BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers rotary phase converters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1968 in CA Business started locally: 06/01/1968
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Drew Lance, Sales Manager Ms. Donna Leber, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Drew Lance, Sales Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Industrial Manufacturers Industrial Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
TEMCo Industrial Power Tower Electric Motor Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 48621 Warm Springs Blvd

    Fremont, CA 94539


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 5/14 we submitted to TEMCO our oven manual. They advised of a converter that would suit. Upon receipt it did not work. Sent it back. Will not ref In May of 2014 we submitted to TEMCO the manual for our commercial oven. Upon review they advised of an electric converter they could build per the manuals specifications for the Zesto oven. It was sent to us. We did not open the electric converter right away as we had to hire a qualified electrician to install it. When we did have the electrician come to install he advised us that it would not work for our oven. We contacted TEMCO and asked them to have it shipped back. TEMCO made the arrangements for collection via R & L Carriers. R & L Carriers collected the unit however when the man put it on the truck he did not strap it down. My husband questioned this with an employee watching. Upon receipt back to TEMCO we were informed the unit was damaged during shipment and no refund would be given. They did not allow us to contact the carrier. They claimed they would work with R & L Carriers regarding an insurance claim and after waiting months to hear we were told that R & L Carriers would not pay out the claim. I am filing this complaint as 1) they sent a unit that was never appropriate even after having the oven specs provided and they are the experts and then 2) handled the details with a carrier that was not careful with the merchandise.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $789.53 that was paid out for this unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/07/01) */ This customer was instructed to ship the item back to us and then they would receive a credit for the item. They were informed that the original packaging was only designed for 1 way shipping and it it was their responsibility to package the item sufficiently to make it back to TEMCo in good condition to receive credit. Upon arrival, the unit had been damaged in freight. We contacted the *** **** to inform of the damage and provided photos and the signed BOL indicating damage upon arrival so they could proceed with a freight claim to get their reimbursement. TEMCo offered to file the claim for them to help with their situation. Freight claims can take XX-XXX days on average to complete. As indicated by *** in her complaint we were informed by the freight company that the claim was denied because the packaging was insufficient and the customer was in possession of the product for too long prior to shipping back (5 months). We have attempted to continue to fight the decision on the customers behalf but to this point have not gotten them to to reverse their position. While we are still trying to fight this with the freight carrier from our end, and even though we never received the unit back in good condition, TEMCo will meet the request of the customer for credit. In order to process a credit, we need the customer to verify the address which we can send a reimbursement check to. Thank you. Best Regards, **** ***** COO / Sales Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Please send the check to ********************************************************** XXXXX

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart