoke to on the phone named *****. The woman from the corporate office verified that as of our conversation on 3/20/15 I should've received the refund check that was mailed on 2/26/15 and she would send an email to see where it was at & why I hadn't gotten it yet. Last Friday (3/27/15) I called and spoke to her again to say that I hadn't received anything. She promised to look into it and she's been very nice but from where I stand I still have no answer as to why the check that was supposedly mailed to me on Feb. 26th has not arrived, nor was there any explanation of why I was lied to by the service manager (*****). In addition, I have yet to receive anything in the mail which is unacceptable. I don't accept that the business has taken responsibility for the damage they've caused and the hardship that I've had to endure is lingering because for some reason they can't seem to locate their check. I don't see any proof that anything has been done on my behalf. Again the woman that contacted me was very nice but as it stands i've heard a lot of apologies and received a bunch of promises that "its in the mail" and "they're going to look into it". Simply put: that isn't good enough. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2015/04/28) */ I would like for the date of the check, the check number, and the tracking information for the check to be provided to me as this is the 5th time I've been told that its been requested and mailed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2015/04/29) */ We have sent this consumer a reimbursement.

3/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red drawstring handles on Glad Forceflex kitchen bags rip rendering them useless Purchased 140 quantity Glad Forceflex kitchen bags at Costco - $15.99; complained to Glad, sent pictures but at time of original complaint did not have UPC code; they ignored my inquiry because I didn't have the code. I had proof of the box, the quantity and the defect in pictures I sent their Cust Service and NO ONE responded ! They are selling defective product and ignoring customer complaints especially when proof was provided. Customer service responded as follows: Response By Email (ncelestin) (02/04/XXXX XX:XX PM); no response thus far or refund.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my $15.99 that I originally purchased this. If they don't want to deal with customers who purchase through Costco then they should remove their product from the Costco shelves.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/10) */ Consumer called our company on March 4, 2015, agents have requested consumer a coupon for $12.00. I will send consumer a reimburement check for $15.99. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will await my consumer refund check from the company.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading customer service regarding health problem caused by product. Company denying compensation for returned product. I experienced a health problem with their product, Burt's Bees Radiance Night Creme with Royal Jelly. I contacted customer service to report the problem. The customer service rep, Ms. **** ***** explained to me that they can compensate up to $100 now or I can submit a claim to their medical department for review if I wanted them to cover the medical cost. I asked if I can come back to her for the compensation in case the medical department decides to deny the claim, and she said I can. However, when the claim was actually denied, Ms. ***** claimed she did not tell me I can come back (stating that she's been doing this for 20+ years and she knows what she says and she has proof in her notes) and that she cannot overturn decisions made by other departments. My complaint is: 1) I am not asking her to overturn the decision . I am simply asking for what she told me I can ask for. I clearly remember asking for clarification about compensation in case of denial, since I feared it may happen. I have it written down in my notes as well. I would like them to let me listen to the recording of our conversation if they claim they told me otherwise. 2) I did not feel they take product safety issues seriously. They asked me to first send them back the product. They said they checked it and found no defect. That is probably true. I don't think I received a defective product. I believe there is something in the formula that is quite harmful for some people. I've read other consumers complaining of similar issues. Please see below for the problems I experienced. I feel this product should be recalled. *Summary of health problem I experienced I applied the cream two nights in a row starting around July 23. In the evening of July 25, I suddenly felt my forehead itch. I looked in the mirror and I had hives mostly on my forehead and eyelids. I also felt very tired and had to lie down. I ended up unable to eat dinner, breakfast, lunch, nor get up the following day. I was not vomiting or nor had any fever, simply feeling very tired all over and no appetite. By the evening of July 26, I began having diarrhea and it lasted about four days. I stopped using the cream after the two first nights, and the hives were mostly gone by the next day. I asked my doctor about this, and she believed it could be something else since topical cream normally won't cause such reaction. She suggested I do a patch test on my arms couple of times just in case. I applied a small amount of the cream, quarter size on one arm. After about 48 hours, the area developed rash and became itchy. I applied again on the other arm, and the same happened about 48 hours later. I applied once again to my first arm, and the same happened. All three times, I also had abdominal pain. I had an allergy test done, but there was no serious allergy for the items tested.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the compensation of up to $100 that was originally promised. I would also like them to seriously look into the safety of the formula they are using. Many people are experiencing problems since they changed formula couple of years ago. I also had rash using their fragrance free baby lotion in the past. Mothers may not notice that a cream can cause such problems as loss of appetite and diarrhea, especially when it can take 2 days for reaction to occur.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/08) */ Our product was tested and it was fine. Consumer has allergies and she took a few allergy test on her own accord. Our Risk/Legal area was not responsible for sending consumer $100.00. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is about customer service. Please listen to the actual recording of our conversation where you stated I can come back and ask for compensation if the risk department denies the claim. I am pursuing this because a customer shouldn't be told one thing and then the opposite later, and be blamed for it. I will happily accept your response if I can hear the actual recording. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/14) */ Do to we value our consumers we are sending consumere a GOODWILL check for $100.00. We are not accepting liability for this incident. Consumer should receive this check in a week to 10 days. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please see the message I added on January 14 for the reason I cannot accept the check.

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 3 products on Dec. 2nd, box arrived Dec. 15th with only one product (label says 3). No communication that package would be short, no refund. I ordered 3 summer grab bags on Dec. 2nd from Burt's Bees online, 2014. Received a confirmation email on Dec. 3rd that the package had been shipped with 3 grab bags. Received the box on Dec. 15th with only one bag in it. No one at the company ever informed me that my order was shorted. No refund nor credit was issued until I called and complained (guess they were just going to keep my monies). When I spoke to customer service and asked to speak to a supervisor I was told I could leave a voice mail and someone would get back to me in 48 hours. Horrendous and completely unacceptable customer service and business pratices.

Desired Settlement: I want an acceptable replacement for the products that I was shorted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ We will contact this consumer and give her a reimbursement. This should settle her complaint.

1/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defective Clorox Bleach product that caused damage in home. On September 19, 2014, I had purchased a Clorox Bleach 55oz container from CVS Pharmacy located in **********, ** ***** **** I am extremely disappointed because upon taking the item home, the defective bottle began to leak the bleach over an area of my hardwood flooring and area rugs. The area rugs, one of which was a sentimental gift from my wife’s grandmother before her passing, both are destroyed. To resolve the problem, I would appreciate a refund for the cost to replace the new area rugs that were destroyed. Enclosed are copies of my records including receipts from purchases, photos, and other requested documentation. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until before seeking help from a consumer protection agency or the Better Business Bureau. Please contact me at the above address or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate a refund for the cost to replace the new area rugs that were destroyed. Enclosed are copies of my records including receipts from purchases, photos, and other requested documentation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ We received this complaint on September 29th and we called consumer and left a message for consumer to contact our company. Talked to consumer and we have sent our open claims letter to review his complaint. Consumer was satisfied with how this was being handled. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Have sent all claim information have not heard back Final Business Response /* (1000, 26, 2014/12/19) */ 12-18-14 Sent via email: Hi ******* We are the Third Party Administrator for The Clorox Company. Please be advised we are still waiting for the results of the testing of the bottle. Once I am in receipt of same I will be in contact with Mr. ******. Thank you- *****

11/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Pine-Sol 144 fl. oz. product has a new scent that is not expressly noted on the packaging. For the lack of a better term, the scent is horrible. In good faith, rough draft summary, and with all due respect, I purchased numerous bottles of the 144 fl. oz. Pine-Sol, which only after the fact I learned of its new scent, which in simple terms is unacceptable, nauseating, and horrible. Moreover, since the manufacturer neglected to disclose the new scent, which numerous reasonable people agree has an unpleasant chemical odor, I am justly disappointed after using said product for many years as a loyal customer of said brand and the company's various products. Furthermore, Clorox responded to my online contact sharing my credible, warranted concerns as if it was nothing. For they never accepted personal responsibility or offered a remedy to said problem that also violated my right to spend my lawful money the way i choose, which is not to purchase products that are intentionally misrepresented and harmful to my life and health as a person with medical disabilities and sensitive to cleaning chemicals. Though everyone in this life is equal, a human being has the equal right to know the truth, including regarding any changes to a product with adverse effects. God bless. Mr. ******

Desired Settlement: Due to the bad faith actions of said company by its neglect to forewarn a customer of its new scent and potential unhealthy side effects, including headaches and nausea, I simply want a refund for the several bottles (144. fl. oz) that has wasted my precious, irreplaceable time and money going to and from the local Home Depot to purchase in good faith, only to be insulted and betrayed by a company that assumes life evolves around them by doing what they want with their products without advising its customers so we can make an informed and competent decision. For had I known of the new scent, which is simply unacceptable, I would have terminated my purchasing of said product immediately. In footnote, said product does "not" have a protective seal to avoid tampering with by anyone, especially someone with a malicious mentality and intent to cause harm to an innocent human being. Please remedy. God bless. Mr. ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/22) */ I will contact this consumer and give him a reimbursment for bottles he has purchased and he feels the scent has changed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/10) */ We have sent this consumer a reimbursent for the product he was not happy with the scent. Claim is now settled.

11/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a brand new washer and dryer from aaron rent to own. I started using concentraef clorox bleach for my whites. I started purchasing these bleach at sams like I always did , but clorox changed to concentrated no more regular. I didn't think it was going to corrode my washer and dyer. I spoke to clorox corporation back in nov 2013. I sent in pictures and statemenys from aarons and appliance repair stating this issue was not fixable. ***** ***** the sr claim rep. said she needed to test the clorox . She sent me a letter of deny this claim. I used this bleach for a year and did damage my brand new appliances. The dryer has stated corrode in the rim of the door. I stop uding bleach because of this proplems. Product_Or_Service: maytag washer /dryer Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund My washer is a maytag cost 1200.00 my dryer is a maytag cost 1200.00 there are a pair. I want clorox to pay me for the appliances.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/10/01) */ Received business response via email on 9/30/14: DENIAL LETTER SENT TO CLMT: April 8, 2014 ***** ***** XXXXX ******** **** Lane ********* ***** XXXXX Re: ***** ***** Claim # XXXXXX-XXXXXX-PB-01 Date of loss: 10/02/2013 Our Client: The Clorox Company Dear Ms. *****: We are the Third Party Administrator for The Clorox Company. This letter shall serve to formally advise you of the decision reached regarding responsibility for your incident as it pertains to the claim you have presented. As you are aware, our client's obligation is to pay only those claims for which they are legally liable. In consideration of that responsibility, we are guided by all information which becomes available to us during the course of our investigation. The known facts of your claim have been considered and carefully evaluated. We have concluded responsibility for your incident does not rest with our client, The Clorox Company. There is no evidence to substantiate that our client's product was defective and resulted in your damages. We therefore, cannot accept responsibility for the damages. Respectfully, we must deny your claim. Please be advised the Statute of Limitations for your property damage claim expires on 10/02/2015. Thank you. Sincerely, GALLAGHER BASSETT SERVICES, INC. ***** ***** Sr. Claim Representative XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This was a new product from clorex bleach sams club started sales some years back and I started buying the new consentrated brand from clorex bleach , I used the clorex bleach for 2 years and noticed it was rust in my machines . On this product from clorex bleach this bottle never stated this product of clorex bleach would rust out my washing machine and dryer. Thank you

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has a program called "Paw Points" and you can currently donate your "paw points" to the shelter of your choice. These paw points are on packages of Fresh Step Cat Litter. I have donated 1745 points to the First State Animal Center & SPCA in ********** since 8/29. This is the proof:Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 10/19/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 10/09/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 09/24/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 09/20/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 09/06/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 08/29/XXXX XXX Donation to First State Animal Center & SPCA 08/29/XXXX XXX The previous 2 times I have entered points to be donated, it has SUBTRACTED POINTS. For example, the site stated that the shelter needed 7,740 points to meet their goal of 10,000 points donated. When I donated 240 points it should have stated the shelter needs 7,500 points to meet their goal. Instead, it says "they need 8,000!! At least 4 or 5 other people have donated, including one donation for 500 points which would mean that my 1745 and the 500 points alone would exceed what they state has been entered. Perhaps this is not a big deal in the large scheme of things, but there are close to 400 shelters participating in this "donate to charity" program and I don't know whether they are receiving all their points or not. I have twice emailed the situation to them and have gotten 2 meager responses which have not addressed the issue. This is the last response I received on 0ct 20, 2014Hello ****,Thank you for reaching out to us regarding the Fresh Step Paw Points Loyalty Program.Our records indicate they did receive your donation. It posted on 10/19/14 around 1 am. Please note it may take up to 24 hours for our systems to update.Thanks,Paw Points Customer Service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I'd like the program to count up the shelter points manually. If I donated 1745 points, Lynn donated 500 points and 2-3 others donated XXX-XXX points, that would equal more than 2,000 pts donated. The points aren't showing up. They have a neg. and pos. sign next to the donate button; perhaps there's a glitch in their system. The shelters need the points. Thanks!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/23) */ We will contact this consumer but the company that handles our Paw Points program has certain rules you must follow and this keeps everything in order. There are many Paw Points scams and that is why we have set rules.

10/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Brita pitcher supposed to light up for filter to change. Its been months have not. Company refuses to respond. I purchased a large Brita jug that is supposed to let you know when the filter needs to be changed. So it has not lit up since I purchased it in March. I wrote to the company four times and they have not responded as to why the filter seems to be lasting months when their site says it should last about 2 - 3 months depending on usage.

Desired Settlement: Immediately replace product because it must be defective if the change filter light has never come on for the past six months and it is in constant use.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/12) */ We will contact this consumer to let her know we will reimburse her for this Brita systems. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive a call on Friday from representative who said she would reimburse for the Brita. She asked me how much I paid I told her $39.99 but that did not include the taxes. Taxes of NY value should be added. Also, I now notice that the filters I purchased are about to expire. I am disabled and over 60 and did not realize the filter indication was not working till my daughter told me it should have indicated a change twice already. Therefore, since the jug should have given an indication which it did not, I would ask them to replace the filters by sending me the amount I have on hand which does not show clearly the expiration date. Thanks to you and Brita for offering to replace it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/16) */ I talked to consumer and a check for reimbursement for $40.00 has been requested to reimburse consumer. This complaint should be settled and closed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I provided additional information regarding this complaint to the BBB and Brita via a message left for the rep who called me. It stated clearly that firstly, the taxes should be added (NYC 8.5% as that is where it was purchased) and also that the filters that I have in my possession (Brita) 2 packs - have NO EXPIRATION information and that the company needs to replace the two packs of filters as I am waiting to replace the jug and purchase new filters. Before I could complete my conversation with the rep who called while I was driving she hung up after asking how much I had paid and not letting me explain about the filters and the taxes. Right now the items are being sold for

10/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Given a Brita jug for a gift that turned out to be defective. Got a defective large Brita jug which was defective. Spoke to someone who told me they would reimburse me so I could go buy another jug. A ck was sent for the amount minus the tax amount. Further and most important though was the fact that I sent information to the company pertaining to a three pack of Brita filters that was given at the time and never used. I no longer wish to use them. I opened the box and saw no place where the expiration dates could be found. I looked on the box, on the packages themselves and dont know the age of those filters as I got them with the jug which was defective.

Desired Settlement: Certify to me that these filters are good or replace them. Provide me information as to where the expiration dates are but better yet since the jug did not work for the filter to be replaced, replace the filter themselves.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/30) */ Contacted this consumer and we will reimburse her for Brita System and Brita filters. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been waiting for a reimbursement from this company. I was told checks were coming. NOTHING SO FAR. I would like to have the check in hand before this complaint is closed. Thank you. The lady is very nice but she has to deal with other departments and they already sent me a check which they later told me was no good. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/10/16) */ A check has been requested for this claim to be solved. I told consumer it would take a week to 10 days to receive her second check. We have sent consumer a check for $40.00 and we sent a second check for $50.00. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is regarding the Formula 409 all purpose cleaner of the Clorox Company. I used the cleaner after that it damaged the appearance of the stove. I bought the formula 409 all purpose cleaner of the clorox company at Lowes hardware I think last December 2013. I used the said cleaner to clean the surface of my cooking stove. I noticed after using the cleaner black control panel where the control **** is attached & word is written (like front, rear,selector, oven temperature,oven heating, oven light, surface heating & etc.) it start to tear like if you touch it by your finger it tear off. I called the Clorox Company. Their consumer services responded in writing one of their requirements is to have 2 written estimates for repairs/replacement. I called two company to have it estimate. Both of them are asking $50.00 to $60.00 in able to send the technician out. I talked to **** ****** last February 10,2014 of Clorox consumer services ( *************). I ask her if she can send their own technician or money to have it estimate cause I don't have the money. She said they cannot to that because they don't know if the repair /replacement will be granted. I asked her I want to talk to the person higher than her. She said no one is higher than me, I'm the Manager . She also added that I can report them to Better business bureau & she hang off the phone. Please help me on this first step.

Desired Settlement: I want the Black background of my cooking stove where the control ****, words written on it to have a good appearance again the way it was before.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:********************************** We have followed all procedures to help this consumer and our 409 product does not have any ingredients that would cause these kind of damages. I asked consumer if they had used another product and they couldn't remember. They told me the stove is about 10 to 15 years old and I believe the stove is where they are renting. We have sent our claims letter and once we receive information from consumer we will review and see how to move forwarded. Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/05/02) */ Sir/Ma'am, I just received your letter dated April 7, 2014, yesterday May 1, 2014. The MIDDLE GROUND just to start the FIRST step of this case is to send their own technician to estimate the damage. I don't have enough money to hire my own technician. Please help on this. ( please reopen the case it's not yet settle. Thank you) Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/06) */ Sir/Ma'am, I just received your letter dated April 7, 2014, yesterday May 1, 2014. The MIDDLE GROUND just to start the FIRST step of this case is to send their own technician to estimate the damage. I don't have enough money to hire my own technician. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/05/07) */ We have sent this consumer our open claims letter even though our product is not known to cause these kind of damages. Consumer said stove is about 8 to 10 years old and we asks consumer how many different kinds of products have been used on stove. We have sent this consumer a postage paid mailing label to send all needed information for this claim. Consumers claim is open but we need bottle, letter of explanation, photos and estimates to review. Business Response /* (-10, 17, 2014/05/07) */ Additonal information: I talked with our technical area and they said our 409 should not to be used on a painted surface. All of our bottles state test on a inconspicious area before using. Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) One of their requirement to start the claim is "ESTIMATES" of the damage. Can I just ESTIMATE it by myself ? Because I don't have extra money to hire a technician. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/05/15) */ Please let this consumer know we will be glad to offer a goodwill for $50.00 and they will not have to send anything. The stove is older and we still feel consumer should not have used product on stove without reading directions. Consumer Response /* (-5, 23, 2014/05/15) */ This is a response to the Business additional information dated May 7, 2014. It's clearly stated at the picture of 409 All purpose cleaner product that it can be use to clean the stove & microwave. Can I just ESTIMATE by myself the costs of damage to my stove? Because I don't have extra money to hire a technician . And this is just "ONE OF YOUR REQUIREMENTS " to start the process of the claim. Consumer Response /* (-5, 25, 2014/05/22) */ Please tell to the business to repair the damage that's done to my cooking stove by their 409 all purpose cleaner. Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because it's not enough to repair the damage on my cooking stove. Consumer Response /* (-5, 27, 2014/06/10) */ Maybe I will ask ABC 7 news for help on this matter. Consumer Response /* (-5, 28, 2014/07/27) */ The clorox company did not settle the case regarding their product that cause damage to the appearance of my cooking stove. Please help.

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a request to return & refund the pitcher I purchased which was under the 30 day money-back guarantee. I followed up 2x without a response. Reference number: XXXXXX-XXXXXX I purchased a Brita filter on 6/7/2014 and discovered that it leaked and did not work as I had expected. Since there was a 30 day money-back guarantee, I submitted my ticket through the Brita website on 6/8/14 to request a refund and to return the item. I received a response from them on 6/10/14 asking for additional information, which I provided on 6/11/14. Since then, I have not heard from them, and have followed up over email twice. Here is my original message: I've been using the slim model for several years and recently decided to purchase a larger capacity pitcher. I purchased the Oceania model and have been using it for 2 days. I am not satisfied with this pitcher for several reasons. The pitcher leaks - after leaving the pitcher in the refrigerator overnight, the water leaked onto everything on the shelf below. Also, the reservoir is poorly designed. I realized that I have to refill several times to reach the 10 cup capacity. Not having to refill several times was the reason why I wanted to get the larger capacity in the first place. I purchased this in store at BJ's and am unable to return it since I've already opened the package. But I see that there is a 30 day money back guarantee on the package. Please let me know what additional information you'll need from me so that I can return the product and get a refund. I still have the packaging and my store receipt. • Barcode number/UPC: X XXXXX XXXXX X • Production number: 8JXXXX XX FXXXXX • Full name of the product: Oceania Model • Date of Purchase: 6/7/14 • Price of product: $29.99 (with $5 clipless coupon)

Desired Settlement: As stated on the packaging, I would like to return the item and get a refund for my purchase as it is still within the 30 days of the first day I purchased the item.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/02) */ We will send this consumer a $35.00 reimbursment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for resolving this complaint. I greatly appreciate the refund. Please let me know if there is any additional information required from me.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: glad company failed to honer replacment coupons defunct trash bags....called three times ,, diffrent st story,,no coupons..... glad tall kitchen drawstring odorshield bags,,, # XXXXXXXXXX ...bought 4/15/1214 sams club....15 dollars....the drawstrings are detached...making the bags useless........

Desired Settlement: replacement coupon they promised in the first place... now they want me to take a customer servey. no way glad...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ We will contact this consumer and reimburse him.

6/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product Leaks; Customer Service is HORRIBLE The product leaks, all of the time and all I ever receive as a response from customer service is to call them, when I have clearly asked them, twice, to call me. They are useless. I will be searching for another company to do business with as this one is useless and completely disappointing. I have asked for management to call me to get this resolved yet that leads to nothing as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a replacement product, other than the one listed in the complaint filed with Brita: ******-******.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ I will contact consumer and aplogize for his inconvenience and reimburse him. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ****, from Clorox called and heard the issues. She has sent a refund check so that I can purchase a better product. Because she personally handled this, it has been more than satisfactorily resolved!

5/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kingsford KST40 Collapsible Chimney Starter I brought this product about April 10,2014 from BJ'S Wholesale Warehouse. 15.99+ Tax The Red Handle melted in my hand and burned me. I only used this product 5-6 times. I used this product with kingsford Charcoal. I truly believe if this happened to my Kingsford charcoal chimney this will happen to ALL. This product should be recalled! I have contacted people at the corporate offices of Kingsford and the clorox company. I haven't gotten a response from Kingsford yet. Clorox Company called me back and explained to me Kingsford just prints the "Clorox" name on the product because it sells. Clorox or Kingsford is taking NOT responsibility. For this product integrity issue.

Desired Settlement: recall this item and to talk to someone to get this resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ I talked to this consumer and told him his comments will be shared with the appropriate people. Consumer was satisfied after we talked.

12/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unopened bottle of clorox spilled all over my groceries and backseat of my car destroying it. The seat is ruined and the smell won't lessen. I purchased this bottle of clorox at the acton market in acton ca and the cashier out it in with the groceries, which it spilled all over and spilled all over the backseat of the car...ruining it... nd my infants car seat that was next to the groceries on the back seat. The car is not drivable with him in it right now because the smell is overwhelming and this is my only vehicle for transportation

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the replacement of the car seat and infant seat and thanksgiving groceries

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/02) */ I will contact this consumer and get all needed information to handle consumers complaint.

10/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a Brita Pitcher for Christmas 2012 as a gift; upon opening to use there was no instruction booklet. I contacted Brita between Christmas 2012 and January 2012 reporting this matter. I received an e-mail from ********* *****, customer Service on January 8,2013 informing me that a replacement booklet would be sent out and I should receive it within 7-10 business days. On February 21 I contacted Brita once again only to be told they had no booklets left. I sent another e-mail October 12. Will flag this to see if I will receive a response.I didn't realize it was so hard to send a replacement booklet for a Brita pitcher. I would never buy a product from Brita and I will tell the people who gave it me what has happened so they will ever purchase from them again. I am still in shock! Product_Or_Service: Brita Water Filteration Pitcher

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Would just like my Instruction Booklet for Pitcher replaced and a apology wouldn't hurt but the booklet is more important so I can use the Pitcher.Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ I called consumer and left message to contact me at her earliest convenience. I will apologize for her inconvenience and I will make sure she get a booklet and a few coupons for future use. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a bottle of Clorox Improved Whitening Regular Bleach. I never opened it, yet it spilled all over my groceries and school clothes for my son. I bought this bottle of Bleach at Walmart at Heath Ohio. On August 17th 2013. The problem is either it wasn't sealed correctly and when I was driving home it ruined everything that I had bought. This might not seem like a big deal, but I live pay check to pay check. It ruined my son's school clothes that I just bought him and all of the groceries that I bought.

Desired Settlement: This put me in quite a bad situation. I don't know what can be done. I can tell you that it cost me about 400.00 in food and clothes. I would love to have that reimbursed because it did ruin everything and it has set me behind on everything.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Claims Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **********************@clorox.com Contacted consumer and I will send our claims letter to get needed info to settle consumers claim. Consumer was satistified with the way I am handling his claim.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Clorox Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)