BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1997

Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North

Phone: (650) 589-7100Fax: (650) 589-7796121 E Grand Ave, South San FranciscoCA 94080-4800View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotel rooms and suites.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1997

BBB has determined that Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scammed out of $100 from my debit card. Lies about smoking in a non smoking room so the hotel can steal my money.
I booked for 1 night on 11/15-16/2014. Arrived Saturday evening and left at checkout the next day. I was scammed out of $100. They put a $200 hold on my debit card for a $6.60 parking fee. I was not even notified about the hold. I found out after I arrived home. I called and was told that my $200 will be released the next day on a Monday. Only $100 was released. I called again. I was told this time that is was for smoking in the room. My weekend trip was with my family; husband, 11 years old son, and 2 month old baby daughter. NO ONE smoked in that room. Who would smoke with children, especially a baby in the room?! I asked to speak to a manager. I was given the run-around. Left a voice message for the manager. I was told that someone will call me back that same day. Nothing. I called again on Tuesday. Finally spoke with a manager by the name of ******. He said that 3 people who worked there confirmed that there was smoking in that room. Nothing but a lie. I was ignorant enough to leave a gratuity for the room attendant. I had went home on a Sunday with pleasant thoughts about that hotel, even recommended the place to friends and family. My mistake. The manager said they are keeping the $100 and told me if I wasn't happy, to do what I have to do. He brushed me off and hung up. The worst place and customer service that I've ever experienced. I wondered how many people went through the same thing with them, so I read through the reviews of this hotel and saw that there are similar complaints to mine. Of people being accused of smoking so the hotel can charge and steal money from their guests. This must be a scam that this hotel does regularly.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back that was stolen from my debit card from the hotel's thieving practices. This entire experience ruined an otherwise very nice trip in San Francisco.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Asst. GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@sfosuites.com
Ms. ******* had stayed with us on November 15, 2014 for 1 night. after departure the housekeeping supervisor had contacted the front that the room that Ms. ******* smells heavily of smoke, to make sure that the supervisors' statement was correct, a front desk agent along with another housekeeping supervisor went to the room to confirm, it reeked of heavy smoke. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking facility, and our policy is to charge up to $250 penalty for smoking in a room.
I explained to Ms. ******* the outcome, but she denied it, sh later told me that her husband smoked outside. I told her the penalty will stay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I know no one smoked in that room. Now, the general manager's response changed. The last time I spoke to him, he said 3 employees of the inn confirmed of smoke. But in his response, he implied 2. He had said the housekeeper first smelled it, then informed the supervisor, then the supervisor brought a third person to confirm. I was never informed of their policy and in fact, the inn did not charge a $250 penalty, which the general manager never mentioned. A $200 hold was placed on my debit card which I was never told of, and only $100 was released back to me. I was never notified of anything during these proceedings. I had to call the inn numerous times within 3 days.

05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Without ever mentioning to us that there would be a charge of $146.49, our credit card was billed that amount from this hotel.
The United flight that my wife and I were going to take on 2/14/2014 was canceled and United rebooked us for the next comparable flight on 2/16. United gave us a voucher of around $140 for lodging in Comfort Inn & Suites at South San Francisco. We told the hotel front desk on checking in that we were sent by the airlines and were staying for two nights. The hotel representative took our voucher, asked for our credit card for possible miscellaneous cost and gave us keys without stating that there would be one night of charge on our credit card. On check-out, we asked the front desk whether there is any charge, and we were told that there is no charge and he presented no bill or statement to us. When I found out that a charge of $146.49 appeared on my credit card activities list, I called the hotel about the issue and was told that the United voucher took care of everything and there should not be a charge. He also told me that I should send in the charge statement so that the hotel can provide refund. I then informed our credit card company that we were disputing the charge. After a few weeks, our credit card company sent us the hotel's response to its inquiry regarding the charge. Assistant General Manager ****** ****** states in a letter that we stayed on 2/14 on a voucher and that our stay on 2/15 was charged at a day rate of $129.99 to our credit card. He even presented to our credit card company a reservation information form and an unsigned bill statement with my name misspelled on both. The facts are that we told the front desk upon check-in that we were staying for two nights and were never informed that there would be one extra day's charge on our credit card, and we never saw the reservation information and bill statement, never agreed to a charge. We believed that the United voucher of around $140 was good for two nights in February since it was a contract price with a big client.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Our credit card issuer.

Desired Settlement
I demand a full refund of $146.49.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - AGM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@sfosuites.com
Mr. **** presented an airline voucher at check-in that states 1 night, we billed the airline for the 1 night. But the guest stayed for another night, for which he was billed.
The airline only paid for 1 night not 2 as it was stated in the voucher.
Mr. **** needs to contact the airline that issued the voucher and request a reimbursment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
United airlines voucher that we got only states an amount of about $140, it does not indicate how many nights it is good for. We told the front desk on check-in that we were staying for two nights, and we were not told that we would pay for one night by ourselves. On check-out, we asked the front desk whether there is any charge, and we were told that there is no charge and he presented no bill or statement to us. When I found out that a charge of $146.49 appeared on my credit card activities list, I called the hotel about the issue and was told that the United voucher took care of everything and there should not be a charge. If we were informed that we had to pay for one night out of our own pocket, we could have moved to a nearby hotel for the second night. Even if the voucher was only good for one night, we were not informed of the cost of one extra night and therefore were denied of an alternative plan for the second night. The fact that the hotel produced a bill statement after the fact, with my name misspelled and without my signature acknowledging the charge, is a despicable practice. I would consider reimbursement of half the cost for resolving this complaint.

Final Business Response
As a token of goodwill, we have issued a credit of $27.50 to Mr. ****'s credit card.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/06/1996Business started: 08/06/1986
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tonette Tamayo (General Manager)
Number of Employees

24

Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Sunstone Hotel Management, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North

121 E Grand Ave

South San Francisco, CA 94080-4800

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 121 E Grand Ave 

    South San Francisco, CA 94080-4800(650) 589-7100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Comfort Inn & Suites SFO Airport North is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Hotels

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.