BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Meyer Corporation

(707) 551-2800View Additional Phone Numbers1 Meyer Plaza, VallejoCA 94590-5925http://www.potsandpans.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers cookware, bakeware and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

Meyer Corporation is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Meyer Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues8
Problems with Product / Service26
Total Closed Complaints 38

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Meyer Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (38)
06/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Circulon pan warranty problems.
I bought this circulon pan with a lifetime warranty. The frying pan was expensive at $100.
The pan did not last. May 14, 2015, I put the warranty claim in and I did not hear back a month later. So I called Circulon and they said they have no clue who I am am and asked me to file a new claim. The new claim did not work. They said they are having computer problems. I just wanted to put the lifetime product warranty in for the defective frying pan. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
New frying pan. Please provide with telephone number so I can discuss with you. Thank you.

Business Response
We received BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX re ***** ***** and her Circulon(r) 12" skillet. We apologized for the experience she had with our new, online warranty claim form and she agreed to e-mail photos of her skillet for our review. Pursuant to Circulon's(r) lifetime warranty, we ordered Ms. ***** a replacement skillet.

This concludes our investigation of this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Resolved. Thank you!

04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was asked to send back the defective pots and pans to meyer Corp Cust. Relations (pre-paid by me). I did so two weeks ago. NO RESPONSE from Meyer Co
I sent back the defective pots and pans (a complete set) that had totally lost their non-stick properties. I had spoken with a Meyer rep on the phone previous to sending them back. I had to pay the shipping ($56.80 USPS Tracking Number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) to send them back. I received delivery conformation from the Post Office that the items had been delivered to Meyer Customer Relations at the provided address on March 18, 2015 , 9:54 am. I have received zero communication(s from Meyer Corporation. Every time I attempt to contact Meyer Corporation I am placed in a looping que that never allows me to talk to a real person. All attempts to contact Meyer Corp basically give me this "We're sorry, chat is currently unavailable
Chat hours are listed below.
Monday - Thursday: 08:30 AM - 05:00 PM PDT
Friday - Sunday: Closed
It is currently Friday, Apr. 03, XXXX XX:XX AM PDT" (a time when they should be OPEN). Or, when I place a phone call I hear, "Meyer Corporation is now closed" even though I am calling during their OPEN hours.
It would seem that Meyer Corporation is in fact a "one-man-band" and has no real offices and that no one really works there. I have called them at every number I could find that they provide on the internet and on their web pages every day for a week but have only managed to get hold of a real person on that first instance.
"Hello Meyer Corporation, are you out there?"

Desired Settlement
We request a complete replacement of the entire cookware set. A pan for pan and pot for pot replacement of the defective pots and pans I sent back to Meyer Corporation Customer Relations.
This is an exact copy of the letter I placed in the shipping carton with the pots and pans I shipped them:
"Hello Meyer Corporation Consumer Relations,

I spoke with your representative over the phone and she suggested that I write you this note to explain the problems we are having with this set of Anolon Cookware.
• First off I would like to say that we NEVER use metal utensils to cook with. We use mostly wooden and some soft plastic utensils designed for non-stick cookware.
• We NEVER place the cookware into the dishwasher. They are always cleaned/washed by hand using DAWN dish soap, water and occasionally a mild 3-M non-stick cookware compatible scrub pad/sponge.
• We NEVER use cooking sprays, however we do occasionally use a small amount of peanut oil when pan frying pork chops and the like.
• We NEVER stack the pots or pans in the cupboard.
• We NEVER leave food sitting in the pans overnight.
• We NEVER cook on High Heat. We have an electric range with settings from 1-10 on the knobs. We generally cook at settings from 2-4.5. When frying pork chops let™s say, we use setting 5.5. When boiling water or cooking spaghetti we use setting 7 until the boil is rapid and then generally turn the burner down to 4-5 to continue the boil.

Within the first year after purchase the silicone grip on the large steep-sided skillet split and fell off. The pan was replaced by Bed, Bath and Beyond (at the purchase location here in Daytona Beach). Within the second year the grip came loose once again on that pan and the pan began rotating in our hands when we attempted to pick it up. On several occasions the pan rotated so far that the hot food in the pan was either dumped onto the stove, or onto the floor. Needless to say this made my wife very angry. I finally just removed the failed grip leaving the bare metal handle exposed.
After the second year or so food started sticking in the large skillet. Subsequent to that food began sticking in all of the pots, pans and skillets (this seemed to be one-by-one in accordance with how much each had been used). This sticking has become worse over several years and is now so bad that no matter what is cooked it seems that something is always left stuck in one or more of the pans after cooking any meal. It is now virtually impossible to cook an egg in any of the skillets. Even spaghetti sticks to the bottom of the large pot and chili beans do the same.
We have 20 year old set of Rival Cookware that was used by us exclusively for over ten years before we bought this Anolon Cookware and it is still used every day side-by-side with this Anolon. The Rival Cookware still maintains its non-stick properties using the same stove, utensils, cooking and cleaning procedures as we use on the Anolon. The Anolon has not retained any of its non-stick properties and is less than half as old as the Rival. We had a laugh the other day as we found it was easier to remove cooked-on fried potatoes from and old cast iron skillet than it was to remove them from the Anolon skillet (we had used them both side-by-side on the stove to cook a large batch of fried potatoes for a family get-together).
All-in-all, this Anolon Cookware has not performed as advertised nor as promised by the Bed, Bath and Beyond sales person. We are quite disappointed in the quality of the non-stick surface coating and its performance. The set itself seems quite well made (except for the failed handle grip) and we have no complaint about its construction. It is just the failed non-stick coating that is at fault and the sole reason we are sending this Anolon Cookware set back to you for replacement.
Thanks in advance for all of your concern on this matter,
Yours Truly,
*** and **** *****

Address and Phone was also included.

Business Response
We spoke to Mr. *** on April 14th and he explained that he chose to file the complaint in order to get a quicker response to the status of his warranty return claim. That phone call is memorialized in the e-mail below, which was sent to him sent later that same day. We are grateful to Mr. *** in allowing us the opportunity to resolve his complaint and have now closed this matter.

***********************************

Dear ***,

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me this afternoon about your Better Business Bureau complaint, no. XXXXXXXX.

As I explained during our phone call, our Warranty Returns process takes approximately six to eight weeks. This time includes delivery of your cookware to our Warranty team; their inspection of your cookware; ordering your replacements and your receipt of it. Per our UPS tracking numbers 1zXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and 1***************** (www.ups.com), you can expect to receive your replacement cookware by the end of the day on Thursday, April 16th. Please note that if your product is no longer available, then we will replace it with a similar one or one of equal value. For more information about our Warranty Returns process, please visit our Support Page http://**********************************************.

Your Anolon(r) cookware has been replaced with the following pieces described below. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at the toll-free number listed below. Thank you, ***, for your cooperation and for allowing us to assist you.

Anolon(r) Advanced 9-Piece Cookware Set with 2-Piece Bakeware Set, SKU: 83433 (2 Qt. Covered Saucepan, 3 Qt. Covered Saucepan, 8 Qt. Covered Stockpot, 10" French skillet, 3 Qt. Covered Saute (2) 10" x 15" Cookie Pans)

Anolon(r) Advanced 14" French Skillet, SKU XXXXX

Anolon(r) Advanced 5 qt Covered Saute with Helper Handle, SKU XXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Meyer Corp replaced all of the defective cookware with similar pieces. We are content with their response.

04/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to replace 3 pans that were sent to them for warranty replacement.
I have used Meyers Analon pans for years. As the interior coating has worn out on other pans in my set, they have replaced them as I use and maintain them according to the warranty which their prior inspections have confirmed each time.

On February 11, 2015, I sent them 3 pots (4Qt., 2 Qt., and 1.5 Qt.) by US mail. I mailed them to One Meyer Plaza (the place indicated on my warranty and the place I has mailed prior pots).

Approximately a month later I called to inquire as to the status and was told that customer service has no record of them and never does until they have 1st been inspected by another department. The indicated that until their department receives that report the pans are not even in their system or known to them. They would not look into it, and told me to call back in another week or two.

On March 17 I called and received the same story. This time however, I was told that customer service moved about 20 miles from the One Meyer Plaza corporate address and that pans that are sent there sit until there are enough of them to send over to be inspected - but that still Customer Service would have no knowledge of them until they were inspected.

I called back to the corporate facility and was able to get a helpful party (not in customer service) who said she would look into it and call me back. Two days later I received her call indicating she could find nothing. I was asked if I had tracking information. I replied that I only had proof that I paid the postage to mail the pans.

She indicated that without proof that they were received, they "could do nothing".

I counter that it is not my fault that they changed customer service locations and, regardless, the pans were mailed to the address on my warranty which is still the Meyer corporate location. The fact they admit that they do not log in warranty pans upon receipt, and that they inefficiently transfer warranty pans to their inspection location is a problem on their part.

I now read numerous internet stories about how they commonly claim to not have received pans only to be corrected by parties that have delivery receipts. I am alarmed at that tactic, and suspect that this is not an accident as much as a warranty avoidance tactic.

As indicated, I have been satisfied in the past and have many friends that have purchased Analon pans based on my previous experience with this firm.

I have much better uses of my time than to trying to scam them out of 3 pans when, as mentioned, they have acknowledged my proper use of my pans based on replacing others in the past. As a senior citizen though, I don't have the resources to replace defective pans just because they don't track warranty items properly.

I can take this to Small Claims Court, but I want to first document that I made every effort to resolve this first.

You help is appreciated.

I live only about 50 miles from Vallejo so the pans would have been delivered well within a week of mailing. My address was on the box and on a letter contained inside the box.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the 3 pans I shipped to them.

Business Response
Anolon(r) cookware comes with a Lifetime Limited Warranty. Consumers who wish to have their cookware inspected and replaced pursuant to the Warranty are instructed to mail their items to Meyer Corporation, Consumer Relations, ***************************** XXXXX. We recommend that consumers use a shipping service that provides tracking information or proof of delivery, as we are not responsible for shipping damage or non-delivery of items to our facility. For the Bureau's reference, please view our Support Page at http://meyer.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a id/291. Also, our Consumer Relations experts consistently advise consumers of the same via phone, email and live "chat." So that we can further assist Mr. ****, at his earliest convenience, we ask that he forward tracking information or proof of delivery of his returned items.

We thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ****'s concerns. We look forward to his response and to resolving his issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Meyer's Lifetime Warranty specifically states IN WRITING that ALL I HAVE TO DO is to SHIP the pans to the One Meyer Plaza address I shipped them to. I have evidence that I paid the postage to ship them. The Warranty does NOT state that I have to pay extra to get a delivery receipt. It does NOT state that I need to send them to the new address that they now have instead of their Warranty instructions which specify sending the pans to their existing corporate address. Their Warranty does NOT limit their liability to their receipt or inspection of mailed pans, or to pans lost in the mail or in their facility, once sent. The Warranty does NOT say a consumer needs to check on the Meyer website or talk to one of their customer service agents before sending the pans. Their own agents admit that pans that actually go to the address on the Warranty sit around at that address until they get enough of them to send over to their current customer facility AND that pans are not even logged in or tracked until AFTER they have been inspected. So, they sit around unaccounted for. Am I supposed to be out for their loss of my 3 pans because they either misplace items or toss out pans that they see have no tracking proof to avoid having to honor their warranty? Potential mis-delievery of pans is literally impossible since the huge Meyer Corporation building is literally the only business on Meyer Plaza. Regardless, Meyer Corporation wrote their own Warranty and I followed it, as I have done in the past. They are legally responsible for the language of their Warranty. I have sent in pans several other times, and was always sent replacement pans because I use my pans as instructed. I will submit this one more time (in this forum, and in a letter to the CEO of Meyer Corporation). If the Meyer Corporation steps up to honor their Warranty - fine. If not I will walk into Small Claims Court with the proof that I paid for mailing the pans and the language of Meyer's Warranty and win that case.

Final Business Response
As a customer courtesy, we have ordered replacement pans which Mr. **** can expect to receive within 10 to 12 business days. In the future, we ask that Mr. **** send any products for warranty inspection to: Consumer Relations, ***************************** XXXXX, and that he use a shipping service that provides tracking information or proof of delivery. We truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused him and thank him for his patience and for allowing us to resolve this issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged pans-Rachel Ray
I purchased this set of pans in Dec of 2014. I am a single male that rarely cooks at home. I have a culinary degree and know how to properly care for my things. The pans have many, many scratches in the teflon. I ONLY use the Rachel Ray utensils in this cookware. The exterior has many chips scratches and discoloration. The baking pan handles that are orange rubber have turned pink after using ONE time!!! I have nicks in the plastic covering the handles on a pot. Like I said above I BARELY use this cookware. This is COMPLETELY unacceptable. I have only hand washed these pans with a sponge. Upon contacting consumer relations, I dealt with a very nice young lady. We had a phone conversation and email correspondence. She requested I email her pics of the damage. I sent her CLEAR pics. of all the damage to all of the pots and pans. Her reply was she needed to forward to a supervisor. I had to recontact her myself to receive a resolution. She stated the company can replace two of the pans as a courtesy to me. A courtesy to me? You are doing NOTHING for me, PERIOD. I paid for these pans and the quality is POOR and unacceptable to me. I want them ALL replaced at the cost of this company. Upon me sending her an email stating this, her reply was I needed to send the cookware, AT MY COST to them for a 6-8 week turnaround!!! I shall cook out of what while I WAIT for what I paid for to be returned or replaced at their discretion. Oh that's right, they want me to do that so I will buy new pots and pans and forget about the damaged pots and pans they are going to send back to me.... I have requested the agent I was working with to escalate this problem to the supervisor of her supervisor. We WILL see where this goes from here. I want this complaint seen by them and posted on this site for other people to see. There are MANY web sites with people having ALL of these same issues and more with this product.

Desired Settlement
This is simple. I want the entire set of pans replaced. Or I'd like my money refunded for the purchase.

Business Response
We reviewed Mr. *******'s initial complaint which was received by one of our Consumer Relations
representatives on March 12, 2015. As an alternative to our Warranty Returns process which requires consumers to mail their product to us for inspection, and as a one- time customer courtesy, our representative accepted photos of Mr. *******'s cookware. So that we can identify the effected pans by size, we have since asked Mr. ******* for additional photos. To clarify our request, we would need photos of the bottom of the effected pieces showing the Rachael Ray(r) brand name and size of the pan (e.g., 3 qt saucepan, 8" skillet).

We will continue to wait for Mr. *******'s response to our request for additional information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased their Farberware 1 Quart Covered Straining Saucepan (Farberware SKU XXXXX)approx. 1 year ago through Amazon.com, and the pot cover plastic handle came off and wont screw back on. Customer Service wants ME to SEND it back AT MY OWN COST, so they can "inspect it." It will cost me as much, or more, to ship it back than the pot originally cost. Their Customer Service is TERRIBLE. I tried to get through to them for one week, and finally, after I "registered" on their website, I was able to reach them and tell them that their 800# kept telling people they were "Closed for the HOLIDAY." What holiday? When I called back the following day I was able to get through to them through their CONFUSING Phone Tree. Coincidence? I think NOT! They told me a Supervisor would call me right back when I spoke to Cust Rep: ******* at 12PM -12:15PM EDT. ******* called back at 12:55PM EDT to say Supervisor "wouldn't be calling me back" and to email her PICTURES of the Pot bottom, inside to: ********@meyer.com.
Product_Or_Service: Farberware 1 Quart Covered Straining Saucepan
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement
I want a replacement Pot, ASAP at THEIR COST!!! What can they see by pictures of the pot BOTTOM and INSIDE????

Business Response
We reviewed Mr. ********'s initial complaint which was received by one of our Consumer Relations representatives on March 10, 2015. As an alternative to our Warranty Returns process which requires consumers to mail their product to us for inspection, and as a one-time customer coutesy, our representative accepted photos of Mr. ********'s saucepan. Based on the photos he provided, our representative ordered a replacement Farberware(r) 1qt pouring saucepan which was delivered to Mr. ******** on March 18, 2015. Please see the attached UPS delivery confirmation.

This concludes our investigation of this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business did "the right thing," but only after I threatened to write a letter to the CEO of the company. This should not have been necessary. I stand by my initial complaint, the company is not living up to the "spirit" as well as the FACT of their stated Warranty, and must be prodded to do so. This MUST be changed. Since I have received a replacement pot, I will reluctantly accept the company's response. But it's my opinion the BBB should monitor their future transactions with customers for additional complaints and transgressions of their stated Warranty.

Page 1 of 4
03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The pots and pans in the red non-stick set cook GREAT... but after one washing, the red has faded to pink on two of the pots.
Problem happened today after I started using the cookware set yesterday. No longer have the box but it's the red non-stick porcelain set. We paid $99.95 for the set

Desired Settlement
I'd like to be refunded

Business Response
Our multiple email messages to Ms. ***** asking that she contact us about her cookware issue remain unanswered. As such, we have closed our investigation of this matter, but will reopen it should Ms. ***** contact us.

02/24/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paula Deen Signature Cookware has black handles that has a coating that is peeling off.

The bottom of the cookware says: Copper Cooking Stainless Steel Durability, PD Paula Deen Signature, ******
Product does not have a speckled print. It is stainless steel with a copper bottom and black rubber handle and the bottom is copper.
I don't remember how many pieces are in the set. I want to say 3 pots with the copper bottoms and I believe 2 non-stick frying pans came with it.
The color is stainless steel with a copper bottom and black handle.
I do not know what the warranty is on this set, but the handles should not peel. My mother has Revereware with black plastic handles that she has had for over 50 years and they are fine.
I contacted Meyer Corporation and they said I would have to mail the cookware to them for inspection to see what can be done. They are in California and I am in New York State. I told them I could send pictures of the handles, pictures of the cookware, etc. but they insisted I needed to mail the actual pots to them. I complained about the cost of mailing them and they advised mailing them in a few at a time...it would still add up to a lot of postage. I am searched on the internet and there are more complaints about the handles on these pots, it's not something new. When I received the cookware as a Christmas gift a couple years ago, I read all of the care and usage instructions before using them. I did not do anything to them to cause the handles to peel. I don't feel safe using the cookware because I'm afraid pieces of the handles could fall off into the food. Plus it's getting on my hands.
After going back and forth with Meyer Corportation a few times, I decided to contact BBB to see if anything else can be done. We thought Paula Deen cookware would be a quality product so that's what I asked my husband to get me for Christmas, but it seems that I was wrong. The cookware itself seems heavy enough, but there is definitely something defective with these handles. I haven't looked in stores to see if the handles are any different now.

Desired Settlement
I would like the cookware replaced with something different that will not peel. No sense in replacing it with exactly the same product as it could do it again and I want something that's going to last a long long time.

Business Response
We received BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXX re **** ***** and her Paula Deen(R) stainless steel cookware. At our request, Ms. ***** emailed photos of her cookware for our review. For ease of reference, attached please find pertinent photos of her cookware. We told Ms. ***** that her cookware's lifetime limited warranty is voided when it is deemed abused and/or misused. We noted that due to the cookware's copper construction, consumers are instructed to remove the protective layer from the copper-bottom before first use by following the instructions affixed to the bottom of each pot and pan, and that failure to do so results in black marks and discoloration on the copper finish. Finally, we explained that her cookware is not dishwasher-safe and that hand-washing is recommended.

Based on our review of her photos, we concluded that the cookware's significant discoloration was misuse/abuse that voided the warranty, and that the condition of the handles did not render the cookware defective. Nonetheless, as a one-time customer courtesy, we offered to replace Ms. *****'s cookware with a new set, and she graciously accepted.

This concludes our investigation of this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions.

01/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an item with the knowledge of a money back reabate on the itemI correctly filled out the form and included all required items and sent it to the company for processing. When I received a notice that I did not include a UPC from the packaging that i am positive was sent to them I was told that without the bar code from the package I could not receive my rebate. `
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am only seeking the 30.00 rebate I am entitled to)

Business Response
We received BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX re ******* ****** and his request for $30, which our records indicate is pursuant to a Farberware cookware purchase. Although we service and distribute Farberware cookware, Velocity Cx is the company that handles Farberware cookware rebates. Mr. ****** can contact Velocity Cx directly at 800/XXX-XXXX.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions.

09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paula Deen Signature Stainless Steel 2-Quart Double Boiler Set melted to my glass cooktop, taking chunks of the cooktop with it when it released.
The double boiler melted. We turned it off as soon as we saw the problem, but it permanently damaged the cooktop. The main burner on the cooktop can not be used now. It is more expensive to repair it than it is to purchase a new stove. This stove is less than 6 mo old and was given to me as a gift. Use of Paula Dean cookware should not cause me to have to buy a new cooktop. There is no reason that a metal pot should melt, and it is not due to a problem with the cooktop. The issue is a defect in the cookware. The Paula Dean double boiler was purchased on Amazon.

Desired Settlement
A pot, by default, should be able to withstand normal cooking temperatures of a stove without melting. This stove was a gift. I do not want the purchase price of the cookware, I want my stove repaired or replaced.

Business Response
We received BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX regarding Ms. ****** ***** and her Paula Deen stainless steel saucepan. When we spoke to Ms. ***** on August 27, 2014, she withdrew her request for stovetop repair/replacement and explained to us that her stovetop was still under warranty and would be fully serviced by the stovetop manufacturer.


After reviewing her statement and a photo she provided of the subject pan, and despite her withdrawal of her request for stove repair/replacement, we denied any liability associated with her claim on the basis of consumer misuse. Attached for the bureau's reference is our letter to Ms. ***** and the photo of her misused/abused saucepan which she allowed to boil-dry. Ms. ***** understood our position and graciously accepted our customer courtesy offer of a new pan.


This concludes our investigation of this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.

08/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
"Limited Lifetime Warranty" is a misrepresentation. They rejected and returned my product. In reality there is no warranty. All exclusions. Fraudulent
On file with Meyer corporation. Faulty item returned yesterday to **** ******. 30% discount on a replacement (new) and charged shipping in lieu of a free replacement is classic misrepresentation.

Desired Settlement
refund to include my shipping which was 16.00. Looking at other similar complaints, I don't think Meyers will do a thing except hide behind the myriad of exclusions. If that does happen, I will also file with the proper California Fraud division dealing with misrepresentation i.e., limited Lifetime Warranty with all of its exclusions negates the concept of any warranty period.

Business Response
We received BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX regarding Mr. **** ****** and his Circulon Premier Professional skillet. We confirm receipt of Mr. ******'s skillet along with his request that it be replaced under the warranty because the pan "does not clean up as easily as it did in the past." After a close and careful examination of the skillet, it was determined that the skillet's condition was the result of excessive heat and grease build-up, thereby voiding the cookware's warranty. Attached for the Bureau's reference are photos of Mr. ******'s skillet taken by our Warranty Department depicting the misused/abused nonstick skillet.

This concludes our investigation of this matter. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their policy is based on exclusions. They include normal wear and tear as an exclusion! I have no proof that was my skillet, Their letter to me was labelled "Dear Consumer" *I called 13 days after I sent in my skillet and the representative told me I was not even in their system! Meyer Policy is a Policy of Exclusions. Meyer Corporation's Limited Lifetime Warranty with their MANY exclusions is deceptive.I request reimbursement of the Skillet or my postage $16.50.
.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Housewares - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1990Business started: 01/01/1981
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1985, DE

Contact Information
Helen C (Supervisor, Consumer Relations)
Number of Employees

375

Business Category

Housewares - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Meyer Corporation, US, Farberware

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Meyer Corporation

1 Meyer Plaza

Vallejo, CA 94590-5925

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meyer Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 551-2900
  • (800) 388-3872
  • (800) 888-3883
  • (800) 809-7166

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (707) 551-2957
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.meyer.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Housewares - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.