This business is not BBB accredited.

Coastside Inn

Phone: (650) 726-3400 Fax: (650) 726-1256 230 Cabrillo Hwy S, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 http://www.coastsideinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotel services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coastside Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Coastside Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Business Management
Mr. Adam Kari, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Kari, General Manager
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Hotels


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Coastside Inn has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    230 Cabrillo Hwy S

    Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 (650) 726-3400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to cancel a reservation for July 28 within 48 hours and was told I would be charged for the night unless I re-booked within a specified time. I re-booked for the following weekend and ended up staying 2 (Aug. 8 and 9) nights instead of one. I was charged for 3 nights. The night I missed and the two nights I stayed. I have called and left messages twice, was told the manager would call me back, emailed and I get no response.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund for July 28 or for August 8.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **@coastsideinn.com We have a strict 48 hour cancellation policy. Your above statement is incorrect. As you stated in the email you sent us; On Sunday, September 7, XXXX X:XX PM, D***** S***** <******@*******.net> wrote: "I made reservations to stay at your place July 29 to celebrate my birthday. We had stayed there a few times in the past and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately my husband became ill and I had to call and cancel the reservation. When I called I was told that since I hadn't given 48 hours notice I would be billed for the room anyway unless I rescheduled within a certain time..." We are more than happy to move a reservation date that cannot be made for a guest if that request is given to us before the 48 hour cancellation period. Any cancellation request within that 48 hour period will be charged as we had informed you. We do apologize if there was any miss-communication on our part about our cancellation policy or our ability to reschedule your stay. This guest contacted us less than 24 hours of arrival date. As I has included in the response, they confirmed that we did indeed inform them that they would be charged. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called to cancel I was told by the person I spoke with that I would be charged UNLESS I re-booked. I would NOT be charged for the night I missed since I re-booked for the following week. If I had known that I would be charged I certainly would not have stayed 2 nights the following week. Clearly your employees are not aware of your strict policy and misled me. I will be sorry that I will never be able to stay at your place again and will have to inform the other members of our dive club of your "policy".


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Coastside Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart